Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Beginner Introduction
Ken Cohen's book wil serve as a great way to introduce chi kung to someone who has little knowledge of it. It may also be interesting reading for those who have had some exposure to a particular form and are looking to explore other types of chi kung. The author does a good job of making potentially complex and mystifying practices intelligible to the average...
Published on April 7, 2000

versus
132 of 134 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction
Note: I've had this book for about 4 years now and just now getting around to write a review of it.
This a good book if you are new to qigong. Cohen steps the beginner through theory and then the various qigong exercises. This includes color and organ meditation, healing sounds, Big Dipper, External practices, diet, etc. He also includues some moving meditation such...
Published on February 2, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 134 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, February 2, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
Note: I've had this book for about 4 years now and just now getting around to write a review of it.
This a good book if you are new to qigong. Cohen steps the beginner through theory and then the various qigong exercises. This includes color and organ meditation, healing sounds, Big Dipper, External practices, diet, etc. He also includues some moving meditation such as the Eight brocades and Five Animals frolics.
Pluses:
* Covers a lot of material.
* Well footnoted and indexed.
* Has suggested routines for a student to practice.
* Gives adviced on the dangers of wrong qi practice. Which is quite important but neglected in some texts.
Minuses:
* No illustrations for meridians or acpuncture points. These would help explain and guide a student. Especially with the excerises like Microcosmic orbit. I found it odd that a Qigong expert like Cohen would neglect to include this.
* The moving meditations are done by drawings - I found them impossible to follow. Photos would have been much better.
* Some of the qigong exercises listed are watered down and much simplified for instance the color light meditation. It's still somewhat useful but only about a third of the exercise is
there and you don't get the full effect. I don't know why Cohen
does not tell the reader why he watered some qigong methods down.
Overall a decent introduction, as most of the material is very basic. This makes it good for the beginner but be prepared to buy other books if you want to do other methods like Microcosmic
orbit or learn about meridians and acupuncture points. This also goes for trying to learn the moving meditations from this book - a beginner with no experience with this material will be lost. It will keep a dedicated beginner busy for two years or so. Once beyond that the reader is advised to seek out formal instruction or check out other texts that do include more intermediate methods.
If you want to do moving qigong work look elsewhere, this is not a stong point of this text. Books like Wen Mei Yu's WIld Goose Qigong or Meridian Qigong.
Other books that would complement this one include:
Qigong Empowerment by Liang Shou-yu
Meridian Qigong by Li Ding - hard to get but some online stores specializing in Qigong carry it.
Wild Goose Qigong by Wen Mei Yu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Beginner Introduction, April 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
Ken Cohen's book wil serve as a great way to introduce chi kung to someone who has little knowledge of it. It may also be interesting reading for those who have had some exposure to a particular form and are looking to explore other types of chi kung. The author does a good job of making potentially complex and mystifying practices intelligible to the average western reader.This book is mix of basic thoery with specific chi kung exercises and routines. Note the word basic in regard to the theory. The routines also are not very complete. But they do serve their purpose: to act as a sampler for beginners. The reader is able to try out parts Five Animal Frolics, Taiji Ruler,and other chi kung sets relating to breathng, sexual chi kung, and more. Some sets are presented completely but only on the basic physical level. They have been done in much greater detail in other books. The Eight Brocade s a good example. All eight parts are given, but the explaination is not as detailed as in Yang jwing ming's book for example. Still, someone curious about the eight brocade, could learn if the set is something they would want to invest more time in from reading this book. Same for the other sets.The discussion on Breathing is very valuable and the author is up to date on much of the new research coming out of East Europe (Buteyko) on hyperventilation. The section on tea got me started on a new hobby and was well done.Everything is well documented with any pages of foot notes.This book is not as in depth or advanced as Qigong Empowerment or The Root of Chinese Chi Kung, but is more readable and about half the price. Definite bargainI definetely recommend this book for beginners and others looking to expand their practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable reading, September 6, 2003
By 
Massimo Maddaloni "Maddmax1" (Bozeman, MT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
This is a good introductory book. It shall serve you well in getting framed into the topic of Qi Gong. Dietary principles of Tao are very well explained and the chapters about tea are a true gem. The theory of the elements is clearly presented. It is a good starting point. A few paragraphs lure the reader into the use of body energy in different cultures. This topic is dropped too fast (bibliography is quoted should the reader be interested).
Cleansing Chi Gung is presented very clearly.
However ChiGung standing practices (which are the very foundation of the whole businesss) are presented in a rather bland manner. In my opinion "Opening the Energy Gates of your Body" by B.K. Frantzis is infinitely better in this respect. Buy the "Gates" first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 141 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Chi Kung book bites the dust., August 14, 1998
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was expecing great things from this 420+ page book. Unfortunately I am VERY disappointed with "The way of Qigong" by Kenneth S. Cohen for two reasons.
1. the mental (Nei Dan) aspect of Chi Kung is mentioned only in passing with no useful information.
2. There is no illustration, or adequate description of where the meridians appear on the human body. Meridians are channels under the skin that distributes Ch'i throughout the body; much the same way arteries and veins distribute blood, oxygen, and nourishment to the cells. On pages 255 and 256, Mr. Cohen displays where the meridians end on the hands and feet. Completely inadequate information.
-----
"The way of Qigong" contains adequate information on the physical (Wai Dan) aspect of Chi Kung. However; without the mental (Nei Dan) aspect of Chi Kung; you will only receive about 1/3 of the true benefit of Chi Kung.
"The way of Qigong" contains adequate information on various breathing techniques.
"The way of Qigong" contains several methods of meditation. Unfortunately most of these descriptions are limited to only 1 - 1.5 pages. Of very limited value
------
Now that I have told you which book you shouldn't buy, allow me to list three books I recommend. I rate these in the order listed.
"Chi Gung" by L.V. Carnie
"Chi Kung for health and vitality" by Wong Kiew Kit
"The Chi Kung way: Alive with Energy" by James MacRitchie
If you are a beginner to Chi Kung, I would recommend you start with the book "Chi Kung for health and vitality" by Wong Kiew Kit. Study this book for about three months. Be sure to learn induced ch'i flow so excessive ch'i can escape without causing blocked meridians,
Then and only then, I would suggest you buy "Chi Gung" by L.V. Carnie for more advanced subjects.
Buddhist breathing
Reverse Taoist breathing
The three regulations
Zhan Zhaung
and more
I am NOT the only one to give "Chi Gung" high regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Qigong book, make it this one, June 27, 2004
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
This is a very well written qigong book, packed with information and for a meager price. Ken Cohen's writing style is enjoyable, and there is so much information in this book that I find myself picking it up from time to time to re-read parts of it. Very well done. The only negative I can think of is that it would've been nice to have some meridian/accupoint charts included in the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A combination of disciplines, January 9, 2000
Ken Cohen's book not only does a great job in explaining the energetics and healing effects of qigong, but it is one of the few books to tie qigong and energy to other disciplines such as the PNI (PsychoNeouroImmunology) and native american health practices. In this way, the book itself is a complimentary therapy for qigong to be used by others. It's also nice to read a book where the reader can tell immediately that the author has done his homework since there are source notes and a great bibliography for the new student to qigong to use and explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From mysticism to memory, August 22, 2000
By 
Dennis K Winn (tucson, Az United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
I have studied martial arts of all kinds for over two decades. I spent several years in the orient learning from masters that decended from many of the greatest minds in martial arts. Ken has masterfully compiled the necessary information to get you going. He has covered every base, so whether you are a cynic, or are already a believer in qi, or energy healing/martial arts, he has information to help you become all the more enlightened. Highly recommended for beginner-intermediate studentsof this or similar fields of study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way of Qigong, April 28, 2004
By 
"niuno" (Cedar Falls, IA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
As a licensed practitioner of acupuncture and Oriental medicine, I often recommend qigong to my patients as a healing therapy. Ken Cohen's "The Way of Qigong" is by far the best introductory work on the subject I have read thus far. In fact, it is in many ways much more than merely an introduction to qigong, since Cohen delves wonderfully into much of the philosophy underlying qigong in a fashion which is more literary and in some ways more comprehensive than even more advanced texts. He is able to articulate the nature of qigong to those unfamiliar with the art. The book provides good background information on many topics, such as research, from which even advanced practitioners would benefit. I highly recommend this book to my patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cohen's Book Will Bring Qigong Into the Mainstream, July 31, 1997
By A Customer
Over the past 25 years, since the Beatles travelled to India to learn Transcendental Meditation, Westerners have been fascinated by the mystical aspects of numerous health promoting practices from Eastern countries. The religious and philosophical ideas that served as a context for what are essentially exercises for the mind, body, and spirit in the same sense that we Westerners regard working out the body alone as exercise, has clouded our view of the true benefits of many of these practices such as Qigong. Qigong, along with many other worthy Eastern exercises has gotten absorbed into the mass marketing machine of the New Age movement and has consequently turned off the less radical mainstream audience that is simply looking for ways to improve the quality of life.

Cohen's book puts the practical health benefits of Qigong in focus by presenting us with scientific data that prove its merit as an easy to master exercise that is unique in its ability to address health issues that tradition forms of Western exercises do not address. If you want to be able to easily lift your groceries or run up a flight of stairs with out losing your breath, then lift weights and run on a treadmill. However, if you want to be able to work and play in a relaxed and optimally focused manner, and if you want to be prevent disease--then do Qigong. That is the message of Cohen's book.

I am typically able to judge a book by how slow I read it. That is--the more profound and thought provoking the ideas being presented are, the more I tend to dwell on each page and spend a day or two ponder or putting its ideas into practice. There is also a sense of savoring the ideas such that you are sorry when you finally reach the end of it. Cohen's book is that kind of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Care When Driving, March 12, 2003
This review is from: The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing (Paperback)
I haven't read this book but I have heard the cassette tape numerous times on my way up and down to Tel Aviv for work and back home to the Galilee. I rate this work as excellent but mainly as an adjunct to live instruction in Qi Gong. There are many insights in Kenneth Cohen's presentation that have helped me deepen my understanding of Qi accumulation and healing. The cassette presentation is so good that I feel myself releasing muscular and nervous tension while driving and arrive at work relaxed and back home after a long day, fresh and energized. Highly recommended - my thanks to the author -I shall now get around to reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Way of Qigong: The Art and Science of Chinese Energy Healing
$17.95 $14.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.