Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Dead
Most of the folks here already know that The Walking Dead saga is a compilation of stories by Robert Kirkman that expand on the story that is well know to any zombie movie fan. The main story. The one started in earnest by George Romero in 1968 with Night of the Living Dead [and was later remade in 1990 (the version that I prefer) by Tom Savini (with Romero...
Published on March 12, 2007 by Sky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty nice
Very pleased with shipment timing. Not so happy about the edge of the book being bent. Not a huge deal, but I like to keep my collectable nice.
Published 4 months ago by roshonna


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Dead, March 12, 2007
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
Most of the folks here already know that The Walking Dead saga is a compilation of stories by Robert Kirkman that expand on the story that is well know to any zombie movie fan. The main story. The one started in earnest by George Romero in 1968 with Night of the Living Dead [and was later remade in 1990 (the version that I prefer) by Tom Savini (with Romero oversight)]

Book 2 is the combination of The Walking Dead volumes 3 & 4 and it continues the story of Police Officer Rick Grimes and his band of normal-world-refugees across a world suddenly infected by a Walking Dead sickness..

In The Walking Dead Volume 3, the group finds a new home after a perilous Georgia countryside journey in Volumes 1 & 2. The home that they find in Volume 3 used to keep the bad locked in when the world was normal, but in our players' New World their home will hopefully keep the bad out.

However, there are some inhabitants already in their new home...both alive and undead. Which will be most dangerous to Rick's group? That's the question and plight of volume 3.

As the group settles into their new home in Volume 4, it's time to clean "the big house". Clean house of some bad prior residents. Clean house of some undead residents. And clean house of rules made prematurely...like, "You kill, you die." That rule clearly just won't do in The New World.

Relationships are forged and strengthened, and relationships are betrayed and broken. A new character (Michonne) is introduced, and she brings with her a strange (split?) personality, a dose of unrest for the gang and--most oddly--an unexplained ability to seemingly tame the undead.

I'm not a regular comic book reader. But I was drawn to The Walking Dead by the volume releases that bring the convenience of being able to get several chapters of the story without the month to month waiting for each issue. And I am now hooked.

The Walking Dead volumes are like reading a screenplay with storyboards of a version of Night of the Living Dead that began simultaneously, but in a different part of the country. Yes, it's kind of a rip-off of a story (stories) already told, but the key is that it's done very very well. The zombies are true to the original Romero creation: slow and stupid as opposed to the 28 Days Later (2002) or 2004 remake of Dawn of the Dead fast and thinking zombies.

Volumes 1 through 6 are all available individually. There is a hard cover compilation of Volumes 1 & 2 (Book 1) and this, Book 2, is a hard cover edition of volumes 3 & 4. Each volume takes under an hour to get all the way through; each hardcover compilation takes under 2 hours. No matter how you choose to purchase...hardcover or individual volumes...you'll be left wanting more. I have no info on a hard cover release of Volumes 5 & 6, but I'm sure that it will happen if you prefer to wait.

So anyone in need of a very well done zombie fix that you don't put into your DVD player should absolutely get down with The Walking Dead sickness. Add it to your cart, but be sure to start with volume 1 (or Book 1) and read them chronologically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, February 8, 2008
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
This is my new fave series. Can't get enough. If you love romero, things undead, or just character based work, you'll really dig this. I've gotten all 3 hardcovers and now mope about till the new issue hits newsstands. Recommend getting the hc for easy access to all the gooey stuff inbetween. Cover art in the back is a plus. Just go ahead and order it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once Bitten....., October 4, 2007
By 
CaterpillarGirl (Gainesville, Florida) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Imagine the world as you know it gone, and you are constantly on the run. Pursuing you slowly but surely are a horde of exhaustless dead. In this graphic novel The Walking Dead 2, our little band of ragtag survivors finds themselves in a prison, literally. Surrounded by a fence, which keeps the dead out, they must now clear the grounds of any "leftovers" which might be hiding in dark corners. It's an enormous task. The good news is that they have a lot of food, and room to move around. The bad news is that the prison was still occupied by a couple of prisoners and they have no idea what crime these men committed to be there. Trust isn't an issue in a world where everyone must have each others back, including strangers. Each person there has lost someone, and human nature is to cling to anything you have left. Families are formed, friendships are tested, and enemies are quickly dispatched. The new rule is "kill and you die" which means kill one of the living and you will become one of the dead, but not the walking dead, just plain dead.
I wont give anything away, but I will say that I was completely shocked, disgusted, appalled, giddy, distressed, moved and keyed up by this novel. I know that they could never put this on film because they wouldn't ever get permission for such staggering "kick in the teeth" carnage. At one point I had to just put the book down and wait for the blood to come back to my face.
I can't stress enough how richly this graphic novel is drawn. The artistry, the sheer genius of it and the rawness just oozes off the pages. I have seen zombies in films that cannot mirror the ones that are on these pages. Their eyes are filmy white, skin peeled back by the rays of the sun, maggots dropping with every shuffled step, putrid organs now black with rot trailing behind. Their fingers, and arms and legs are bent at angles the human form wasn't meant to. It's a feast for the eyes, as well as the brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead and loving it, September 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
Robert Kirkman's ongoing zombie saga continues in this second hardcover collection, which collects issues 13-24 of the series (otherwise known as volumes 3 and 4 of the TPB's). As the story picks up, cop Rick Grimes, along with his pregnant wife and young son, and a group of fellow survivors, have found what appears to be an abandoned prison, which they plan to make into a sanctuary as the zombie plague continues to wreak havoc. What also occurs in this TPB plants the seed for chaotic future events, including the coming of a mysterious survivor named Michonne, and a big revelation in regards to the effects of the plague. Charlie Adlard's pencils are once again more than solid, with Cliff Rathburn's gray tones providing a stark look to the proceedings. Horror comics are rarely this good, but Kirkman has crafted a work of horror comic genius here that is clearly inspired by the works of the great George Romero. Just as his films displayed, Kirkman proves that the scariest thing about a zombie outbreak aren't the dead themselves, but the humans in the middle of it all. All in all, of you liked the first hardcover volume of the Walking Dead in the least, this second collection is a must own. For newcomers to the series, things only get better from this point forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the Modern Zombie Classic!, March 30, 2007
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
Collecting trade paperback volumes 3 & 4 (comic books 13-24) this is a great story of life amongst the zombies.

How can Robert Kirkman possibly top what came before? I don't know. But he does it again, here. What's worse - the zombie threat, or the threat the survivors pose to each other?

You'll have to read the million shades of gray in this edition of the zombie classic to find out!

Kirkman is writing a Modern Zombie Classic, that really about the true nature of humanity. And human frailties are very present in this installment.

If there's a god in Hollywood, he should be making Walking Dead movies, right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uhhh, awesome, November 19, 2010
By 
Shambles (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
I said... awesome.

I assume, if you're buying this, you're already a fan, you've started watching the show and want to be able to one-up your friends, or you've just stumbled upon it.

If it's one of the former, you already know it's awesome. If it's the latter, now you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Strong, February 12, 2010
This hardcover edition collects the 3rd and 4th trade paperbacks which is actually issues 13-24 of the monthly comic. The hardcover is well put together with nice binding and high quality glossy pages. For those of you who don't know, the comic is in black and white which I think works very well for the grimness of the book. In this collection the words "We are the walking dead" are uttered by one of characters which sums up the title. These stories were never about the zombies, but about the people trying to survive. Sure there are fights with the zombies and they are always a part of the story, but they are back round to the true story of the interaction of the characters. Kirkman has done a great job of fleshing out the players and telling a very interesting story. The art is solid and the writing is always top notch. Besides the actual issues, this collection also has a two page sketchbook and the covers to all the individual issues. Great series and the hardcovers are a great way to collect them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another graphic zombie hit, March 24, 2008
By 
J. Burgos "I <3 Books & Comics" (West Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
This is book two of the hit zombie comic series. It collects issues 13 through 24 of the ongoing series. Kirkman doesnt shy from being frank and honest in his storytelling, and suprisingly, the focus of the stories are not the zombies, but the human survivors. Dont be surprised if this is made into a movie soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong second volume, December 23, 2010
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
This second volume of the saga, which is set almost exclusively at a prison the survivors discover, examines pretty heavy questions of humanity, dignity, and social stability. Upon discovering the prison, the survivors must clear the place of the remaining "roamers" still inhabiting the grounds. They also discover food--a lot of food--along with four surviving prisoners. Without divulging too much of what transpires, I'll simply mention that once again, the drama and action here focus mainly on the survivors' attempts to get along with each other and find some way to create a life for themselves as they grapple with the fact that the world as they knew it is gone forever. They will need to develop new rules of conduct, new ways to cope with circumstances they'd never anticipated, and some way of finding out whether others have survived--and if they have, how to (or whether they'll even want to) unite with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Beginning?: The Zombie Epic Reaches An Emotional High, August 24, 2010
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Book 2 (Hardcover)
When I heard that AMC was going to produce a television series based on the zombie epic "The Walking Dead," I was both concerned and delighted. A bona fide classic in undead lore, "The Walking Dead" graphic novels are brutal and surprising--not really what I would picture for a basic cable TV show (the first season is slated for 6 episodes, we'll see if it goes beyond that). But AMC has produced terrific and prestigious shows like "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad," so I'm pretty stoked to see what they do with this. Add Frank Darabont of "Shawshank Redemption" fame as the creative force behind the show, and we just might have a winner! In anticipation, I've gone back through the volumes of "The Walking Dead" to discover again the many pleasures that this series has to offer. Book Two collects the following two chapters.

"Chapter Three: Safety Behind Bars" finds our ragtag band of survivors moving into a new safe haven. This one has real promise--it's a well secured prison. While Chapter Two has forced us to confront the fact that no one is safe, new hope springs alive. Still wary from their encounter on Herschel's farm, the group extends an olive branch to the family to share the safety of their new digs. So a community starts to form again and the group begins to grow with the newcomers as well as four inmates that were alive in the prison. Building a safe structure takes the primary focus of this chapter but all the new people are still wary of trusting one another. Jockeying for dominance and leadership, this bloody good chapter makes us confront that the zombies are not the only dangers inherent in the new world. With murder, suicide, and betrayal--its starting to get harder to determine the good guys from the bad. And in true cliff hanger fashion, the safe haven may be slipping from their grasp--or actually, it may be ripped away!

"Chapter Four: The Heart's Desire" wraps up the prison cliff hanger from the previous chapter. Among other things, Rick takes another controversial step to defend his tribe. Is he losing his humanity or doing whatever is necessary to survive? As a new character is introduced, the enigmatic warrior Michonne, things start to unravel for Tyreese. Still haunted by his daughters death and what he did in its aftermath, his relationship with Michonne threatens those he is already involved with. The series retains its heart with the continuation of the love affair between Glenn and Maggie including a racy nude scene. But the destruction of Rick and Tyreese's friendship packs a huge wallop. Easily one of the more dramatic chapters, the series hits an all time high with Rick's "We are the Walking Dead" speech--an absolutely unforgettable moment of raw emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead, Book 2
The Walking Dead, Book 2 by Robert Kirkman (Hardcover - May 2007)
$34.99 $22.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.