Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the historical foodie, August 19, 2008
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
Tjis is an excellent addition to any cookbook rack.There are very easy to use recipes in this book,even for today.it writes in 1800's grammar,but is still an easy read.It has already helped me make pear preserves,and Im sure it will help me more in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Foray Into Bygone Cooking, August 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is larger than expected and filled with old recipes. Most of them would not appeal to the average consumer of today but there are many that would. The recipes are written exactly as they were by the original cooks. The ingredients are not separated from the directions. The cook knew how to prepare foods so the recipes were very simply stated. ie;
To Make Egg Sauce
Boil four eggs for ten minutes chop half of the whites, put them with the yolks, and chop them both together, but not very fine; put them into a quarter of a pound of good melted butter, and put it in a boat.
Most of the recipes are much longer and some involve cooking animal brains, hearts, heads and other parts of the animals that I personally wouldn't eat. However in those days they used very bit of the animal and wasted nothing. They couldn't trot off to a market on a whim.
For a novice cook this might not be a good choice but an established kitchen whiz would enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting Book, March 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this cook book for one recipe...the oldest known fried chicken recipe in the U.S. Upon reading the other recipes I am quite entertained by the writing and explanation of the recipes. Keep in mind, these recipes are from the late 1700's-early 1800's. Teaspoons, tablespoons, and other modern measurements were not used. That's half the fun in figuring out these recipes! I have yet to make my fried chicken or any other recipe from the book since my wife took the book to her office to show it off. If nothing else, it's a great historical publication of the way Americans used to prepare food. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I accidentally found this book while doing research for my ancestry. Since Mary Randolph is a very distant relative, it makes the book even more special. I love the book, not only for the recipes but the history that is in it. I have not made the apple fritters yet, put plan to do so soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first great American cook, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
Being a cook myself, it's really a hoot to discover one of my ancestors wrote the acknowledged first American cookbook. It has some great southern recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, May 9, 2014
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is easy to read inspite of it's old venacular. Everything taste amazeing, you will start to stay home and give up on restraunts, they just don't make food this good today.
I was suprised to see ice cream recipes in the back of this book. Ice cream is older than I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so enjoy, July 13, 2014
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
Interest data. so enjoy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 27, 2014
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
Intriguing Book - Great Shape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
Excellent study book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
By 
Donald D. Evans (MASON CITY, IOWA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook (Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook
$8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.