Digital List Price: $6.99
Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $2.00 (29%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

The Watchers (Covert Missions Book #1) Kindle Edition

35 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 420 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Matchbook Price: $1.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Twenty-year-old Abby Sherman has a blog on a social networking website called "mycorner.com." When she innocently blogs about a very vivid dream, she sets in motion the events that comprise the bulk of this novel, in which Christy nominee Olsen (The Assignment) admirably ties together myriad plot points. Not only does Abby blog, but she also appears on an Oprah-like show, travels the world, learns about several cultures and religious traditions, and fights battles against the spiritual forces of darkness. The juxtaposition of Abby's youth against her wisdom and power are reminiscent of Buffy the Vampires Slayer, and the book's take on spiritual warfare seems to owe more to Joss Whedon than it does to Frank Peretti. Olsen fascinatingly weaves questions of race and gender into the epic supernatural war he depicts, and despite staying faithful to the conventions of the suspense-thriller genre, he only occasionally wanders into clichéd territory. Though much of Abby's dialogue develops her as a smart, strong heroine, the novel's weakest points are Abby's blog entries and her heartfelt but largely stultifying monologues about her otherworldly gifts. Nonetheless, Olsen delivers an entertaining thriller likely to be enjoyed especially by fans of the spiritual warfare genre.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"...The Watchers is a wild ride of action-packed suspense" -- Sheryl Root, armchairinterviews.com

"If you like mysteries, suspense, spiritually up-lifting tales, you will not want to miss The Watchers." -- Philip Tomasso III, inthelibraryreviews.net

"Readers won't be able to pout this book down... filled with rich history, wonderful imagery, and intense characters." -- Romantic Times

"...a fast-paced work of fiction.... I enjoyed this supernatural saga, and look forward to more from this author." -- Tracey Bonsell, Christian Book Previews.com

Product Details

  • File Size: 1495 KB
  • Print Length: 420 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (April 1, 2008)
  • Publication Date: April 1, 2008
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AFWM4E8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #581,155 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

MARK ANDREW OLSEN is a screenwriter, author of four solo novels and four collaborative novels including the bestselling biblical thriller Hadassah, adapted into the FoxFaith film One Night with the King. He co-wrote the MGM film Music Within, and the Bethany House novels Hadassah Covenant, Rescued, The Assignment, The Watchers, The Warriors, The Long Road Home and Ulterior Motives. Mark is the son of Baptist ministers and missionaries to France and a graduate of Baylor University in Professional Writing. He lives in Colorado with his wife Connie and three children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Kevin Lucia on March 1, 2007
Format: Hardcover
In today's world, every author, writer/songwriter, musician, and filmmaker is faced with a quandary that's almost biblical in proportions: "There is nothing new under the sun". Especially in the world of fiction, authors must undoubtedly struggle with the looming feeling that every story has already been told, and they face the pressure of putting unique spins and crafting original takes on stories that have been told over and over again.

Sometimes, that's the barometer for judging a good book versus a great book; when reading a "good" book, readers think to themselves at the end, "That was good, but it's been done before". When finishing a "great" book, the reader is conscious this plot isn't new, but some wispy intangible in the story's narrative - be it the strength of the characters, vivid description, introspective first person narrative, or unique perspective - elevates it past that, and the reader thinks, "That was unbelievable!".

The Watchers, by Mark Andrew Olsen, is written well, a few of its characters are interesting - the strongest, in my mind is assassin-turned-protector, Dylan Hatfield - and Olsen crafts suspense well enough, but the overall plot simply falls into the former category: a good, solid read that's suspenseful, written well...but it's been done before. For example: A young girl plagued with nightmares and visions is hunted by an ancient, ruthless Order older than time itself as she races to uncover the truth about herself and a mysterious, holy group of woman who are also being hunted by this evil, dark Order. Along the way, an assassin who's always "followed" orders discovers a deeper truth as they hurtle on a global adventure that will reveal the truth about who they are, and who they will become.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ruth Anderson VINE VOICE on March 10, 2007
Format: Hardcover
Abby Sherman would be just your average twentysomething if not for her dreams - intense, vivid experiences that catapult her into ancient times, seeing and feeling life through another's eyes. When she posts her dream journal on the web, begging for any insight and understanding others might be able to offer mysterious dreams, she unwittingly sets a dangerous chain of events in motion. Abby's plea for help puts her in the crosshairs of an ancient organization that marks her for death in order to prevent her from realizing the true nature of her dreams and awakening others to their life-changing message.

The Watchers is a well-crafted suspense story, brimming with non-stop action, fast pacing, and colorful settings. It's a good read - at times very good. However, the dialogue can be a little flat, lacking some crispness and "sizzle." The setting of this novel spans the globe - and at times, the scene and point of view is changed multiple times within a chapter. While this lends the novel a fast-paced, intense feel, it can at times be somewhat confusing to follow and prevents one from really delving deeply into the characters of all of the players revealed.

As a main character, Abby would perhaps be more interesting if she possessed more inner conflict or a need for some real deep, soul-shaking change. She's likable enough, but considering all of the challenges thrown her way in the course of the story she can seem a bit too "perfect" and level-headed. Instead of being a character that grows and develops, she serves more as a catalyst that spurs change in those she encounters - particularly in Dylan, the hardened assassin sent to kill her before the story of her dreams can spread.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kelly Klepfer VINE VOICE on March 7, 2007
Format: Hardcover
If you like globetrotting spiritual warfare novels, you're going to want to check out "The Watchers."

With a different twist on the standard warfare, "The Watchers" tackles some intriguing church history, and some tragic realities about the current state of religion. Crossing cultural and racial boundaries, Mark Andrew Olsen writes of an age-old demonic plan, and the way it could play out in our age of technology.

Some segments are truly creepy and will give the Big Honkin Chicken Club members a shudder or two. The novel reads very much like a screenplay and would be an action-packed movie. Christian themes of prayer and submission are well handled. The Gospel is present, obvious and not overdone.

Though written in omniscient POV, my least favorite, and though the main characters are not always believable, I found this an enjoyable read. My character issue likely stems from the omniscient POV. Dylan ended up being a little stereotypically alpha-male. But in a thriller genre, a reader generally isn't looking for depth of characterization.

Overall, Mark Andrew Olsen tells a great story with compelling writing.

Fans of Dekker, Peretti, Mapes and Mackel will find this a satisfying power-packed read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By J. Harris on December 11, 2007
Format: Hardcover
Come along with Mark as he invites you to travel with Abby Sherman around the world. Well written, I couldn't put down this book because there are surprises every step of the way in her quest to obey her Creator. With strong support and understanding of who she is, her helpers guide the teenager into a deep supernatural world where she discovers gifts beyond her wildest imagination. She learns of an ancient linage that will always be despite her enemies best efforts to distinguish the lineage.

Mark is predictable in writing page turning supernatural adventure, this is no exception.

Paulette L. Harris
Author/reviewer
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in