Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars62
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2011
Have you wondered why and how "The Walking Dead" ended up on AMC instead of another network? Are you interested in the thought process behind keeping Shane alive in the TV series well beyond the character in the comic? Would you like insight into how the actors feel about their characters and some of the events that take place? Do you want to know the ins and outs of some of the auditions for the main cast, the extras, and how the execs of the show secured locations such as downtown Atlanta? Well, this book provides answers to those questions and many more. One of my favorite aspects of this book is that it invites you into the minds of the execs of the show, such as Robert Kirkman, Frank Darabont, and Gale Ann Hurd. They all explain how they became involved with the show, and exactly what their evolving roles are. It makes it that much more satisfying to see them on the show "Talking Dead" which discusses the events of each episode. This book also details which scenes were altered post-production with digital effects, how it was done, who was involved, and the reasons why. An explanation was given as to how the music was composed, who was involved, how the process took place, and the reasons why. Throughout the book, there are constant comparisons between the comic and the TV series, written and illustrated. The sole focus, as far as the TV series is concerned, is on season one. I hope this is the first edition of multiple books with a focus on each individual season. If you can't get enough of "The Walking Dead," this book is a must-own.
44 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
I just got this delivered to me. It's bigger than I thought and contains tons and tons of info about the show and a back and forth comparison between the comic and the show. I highly recommend it to The Walking Dead fans.
Zombies <3 <3 <3 go get your copy!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
And this book gives you all you want and more on Season 1.....but its interesting to see the concept of how a comic book became the huge hit it is today.....if you're a fan....get this, you won't be disappointed!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
one cool thing about this book is that it shows how Robert Kirkman was able to take in my opinion the best graphic novel comic book and turn it into one of the most successful tv shows on cable and is one of AMC's top shows. this book shows how the plot for the tv show and the comic books themselves while having similar story lines there is some major differences in events that take place in the show so that way it would keep people interested in the show not knowing everything that's gonna happen this also allowed kirkman to bring in new characters not in the comic to help add to a different turn of events and overall keeps u wanting more it also shows comic book clip to tv show clip comparisons which I thought was pretty cool. In retrospect this book is for you if you like seeing how the comic book influenced the great tv show we all have know to come and love. keep up the good work kirkman and amc im looking forward to reading through volume 21 of walking dead comic books all out war, I started on the tv show then got into the comics and was amazed at how well done it is the character focus is just so strong
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2012
pretty neat stuff, it really gives you every aspect from technical, to comic, to final product of the show. I learned alot and hope they do one for each season as to get more of an indepth look at why each thing was done the way it was. Just know its very much so based on the creation of the show and technical aspects. I loved this read and would buy it agian in a heartbeat
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
If you enjoy knowing what the writers, producers, and other people involved had to go through to get where they are today, this is a great read. I always like to know how and why certain decisions were made that affect the outcome of a series I am interested in. In addition to the historical background, the book contains several beautiful pictures of both the comic strip as well as the TV series, and even has some mini side-stories to investigate. As the title says, this is a perfect companion to an already popular series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
The Walking Dead companion is an awesome read, because it gives us fans a little insight on how the show was created from an awesome comic. The book only covers the first season so it only gives you a taste of the show, which if you watch the show then a taste can be very fulfilling. The second season was even better which makes me wonder if a companion book will come out for this one as well. I guess we will have to wait and see. Until then, eagerly awaiting the third season.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
Even casual fans of the show will find this a great read. This hefty-sized book starts with the creation of the wonderful comic (along with one page dedicated each of the first 6 issues) and follows the road to getting to series and its successful first season. When it comes to the show, it goes episode by episode (first season only) and includes shot comparisons to the same scene in the comic. It's also loaded with behind the scenes photos and a lot of attention is paid to the SPFX and makeup effects as well as pictures taken from the show and the comics.

My only real beef (and it's not with the book) is that the show has come to be the highest rated show on cable TV and we haven't gotten a book like this and we're now ready to enter the fifth season. Surely they could have come up with something to keep us going in print.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Perfect for those who want to know how the comics turned into the series. I'm hoping another book is released to go behind the scenes of the more recent seasons. I'm a huge fan and love learning all of this information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
I had no contact with this book as it was sent directly to nephew's inmate facility. But, I give a 5 star rating based on his enthusiasm and excitement upon receiving it. It was shipped quickly and in excellent condition. I've ordered several books of this nature for my nephew because he is a die-hard fan of The Walking Dead series via cable TV. Thank you so much!
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse