Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


240 of 242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Waltons.A classic family show.
With so much junk on TV these days,it is so refreshing to see The Waltons with it's honest basic family values on the screen again. It's nice to see a show that isn't mean spirited as so many American shows are these days.
The Waltons made it's debut in the US on Sept 14th 1972 and continued on for nine seasons.
At first it struggled in the ratings but picked up...
Published on January 24, 2004

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Happy to see them again but what a poor job!
For years we've been waiting and finally The Waltons are on DVD!

Love to see them again as they were not that popular in The Netherlands and the mayority of the series wasn't broadcasted at all!

The quality of the DVDs are dissapointing! Why not digitally remastered the episodes? Very poor DVDs in design, especially when you compair them to the ones...
Published on January 29, 2006 by Dutch2005


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

240 of 242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Waltons.A classic family show., January 24, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
With so much junk on TV these days,it is so refreshing to see The Waltons with it's honest basic family values on the screen again. It's nice to see a show that isn't mean spirited as so many American shows are these days.
The Waltons made it's debut in the US on Sept 14th 1972 and continued on for nine seasons.
At first it struggled in the ratings but picked up speed after getting many good reviews and went to number one in the ratings. This first season won five Emmy awards including best series,best actor Richard Thomas,best actress Michael Learned and best supporting actress in Ellen Corby.
It went on to win many more.

The First Season episodes are-
The Foundling- A six year old deaf girl is found abandoned on the Waltons doorstep.
The Carnival- When the carnival manager leaves with their money,four stranded carnival members are helped by the Waltons.
The Calf- Jim Bob and Elizabeth take a calf to save it from slaughter.
The Hunt- John-Boy reluctantly goes on a hunt and saves John's life during a bear attack.
The Typewriter- John-Boy borrows the Baldwin's sisters typewriter to type a manuscript and loses it.
The Star- When a meteorite falls,Zeb believes it is an omen of his death and takes to bed.
The Sinner- The new preacher Matthew Fordwick(John Ritter)arrives and upsets John with his strict preaching.
The Boy From The CCC- A boy from the CCC who is found with an injured ankle is taken in by the Waltons and causes trouble.
The Ceremony- Jewish refugees from Nazi Germany come to Waltons Mountain.
The Legend- John's WW1 buddy comes to visit and is obviously living in the past. He accidently starts a fire.
The Literary Man- John Boy meets a writer and gets distracted from cutting timber therefore jeopardizing a timber contract.
The Dust Bowl Cousins-The Denby family,distant cousins,arrive on the mountain and upset everybodys life by stealing and fighting.
The Reunion- The Baldwin sisters cousin arrives for a visit and tries to scam the sisters out of their "recipe".
The Minstrel- Mary Ellen feels trapped in her surroundings and runs off with a travelling minstrel.
The Actress- A famous actress finds herself stranded on Waltons Mountain with car trouble. Her driver absconds with the money.
The Fire- Lutie Bascomb objects to Miss Hunter teaching the theory of evolution to her students. He sets fire to the school.
The Love Story- John Boy discovers love in the form of Jenny Pendleton.
The Courtship- Olivia's uncle Cody Nelson,laid off from his job,comes to visit the Waltons.
The Gypsies-a stranded Gypsy family refuses help until Grandma saves their babies life.
The Deed- The Waltons must raise money to register a deed to Waltons Mountain to stop a company from mining their mountain.
John-Boy goes into town to get a job and gets mugged.
The Scholar- A neighbor,Verdie Grant,asks John-Boy to teach her to read and write.
The Bicycle- John Boy agrees to help blacksmith Curtis Norton to write letters to his pen-pal fiancee.
She arrives to find him much different to the letters.
The Townie- After going on a date with John-Boy,Sarrah Simmonds(Sissy Spacek)sees him as a way to escape her boring lifestyle.
The Easter Story- Coming home from church,Olivia collapses and is diagnosed with polio.

After The Waltons was cancelled in 1981,there were some telemovies made,three rather average ones made in 1982 and another three much better ones,with Richard Thomas back as John-Boy,made in 1993,1995 and 1997. The final movie had John-Boy as a reporter on TV covering the 1969 moon landing.

One negative point-in what must have been a production error,the subtitles are in French only. There are no English subtitles.
Obviously someone at Warners Home Video has made a bad mistake in production. This makes it difficult for any elderly viewers or hard of hearing that might want to watch this show.
Subtitles are supposed to be standard on all DVD box sets and I note that overseas versions of The Waltons have corrected this mistake(just not the American version).
Hopefully,they will get that right when Season Two one day gets a release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Waltons is True Family TV, July 27, 2005
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
Other reviewers have thoroughly reviewed the details of the Waltons first year on TV with titles and plot descriptions, so I won't elaborate further. Instead, I will tell you why I feel this DVD set is perhaps is the best series that ever aired on TV, and is true family entertainment.

The Waltons first aired in 1972 on CBS. It was considered "hokey" by some of the critics of the day, yet it captured the hearts of the viewers and went on to be one of the finest long-running series on TV. It captured peoples hearts because it told stories of real people, real people in a family that loved and cared for each other. Although many of the stories are of course fictional, the writer, Earl Hamner (who is actually John-boy), weaves fiction with real-life drama and shows how his loving family dealt with the hard times they grew up in, and how they related to each other with love. In essence, the Waltons shows the viewer what all of us would like our families to be like. One cannot help caring about the characters because Hamner does such a great job of developing their unique personalities for us. The actors and actresses that play his family are perfect for the parts, and even though many of them are just children, their realistic acting makes one believe they are actually a real family. The series is carried on the shoulders of three central characters, John-Boy (Richard Thomas), his mother Olivia Walton (Michael Learned), and Father John Walton (played by Ralph Waite). All three are absolutely superb in their respective roles, and earned honors and accolades for their depiction of Hamner's family. When these three characters eventually left ths show in later years, the show itself folded.

If you have never seen The Waltons on TV, this is the place to start. The first season is perhaps the best, with stories that will make you laugh, cry, and cheer. I watch the shows with my own 6 children and even in these modern days with so many other distractions, my kids are thrilled with the stories. Each child relates to a particular Walton child, and after finishing an episode, they beg to watch another.

Television does not get better than The Waltons. I recommend this series for those viewers who desire more family values and less violence, sex, and questionable language and topics in their tv viewing. This is true family values TV, and I wish we had something like it today. The Waltons will capture your heart, and you will come to love the characters and care about them. Thank you Earl Hamner for sharing your lovely family with us!

Jim Konedog Koenig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episode List for Season One, May 10, 2004
By 
L.M.W. (Alabama, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
For your information, here is a complete episode list for season one of "The Waltons."
The Foundling 9/14/72
A small deaf girl is abandoned at the Walton home. They lovingly care for her and teach her sign language, but their attention causes a crisis for Elizabeth.
The Carnival 9/21/72
A carnival troupe comes to Walton's Mountain. When the manager absconds with the money, four members are stranded at the Walton house. They thank the Waltons with a private performance.
The Calf 9/28/72
The family cow, Chance, gives birth to a healthy calf, but John announces that it must be sold to make ends meet. Elizabeth and Jim Bob hide the calf to save it.
The Hunt 10/5/72
John Boy prepares to go on his first hunt and distresses over taking an animal's life. During the hunt he saves John's life from an attacking bear. Meanwhile, Mary Ellen debates over a new dress or a baseball mitt.
The Typewriter 10/12/72
John-Boy borrows an antique typewriter from the Baldwin sisters so he can send a story to a magazine. Mary Ellen then mistakenly sells it to a junk man.
The Star 10/19/72
When a meteorite falls on the Baldwin's house, Zeb believes his time has come. The Baldwin sistes are hoaxed by their cousin until Zeb and John come to the rescue.
The Sinner 10/26/72
The Reverand Matthew Fordwick comes to Walton's Mountain and upsets the family with his strict and forceful preaching. He innocently samples "the recipe," and John helps him to be accepted within the community.
The Boy From The CCC 11/02/72
Gino, a boy from the slums of New York City, runs away from a CCC Camp and learns about trust and love from the Waltons.
The Ceremony 11/09/72
A Jewish family, escaping refugees from Nazi Germany, come to Walton's Mountain for safety. Their 13-year-old son loses respect for his father in the son's attempt to maintain his religious beliefs and practices.
The Legend 11/16/72
John's old army buddy, Tip Harrison, tries to cover his lack of success with childish actions and comments that culminate in an accidental fire and the shooting of Reckless.
The Literary Man 11/30/72
John-Boy's truck breaks down and he meets famed author A. J. Covington. John-Boy jeopardizes a timber contract badly needed by the family.
The Dust Bowl Cousins 12/07/72
The Walton's distant cousins arrive on the mountain and immediately upset everyone's life by their shiftless and dishonest ways.
The Reunion 12/14/72
The Baldwin sisters and "The Recipe" play a pivotal role in this story involving their unscrupulous scheming cousin, Homer Lee Baldwin.
The Minstrel 12/21/72
Mary Ellen meets a traveling troubador, Jamie, and neglects her responsibilities of helping to pick fruit.
The Actress 1/04/73
When her car breaks down, the famous and extravagant actress, Alvira Drummond, finds herself stranded on Walton's Mountain. The children, especially Mary Ellen, are fascinated by her "Hollywood" ways.
The Fire 1/11/73
A young girl's father objects to Miss Hunter teaching evolution and takes drastic actions to prevent his child and others from learning more about it.
The Love Story 1/18/73
John-Boy falls in love with Jenny Pendleton, who returns to Walton's Mountain. Jenny's father and new step-mother follow her to the mountain. Her father is killed in an auto accident and Jenny returns home with her step-mother. John-Boy suffers his first lost love.
The Courtship 1/25/73
Olivia's Uncle Cody Nelson comes to visit with the Waltons and finds love with a woman who has been divorced four times.
The Gypsies 2/01/73
A gypsy family is stranded, but the leader refuses to accept help from the Waltons. His pride almost costs the life of his baby son.
The Deed 2/08/73
It seems that the Waltons never officially registered the deed to Walton's Mountain. In order to help pay the legal fees, John-Boy leaves home for a job in the city. He meets new friends, gets mugged, and earns a reward to help the family keep their home.
The Scholar 2/22/73
A neighbor lady, Verdie Grant, asks John-Boy to teach her to read and write. He agrees to teach her as he helps Elizabeth. Things go wrong, however, and feelings are hurt.
The Bicycle 3/01/73
Local blacksmith Curtis Norton has had John-Boy write letters to his bride-to-be. When she arrives on Walton's Mountain, life and Curtis are much different than she expected. Meanwhile, Olivia is feeling new pangs for freedom and something "different" in her life.
The Townie 3/08/73
John-Boy's friend, Sarah, sees him as a way to escape her "trapped" life with her demanding mother. When John-Boy rejects her advances, she runs off and plans to elope with a townie.
The Easter Story 4/19/73(two-hour episode)
The entire family suffers a crisis when Olivia is stricken with polio. Dr. Vance prescribes the accepted treatment, but Olivia does not get better. John-Boy learns of a new treatment practiced by Sister Kenny and the family tries it in time for the Easter service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its About Time!!!, May 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
When one thinks of the quintessential 'family'..."The Waltons" immediately come to mind. I remember my watching this show every Thursday evening during its primetime run. Now we can enjoy it always.
Unlike the "Little House" series (Which I also love)which is badly chopped and not UNCUT, this DVD is superior quality!! Completely restored and enhanced including the audio voiceover..."Stay Tuned for some scenes from the Next Episode of the Waltons" at the end of each episode!!
The stories are heartwarming and morally right...unlike the trash of today's television. As a matter of fact, when "Touched by an Angel" ended last year, I stopped watching prime-time. Thank God now for DVD season by season sets of quality television like "The Waltons", a series that endured for nine years and was still in the top thirty at the time it ended! This series struck a chord in the heart of america and its time we went back to these values.
You all can have CSI, Friends, Will and Grace, Sex and the City, ...(and all the rest of the garbage....). Just give me shows like "The Waltons"!!
(...).....
Absolutely perfect!! Now....get the rest of the seasons out there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will the Circle Be Unbroken?, May 14, 2004
By 
Edward Aycock (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
Nowhere near as maudlin or tragic as the show it is often (and unfairly) compared to, Little House on the Prairie, The Walton's is probably the best family TV drama of all time. Revisiting Walton's Mountain can bring back some great memories. For those who stuck with the show throughout the run and watched in dismay as Richard Thomas, Will Geer, Ellen Corby, Michael Learned and finally Ralph Waite drifted away, the first season has everybody in fine form. The kids are cute without being saccharine, the stories are a fine balance of drama and humor and the acting and pacing are well done. This show may seem too slow to some, but life on the Mountain was leisurely, so the show should be also.
There are some complaints that despite the narration at the beginning of the episode telling us how isolated they were that a lot of people seemed to stumble upon that mountain: well, this is certainly true. I think the strongest episodes were those that took place within the community, and not with outsiders who always found a lesson to be learned from the Waltons.
As the first season progresses, each child gains their personality. Jon Walmsley, my favorite, is also a very talented musician and his character Jason, the second oldest, is a good counterpoint to Richard Thomas' often cranky and annoyed John Boy.
This is a good place to start if you've never seen the show. For those of us who grew up with it, or became converts in reruns, it's a blessed DVD event. Best episodes: The Scholar, The Typewriter and An Easter Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD It's About Time, February 28, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
I love the waltons. I watched it when all the episodes were first aired on TV and I have seen all the reruns several times. This is my very favorite show next to Northern Exposure which I also just ordered the first season DVD box set to. I am hoping that they relese all of the waltons episodes on DVD I would order every last one of them. I just hope it doesn't take ten years to do it. Anyhow, this is my first review and I just wanted to highly recomend the waltons if you are looking for a good clean family show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest Family Series Ever Created, June 9, 2004
By 
Simon Davis (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
I feel in alot of ways that I grew up with the Walton children as the classic depression era series "The Waltons", was a regular part of our family viewing for years on a Sunday night here in Melbourne. It was always with great anticipation that we tuned in to see what would unfold that week for our favourite TV family. Whether the storyline dealt with John Boy struggling to get his first book published, Olivia battling a severe attack of polio, Grandpa feeling lonely while Grandma was in hospital or Erin deciding to raise a baby faun we were guaranteed a well crafted, beautifully written and acted story that while on the sentimental side always had elements of hard reality in them. None of the Walton family were perfect and that was one of the great strengths of the series where we got to enjoy people who were decent and inherently good individuals but who from time to time succumbed to their personal weaknesses and temptations like we all do on occasion.
It is wonderful that season one of the multi Emmy award winning "The Waltons",has now received the proper DVD release that it so richly deserves. Being the brain child of creator Earl Hamner Jnr who based the series on his own childhood in Virginia. "The Waltons", premiered on the 14th September 1972 against tough competition from such favourites as the then popular Flip Wilson Show. After a shaky start the series took off in the ratings and stayed in prime time for an amazing 9 seasons which saw the setting move right through the depression years and then into World War 2 and beyond. Obviously over that period of time many changes occured in the series and unfortunately the second half of "The Waltons", run was plagued by cast changes that ultimately damaged the show. First veteran Ellen Corby (Grandma) suffered a stroke, Richard Thomas (John Boy) left to do other projects, Will Geer (Grandpa) died of a heart attack, and Michael Learned (Olivia) also left to do other acting work. Each departure affected the series and I always felt Michael Learned's departure in particular, removing the warm calming mother of the clan was the biggest disappointment and left a hole in the series.
Season one however has all of those difficulties long in the future and these 24 episodes find all the actors settling into their characters that we soon grew to love and know so well. Season one contains some brilliant episodes for you to enjoy such as "The Scholar", which won a writing Emmy award, the superb "The Literary Man", and possibly best of all the heartwrenching two part episode "The Easter Story", which provided Michael Learned with one of her best stories in the series when she is stricken by polio. The writing could always be relied upon to create an emotional story but it was the power and sheer believability of the acting talent involved that made "The Waltons", such first class entertainment. Will Geer and Ellen Corby were born to play Zeb and Esther Walton the grandparents of the clan. Here were no sentimental oldies but two people who were described at the time as the "most realistic elderly couple on television". Ralph Waite as John Walton and Michael Learned as his wife Olivia where acting legends that brought qualities of warmth, reason and sacrifice to their characters of the parents. Even the children were well cast with actors that looked like they could be living on Waltons Mountain. Central to all the action of course was Richard Thomas in his unforgettable role as eldest son John Boy through who's eyes the action each week unfolded.
This DVD set has the complete and uncut episodes set in their correct order so you can follow the families development from the first episode that went to air. I only hope that a similiar treatment will be given to the following seasons of this legendary show. Viewing "The Waltons", again after all these years and seeing stories full of real human spirit and warmth makes me sadly lament the state of alot of our modern television that seems to have lost its way in entertaining people. Do yourself a favour soon and become acquainted with the Walton clan in depression era Virginia, you'll be a better person for the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Happy to see them again but what a poor job!, January 29, 2006
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
For years we've been waiting and finally The Waltons are on DVD!

Love to see them again as they were not that popular in The Netherlands and the mayority of the series wasn't broadcasted at all!

The quality of the DVDs are dissapointing! Why not digitally remastered the episodes? Very poor DVDs in design, especially when you compair them to the ones of The Little House on the Prairie. No bloopers, no comments, no extras!

We, Waltons fans, would be more than willing to pay the extra $ for a decend product! This is a hastly put together product of poor guality and the producers should be ashamed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Family Show, October 28, 2004
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
I am so glad they finally decided to put The Waltons on DVD! The is a excellent boxset. I thought the picture and sound quality was great. I wish there were some commentaries from Earl Hamner or the cast, but there's still 8 seasons to go. Maybe we'll get some commentaries or even a few bloopers in the next few boxsets--when/if they'll be released.

In answer to Matt Weaver's question about the two-hour episode about Grandpa Walton's death, that episode was called "The Empty Nest." It is the one where they all go up to Waltons Mountain to say goodbye to their grandfather (Actor Will Geer died in April 1978). This episode is not on VHS or DVD, but The Waltons are showing on the Hallmark Channel now. Once they reach Season 7, (they're on Season 1 now), you'll get to see that episode. It is a tear-jerker.

I've been a Waltons fan for two years now. I'm only 26 and they're aren't many fans of The Waltons who are around my age. I can't stand what's on TV today. I'm sick of the reality shows and so-called "comedies." I'll take the Waltons over any of these popular shows today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets Not Stop Here, September 28, 2004
This review is from: The Waltons: Season 1 (DVD)
I admit that I am an unabiased fan of The Waltons. Every since I saw "The Homecoming" on its first broadcast at Christmas of 1971, I have been enthralled by this show.

When the Family Channel started to broadcast the reruns in the early 1990's it afforded me the opportunity to sit and watch it with my sons every night.

I purchased the DVD when it was released but just got the time to actually sit down and watch them. I had intended to watch 1 a night but found that I watched 2 or 3 a night.

There are several standout episodes contained in the first year (The Scholar deserved every award it received) but the real magic in watching these episodes is the growth of the characters and the inherent decency of the family. I don't want to single anyone out as it would not be fair. Richard Thomas is the star and his portrayal of John Boy is one of the classic television perfomances. The way the cast knits together is every bit a tribute to the close knitting of the Walton clan.

Admittedly you are looking at the beginnings of a show that you know very well, but the roots were as strong as those in that mountain.

I only hope that someone has the brains to continue to issue each season at least through Richard Thomas' exit full time from the series.

Too often we get year one (Larry Sanders) and nothing more. This series deserves to be seen by everyone.

It is hard to believe that it will be 33 years this year that we first met these characters. They will still be as good 33 years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Waltons: Season 1
The Waltons: Season 1 by Richard Thomas (DVD - 2004)
$27.96 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.