Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
5 star
73%
4 star
27%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 11, 1999
My heart and respect goes out to this woman who, still living today, survived the atrocities the chinese revolutionaries inflicted on her. I applaud her determination not to be "reeducated" by the communists throughout her entire imprisonment and her success in not allowing this to happen. I also applaud her perserverance in maintaining her faith, when it would be so easy to abandone this in such circumstances. Noone should have to withstand the brutal, inhumane kinds of behavior she did. Throughout the book and even afterwards, I still ask myself the same question "how could anyone do such things to another human being?". Was truly affected by the story and am much more aware of the Tibetan struggle as a result. Highly recommend this for a week-end read!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2001
I have read a number of books on Tibet, but this was the first from a womans point of view. To learn not only about women in Tibet but women in general was very educational. Being one of very very few to survive her prison ordeal Ama has taken the task of sharing the story of many of her dead friends. The attrocities have been played down to some extent, compared to other books I have read. Good for the sensative but curriouse reader. Worth while.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2000
This is one of my favorite books of all time--among thousands of books I've read. Writing with great honesty and humility, Ama Adhe's courage and compassion shine like a lamp for anyone faced with oppression, torture and brutality for their beliefs and devotion to their homeland and people. My heart goes out to her with great gratitude for sharing her story with the world. I hope others will read it and treasure the example of her spirit. I think her book made me a better person.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
Have been reading it daily, however, find it difficult to imagine the suffering and torture that she was able to endure. Remarkable to be mindful of the attrocities of war...the jewish people during World War II, native americans during the 1700-1800's and African americans ongoing in this country, now Russia, Poland, Middle East it becomes overwhelming at times. Why do we continue to kill each other? What do we gain from all this? Ane is inspiration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
I was transfixed by the courage & tenacity of a woman who portrays herself as a simple peasant but, in reality, is a strong, religious & self-willed heroine. The cruelty & single-mindedness of the Chinese against the Tibetans is a reminder that Hitler was only one in a line of unbelievably hateful people who should be crushed out by the rest of the world. That Hitler, Hussein & the like can carry out genocide in plain sight is shameful. How can this be allowed?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2000
This is a very powerful and moving account of one woman's life of incredible hardship and suffering. Ama-la lost her family, her friends, and her country... but she kept her identity, her dignity, or her compassion. What makes this story so inspiring is that Ama-la's sincere good-heartedness triumphs, against appalling odds, over the systemic evil that the People's Republic of China unleashed on her and on her Tibetan homeland. Prison, privation, brutality, and hate fail utterly to undermine this amazing woman's sense of what it means to be a decent human being. Here is a role model for everyone, everywhere.
The basic goodness of this remarkable woman is conveyed perfectly in this simple, honest narrative. This is a story that one finds difficult to turn away from. Ama Adhe is a person the reader will care about deeply after reading this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2003
This is a very powerful and moving account of one woman's life of incredible hardship and suffering, a personal view of the systematic destrucion of Tibet. Ama-la lost her family, her friends, her country. But, despite experiencing the horrors of the Tibetan holocaust, she held on to her identity, her dignity, and her compassion.
Ama-la's sincere good-heartedness, rooted in the heart of Tibetan culture, triumphs in the end over the inhumanity unleashed by Mao's China. Prison, privation, and state-sponsored brutality fail to undermine this amazing woman's sense of what it means to be a decent human being. Here is a role model for everyone, everywhere.
The basic goodness of this remarkable woman is conveyed perfectly in this simple, honest narrative. This is a story that one finds difficult to turn away from. Ama Adhe is a person the reader will care about deeply after reading this book.
Ama-la survived to remind us that more than a million Tibetans did not. I hope that readers will be inspired to look learn more about this monumental tragedy, one which continues to this day.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2011
I met Ama Adhe in 2007 at the Tibetan Refuge Center in the city of Dharamsala, India. She smiled and kindly asked the group that I was traveling with to speak louder because she lost hearing in one of her ears. If you read her story you will understand the cause of her hearing loss. Despite all that she has experienced Ama Adhe has retained a spirit of compassion and love. Her story is one that all should read because her message helps one to gain perspective and perseverance through adversity. Tibet - Cry of the Snow Lion
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 1998
...how people can be so inhumane, robotic, and repugnant.
Ama Adhe's account of her 27 (!) years in labor camps will chill you, inspire you, and make you appreciate how good your life really is. The free Tibet movement has taken on an entirely new, deeper meaning as a result of reading this book. I wasn't able to put the book down all night, and I won't put it out of my mind for a long while to come.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2001
Ama Adhe's story is one of the most amazing and powerful I have ever read. You may have heard of the Tibetan struggle for independence, but Ama's story will blow your mind! This book is incredibly moving, honest and one of the most important historical accounts that has ever been written. Only if you read this book will you truly understand the fight for a Free Tibet. Ama Adhe is a true hero for what she survived, for standing up for her beliefs and for not viewing herself as a hero. If you have any interest in human rights and believe in standing up for a cause, read this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse