Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 181 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy enjoyable romp... Lovely photography... Nice transfer from Cult Epics
This is a very enjoyable piece of softcore erotica. If you're a fan of Tinto Brass, you'll know what to expect. It is light-hearted, breezy and absolutely charming. It is filled with Brass' perennial obsessions - hairy bushes and succulent bottoms. Sadly, no peeing beauties this time round.

Based on Alberto Moravia's book "L'Uomo che Guarda" (The One who...
Published on March 24, 2008 by dooby

versus
48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Americanized and ruined
This film is a fraudulent version of the original. I was greatly disappointed when I watched this film. The original is very good but this version was dubbed in English and was edited in the typical American fashion treating all nudity as porn. I was disappointed to find all the male nudity was edited out. The original is very gratuitous with male and female nudity...
Published on July 1, 2010 by Thomas Mark Koch


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 181 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy enjoyable romp... Lovely photography... Nice transfer from Cult Epics, March 24, 2008
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
This is a very enjoyable piece of softcore erotica. If you're a fan of Tinto Brass, you'll know what to expect. It is light-hearted, breezy and absolutely charming. It is filled with Brass' perennial obsessions - hairy bushes and succulent bottoms. Sadly, no peeing beauties this time round.

Based on Alberto Moravia's book "L'Uomo che Guarda" (The One who Watches - Voyeur) it revolves around a young Italian Literature Professor who has a preference for watching rather than doing. He has a very apt name - Dodo. His seriously hot wife gets so fed up that she resorts to extramarital affairs and finally threatens divorce. Meanwhile Dodo is immersed in a world where everyone else is happily doing it. His bedridden father does it with the sexy nurse who goes around topless and often bottomless as well. His students are all doing it, sometimes in public. One pretty student invites him over for a threesome but sadly he can only get his kicks by watching. At the local nudist beach, everyone is at it. When he finally finds out who his wife is having her fling with, there is at last a happy ending - of sorts.

Newcomer Katarina Vasilissa, a blonde Polish photomodel-turned-actress, looks stunning as Dodo's sexy wife. Thankfully she spends most of the time undressed and engaged in happy activities both in bed and on the beach. Cristina Garavaglia as the naughty nurse is equally watchable. Where blonde Katarina is smoulderingly hot, brunette Cristina is gaminely sexy. All the other bit players are equally attractive.

For softcore erotica, Voyeur is much more explicit than usual. There is copious full frontal nudity. Tinto Brass' lovingly lingering beaver shots are in abundance. I especially loved the Cigar scene (a tribute to Bill Clinton). Strangely, there are also a lot of birdie shots. And very rarely for softcore, there is a scene showing a steadily rising birdie, all the way up to full tumescence. Of course there are also various scenes of simulated sex. Cowboy and doggy. All looking pretty real. And very hot.

The DVD from Cult Epics is in 1.78:1 (enhanced for widescreen TV). It looks very nice with soft pastel colours, soft-focus lensing and a pretty decent transfer. Very clean print. However I believe, this was shot in 1.66:1 (like other Tinto Brass films) and subsequently cropped across the top and bottom to fit the new 1.78:1 widescreen TV. Very sad but what can I say. The fullscreen crowd who hate black bars have taken over the studios.

This comes in the original Italian with optional English subtitles. Make sure you get the original Italian Uncut version (in Italian), and not the separate English dubbed version made for the US market. In the accompanying interview, Brass makes clear that he takes no responsibility for any cutting in the American version. All in all a fine addition to the Tinto Brass collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why can't more soft-core be shot at this level?, June 1, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
This is a beautiful movie in every way. The filming, the lighting, the gorgeous pastel colors, the not-too-soft soft-focus, and of course the stunning women make this DVD a joy. Thank you Tinto Brass. Time to try other movies by him. The man has a jaw-droppingly healthy attitude toward sex, nudity, bodies, women, love, humor, and movie making. Moreover, "Voyeur" throws a vastly different slant on feminism from the one we are fed daily. If this movie doesn't show the empowerment of women -- in ways that men cannot but like, even though they (we) find hard to handle -- then what does? It may be fantasy, but Brass' approach brings men joy in showing women fulfilled and happy -- IN BEING WOMEN!! An Oscar for Tinto.....even though I think he has already enjoyed his share of earth's blessings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Americanized and ruined, July 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Unrated Producer's Cut) (DVD)
This film is a fraudulent version of the original. I was greatly disappointed when I watched this film. The original is very good but this version was dubbed in English and was edited in the typical American fashion treating all nudity as porn. I was disappointed to find all the male nudity was edited out. The original is very gratuitous with male and female nudity but it was obvious the film was edited for a straight male audience since every scene that showed Dodo or his father naked was deleted whereas the female parts were mostly kept whole. The reason I like foreign films is for their honest and open portrayal of stories (and unabashed nudity) but in this anglicized version, scene transgression is choppy since so much has been removed. I knew this was a film for a straight male audience but the version they are selling is not the film Tinto Brass made but some prudish version. This should have been made clear as I feel ripped-off and deceived into thinking I was getting an honest version of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TYPICAL TINTO BRASS BUT FUN, May 22, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
This is a typical Tinto Brass romp. Not much substance, but it was a fun and somewhat humorous movie. Due to Tinto's obvious and extensive use of male prosthectic devices, I am beginning to wonder if ED is an issue on the set. I know of one case in the movie, it was probably used in the sense of exageration. I don't remember if Tinto did his usual cameo, but I think so. If you are a fan of Tinto Brass, then you will probably enjoy this. I also have, Frivilous Lola, Private, and Cheeky. all of which I've enjoyed. These are reminiscent of the old Italian sex farces with Laura Antonelli, only on steriods. Charlie S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth the price of admission, October 28, 2008
By 
GemKB (Worcester, Mass) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
I haven't seen all of Tinto Brass' movies (yet), but so far this is the best. The story is not great, but we don't expect that anyway. Katarina Vasillissa is beautiful, both looks and body; and you can't help but love the maid. First ten minutes are worth the price of the disk, reverse strip is pretty cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product review, not movie!, March 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
I mostly read written reviews in order to get some info on the product itself, i.e. picture/sound quality, aspect ratio, bonus materials, bugs and problems, etc. So I hope this review might be of help.

The picture is good, although definitely not the best copy was used for this edition. Unfortunately, the frame cuts some of the picture at top and bottom, just like on the italian DVD (CVC edition, although the excellent VHS tape reveals the whole picture!). I would like to mention the english subtitles as the advantage of this edition though. Bonus interview with Tinto Brass is always welcome, just as in this case. Interesting, especially for those interested in his creative work.

As for the movie itself - it is simply great!

Subjective resume: worth paying money for the uncut edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~The Voyeur~, February 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
I've never been one to watch movies with subtitles. But, I
can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed The Voyeur.
The Voyeur is an Italian movie based on the erotic novel
L'uomo che guarda (which also means voyeur).

I only wish that the video was in English, but perhaps in
doing so, it would take away from the quality of the movie
content. The movie, once you get into it is amazing! The
cinematography was beautifully done. The visual nudity,
and sex scenes involved were not offensive but instead,
highly erotic.

I was intrigued by how sex and the human nude body was
so deliciously and tastefully displayed as an artistic tool of
sexuality through film rather than as cheap porn eliciting
cheap thrills.

The story is about Eduardo "Dodo," who by day is a
professor and at night is a voyeur of sorts. In fact, he
becomes so fascinated with watching others in intimate
acts that it soon consumes his life shortly after his wife
Silvia moves out of the house for unknown reasons.
Hence, "Dodo" searches out for the reason his wife left
the house that he, his wife and his father shared. At the
end, he realizes the reason, as it would become a break
through in his life that lead him to question very important
issues in his life and also his relationships with others.

This is the first time I've seen a movie from Italian erotic
film maker Tinto Brass. This film was tastefully done and
did not hold back in showing the nudity and sexuality of
each encounter, and in fact, it portrayed nudity in its most
beautiful form throughout the movie. There were no limits
to showing the sexual act between the actors and even
showed up close visuals of the penis and vagina, but
again it was done in such as tasteful manner (I promise).

"Public bush" was celebrated and admired by "Dodo" and
the men who "watched" the women throughout the movie.
The male penis was tastefully shown as art rather than
just a sex tool.

There were so many erotic scenes, and too many to write
about in this review, but my favorite scence was when the
protagonist, "Dodo" who in a bath scene caressed his
penis thinking about his estranged wife until he was able
to have a full erection. The cinematography of that scene
made the act seem more beautiful than offensive.

After watching the movie, I felt like a "voyeur" having
watched the most intimate and sexy film that I've seen in a
very long time.

I look forward to watching more films by Tinto Brass. I
throughly enjoyed the story line as well as the beauty of
the film itself. I have truly become a fan of his work.

Five stars out of five.

Reviewed by Natasha Brooks, editor-in-chief,
Bare Back Magazine
[...]
Fairy Tales Can Come True: The Very Best Erotic Fairy Tales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., September 7, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
This is the first time that I have seen a Tinto Brass production which I think is beautifully and tastefully done. Subsequently, I ordered two more of his work..Private and Cheeky which I do not rate as high as Voyeur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful women and lot's of sex and nudity, June 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
I repeat, beautiful women and lots of sex and nudity. Well worth the price and wait. The subtitles spoiled it a little. There's alot of action it this one and the story to it was well done. The two babes in this one steal the show and make the movie. Buy it, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best!, November 5, 2011
This review is from: The Voyeur (Director's Cut) (DVD)
It's strange to read all those reviewers complaining about "lack of depth","silly plot","weak story",etc...in this and other T.Brass films.If you are looking for "depth" and "clever plot" - STAY AWAY FROM Tinto Brass movies at all and go to Ingmar Bergman,Luchino Visconti or Alfred Hitchkock (whom I personally like very much too!) instead.But if you want something that is totally different from "clever" erotica ("Emanuelle","Jamon,Jamon" and the like)of Just Jaeckin or Bigas Luna,really stupid flicks of Russ Meyer or perverse S/M escapades of Jess Franco or Walerian Borowczyk,then Brass is the best choice.It is this charm of a teenager's "silly" erotic phantasies and dreams in his best films that are SO ATTRACTIVE.It's a world of pagan love rites,sweet lust,peeping pleasures and secret phantasies, brought by the gifted director to the screen, that is totally devoid of any moral,religious or social conventions.To immerse into this strange,illogical,absurdly naive, but very sweet world sometimes is really a pure joy! No other film-maker does it better than Mr.Brass.AND IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH PORN! Even in the most explicit scenes!
This film,along with "The Key", "Miranda", "Paprika", "All Ladies Do It",is one of his best and enjoyable efforts.Amazing,sweet stuff for a rainy autumn day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Voyeur (Unrated Producer's Cut)
The Voyeur (Unrated Producer's Cut) by Tinto Brass (DVD - 2008)
$24.98 $22.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.