Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvented
I really enjoyed volume 18 and you will too if you are interested in knowing what more Kirkman has up his sleeve. After the gut-wrenching chaos of volume 17, things slow down a bit in this thin volume, but at the same time begin to build new forms of tension. Rick and the survivors continue to evolve as they struggle to survive amidst new forms of evil. Negan takes the...
Published 14 months ago by Jilda Crey

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Governor Part 2
This is another in a series of collections that suggest Kirkman is in rinse and repeat mode on the Walking Dead. In this latest volume, Rick and his team must contend with the latest self appointed emperor who also happens to be a rotten human being in the form of "Negan." Similarly disturbed and depraved as The Governor himself, Negan humiliates Rick while displaying...
Published 13 months ago by Axel


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvented, June 25, 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 18 (Paperback)
I really enjoyed volume 18 and you will too if you are interested in knowing what more Kirkman has up his sleeve. After the gut-wrenching chaos of volume 17, things slow down a bit in this thin volume, but at the same time begin to build new forms of tension. Rick and the survivors continue to evolve as they struggle to survive amidst new forms of evil. Negan takes the role of villain to new heights, and is a continual reminder that they must survive the living as much as the dead. He's ruthless, downright sociopathic, and he poses the greatest threat to the group's survival yet.

You learn more about the characters in this volume as well, who they were before the pandemic and what drives them on. As they face new challenges you'll see new forms of weakness in all of the, as well as new forms of courage as they face new challenges. Let's just say that Carl finds new ways to "man up." This volume is heavily focused on character development, and less on action, which means it's a little slower than some of the others. The group's faith in Rick as a leader reaches new low, and they begin to question his interactions with Negan. There's so much build up in this volume that you'll be left dying to know how it reaches crescendo in Volume 19. I know I am.

I love zombies and thought I'd share another new book I found that's awesome: Cryonic: A Zombie Novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Governor Part 2, July 13, 2013
By 
Axel (St. Lucia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 18 (Paperback)
This is another in a series of collections that suggest Kirkman is in rinse and repeat mode on the Walking Dead. In this latest volume, Rick and his team must contend with the latest self appointed emperor who also happens to be a rotten human being in the form of "Negan." Similarly disturbed and depraved as The Governor himself, Negan humiliates Rick while displaying some odd tendencies and making some curious decisions where Carl is concerned. It's not that overall this collection is weak per se. It's rather that, much of what made the WD original is seeping away, with Kirkman relying on the same plots over and over. It's as if he won't give himself permission to think beyond a formula now. Which is unfortunate. By all means, buy this if you're a WD fan. Just don't expect to be blown away as you previously were 50 or so issues before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as planned!, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 18 (Paperback)
Gift for my husband. Arrived in CA just as I'd planned for Christmas with our daughter. Zombie lovers in our family loved reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done!, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good story telling, thought provoking. You feel what the characters are going thru. Can't wait to see this on the tv show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I couldn't stop reading it! I read it in one sitting and usually I like to break my sessions up but it was too good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comic, March 19, 2014
By 
jon mcgregor (CLARKSVILLE, TN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome comic one of my favorite series to read and the author of these comics is awesome to be sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love The Walking Dead.., February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every single Volume delivers!
This is the only comic book I have even gotten into and I also love the TV show as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money!, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 18 (Paperback)
Finally getting a chance to read the comic after being obsessed with the show. Love seeing the differences between the show and comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story arc, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's such a great addition to the story. Really recommend it. Hope that more characters come along soon as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ahhh the dead, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead, Vol. 18 (Paperback)
just like the other volumes just as great. It's great to see the direction Robert Kirkman is taking this comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead, Vol. 18
The Walking Dead, Vol. 18 by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - June 18, 2013)
$14.99 $9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.