Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New exciting adventures of human survivors in a dark vision of future
‘The Walking Dead, Vol. 20’ by Robert Kirkman is latest release of popular zombie comic series which describe the dystopian world ruled by undead that beside its illustrated version infected the entire planet with excellent TV-series. This compilation consists of TWD issues from 115 to 120, which were all imaginatively and ominously illustrated by masterful...
Published 4 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak issue
I've been reading the Walking Dead for sometime now, having read all the issues up to this one. I found this one to be nothing more than "more of the same".

It is starting to get old. Move the story along, guys!
Published 2 months ago by Pete Maiorino


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New exciting adventures of human survivors in a dark vision of future, March 10, 2014
‘The Walking Dead, Vol. 20’ by Robert Kirkman is latest release of popular zombie comic series which describe the dystopian world ruled by undead that beside its illustrated version infected the entire planet with excellent TV-series. This compilation consists of TWD issues from 115 to 120, which were all imaginatively and ominously illustrated by masterful drawings made by Charlie Adlard.

As I wrote in the review for the previous installment, no matter how often can be heard objections that TWD pace dropped a bit, this is still a story that we all eagerly follow expecting to see how it finishes or perhaps hoping that there is a chance to take the world back to the state as it was before the zombie outbreak. Some of the TV seasons and comic issues seem like fillers, like the authors ran out of inspiration or are simply reaping the fruits of labor repeating the same proven formula, but then suddenly something happens which shows how Kirkman had an idea from the beginning, and that all things are put together in an interesting mosaic while parts of the puzzle are slowly given to us.

Although it is hard to believe that there is someone who has just now heard of this franchise, or did not knew that TV-series is based on comics, the recommendations for its reading certainly stands as the comics are providing an additional aspect of imagination that the TV-series lacks keeping readers thrilled while taking part in the adventures of the survivors which are in greater danger from the other remaining people, but the zombies.

In its twentieth installment war between the factions is the main theme – the Saviors on one side, while Kingdom, Hilltop and Alexandra Safe-Zone are united on the second, the tide of war is changing and it is uncertain to predict anything…

What makes me particularly happy about this sequel is that unlike some of the earlier installments the elements of additional character development, emotions and good interaction among the protagonists are again present - all the things that marked the start of the series, but later gradually fell in the background. In this installment there will also be some deaths that I will not discover not to spoil the thrill, but it certainly would be surprising to readers who may have forgotten some similar situations in the past when on few pages many important characters disappeared without author’s mercy.

Overall, TWD 20 is another sequel for which many will say that it’s a filler and hardened fans will swear it’s brilliant, but nevertheless we all will read it because it delivers new exciting adventures of human survivors in a dark vision of future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good First Half Of All Out War Storyline, March 10, 2014
WD Volume 20 is the first half of the storyline titled All Out War. As the title suggests, Volume 20 tells of Rick and his community along with those from the Kingdom and the Hilltop fighting a war against Negan and the Saviors. Volume 20 begins with Rick and his allies confronting Negan at his stronghold. The volume contains a fair amount of action but not as much as I would have guessed given the title of the storyline. One section in the middle feels like filler material. Still, it is an enjoyable read with the beginning and end of the volume being the best. There are a couple twists and turns toward the end which create conflict and provide a nice setup for the final half of All Out War.

As always, Kirkman keeps readers on their toes. Being war, not everyone makes it to the end of the volume. Just when things look up for Rick and his allies, everything begins to crumble. The volume is sure to please WD fans. I like the storyline and can't wait to see how Kirkman finishes it but feel it's about time for WD to move past Negan and begin the next chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak issue, May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
I've been reading the Walking Dead for sometime now, having read all the issues up to this one. I found this one to be nothing more than "more of the same".

It is starting to get old. Move the story along, guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fool Me Twice..., March 12, 2014
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
There's nothing new here. Nothing. Kirkman's clearly run out of ideas. In Volume 20, he more or less rehashes old storylines, changing a few details here and there (instead of defending a gated community, this time, Rick attacks one) to create a very transparent facade of originality. Volume 20 is a lot of running around and fighting. Don't get me wrong, I dig action. This however, is action of the mindless variety, and it's pretty much all we're given. I dig character development and world-building too, but there's precious little of that here. There are very few compelling characters left to care about, and that hasn't changed since the character killing spree in Volume 18. Carl in danger? Again? It doesn't generate suspense like it used to. A character whose name I can't remember is killed? Sorry, I guess. Even the villain is weak- Negan is no governor. It all smacks of really lazy writing. I don't blame Kirkman for being preoccupied with the enormously successful TV adaptation. I'd even understand if he was getting a little bored with the books. But I do kind of resent being presented this throw-away bad action movie of a Walking Dead comic. The comic used to be superior to the show, but that's changed. The show, at least, is trying to flesh out compelling characters and presenting interesting new dilemmas. With the comic, I'm sad to say, Krikman appears to be phoning it in. I guess if people keep buying 'em, he'll keep pumping 'em out. I, for one, am done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
I thought it was great,it's too bad you had to put it in two parts. I'd love to have it all together, than have to wait for the
second part to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dope albeit heartwrenching, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
This TP was good as they get when all hell has broken loose on earth vis-à-vis a zombie apocalypse. If you're all caught up in the comics aside from this, you HAVE to buy it... it is THAT great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting greater and greater, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Keep the madness coming. This one is the best so far for sure. I can't wait for part two to release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
The book itself is solid and sturdy, but small enough to be easily held while reading. The story, to my surprise, was actually very good. This "war" has been building for a long time and I was concerned this story arc had jumped the shark. It hasn't. This was a solid part one with some great writing, at times a bit rushed, but still worth the purchase. Can't wait for Part 2 of the All Out War arc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved it just as much as the others. I can't wait to find out what happens next. They are so good at building suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product! Arrived exactly as expected, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP (Paperback)
Great Product! Arrived exactly as expected, high quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP
The Walking Dead Volume 20: All Out War Part 1 TP by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - March 11, 2014)
$14.99 $8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.