Customer Reviews


703 Reviews
5 star:
 (416)
4 star:
 (155)
3 star:
 (81)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 148 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Inspired Idea About An Exceptional Character--A Engaging Read That Breaks Little New Ground
The inevitable expansion of "The Walking Dead" universe continues, and I suppose it was only a matter of time before the series ventured into the realm of novelization. Having been a huge Dead fan since the first graphic novels, I have watched the enterprise turn into an outright phenomenon. Having reviewed every other incarnation of the franchise (all of the graphic...
Published on August 24, 2011 by K. Harris

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-So Entry into the Walking Dead Book Franchise
This book is co-authoread and that may be part of the problem. This book leaned too far into graphic horror details and less on the common human bonds exhibited by the characters fighting their way through the horror. This may be due having Bonansinga, a veteran horror author, as a co-author. As a result the book lacks the humanity and the triumph of the human spirit...
Published on December 28, 2011 by S. Sokoll


‹ Previous | 114 15 1671 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the twist!!!, March 29, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor (Paperback)
I loved how descriptive this book was! I could almost hear the zombies brains squishing when smashed! You will love the twist at the end, a great book for any Walking Dead fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comic lover? Show lover? Parallel stories rock., March 29, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor (Paperback)
Love it. Read the comics up till the prison attack and Lilly taking out the trash. It's so cool to see an alternate perspective of probably the worst character ever created. I'm in the middle of Fall of the Governor: Part 2 and enjoying every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!!, March 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor (Paperback)
This book is awesome so far!!! It is suspenseful from the start. I am a huge Walking Dead fan. This book is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was...okay., March 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I decided to read this because I enjoy The Walking Dead comics and television show, so why not a novel? It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. At times it moved along very nicely. Action packed, on the edge of your seat. Other times, it was long and unexciting. I felt the editing was rushed and could have been much better. The editor should be ashamed.

If you like The Walking Dead, give this a try. If you're new to TWD, start with the comics or the television show.

That being said, I will probably pass on the other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY FOUR COPIES. CONVERT THREE FRIENDS., March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Highest possible rating.
Be warned: if you know your Walking Dead, you know this book cannot have a happy ending.
It is seriously frightening, massively depressing, and it makes you feel like your soul is drowning in tar the deeper into the book you get.
It is also addicting. You will not want to put it down, despite what it is doing to you.
Tremendously well written. This book is a true odyssey of horror and, more importantly, of transformation.
Brace yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading!, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Reading these novels have actually shed some light on how the Govenor became to be, since the show really didn't quite
hit on it, but the book was so intense that I had to keep reading to find out how horrible a person can be during the time of
world caos and what people are capable of becoming after losing everything and anyone close to them, but it is just fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor (Paperback)
Helps with following series on television. Compliments Walking Dead Compendium One and Two. Looking forward to part two of this book series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Great twist!, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are a fan of The Walking Dead, you will like this book! It gives some great back story to how the Governor became who he is today, and a little bit of how Woodbury got its start under this tyrant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written, gripping, and very graphic. Sets the story for the Governor very well. I look forward to reading the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor (Paperback)
My son is way into the Walking Dead and this was a great way to incorporate the comic series and not break the bank. He originally wanted to start getting the individual comics and reading them that way. There are over 100+!!! This was a much better option and he totally loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1671 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor
The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - June 5, 2012)
$14.99 $12.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.