Customer Reviews


850 Reviews
5 star:
 (760)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the tv show, you'll LOVE the comics!
I will admit. I didn't get in to the comics until the first season was already over. I quickly started grabbing up any I could get my hands on. Unfortunately with the popularity of the show the prices of the comics sky-rocketed. I saw the first compendium and grabbed it as soon as it was available. The price for what you get is unbelievable. The first 48 comics in one...
Published on October 5, 2012 by R. Leabo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We The People
Starts off stronger than it ends. Robert Kirkman developed a compelling run away hit with an apocalyptic nightmare of zombies taking over the world and a small group of Georgians trying to survive and find out what's going on. These 8 volumes begin with trouble within the group but extend to other people and groups they meet. It is never explained why people instantly...
Published 3 months ago by Lynn Ellingwood


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

176 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the tv show, you'll LOVE the comics!, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
I will admit. I didn't get in to the comics until the first season was already over. I quickly started grabbing up any I could get my hands on. Unfortunately with the popularity of the show the prices of the comics sky-rocketed. I saw the first compendium and grabbed it as soon as it was available. The price for what you get is unbelievable. The first 48 comics in one well put together book for 50 dollars!!! When I heard about the second compendium's release, I pre-ordered the first day I could. After MONTHS of waiting it is finally here. The book comes identical to the first. Over 1000 pages of gripping, excellently drawn, drama-filled, excitement! I love the show. I think it is one of the best on tv ever. EVER. The comic blows it out of the water. Since you can draw more than Hollywood can show on tv, you get much more gory, gritty, deaths. They don't have to cater to fans of tv characters or actors and can openly kill anyone(which they do without warning). You don't have the exact same crew you get on tv, and the events are different enough to not spoil the show. If you like the show, if you like the comic, if you want to get in on the greatest thing since sliced human flesh, get BOTH Compendium 1 and 2. They are only up to issue 102, so you can own 1-96 in 2 books. Trust me, you want this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the show, October 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
I had never heard of The Walking Dead until the TV show started. After watching the second season, I decided I had to read the comics. I picked up the first compendium and couldn't put it down. As soon as I saw that the second was was available for pre order, I immediately had to have it.

For those that aren't familiar, this is a collection of issues 49-96 of the comic book series. It is the second compendium. The first one has the original 48 issues in it.

This compendium is just as well written as the first and does not disappoint. I love the story that has been developed in this book. It is now one year since the zombie outbreak occurred. Rick and his friends have just been run out of the prison where they had finally started to make a new life. Rick and Carl have been split from what remains of their group. This volume follows them on their journey to find their friends and try to get something that seems like a normal life again. Along the way, they will reconnect with some familiar faces as well as meet some new people. Towards the middle of the book, they find a place they think could actually offer them a normal life. As the story closes, they discover that the world might not be as lost as they thought.

For anyone that has watched The Walking Dead on TV, I would highly recommend this compendium. It is not the same as the show, but I think the story here is better. I also prefer some of the characters as they are portrayed in the book compared to how they are done in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's about the living; not the undead, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
Kirkman's frighteningly realized world of the zombie apocalypse hits its stride in the second compendium of this graphic serial. The ground rules have now been firmly established: a mysterious viral infection has turned most of humanity into shambling hordes of ravenous creatures. Society has collapsed, resources are scarce and no where is really safe. Desperate choices have to be made at every turn. Beloved characters can and do die with heart-breaking frequency. And every day, horrible things happen to fundamentally decent people; man, woman and child.

And then there's this chillingly unique spin on the time-worn zombie trope: in Kirkman's universe every living soul is already infected. Regardless of how they die, everyone is doomed to rise as a zombie. The only thing that can spare you that grim fate is a well-placed blow or shot to the brain.

But throughout it all, Kirkman keeps us focused on one central premise: in the time of the apocalypse when the dead roam the earth, it is the living that one must truly fear; not the undead.

Thus the titular conceit refers not to the undead ghouls, but the hapless survivors themselves; constantly on the move, always one step away from death, and steadily losing the last shreds of their humanity. The survivors are already walking corpses save one scant biological distinction. What does it mean to be human when survival often comes only at the expense of others? Who are the real monsters when both the living and undead prey upon the those struggling to survive?

This central theme is the essential genius of this comic series, beautifully illustrated in lavish, gruesome detail, peppered with chilling dialog and some the tightest, most soul-searing plotting outside a Cormac McCarthy novel. This is a very dark, very adult "comic" series; but it has profoundly insightful things to say about the nature of humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any fan of the series., October 6, 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
For anyone who enjoys AMC's TV adaptation of this series and wants to read the comic series that started it all, the compendiums are a must buy. For $30, you get more than your money's worth. The Walking Dead Compendium 2 collects issues 49 - 96, kicking off right where the first compendium ended at #48. I strongly recommend this collection for any fan of the series or anyone wanting to see what everyone is raving about, as well as the first collection if not read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, March 24, 2013
By 
Kerry (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
I was a big fan of the tv show and after reading the first and second compendium I'm an even bigger fan of the comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We The People, September 2, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
Starts off stronger than it ends. Robert Kirkman developed a compelling run away hit with an apocalyptic nightmare of zombies taking over the world and a small group of Georgians trying to survive and find out what's going on. These 8 volumes begin with trouble within the group but extend to other people and groups they meet. It is never explained why people instantly hate and mistrust people from other groups or how they get so much firepower but they do. The scenarios are getting to be repetitious, walker- go for brains, people - fight, someone gets hurt - medicine, discuss problems- sex. The more dialog, the worse it gets. Will check out next compendium but this series is going the way of Lost. Not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead: Compendium Two, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
We purchased this as a gift. It was well received. The packaging was just right for a book, not too much excess but the book was secure. Thank you for a good product with a competitive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where is compendium three?, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
did not think i would be interested in reading comics at my age, but could not finish fast enough, when is compendium three to be released?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't stop to read, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
Excellent acquisition, met all my expectations.

The plot of the story is infectious - you have no desire to stop reading. Be careful, you can become a roamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have been looking forward to recieveing this but opened the ..., December 6, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Compendium Two (Paperback)
Have been looking forward to recieveing this but opened the box and found my book torn usually I never gave problems with my orders so this was a bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead: Compendium Two
The Walking Dead: Compendium Two by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - October 16, 2012)
$59.99 $34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.