Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After the massacre...
If you've been keeping up with The Walking Dead up until the point where this fifth collected hardcover edition picks up, then you've probably been wondering just what Robert Kirkman has up his sleeve now. In the wake of the massacre at their prison-based safe haven, Rick and his young son Carl continue their trek through the zombie-populated world, only to have Rick...
Published on May 12, 2010 by N. Durham

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do a better job packing items Amazaon
The Book and story is excellent. However, if you buy from Amazon expect to get a banged up book. Amazon does a horrible job packing their graphic novels and the corners always arrive banged up and blunted. I guess their employees really do not care.
Published on June 16, 2011 by ALFREDO QUINTERO


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After the massacre..., May 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
If you've been keeping up with The Walking Dead up until the point where this fifth collected hardcover edition picks up, then you've probably been wondering just what Robert Kirkman has up his sleeve now. In the wake of the massacre at their prison-based safe haven, Rick and his young son Carl continue their trek through the zombie-populated world, only to have Rick fall ill and Carl fend for himself for a time. After that, we are introduced to some new faces, re-introduced to some old ones, reunions are had, and that sense of dread that hangs over every panel and page continues to permeate more and more the longer the series goes on for. If there's any indication from the events that take place in the two storyarcs collected here, "Here We Remain" and "What We Become", it only re-affirms the fact that the worst thing to come out of the zombie apocalypse is not that the dead are returning to life and feasting on the living, but the mental effect that it is having on the survivors and denziens of this new wasteland, which has been Kirkman's intention since the beginning. Charlie Adlard continues to deliver the goods in terms of his pencil work, while Cliff Rathburn's underrated work on the gray tones of Adlard's pencils and inks adds subtle degrees of equal parts emotion and horror that has helped make The Walking Dead so good for so long now. All in all, if you've missed out on the series since its inception, it is way past time to check out The Walking Dead, and this fifth collected hardcover is proof positive of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Worth the wait, May 23, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
After the events at the end of The Walking Dead, Book 4 it was sure hard waiting a year and a half for the fifth hardcover collection of Robert Kirkman's ongoing zombie saga The Walking Dead. Everything Rick and his band of survivors had worked so hard for was gone, as was half of the supporting cast. Could things possibly get worse?

This collection starts with Rick and his son Carl on their own and needing a place to regroup. Rick gets sick so the focus of the story shifts to Carl, who has so much more on his shoulders than any kid ought to. I swear, in the "normal world" that kid would need decades of therapy. Eventually the remaining survivors regroup and encounter another band of survivors with their own baggage and agendas. It's good to have some new faces after so long, and it's also good that the action in this volume is less outlandish than the whole Governor story. Don't get me wrong, that was a good one, but it just seemed a little over the top. Anyway, Kirkman puts the ship back on course here and I'm really looking forward to seeing where he takes it.

The art is solid as usual. I still don't love Charlie Adlard's style, but I love the way it is inked and "colored" (it's all shades of grey). I still wish Tony Moore would come back for an arc or two though.

The Walking Dead Book 5 was absolutely worth the wait. Robert Kirkman has created a zombie epic to rival nearly any other zombie book or film, and the best part is that it never has to end. If you're already a Walking Dead fan, you don't need me to tell you to grab this collection. If you're new to the series, go grab The Walking Dead, Book 1 (Bk. 1) right away, and welcome to the apocalypse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regrouping And Rebuilding--A Zombie Epic Slows Down, August 24, 2010
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
When I heard that AMC was going to produce a television series based on the zombie epic "The Walking Dead," I was both concerned and delighted. A bona fide classic in undead lore, "The Walking Dead" graphic novels are brutal and surprising--not really what I would picture for a basic cable TV show (the first season is slated for 6 episodes, we'll see if it goes beyond that). But AMC has produced terrific and prestigious shows like "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad," so I'm pretty stoked to see what they do with this. Add Frank Darabont of "Shawshank Redemption" fame as the creative force behind the show, and we just might have a winner! In anticipation, I've gone back through the volumes of "The Walking Dead" to discover again the many pleasures that this series has to offer. This book contains the following two chapters.

"Chapter Nine: Here We Remain" deals with the aftermath of the fateful prison massacre. It is a decidedly more subdued event as Rick and Carl regroup. There are some genuinely creepy moments as Rick adjusts to his personal losses. But more than anything, he seems to have lost his identity. Rediscovering some of the other survivors, Rick no longer wants to hold a position of authority--he can't deal with the responsibility any longer. A major highlight of this episode involves Rick and Michonne's growing closeness as we finally crack some of her mysterious allure. A necessary chapter of respite, but when new characters show up at the end--I'm not really crazy about the new direction. Spinning a rather ridiculous tall tale about traveling to Washington DC, the new group containing a self-proclaimed "scientist," easily enlist the crew to go with them. A little far fetched considering the circumstances. One of my least favorite for this reason.

"Chapter Ten: What We Become" chronicles the caravan on the initial stages of the journey to Washington DC. While I'm not crazy about the new characters leading this expedition, Abraham does provide an alpha male challenge to Rick. Highlights of this chapter include an eerie dream sequence, a moment of weakness for Maggie, and an act of brutality that bind Rick, Carl and Abraham in a discussion about the animalistic nature of this new world. But perhaps the scariest thing in the series thus far is the "herd" of zombies that is introduced proving, once again, that the calm is always followed by the storm in "The Walking Dead." The sequence leaves our heroes on the run once more. Good, but not great--since the loss at the prison, the group still has some rebounding to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Product, June 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
If you ever wonder what happens after the zombies come and any veneer of civilization is gone, this is the comic for you. Quality job guys... just wish I didn't have to wait over a year since the last HC to get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Apocalypse has never been better, June 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
I highly reccomend reading the entire 'Walking Dead' series. What happens at the end of the world? This series tries to answer that question. Not to mention it is because of the effing Zombie Apocalypse. What could be cooler?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do a better job packing items Amazaon, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
The Book and story is excellent. However, if you buy from Amazon expect to get a banged up book. Amazon does a horrible job packing their graphic novels and the corners always arrive banged up and blunted. I guess their employees really do not care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
Amazing comic, if you enjoy the show this will take you to a whole different level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
I Started get these books last year, i think. Liked it right off bat. It was pretty good and different from TV series. So I liked it, keeps you on toes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop reading, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
Love the hc! Makes it easy to expand your collection. 12 issues in one book. Just starting on reading the series, I strongly suggest getting these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Fans, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Book 5 (Hardcover)
We love the show and had a great time catching up on the comic books in the mid season break. I bought the first 3 for my hubby as xmas gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead Book 5
The Walking Dead Book 5 by Robert Kirkman (Hardcover - May 18, 2010)
$34.99 $25.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.