Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2016
I read this spiritual classic many years ago, and I am introducing my daughter to it. I am rereading it, as she goes along!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Very well written and practical for people who take religion seriously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
St. Teresa of Avila is a true saint and a true Doctor of the Church, graced with God's Truth. This translation is unfair to her wisdom, time and truth. This version is not a translation, but a text taken from Peer's able translation.

The editor of this volume took Peer's translation and deleted everything he thought might worry or offend our 21st century cultural sensibilities. How ironic the redaction! To make progress in sanctification, St. Teresa calls us to charity ( and humility--these are preconditions for progress. Scripture tells us "love hides a multitude of faults", and "judge not [intentions] lest we be judged".

Read the Peers volume. You won't be mislead and you'll receive the full grace of its author and translator: https://www.amazon.com/Way-Perfection-Dover-Thrift-Editions/dp/0486484513/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466688885&sr=1-2&refinements=p_27%3AE.+Allison+Peers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2016
A good book for meditaion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
Did not care for or enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
A classic. As relevant now as it was then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
If you are a religious, this a great book to and reflect on. Its easy to read and has a lot of take away. Will recommend it to anyone interested in deeping their personal relationship with God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
I was hoping for the 2004 edition with the cover depicting the Rapture of St Teresa, but received a later version. Any way this 2004 version is still available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
Occasionally I review books to warn potential buyers, as part of my PPPP program: ("protect potential purchasers' pocketbooks"). For example, my review of Is the New Mass of Pope Paul VI Invalid?. This is another of those reviews. I'm reviewing this paperback published by Paraclete Press in 2000, edited by Henry L. Carrigan, Jr., with ISBN 1-55725-248-3. (For some reason the amazon product review states "224 pages". My copy of this edition has only 198 pages. The ISBN's match.)

"The Way of Perfection" is a superb devotional book. It's also fun to read. St. Teresa's explication of the Lord's Prayer is as inspiring as St. Thomas Aquinas's in The Three Greatest Prayers: Commentaries on the Lord's Prayer, the Hail Mary, and the Apostle's Creed. But in this Paraclete Press edition of "The Way of Perfection", the editor, Henry L. Carrigan, Jr., has stated in his Introduction that he has "deleted certain chapters" of this work: chapters condemning the Lutheran heresy, and a few more describing convent discipline. Moreover, Mr. Carrigan states he has throughout rearranged sentence structure from passive voice to active voice. While the editor's deletion of whole chapters condemning Lutheranism harmonizes well with the post-Vatican II novus ordo church's heretical Balamand Declaration, which declared Lutheranism to be no longer a heresy - (for refutation of that novus ordo heresy see The Truth about What Really Happened to the Catholic Church after Vatican II) - why the deletion of chapters on convent discipline?

I've compared this translation with a pre-Vatican II translation. They're close admittedly. But if you want to read the words of St. Teresa of Avila in a very faithful translation and have the experience of her speaking directly to you through the centuries while turning the pages of a book, I would say this be not the ideal translation. If you're willing to accept an expurgated book upon which an editor has taken unnecessary liberties, then this translation may suit you.

My recommended edition would be TAN's The Way of Perfection. Two similarly excellent books by St. Teresa are The Interior Castle: TAN Classic (Tan Classics) and The Autobiography of St. Teresa Of Avila.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
I have not ready this book yet. It did arrive on time and well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.