Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best volume yet...
I'd been thinking the last volume of The Walking Dead were starting to get a little boring. I just plowed through this one and found myself shocked, amazed, and shouting out expletives more than a few times... and again, a cliff-hanger ending...

This is freaking great stuff... the only drawback is waiting another 6 months to find out what happens. Sure, I could...
Published on June 22, 2011 by T. Fitzpatrick

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, which is not necessarily a bad thing
Winter comes to the small community Rick and his friends have joined. Rick has been appointed constable but lets things go to his head and he more or less takes charge, so no one will screw up the good deal they have. They've got walls and homes and supplies and the semblance of a normal life. At the end of the last issue, the community was almost invaded by a band of...
Published on September 18, 2012 by Joseph M. Reninger


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best volume yet..., June 22, 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
I'd been thinking the last volume of The Walking Dead were starting to get a little boring. I just plowed through this one and found myself shocked, amazed, and shouting out expletives more than a few times... and again, a cliff-hanger ending...

This is freaking great stuff... the only drawback is waiting another 6 months to find out what happens. Sure, I could get the single issue comics, but I like the trade paperback too much.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking dead volume 14, August 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
i have read all the collected volumes. some people complain about how the story starts to lag in some of the volumes, and those people are silly. the story is great and those moments where the story slows down, is what makes it even more interesting. i used to read marvel comics and it seemed like all those mutant characters barely had time to use the bathroom and eat lunch. the stories moved to fast and they were going from one battle the next. they never got a break. even as a kid i wondered, how the heck do they keep going? with the walking dead, it feels real when things get quiet and slow. it gives you time to understand the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Storm After The Calm--All Heck Breaks Loose In The Newest Installment Of A Zombie Epic, June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
When I heard that AMC was going to produce a television series based on the zombie epic "The Walking Dead," I was both concerned and delighted. A bona fide classic in undead lore, "The Walking Dead" graphic novels are brutal and surprising--not really what I would picture for a basic cable TV show. The first season ran with 6 episodes, and the ratings were stellar for AMC (a network known for terrific and prestigious shows like "Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad"). With Frank Darabont of "Shawshank Redemption" fame as the creative force behind the show and Robert Kirkman's (the comic's creator) involvement as a writer, we have a winner gearing up for a second season--so check it out today on DVD if you haven't already!

But picking up with the graphic novels, Kirkman hits us with "Volume 14: No Way Out." Now, I have heard some disappointment about recent installments of this terrifically well-rounded series. For those looking for general mayhem and violence, the story has been producing some of the more subdued chapters of late. I have to say that initially I agreed. With Rick and clan installed in a new community, there were dozens of new characters sharing center stage. I found this off-putting at first. But what happened in "Volume 13: Too Far Gone" was far more important than just another attack. Rick's growth and character development were a highlight and how he, and the others, started to acclimatize to their new surroundings had surprising emotional resonance. The characters faced the crossroads where they were allowed to start feeling human again and started to face the moral repercussions of the things they've done and will have to continue to do in order to survive. I ended up really feeling connected with "Too Far Gone" in a surprising way. If you're open to seeing "The Walking Dead" as a fully rounded epic, these moments of introspection are entirely crucial!

"No Way Out," however, should satisfy those begging for a return to bloodlust and monster mayhem. While early sections of the story are spread among far too many characters (we need to thin the pack!), this is the chapter in which we really see Rick reclaim his leadership role making both good and bad decisions. The entire focus of the tale is taken over by a zombie horde that has discovered our little community. Things may not be as secure as our heroes had hoped and when safety is compromised--nothing will be the same again. Mutilated corpses and surprising new victims populate this episode which is an absolute game changer. But amidst all the carnage and loss, Rick has a remarkable epiphany near the end that makes one of the most powerful soliloquies the series has yet produced. Good stuff. KGHarris, 6/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing comic!, June 22, 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
This is indeed an amazing comic. When I was a child/teenager I used to read a lot of comics and that made me create a reading habit. Some years passed and I quit the comics, but after watching The Walking Dead TV series, it made me curious about the story shown at AMC. I digged a bit and found the The Walking Dead comics. I started reading and it made me realize how much I liked comics and how good it is to read a good, well written, character-driven story. Kirkman knows how to involve us with the characters and knows how to put a good cliffhanger in the end of each edition. A must have for everyone who likes good character-based stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing volume, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
The best comic book ever. Kirkman is a genius and this book is so powerful. Almost 100 issues in and it still has me saying "....Damn" to myself as I read the trials of the characters in this awesome story.

100 reccomendations, read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, which is not necessarily a bad thing, September 18, 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
Winter comes to the small community Rick and his friends have joined. Rick has been appointed constable but lets things go to his head and he more or less takes charge, so no one will screw up the good deal they have. They've got walls and homes and supplies and the semblance of a normal life. At the end of the last issue, the community was almost invaded by a band of roving humans but Rick and his people were able to take care of them.

The frayed nerves start to show. People are coming into conflict. Douglas, the former leader of the group, is consumed by guilt over his wife's recent death and his womanizing on the side while she was still alive. He hardly interacts with anyone. Most of the other characters are partnering up, though only for seeming physical comfort. Naturally, such dalliances don't last. When the walls of their community are breached by a herd of zombies, can Rick and the others hold it together long enough to save themselves, by either fleeing or fighting an impossible fight?

This volume moves the story forward but just a little bit. The fractious nature of the community finally shows itself. Lots of hard losses happen and Rick starts to show more selfishness than before. I found the ending a bit improbable and the first seemingly false note of hope in the story. I do wonder what will happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Kirkman - please write faster, June 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
I'm honestly glad I found this series after there had already been 12 collected editions - the waiting for new releases would have been unbearable. I just received 'Vol 14: No Way Out' in the mail and, one hour later, I'm already hungry for more. This volume continues the story of Rick (et al)as he becomes the de facto leader of Douglas' fortified subdivision. Things can't stay quiet for too long can they? Once again, nobody is off limits as this entry ends with the biggest cliffhanger since they left the prison. Fans should already have it preordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was my favorite volume of Walking Dead to come by in quite a while., January 10, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
This was my favorite volume of Walking Dead to come by in quite a while. Non-stop good from start to finish! I could feel the fear of the characters coming through in the great writing. (Spoiler) Surviving the horde invasion truly seemed hopeless and the cliffhanger with Carl was beyond shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead, Volume 14; TPB, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
Let's face it; zombies are so big right now. TWD show is the highest rated TV series and TWD has become a household name or family night viewing. I enjoyed the show... at first, but the further it departs from the comic, the more I see how great the comic was (and always has been). The comic is leaps and bounds better than the show for many reasons, and will always be better with exception to Daryl Dixon- seriously, that's the only thing the show has over the comic that's better. The story and all the characters are written much better in the comics, even though the show has the luxury of showing facial expressions and body language mannerisms not able to be captured on paper. The gore in the comic is incredibly high on the disturbing scale, and that's cool in my opinion- it has to be for a zombie series because it makes everything that much more shocking and emotional to see/read when your beloved character gets viciously killed. As the comic series goes on, the story may slow down in parts, but the overall sense of dread and continuity never changes, as opposed to the show where continuity goes out the window more and more. By this point in time for the characters in the comic, they have experienced almost everything a zombie apocalypse has to offer (so we think). But Rick and company discover how hard it can be to run a community in the infected world without becoming like the Governor (Woodbury) and with fewer defenses and luxuries that Woodbury had. No one is safe in this universe, and I like it. I'll be buying these volumes until the comic stops. The Trade Paperbacks are my preferred choice because of their values online compared to the compendiums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out, by Kirkman and Adlard, December 7, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out (Paperback)
THE WALKING DEAD, Vol. 14: No Way Out (issues 79-84 of the monthly series) and all I can say after that is wow. That was some high tension, a ton of action, and one hell of an event toward the end.

Rick and company are dealing with the aftermath of the attack from inside the camp, as well as the attempted attack from outside when a herd of roamers shows up outside the fence surrounding their little community. This isn’t just any old herd, though; it’s the mother of all herds. They’re surrounded and, even though their fence is reinforced, the dead are just too many and it starts to buckle.

Several characters die, a few of them beloved ones, and a few others reach a turning point in their development, finding hidden layers of strength. But that ending. Man, if I ever doubted Charlie Adlard’s artistic abilities before, he’s put them to rest for sure with a certain two-page spread. Bravo.

With this volume, Robert Kirkman is definitely making up for any of the previous issues where it was a lot of character drama and plot advancement but little real kick you in the ass action. In fact, not since their time in the prison has the book seen a melee quite like this, and even that seems tame in comparison to what the characters went through in this book.

It’s difficult to discuss this book--or really, ANY book in this series--without spoilers, but that’s one thing I definitely don’t want to give away with “No Way Out” as it’s just too good to not go into cold and experience as the characters experienced it.

If you haven’t been reading THE WALKING DEAD, it’s almost worth it to read the book just to get to this volume.

Previously on THE WALKING DEAD:
THE WALKING DEAD 1: Days Gone Bye:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R4Z32IVDKWWAV
THE WALKING DEAD 2: Miles Behind Us:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R24YVRYY5BXV3Q
THE WALKING DEAD 3: Safety Behind Bars:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R1V8VJKC10O96R
THE WALKING DEAD 4: The Heart’s Desire:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3OALQQ3AC4DWB
THE WALKING DEAD 5: The Best Defense:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R203LXJZVJA0TJ
THE WALKING DEAD 6: This Sorrowful Life:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3VVHB3HJNSVXX
THE WALKING DEAD 7: The Calm Before:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R4MDCDDR9SHJ4
THE WALKING DEAD 8: Made to Suffer:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R34QUW9PAVLI3F
THE WALKING DEAD 9: Here We Remain:
http://www.amazon.com/review/RCWJJ0NF61UP4
THE WALKING DEAD 10: What We Become:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R2TKU9NGK7Q0XC
THE WALKING DEAD 11: Fear the Hunters:
http://www.amazon.com/review/ROT45H7ZIPAW1
THE WALKING DEAD 12: Life Among Them:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3LYU5UO5O8XJO
THE WALKING DEAD 13: Too Far Gone:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3NEKLHFHHDH7D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out
The Walking Dead, Vol. 14: No Way Out by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - July 5, 2011)
$14.99 $11.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.