Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darwin's voyage of discovery
This would be one of the most influential books I've read. As a biology student in high school, I read "Voyage of the Beagle" and "Origin of the Species." The latter is rather dry and tough going, especially for a high school student, but "Voyage" is a travel journal of discover. Darwin sailed on the "Beagle" with Captain FitzRoy and discovered a new world of plants and...
Published 4 months ago by Joanna Daneman

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Kindle edition stinks-- no pictures
This free Kindle edition stinks-- no pictures. Darwin refers to the illustrations in the text, but they are not there. Get the Kindle Version With Images from Gutenberg.org instead, which otherwise is the same text, right down to the page numbers which are included just as text on their own line (and that's where footnotes are included too.)
Published on July 12, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Kindle edition stinks-- no pictures, July 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
This free Kindle edition stinks-- no pictures. Darwin refers to the illustrations in the text, but they are not there. Get the Kindle Version With Images from Gutenberg.org instead, which otherwise is the same text, right down to the page numbers which are included just as text on their own line (and that's where footnotes are included too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darwin's voyage of discovery, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
This would be one of the most influential books I've read. As a biology student in high school, I read "Voyage of the Beagle" and "Origin of the Species." The latter is rather dry and tough going, especially for a high school student, but "Voyage" is a travel journal of discover. Darwin sailed on the "Beagle" with Captain FitzRoy and discovered a new world of plants and animals and geography so different, so exciting that his journal conveys his wonder and delight. So this is the most readable of Darwin's writings.

I was influenced enough by this book to actually study zoology as my major in university, and though eventually I took a career in another scientific field, I retained my love of the natural world. Eventually almost a half century after reading "Voyage", I was able to visit Patagonia and actually see a house where Darwin lived, and see some of the animals and plants that he found so intriguing. They ARE intriguing. I couldn't see enough of it.

Not all the book is uplifting; the sad story of the Fuegan natives who were despised (and ultimately murdered even into the Twentieth Century) is the part of the book I find so disturbing. The natives were resourceful and able to live in the harshest environment. Their tools (harpoons, spears, canoes) are a marvel of invention. But Darwin calls them "miserable, degraded savages." No one who sees their artifacts now could even conceive of that. The fact that only one living person of one of the major seven groups of canoe peoples is even alive today is utterly depressing and tragic.

If you love nature and natural history, this is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
It is a classic of historical importance. Darwin was an excellent writer. He takes you through the very different world of the 1830s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Darwin's interesting account aboard the HMS Beagle, August 1, 2013
By 
TooBad41 (Georgetown, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
I liked this journal written by Charles Darwin about his travels around South America and the Galapagos Archepelago in the Pacific. I would have liked to have seen some illustrations to highlight the creatures and terrain he saw. It would make his journal come alive. This is the only draw-back to quite an adventure in the middle 1800's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book., December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
I feel like I am right there with Darwin and he travels around the world collecting specimens never seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
The Voyage of the Beagle is one of the most insightful books into the soul of Charles Darwin - if you read between the lines and understand the character and nature of the man. Between Darwin and Fitzroy and their adventure, Darwin captures a time of discovery only matched by today's space exploration. A must read for history buffs of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't tell me he wasn't having fun, May 24, 2000
Remember this says "Journal" and that is what it is. It is his first parson adventures on and off the Beagle. He even includes stories about the people on the ship, the ship's life, and maintenance. He is always going ashore and venturing beyond the ship charter to go where no Englishman has gone before. He makes friends with tyrants and the down trodden. Once, to get an animal to come to him, he lay on his back and waved his arms and legs in the air. Whatever you do, do not turn your back on him. He is always knocking something on the head and taking it back for study. It is fun trying to match the old names for places with the new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars incomplete, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was especially interested in the Galapagos Island chapter and the drawings of the finch beaks. There are no illustrations in this book even though there are spaces for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyage of the Beagle (Kindle Edition)
I found this book enjoyable to read as it is very descriptive and anyone with a genuine interest in either history or science will enjoy this book I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a treasure, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book is exactly what I wanted. I've read biographies and autobiographies of Darwin, but had never seen the actual account of the Beagle voyage. The book came in fine shape and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e2b463c)

This product

The Voyage of the Beagle
The Voyage of the Beagle by Charles Darwin
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.