Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirkman Continues To Keep Things Interesting
Over a 100 issues in the series, Kirkman continues to keep things interesting and readers on their toes. The title of this volume is very fitting, March To War. I will not give much away as the joy of reading Walking Dead for me is anticipating what comes next.

The first half of the volume primarily focuses on Rick and his people along with those from the...
Published 13 months ago by JJG

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Storyline on the decline
The art is fantastic as always. The story is getting bad, though. Volume 18 was silly enough with the psychotic, potty-mouthed surfer-talking lunatic dropping f-bombs every other word (which really gets annoying when reading). Now we have a guy worshiped as a king who apparently rules his "kingdom" with a wild animal as a pet by his side. I'm not sure why, but...
Published 12 months ago by Ken


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirkman Continues To Keep Things Interesting, November 19, 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
Over a 100 issues in the series, Kirkman continues to keep things interesting and readers on their toes. The title of this volume is very fitting, March To War. I will not give much away as the joy of reading Walking Dead for me is anticipating what comes next.

The first half of the volume primarily focuses on Rick and his people along with those from the Hilltop and the Kingdom coming together as they plan and prepare for war against Negan and the Saviors. A much needed back story for Ezekiel is provided during this part. Kirkman assures things never stay calm for long though. The second half of the book is an exciting page burner climaxing with a confrontation between Negan and Rick. Predictable in parts but still a joy to read. Considering how Volume 19 ends, the next volume promises to be all out war.

It wasn't the best volume but still a pleasurable way to spend an hour. Walking Dead continues to be one of the best comic series. I recommend this volume for any Walking Dead comic fan and can't wait to see what comes next in Volume 20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie dystopian comic masterpiece in nineteenth installment..., November 25, 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
"The Walking Dead, Vol. 19" by Robert Kirkman is a newly released compilation of beloved zombie comic series that consists of TWD issues from 109 until 114, beautifully illustrated by Charlie Adlard.

No matter how often lately can be heard objections that its pace dropped a bit, "The Walking Dead" is still phenomenon that keeps readers/viewers on the edge of their seat while either watching the TV shows or reading these graphic novels with a great premise of hopeless future.

Therefore if you still didn't try reading the original comics on whose foundation popular TV show was made, the recommendations for its reading certainly stand as the comic format is providing one additional imagination aspect that the TV series isn't able to present.

Because it's already the nineteenth installment it would certainly be good to start reading from the beginning. Even though the premise of the ravaged world where zombies roam, and the remaining people represent a greater threat to each other than the one that is coming of the zombies, is pretty simple to get into it.

Not wanting to spoil too much enjoyment of reading by talking about what will happen on the pages of this sequel, I can only say that the situation between Rick and Negan's group is increasing in intensity, and that soon their final showdown will follow that will likely direct the future events toward something more or less unexpected...

And again noting that the general pace may slowed down a bit, as can be said especially for this sequel that somehow feels as a bit of a filler, this is still a comic masterpiece that can be recommended to any fan of SF and dystopia, horror, and especially loyal fans of The Walking Dead series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to Good, November 21, 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
I fairly savaged the last two trade volumes of Walking Dead. I'd almost given up hope for the series. Volume 19 gets things back on track with a quality blend of genuine character development, heart-in-your-throat action, and satisfying, yet not quite predictable, minor plot twists. After the let-down, near-dread I was left feeling after volumes 17 and 18, number 19 has me looking forward to the next episode again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do you need a review? Buy it!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
gathering a little more steam than volume 18, this trade volume of the Walking Dead ramps up the power struggle between Rick and Negan. It's full of intense moments and closer looks at characters that were glossed over before. In my opinion the War storyline is probably the best in the book's run so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Storyline on the decline, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
The art is fantastic as always. The story is getting bad, though. Volume 18 was silly enough with the psychotic, potty-mouthed surfer-talking lunatic dropping f-bombs every other word (which really gets annoying when reading). Now we have a guy worshiped as a king who apparently rules his "kingdom" with a wild animal as a pet by his side. I'm not sure why, but I thought of Cherry 2000 with the continually-extending absurdity of the post-apocalypse world one-upping itself over and over. In short, so long "graphic novel", hello "comic". Big turnoff to me. If you're reading this, you've invested a lot of time following Rick and company over the years. That means you're pretty much committed to continue reading into the future, but you should know the story jumps the shark in this volume.

This volume drags on with a build-up to "the war". There are some interesting parts that I honestly enjoyed, but the overall story is so over-the-top silly, it's hard to stay in it. New characters are introduced in the matter of a couple panels and that's it. There's no attempt to build any interest in them nor tell their back-story; I couldn't care less whether they live or die. They're just plot devices for the remaining handful of characters that have survived the series to this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building towards the fireworks, November 21, 2013
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The situation between Negan and Rick's group has been increasing in intensity, and in this volume things continue to build to what we expect to be the final confrontation. In that sense, this volume in parts feels like a bit of a filler, but even though the first half is a little dull, things pick up nicely in the second half.

If you have been reading the series, getting this one is a no-brainer. It will probably not make the short list in the competition for best volume, but it has enough meat in there to make it worth your while to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Dead Volume 19, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
Another great Walking Dead graphic novel. Gotta love Negan, the latest villain. This story never fails to produce the same nail biting tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Dead graphic novels, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
Great series, I buy the new ones as soon as they come out. Wish the television series would follow the books a little more closely, but do enjoy some of the variations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
I love the comic series and the new hit TV show. I have been following the comics for years now and they are amazing! If you love zombies and interpersonal relationships this is the graphic comic for you! It has many twists and turns, great character development and a major plot ending that will have you gasping for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead. Vol. 19: March to War, by Kirkman and Adlard, December 12, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War (Paperback)
THE WALKING DEAD Vol. 19: March to War is just that. Rick and company have enlisted the aid of two other communities--the Hilltop, and the Kingdom (home of King Ezekial and his pet tiger…)--to stand up and fight back against the bully Negan and his Saviors.

The volume, collecting issues 109-114 of the monthly series, is Rick and his friends forming their battle plan, and then completely tossing that out the window when Negan shows up a couple of days early and Rick sees an opportunity to take out the competition in one quick move. What he hadn’t counted on was Negan’s own ability to think ahead and station snipers of his own.

Turns out Rick didn’t have the upper hand after all. In fact, if not for a rather … convenient deux ex machina, I think Rick and company were about done for.

I liked this volume more than I did the previous one, but with the TV show having already been a major phenomenal success at this point, I feel writer/creator Kirkman was stretching himself a bit thin here. The villainous Negan is still comically overwritten and entirely unbelievable as THE biggest villain they’ve ever faced.

He’s completely evil, that’s for sure, but, again, the insistent use on the F word every other word--sometimes he uses variations of it three times IN A ROW--is not helping his character development and in fact, to me, it feels like it’s draining the book of what credibility it had built up over 100 previous issues of being a legitimate form of literature.

I’m a huge advocate for comics as literature. If you look at some of the work the best writers in the industry are doing, Alan Moore’s work on WATCHMEN and MIRACLEMAN, Frank Miller’s DARK KNIGHT RETURNS, Grant Morrison’s ARKHAM ASYLUM, Neil Gaiman’s work on SANDMAN, this stuff is literature. While I’m not saying THE WALKING DEAD is quite in the same class, it wasn’t far off the mark in those earlier books. But these later chapters… I don’t know.

I don’t think it’s too late to come back from the edge its balanced very precariously on lately, but this Negan character is just so badly managed, this is the kind of stuff that makes non-comic people turn up their noses at the form. And you know what, in this case they may be right.

That being said, I do like some of the other characters that are starting to step up to the plate. Jesus is quickly winning my admiration and respect while Carl is truly developing into hell of a badass. Andrea and Michonne are also revealing another layer to their personalities and it makes the reading of their scenes incredibly enjoyable.

I hope Kirkman’s execution of the upcoming chapters (the 2-volume All Out War is next) is better handled than this and that some of the characters stop behaving as if they were written by horny high school kids with no concept of how people actually talk and behave. Either way, I’m going to read it anyway because I’ve come this far and, well, maybe if and when they defeat Negan and that character is off the table, things can go back to being more realistic than they have been lately. I can hope.

Previously on THE WALKING DEAD:
THE WALKING DEAD 1: Days Gone Bye:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R4Z32IVDKWWAV
THE WALKING DEAD 2: Miles Behind Us:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R24YVRYY5BXV3Q
THE WALKING DEAD 3: Safety Behind Bars:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R1V8VJKC10O96R
THE WALKING DEAD 4: The Heart’s Desire:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3OALQQ3AC4DWB
THE WALKING DEAD 5: The Best Defense:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R203LXJZVJA0TJ
THE WALKING DEAD 6: This Sorrowful Life:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3VVHB3HJNSVXX
THE WALKING DEAD 7: The Calm Before:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R4MDCDDR9SHJ4
THE WALKING DEAD 8: Made to Suffer:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R34QUW9PAVLI3F
THE WALKING DEAD 9: Here We Remain:
http://www.amazon.com/review/RCWJJ0NF61UP4
THE WALKING DEAD 10: What We Become:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R2TKU9NGK7Q0XC
THE WALKING DEAD 11: Fear the Hunters:
http://www.amazon.com/review/ROT45H7ZIPAW1
THE WALKING DEAD 12: Life Among Them:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3LYU5UO5O8XJO
THE WALKING DEAD 13: Too Far Gone:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3NEKLHFHHDH7D
THE WALKING DEAD 14: No Way Out:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3SIU8W2VDP99F
THE WALKING DEAD 15: We Find Ourselves:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R1P4NHMLAHPC2D
THE WALKING DEAD 16: A Larger World:
http://www.amazon.com/review/RI9DY5XR0YFEI
THE WALKING DEAD 17: Something to Fear:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R2ANQ63TGJEDYW
THE WALKING DEAD 18: What Comes After:
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3GQB60SS46PCY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War
The Walking Dead Volume 19 TP: March to War by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - November 19, 2013)
$14.99 $8.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.