Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just a Video Game
The Game of the Year edition includes all five episodes, the special episode `400 Days' and digital access to exclusive content (the original soundtrack and a behind the scenes video). There couldn't be a better time to catch up, as the Telltale Games recently announced the release of Season Two and are currently accepting Pre-orders.

Gamers are aware of the...
Published 8 months ago by Quiet Summer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it
Didn't really meet my expectations thought it would be more intense but it's just slow and not very exciting to play
Published 1 month ago by ulices juarez


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just a Video Game, November 20, 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
The Game of the Year edition includes all five episodes, the special episode `400 Days' and digital access to exclusive content (the original soundtrack and a behind the scenes video). There couldn't be a better time to catch up, as the Telltale Games recently announced the release of Season Two and are currently accepting Pre-orders.

Gamers are aware of the crowded world of zombies, but The Walking Dead is not like many games in the genre, it is not a first person shooter or an open world carnage fest of weapons and gore. Instead, it is a story driven point and click emotional roller coaster of a game, where your decision making has far-reaching consequences, resulting in the life or death of those around you. You must navigate this world, investigate your surroundings, solve puzzles, interact with other survivors and manage quick time events.

If you are a fan of the TV show you might often ask yourself why certain individuals make the decisions they do, and swear, sometimes loudly from your couch that you would have done things differently. This is where this game shines. You make the decisions. You decide how to handle dissent amongst your group members, who to feed when food supplies are low and your moral compass is tested by everything from whether to steal food, to lie your way out of trouble, to keep secrets and whether or not you will kill or be merciful. At times, it seems as if killing just might be the same as being merciful. It is up to you to decide, but the consequences affect everyone.

I began the game with the strategy that I would need other people to survive, and in order to maintain a relationship with them; I would need to be honest, helpful, compassionate and democratic. I thought this behavior would prove best. I was still horrified at what happened during my game play. In a post apocalyptic world such as what exists in The Walking Dead, choosing simply to be good or bad is anything but simple. The goal is survival and that can mean doings `bad' things for the greater `good'. It makes the Walking Dead a horrifying, regretful and depressing world as much as it is a moving, emotional and unforgettable one.

You play as Lee Everett, a man in an already regretful situation, handcuffed in the back of a police car on his way to prison for murder when the outbreak begins. Your first encounter is with an endearing, intelligent and frightened eight-year-old girl named Clementine. You quickly realize that her parents are missing, having been out of town during the outbreak and that her babysitter looks like a cross between week-old-cereal and a gutted cherry pie. Lee is fierce in his devotion to Clementine, and Clementine is a bright, hopeful and absolutely endearing soul in a world that houses the most horrid outcomes of human consumption ever conceived. Clementine is as bright as she is amusing and the relationship between Lee and Clementine make the stark, horrible occurrences of a world where the living can be more dangerous than the dead, worth enduring.

If you want to run through the streets bashing in zombie faces and shooting wildly like a blood soaked cowboy you are best to try other zombie games. You have plenty of contact with the zombies and yes, you get to smash heads, chop off heads and shoot through decayed brain matter, but that is not what you will spend the majority of your time doing. You are a leader, a protector and you are best served to observe what is happening around you and within your group, keep a level head and try to think ahead. Still, you will be surprised at where your choices lead you. No one experience will be the same.

The character acting and story line is strong and add to the development of the game. You cannot help but be drawn into what is happening around you. You will face death, you will see others face death and even decide whose life to save. You will make all of life's toughest choices and you will take yourself and your group through the consequences of each one, however slight or severe. Tell Tale Games has set that up quite well and crafted not just a game, but also an experience.

If you are looking for a little more story and reflection in your game play this is a solid choice. The characters are memorable as is the journey. I am off to contemplate my choices. I often find myself thinking I could have chosen better, but in a world like The Walking Dead you have to wonder whether you are exchanging one danger for another, or if you simply going to survive, no matter the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
I quickly got addicted to this game. It is more than a game, there is a real plot to it. I await the new releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness Inside, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Incredibly Amazing Game, Worth Every Single dollar, Great Story, All The Story is Depending On Your Choice , I Really Advise it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TTG knows best!, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
The Walking Dead game is the bomb, I love The Game Of The Year version, sure it's the same as the regular one but the picture is a little better and it has 400 Days as a bonus ep!
Can't wait for TTGs next game, if I were a big buyer I buy this for any collection or game top play!
Hands down and 5 stars as one of the best games!
PS.
Get's your game on?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Loved this game. Being able to select the outcome of an action is great and makes the game so different each time we play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite games of ALL-TIME, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
The Walking Dead Telltale is a game that allows to create your own decisions that affect the story line and that's just amazing. So good I bought the second season of TWD telltale games !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Purchased this game as a gift. It is exactly what he expected. Fun to play and will keep you on your toes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, March 2, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
This game is awesome on many levels. The graphics are very comic like and have alot of contrast and heavy overtones, reminds me of Borderlands' graphics. Also the game emulates the tv series and you will bump into characters from the show/comic such as Herschel, Glenn, and others.

The gameplay is pretty good, but the controls take some getting used to. This game is a cross between a point and click puzzle game (like the classic Myst, Full Throttle, Grim Fandango, etc.) and a role playing game since you get choices on what to say and do. The unfortunate thing is when you have to save one person instead of another it doesn't change the story line other than having one clique like you and the other hate you. I would have rather seen it so if you choose one person over the other they will be with you until you decide not to save them. You don't have as much "freewill" in the game's story as is led to believe in the trailer and description of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game............ BUT, January 1, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
DON'T DOWNLOAD IT from Telltale, get a hard copy (xbox, PS3, or PC disk) its a complete cluster ^%#! at the site. Its like the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing over there. Bought it, downloaded it, installed it, started it "You don't own this game." WTF!?!?! I JUST paid $24.99 for this and it says I don't own it? "Mike." basically says theres nothing I can do I should hash it out with Paypal. Pretty much the Telltale site redirects you to Paypal to purchase the game. Annnnnnnd thats it, you don't get a key or license or anything you just get a pkg file with the game inside. Theres no communication with Telltale at all to prove you actually paid for the game. "Mike" wouldn't accept a screen cap of the confirmation email from Paypal, nor did I need to plug in my email address during the payment process so of course "we don't have that email address on file." Yea... never downloading a game again if this is what can happen.

and PS release the full freaking game all at once, stop accepting this peace meal garbage once a month updates gamers! Would you move into a house you paid for in cash but they added on a new room each month?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Didn't really meet my expectations thought it would be more intense but it's just slow and not very exciting to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3
The Walking Dead Game of the Year - PlayStation 3 by Telltale Games (PlayStation 3)
$29.99 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.