Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: new, never played, opened to replace a damaged jewel case, ships first class mail with delivery confirmation
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Virtuoso Handel
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

The Virtuoso Handel Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, July 31, 2001
"Please retry"
$13.63 $10.80

Product Details

1. Non saria poco
2. Un' alma innamorata: Un' alma innamorata
3. Un' alma innamorata: Quel povero core
4. Un' alma innamorata: E pur benche egli veda
5. Un' alma innamorata: lo godo, rido e spero
6. Un' alma innamorata: In quanto a me ritrovo
7. Un' alma innamorata: Ben impari come se ama
8. Sventurato godi, o core abbandonato
9. Chi rapi la pace al core?: Chi rapi la pace al core?
10. Chi rapi la pace al core?: Figlio d'un fabbro, e amore
11. Chi rapi la pace al core?: Pupilla lucente
12. Sonata in C for Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord: Adagio
13. Sonata in C for Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord: Allegro
14. Sonata in C for Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord: Adagio
15. Sonata in C for Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord: Allegro
16. La Lucrezia: O Numi eterni!
17. La Lucrezia: Gia superbo del mio affanno
18. La Lucrezia: Ma voi forse nel Cielo
19. La Lucrezia: Il suol che preme
20. La Lucrezia: Ah! che ancor nel abisso
See all 25 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Experience a side of Handel that's rarely heard these days: exquisitely refined vocal and instrumental chamber music, including three cantatas from his early years in Italy. On The Virtuoso Handel, you'll encounter the type of intimate music making that small, privileged audiences of discerning connoisseurs enjoyed during Handel's sojourn in Rome from 1706 to 1709.

Italy at the start of the 18th century was obsessed with singing. It is in this vocally-infused spirit that The Virtuoso Handel was conceived.

The Chicago Baroque Ensemble and soprano Patrice Michaels previously collaborated on Cedille's acclaimed A Vivaldi Concert ("A stellar level of artistry." - Cleveland Plain Dealer) and The World of Lully ("All this virtuosity invites repeated listening." - Early Music America). Here they perform secular cantatas on themes of romantic love, history, and mythology, including the dramatic and harrowing La Lucrezia. These challenging pieces showcase Ms. Michaels' silvery voice, lively interpretations, and exceptional mastery of florid Baroque passagework and ornamentation.

Also included are instrumental arrangements of arias from three of Handel's Italian operas: two for flute and strings, with irresistible "coloratura" playing on the transverse flute, and one for solo harpsichord. Completing the program is a charming Sonata in C Major for viola da gamba and harpsichord, which casts both players in virtuoso roles.


[A] delightful collection of vocal and instrumental chamber music. -- Cleveland Plain Dealer

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in