Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many Pluses and a Few Minuses
I received a review copy from publisher Thomas Nelson and have been working through it. My thoughts:

What is The Voice?

It's a new Bible retelling and commentary created by the Ecclesia Bible Society (launched out of Ecclesia Church in Houston) and Thomas Nelson Publishers. It strives to maintain the original character of the authors, whereas many...
Published on November 10, 2008 by Brian Baute

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Translation? Paraphrase? Gratuitous Rewriting? All of the above....
I have given this book a three star rating not because I am ambivalent in my feelings towards it, nor because I am lukewarm in my reaction. I would like to give it five stars for its vision and how far it's moved toward accomplishing that vision, and I would like to give it one star for its failures and excesses, so, rather than write two reviews, I averaged the...
Published on December 22, 2010 by David deSilva


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many Pluses and a Few Minuses, November 10, 2008
By 
Brian Baute (Harrisburg, NC United States) - See all my reviews
I received a review copy from publisher Thomas Nelson and have been working through it. My thoughts:

What is The Voice?

It's a new Bible retelling and commentary created by the Ecclesia Bible Society (launched out of Ecclesia Church in Houston) and Thomas Nelson Publishers. It strives to maintain the original character of the authors, whereas many Bible translations strive to give a more consistent style across all books. The preface says The Voice is holistic (considers heart, soul, and mind), beautiful (achieves literary and artistic excellence), sensitive (respects cultural shifts and the need for accuracy), and balanced (includes theologically diverse writers and scholars).

What I Like

* Its narrative style and artistic sensibility makes it very readable, but not watered down. It's modern and accessible, and usually without falling into the more gimmicky wording that sometimes befalls The Message.
* Dialogue is formatted in screenplay style. In a traditionally-formatted translation, Luke 1:60-61 reads
But his mother answered and said, "No indeed; but he shall be called John." And they said to her, "There is no one among your relatives who is called by that name" (NASB).
But in The Voice it reads
Elizabeth (disagreeing): No. We will name him John.
Her Relatives (protesting): That name is found nowhere in your family.
* The Voice uses informational boxes in-line with the text rather than as footnotes. It's a much better reading experience and allows the reader's eyes to keep tracking along the page instead of constantly bouncing up and down the page to look at the footnotes. An example of one of these info boxes, from John 8:4: "Imagine the tension in that moment. You can sense the sarcasm in the air as these men threatening Jesus are now calling Him `Teacher.' Jesus knew this was a test."

What I Dislike

* It's not a translation but a retelling. Additional text is added to clarify the meaning and is indicated with italics. For example, John 8:8-9 reads like this in the NASB:
Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground. When they heard it, they began to go out one by one, beginning with the older ones, and He was left alone, and the woman, where she was, in the center of the court.
And in The Voice:
Once again Jesus bent down to the ground and resumed writing with His finger. The Pharisees who heard Him stood still for a few moments and then began to leave slowly, one by one, beginning with the older men. Even the pious Pharisees knew they had sinned, so there would be no stones thrown this day. Eventually only Jesus and the woman remained, and Jesus looked up.
The Voice doesn't claim to be a literal translation, so it's not misleading to include this additional text since it's clearly marked (the Amplified Version does this too). However, it's a little like releasing an amplified version of A Tale of Two Cities that begins, "It was the best of times because the rulers and ruling classes lived in opulence, but it was the worst of times because the masses were being oppressed and hurtling toward revolution." It does give more explanation, but there's a lot lost in the process as well.
* The informational boxes are inconsistent in their pronoun usage and narration. The boxes in John are in first person ("My life changed that day; there was a new clarity about how I was supposed to live.") but in third person in Luke ("More than any other Gospel writer, Luke wants to situate the story...") and elsewhere.
* The terminology is sometimes forced, such as the repeated use of Liberating King (instead of Messiah or Christ), John the Immerser (instead of John the Baptist or John the Baptizer), and "ritually cleansed" instead of baptized or immersed. I appreciate the intent to make the language more accessible to those who are unfamiliar with some of the more explicitly religious terminology, but too often it comes across as forced and clunky rather than smooth and understandable.

The Voice is a mixed bag with much in its favor but some important weaknesses as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review from One of the Writers/Reviewers, December 2, 2008
By 
David B. Capes (Houston, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm commenting as one of the writers and reviewers on THE VOICE NEW TESTAMENT. I've been with the project from the beginning and have translated, commented, reviewed everything, sometimes many times.

The first question is this: is it a translation or a retelling? Well, it is both. Whenever you move from one language to another you are translating. In every chapter of every verse we are working from the original languages (Greek in the New Testament and Hebrew in the Old Testament). There are differences, of course, between formal, informal and dynamic translations. Ours is a dynamic translation. But it is a retelling because we have translated it with a view to telling again this amazing story of redemption and grace.

One thing we have tried to do in this translation is to avoid a common practice known as transliterating. Many words in other translations are merely transliterations of Greek words. For example, "Christ" is from the Greek "Christos." Rather than translate the meaning, most translations just render it "Christ." But most people--even people in the church--don't understand the meaning of "Christ." We treat it as Jesus' last name, but it is not. It is a title. So we have chosen to translate the title as "the Liberating King" or "Liberating King." The phrase "Jesus Christ" is actually a confession: "Jesus is the Liberating King" or for the purists out there "Jesus is the Messiah." Now if you are an insider, you may know what this language means, but most people in the world don't. This translation is for them. If you think it redundant, don't blame the translators, blame the writer (like Paul) who uses the title over 200 times in his letters.

We've done the same with words like "baptism" (from the Greek "baptisma"), "angel" (from the Greek "angelos") and "apostle" (from the Greek "apostolos").

There are many innovations in this translation. We hope you will read it and benefit from it. We hope too that some people will pick up the Bible for the first time and hear the Voice calling them, inviting them into a new kind of citizenship, citizenship in the kingdom of heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Translation? Paraphrase? Gratuitous Rewriting? All of the above...., December 22, 2010
By 
David deSilva (Ashland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have given this book a three star rating not because I am ambivalent in my feelings towards it, nor because I am lukewarm in my reaction. I would like to give it five stars for its vision and how far it's moved toward accomplishing that vision, and I would like to give it one star for its failures and excesses, so, rather than write two reviews, I averaged the score.

Five stars: The Voice does bring the text alive in some fresh ways which are apparent as soon as one cracks it open (or, I suppose, scrolls down -- since many of its target audience will probably prefer the electronic edition). For example, the presentation of many of the narrative scenes in the format of a drama (again, "screenplay" would be the more familiar analogy for its target audience) is a brilliant move, and one with a revered pedigree in the churches. I think, for example, of the dramatic reading of the Passion of Our Lord in many liturgically-oriented churches on Palm/Passion Sunday and on Good Friday, a tradition that goes back to late medieval chanted presentations of the drama of Matthew 26-27 (or a parallel in Mark, etc.) and came to fullest flower in the settings of the Matthew and John Passions by Bach. This format would also encourage the dramatic reading of these texts in churches rather than the solo-voice lay reader approach, something that I wish churches would do more often, since so much of Scripture is drama. The explanatory boxes -- as a concept -- are also actually a quite interesting idea. They invite an interactive reading of the text, allowing the box-writers to jump in, as it were, to try to give some background, to keep the reader fixed on the major plot of the drama, and the like. They also remind me, to some extent, of the time-honored tradition of the Bach Passions, where reflective arias and hymns explore responses to each scene in the narrative. And, of course, I do applaud the goal of making the Scriptures as accessible as possible. I believe that The Voice could have done so, however, without the debits (see next paragraph).

One star: I have some serious reservations about this translation -- and, indeed, with calling The Voice a "translation" at all. A "translation" seeks to represent the meaning and impact of a text written in a source language as fully as possible in a new, target language. A translation tries to lose and to add as little as possible. It does not matter whether that translation be based on formal equivalence or functional/dynamic equivalence: the purview of a "translation" is limited. A "paraphrase" often works from an existing translation, seeking to make that translation more accessible. In practice, they add a whole lot. The Voice is sometimes a translation, sometimes more of a paraphrase, but sometimes an all-out interpretative Targum. In and of itself, that's not a bad thing, as long as readers are clearly made aware that they are reading a highly interpretive, highly "leading" representation of the original, and provided the leading is not "mis"-leading.

Italics
Let me begin here with my strongest objection: the introduction, in italic typeface, of material not actually represented in the Greek manuscripts. The NASV had used italics in English Bible translations to represent words that had no direct correspondence with the Greek but that were necessary to make good sense in English. This practice was unobjectionable. The preface to the Voice explains that the material in italics "may contain information that would have been obvious to those originally addressed in the Gospel or letter" and are meant "to help the reader better understand the text without having to stop and read footnotes or a study guide." The reader is alerted to expect the italicized text, then, to bring out what is implied in the text, or what a first-century reader would infer. This, too, might have been unobjectionable, to the extent that the writers really fought hard against their tendencies to have the text imply what they, rather than first-century audiences, would infer. But I find the italicized text in practice to do far more (and therefore far worse) than the preface indicates/warns. For an example, let's just look at a few passages in the first half of the Letter of Jude. The italics in The Voice will be indicated here in brackets.

1. Jude 3
The Voice: "Friends, all I think about is our communal redemption, [the story of our Father sweeping us up together in His salvation hands. But these days my heart is troubled,] and I am compelled to write to you and encourage you to continue struggling for our common faith that was entrusted to the saints once and for all."
DdeS translation, for the sake of comparison: "Beloved, while I was exercising all diligence to write to you about the salvation we share, I found it necessary to write to you to encourage you to keep struggling for the faith that was handed over once for all to the holy ones."
The italicized text here is introduced to give a brief overview of what the translators would regard as the message about "the salvation we share," motivated perhaps by their general desire to keep the larger picture in view. Not terrible, but neither can one say that the first-century audience would infer all this, and do so in this particular way. What is lost here, however, is what Jude specifically wanted to convey: the current issue is so urgent that he ceased writing about the "salvation we share" and turned instead to write a short, admonitory letter about the dangers of the interlopers. He wasn't just "thinking" all day about "our communal redemption"; he was writing about it and a greater need arose (thus heightening the audience's attention to what follows).

2. Jude 5
The Voice: "But even you, in your knowledge, forget God's saving acts.] You have heard the stories many times, [and the Spirit has enlightened you about their meaning,] but you still need to be reminded. Remember when the One [who scooped us from the earth] saved our ancestors by scooping them from the land in Egypt? [He breathed life into our earthen lungs] and took back the life from those who did not believe."
Again, for comparison's sake: "So I want to remind you, even though you know all this already, that the Lord, having decisively saved a people out of the land of Egypt, later destroyed those who didn't show faith."
The first two sentences in The Voice just seem to me to be a much wordier and unnecessarily pointed way to say what Jude had already said more clearly: "You know all this, but a reminder can't hurt." The part about the Spirit enlightening and imparting knowledge is probably true to the early Christian mindset (cf. Heb 6:4-5), but how the translators/writers feel justified in bringing it out here is beyond me. The second half of the verse is what I find far more objectionable. The Voice introduces two resonances with the story of God's creation of humankind in Genesis 1-2 that simply have no basis whatsoever in Jude 5 or its context. There is nothing in the Greek that would begin to say "hey, think about Genesis 1-2 as the background here." It's gratuitous rewriting of Jude on the part of the translators here. Moreover, it obscures the very point Jude is trying to make: The people who left Egypt with Moses experienced God's deliverance but, when they didn't press on in faithfulness, they were condemned to perish in the desert and were destroyed." Hmmm.... An attempt to domesticate a passage that might speak against "eternal security" (see below on "The Team")? Or just a really bad translation?

3. Jude 7
The Voice: "Sodom and Gomorrah and all their neighbors were defeated by their own sexual perversions as they pursued the strange and unnatural impulses of the flesh. Let these who [went their own way and] are experiencing the eternal heat of God's vengeance -- a punishment by fire -- be a warning to you. [Let it be known: God will be glorified.]"
A tighter translation for comparison: "So Sodom and Gomorrah and the neighboring cities, similarly indulging in sexual immorality and going after a different kind of flesh, lie as an example, suffering the punishment of everlasting fire."
First, The Voice misses the specific sin of Sodom as Jude portrays it: it is not simply pursuing "the strange and unnatural impulses of the flesh," but "going after strange (i.e., a different order of) flesh," namely trying to have sex with the angelic visitors -- a fitting counterpoint to the example of the Watchers in Jude 6 (see Gen 6:1-4 and 1 Enoch 6-16). Second, Jude doesn't actually say that the people of Sodom suffer ongoing fiery torment, but only that the still smoldering plains where Sodom was believed to have been situated remain a geological "hot spot" as a testimony to their sin and punishment (cf. Wis Sol 10:6-8). The Voice underscores its incorrect interpretation with the first addition here. The second addition -- a complete sentence! -- is just gratuitous. The best that can be said for it is that it's in keeping with the regula fidei, I guess, but there's no reason to suppose that this is a natural inference from the Greek.

4. Jude 12-13
The Voice: "They are waterless clouds, carried away by the wind; autumn¡¦s lonely and barren trees, twice dead, uprooted; violent waves of the sea [breaking over the bow,] foaming with shame; [lost and] wandering stars destined to live forever in gloomy darkness. [They are hopeless and without a home.]"
A comparative translation from the Greek: "They are waterless clouds carried along by the wind, fruitless trees in late autumn, twice dead and uprooted, wild waves of the sea, churning up their own shame like foam, wandering stars for whom the gloom of darkness is forever reserved."
Main point to make here: where the heck did the ship come from in The Voice, such that the wild waves are "breaking over the bow"? The Voice prides itself on capturing the poetry of the Scripture. Doesn't that first involve careful consideration of its images? Jude wants us to imagine a churning sea that results in foamy scum gathering on the surface -- this is what the intruders are like, as their carnal passions churn up and make visible their own degradation in their outward behavior. The Voice's italics simply intrude on this image by introducing one that has no basis either in the text or in inferences from the text. The remaining italics just strike me as redundant, certainly not necessary nor even helpful to bring out the meaning of the text.
Perhaps the translators simply felt Jude was too short and were trying to give it more presence in the New Testament by doubling its length. :) To the casual reader, perhaps none of this really matters, but it matters to me that The Voice has substantially changed Jude's meaning at several points, has obscured rather than clarified Jude's voice underneath the voice of the translators/writers. The italics here generally allow these writers to yell over Jude; they do not help us hear Jude. In short, drop almost ALL the italics, and The Voice is already vastly improved.

Translational Blunders
Now before I get really nit-picky, I do want to say that The Voice occasionally makes some brilliant improvements on earlier translations. For example, translating God's (and Christ's) self-revelation as "the One who is, the One who was, and the One who is coming" (Rev 1:8) takes an important step forward over the NRSV's "who is and who was and who is to come." The NRSV speaks of God in a more static manner as present, past, and future; The Voice correctly captures the apocalyptic sense of the third verb -- the God who is and who was is also "on his way" to intervene in the present world order. The relationship between commands concerning the Christian husband's treatment of Christian wives and the motivations for these commands in 1 Pet 3:7 is correctly reflected in The Voice: Christian husbands are to show consideration on account of the wife's physical vulnerability and to show honor to their wives on account of the latter's dignity as co-heirs in Christ. Many translations incorrectly assign both motivations to the latter command. The commitment to avoid using English words that are essentially transliterations of Greek words (e.g., angel, Christ, baptism) is also laudable, as it refuses to stop the process of translation prematurely. But, again, a few examples of mistakes (not possibilities, but mistakes):

1. Heb 12:2
"Now stay focused on Jesus, who designed and perfected our faith." It is typical for English translations to add "our" here, even though this has no basis in the Greek text. At the very least, it should appear in italics, but even so it would be misleading. Ignore the chapter numbers for a moment. What is Jesus doing here? He's the climax of a long, long review of what faith looks like in action and what people have been able to accomplish acting on faith. He shows faith-in-action better than anyone before or after, hence, he is faith's pioneer and perfecter. The "our" just gets in the way and misdirects the readers' focus: it's not about us and OUR faith.

2. 1 Peter 2:7 on "precious"
This is, admittedly, a litmus test verse for me. Almost every translation since the KJV has rendered this as, essentially, "to you who believe, he is precious," as if 2:7 were some statement about how believers view or value Jesus. This was a blunder back in 1611 and continues to be so here. The author has used the adjective "precious" (Greek, entimos) in the preceding paragraph to speak of the "stone" that he interprets as Jesus. But the point of 2:7a is to draw an inference from the Scripture quoted in 2:6b -- those who trust in this stone, Jesus, will not permanently suffer disgrace. "Honor" (Greek, time), then, is for you who believe." My own Greek students get this right when they are working from the Greek text rather than running on auto-pilot remembering how earlier (mis)translations render this verse.

3. Romans 1:5
The Voice reads Paul explaining his mission as "to spread the [one true and] obedient faith to all people." Aside from the issue of the gratuitous italic addition ("one true and"), The Voice has reverses the relationship of the two nouns in the original, namely "obedience" and "faith." In Romans 1:5, the noun "faith" really must describe "obedience" in some way (e.g., "faithful obedience," "the obedience that springs from faith," or some such thing); in The Voice, "obedience" has been turned into the modifying noun and "faith" the main noun. I might guess that this springs from the conservative tendency to privilege "faith" in Paul's theology of Christian response rather than "obedience."

Boxes
The boxes often attempt to draw the reader's attention to the larger story of God's interventions in human history, which is one of the stated goals of The Voice. Some seek to provide some background information, some draw out some theological or devotional point. In many instances these are good "parenthetical remarks" on the text. Occasionally, I would wince a bit. For example, a box immediately following Romans 8:38-39 refers to these verses as the climax of Paul's argument, claiming that "in all of Paul's letters, there is no more triumphant note." This pretty well sweeps aside a generation of scholarship on Romans that has finally understood why Paul wrote chapters 9-11 at all, how these chapters fit integrally with 1-8 and are not a mere afterthought or digression (but still essential to Paul¡¦s goal of establishing the faithfulness of God), and how, therefore, 11:33-36 presents a more likely climax of the argument of Romans. There is, notably, no box in that vicinity at all. Little things, perhaps? But easily caught and improved, if there had been closer collaboration with perhaps a wider sampling of biblical scholars on this project.

The Introductions
Some of these are quite strong and indicate a good measure of finesse in light of scholarly investigation. For example, there is no attempt to link the John of Revelation with one of the twelve apostles and the reader is encouraged to discover what John's images would have meant for his first-century audience before trying to decipher them in a modern context. Bravo! On the other hand, there is not a hint that 1 Timothy or 2 Peter might be pseudepigraphic. I myself am not dogmatic on that point, but it does seem a bit disingenuous not to admit the degree of debate on such issues. Hebrews is said to address Jewish Christians, despite evidence of a mixed Jewish and Gentile Christian audience (not least because it addresses a church formed as part of the Pauline mission). Authorship of the Gospels is handled in a mixed way. The bronze type clearly affirms traditional authorship of each of the four Gospels without room for doubt, while the introductions to Matthew and Mark, at least, introduce the element of uncertainty in a non-threatening, but still responsible way. More could have been said in this regard on the authorship of the Fourth Gospel, given the well-founded debate concerning the identity of the "Beloved Disciple." In short, the highly conservative/traditional bent of the project is evident here.

The Team
I personally know and deeply respect several members of the team of biblical scholars that appear to have served in a consulting capacity for the writers of The Voice. I have used the commentaries and other works by Darrell Bock, Peter Davids, and Alan Culpepper to great profit in my own study and writing. But the team, one must admit, is a bit stacked: Capes, Blair, and Sorgwe all teach at Houston Baptist University; Culpepper and Jones teach at McAfee, a Baptist Seminary in the Atlanta area (the former had been at Baylor, the latter in a Baptist church in Decatur, GA); Dodson (a good man with whose work I have not yet made myself familiar) teaches at Ouachita Baptist University in Texas. Miller teaches at Crichton College, now Victory University. He earned his M.Div. degree at Southeastern Baptist Seminary. Bock teaches at Dallas Theological Seminary, and Waters at Azusa Pacific (a university in the Holiness-Pentecostal tradition). Waters is ordained, I think, in the United Methodist Church, and Davids is ordained Anglican. All this to say, this is NOT really an interdenominational team. It's a highly conservative, and very much Baptist team -- and disproportionately Texan, one might add. (And, though there are two or three women among the ten or so writers, the scholarly reviewers are all males.)
Something as important as a new representation of the New Testament should really have the best representation of the church and the scholarly guild -- not the safest theologically, certainly not the most locally convenient (the Ecclesia Bible Society is based in Houston). The Voice has a lot to offer. Its vision is fresh and its style winsome. It's also got some distance to go before it's really a good TRANSLATION. I would urge Thomas Nelson to go the extra mile with this product, and solicit a review of each NT book from persons who have written solid, critical commentaries on the Greek texts (among the biblical scholars already involved, Bock wrote an excellent commentary on Luke, Davids on 1 Peter and on James, and Culpepper has contributed important monographs on John, but I'm not aware of other commentaries written by other members that would specifically suit them for this task). Let the editors spearheading The Voice receive feedback concerning where the translation really needs to be revised, where italics really should be deleted or altered, and where the block comments could stand some tweaking, and work from there for the improvement of the whole before the release of the complete Bible. You've got a great thing in the works here, but please don't leave it like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best New Testament Translation Ever, October 22, 2008
The Voice New Testament is something unique. It is :
1. Written by scholars and writers together so that it is beautifully written and entirely faithful to the original text.
2. Written with commentary that is part of the body of the text, but separated from the verses. This commentary makes the New Testament incredibly understandable for people with little or much Biblical knowledge.
3. Written in a screenplay format when people are speaking so that it is obvious who is speaking. Makes it easy for a group to read it as a play.
4. Easy to read; easy to understand. Particularly suited to young adults or teens, but not unsuitable for others. I myself am 58 years old and have studied the Bible for 25+ years.

I own multiple Bibles with lots of different translations of the New Testament, and this is the best one I've ever run across.

I can't wait for them to come out with the Old Testament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I really do want to like it. I just can't., November 9, 2011
By 
Dan (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
Everyone knows that the Bird is the Word. But in in ancient philosophy, the word was so much more. It was seen as a cosmic force that held everything together and gave meaning. So when John wrote:

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.
(John 1:1-5 ESV)

there are profound meanings that you lose when you modernize the Bible to make it more readable. The Voice puts it this way:

Before time itself was measured, the Voice was speaking. The voice was and is God. This celestial Word remained ever present with the Creator; His speech shaped the entire cosmos. Immersed in the practice of creating, all things that exist were birthed in Him. His breath filled all living things with a living, breathing light - A light that thrives in the depths of darkness, blazes through murky bottoms. It cannot and will not be quenched.

Poetic, yes. The Bible, not quite. This is why I'm not a big fan of The Voice. However, I wanted to start with a reference to that song, so let me put my cards on the table real quick.

I believe in something called Verbal Plenary Inspiration, which says that every word of scripture is inspired. There were church councils over an iota (think the dot of an i) that separated orthodoxy from heresy when it came to the deity of Christ. If God wrote a book exactly the way He wanted it, I don't see why you would want to make it more poetic and "readable."

Sure, modern paraphrases have their place. They can help explain one's view of the text, or get rid of some of the theological jargon, but I don't think they can replace a solid, word for word version of the Bible. I like the ESV, but would much rather read the NASB, NKJV, HCSB, or NIV that tries to keep the text how it is.

Therefore, I'm not a huge fan of The Voice. God spoke, I believe that's good enough. We can't all learn Greek, Hebrew, and a little Aramaic (trust me, I've tried), so we have to trust our translators. But in doing it, I want them to leave their artistic abilities at home and give me the words God gave us.

However, Judging The Voice for what it is, it does a nice job of doing what it sets out to do. It is beautiful. It is easy to read. It flows. It's musical. So, kudos to that.

But it also takes some of the more controversial texts and in expanding them, loses their meaning (Romans 8:29-30). So no bueno there.

This is a nasty review, I know. I think you can probably tell that I really want to like The Voice, but it just does too much damage to the Word of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The VOICE is Calling!, October 16, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In the marketplace of ideas, there are hundreds of voices calling to us with their siren songs of self-gratitude, self-seeking, and self-worship. Fortunately, there is also THE VOICE New Testament. This is an amazingly beautiful rendering of the Gospel - THE GOOD NEWS - of Jesus Christ. It is the kind of book that will draw you in like a favorite novel and not let you go until you find yourself closing the book of Revelation, crying..."Even so, Come Lord Jesus!"

The editor mentions in the introduction that you may feel yourself being pursued, followed, sought after when reading. Halfway through, you will find yourself falling to your knees pleading to be captured by the loving heart, the open arms, and the tender mercy and grace of Our Father in Heaven and His Son who died to redeem us. You will want what this book describes as the abundant life.

This book IS holistic! It touches you mind, body, and spirit. You will go, "Hmmmmmmmmm..." You will cry, laugh, and whisper many, "Thank you, God," "Praise you, Jesus." "Amen!"

Next to the ESV Study Bible I just purchased, THIS is by far my favorite translation. It makes me want to be a better man AND shows me how.

Thank you Thomas Nelson publishers and the team from the Ecclesia Bible Society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put it down, June 28, 2009
By 
M. Armstrong (Avalon, Pacific Ocean, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I whole hearted-ly love this one. When recommending this version to people they will invariable ask, "Do you like 'The Message' " ? My answer is, "No. I think the (singular) interpreter of The Message gives himself too much interpretive license."
My typical preferences are NIV, NASB, and sometimes TLB or NKJV. Reading the Voice is like reading a letter from a friend a really beloved friend. It's not stiff or formal *at all* but stays true to the text. I love it. I just finished the book of
Acts and I must say, I got more insight to Paul than I expected. I can't wait to get into Luke to see if I recognize "the voice" of Luke. Jude was unexpected and fresh as is reading snippets of other favorite passages. This version doesn't change anything just enhances what is lurking behind the verb tenses and deeper meaning of Greek words which have no English counterparts. But done SO MUCH better than the Amplified Version which somehow feels like it's speaking down to me in defining and redefining a word ad nauseum.
I could go on and on, just get it, read it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Translation For Someone Biblically Illiterate, With Strengths and Weaknesses, June 11, 2012
It's a fine line between a dynamic equivalent (thought for thought as opposed to word for word) translation of Scripture and a paraphrase (putting it in one's own words). The Voice New Testament is right on the line. Its goal is to be readable, and does it between a more conversational approach and by writing the narratives more like a screenplay. If it encourages people to read the Word, I won't discourage it at all.

Unlike other dynamic equivalents and paraphrases, the Voice follows the pattern of formal equivalent translations (KJV, ESV, NASB, NKJV) of italicizing words that are not taken from the Greek text but added for clarity sake. There is a lot of stuff here italicized. Sometimes it's whole sentences. For the most part, these additions are merely to make it more readable. Are they necessary? No -- it's still adding man's word to God's Word, but at least I know which it is, and the added man's word doesn't change God's Word. One part I do have questions on: In Hebrews 7:26 where it talks about Christ, it adds prior to "separate from sinners" that this does not mean He didn't interact with sinners. That addition is true, but it detracts from the point of the text.

Some of the updating I think is good. For example, it translates the Greek word baptizo instead of transliterating it as baptize like most translations do. But this updating is not consistent. We often forget the Greek word for church means assembly -- we normally don't consider church and assembly as being synonyms. Also, in John 21, where Jesus asks Peter "Do you love me?" and Peter answers "You know I love you"...Like most translations, the Voice does not hint that the Greek word for love Jesus used the first two times He asked Peter that question is different from the word for love Peter uses in his answer and which the Lord used the third time.

One other weakness -- it contains explanatory notes. If it did it as footnotes, that would be no problem. But it instead sticks the notes in the middle of the text. This undermines the strength of the translation, which is to encourage the reader to keep reading.

Theologically, I have no problems with the New Testament. I'd have no problem passing it along to a new believer or an unbeliever who doesn't know anything about Scripture. With the new believer, though, I'd also get him a formal (word for word) equivalent translation, and probably a study edition at that. In other words, I would not recommend this as the only Bible someone has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice New Testament, November 22, 2008
By 
Sandra "Avid book reader" (Pacific Fair, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Definitely a 5 Star effort. The Voice New Testament is a fresh, new version of the New Testament, but is also faithful to more literal, word-for-word translations. I bought the leatherlike version, which is a good size for carrying in a (large) handbag. The paper is cream-coloured with black type - no red letter text - supported by headings in an orange type. This may sound somewhat unusual, but works well and the layout is fresh and easy on the eye. The Voice also uses a somewhat dramatic approach in that the text reads in part like a play. Don't be put off by this; it works well. I recently bought the ESV Study Bible but find that The Voice New Testament provides an excellent parallel text for using to gain greater clarity on certain sentences or paragraphs. It is great for taking with you through the day and reading. Excellent for memorisation and the way in which it is set out, e.g. like a play, brings the context of many passages to life, especially for those of us who have been reading the Bible for some length of time. Check it out! I think you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fulfills intent, January 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy looking at different translations of the Bible. What this one does is appeal to one's visual mind, so you see the people and the action like a stage play or movie in you mind's eye instead of just reading and interpreting words. "The Voice" speaks and feels alive and is perfect for reading outloud in group settings. A great addition to anyone's Bible study collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Voice New Testament
The Voice New Testament by Thomas Nelson (Leather Bound - October 28, 2008)
Used & New from: $4.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.