Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive and Sensitive Survey of Peoples and their Habitats
Stafford Cliff has collected images from all around the world and with the help of superb photographer Gilles de Chabaneix has done what few other innovators in design have done - created a book that is, yes, about design, but is equally about how climate, place, ethnicity, tradition, cultural philosophies, and history inform the decisions people make about their living...
Published on December 5, 2005 by Grady Harp

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The way we live
This book is Ginormous! I was super dissapointed with it overall. The cover suggests beautiful layouts and views into gorgeous decor's - so not the case...Loaded with boring photographs........
Published on June 13, 2012 by Sloan P. Winters


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive and Sensitive Survey of Peoples and their Habitats, December 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
Stafford Cliff has collected images from all around the world and with the help of superb photographer Gilles de Chabaneix has done what few other innovators in design have done - created a book that is, yes, about design, but is equally about how climate, place, ethnicity, tradition, cultural philosophies, and history inform the decisions people make about their living environments.

Not just viewing the gracious homes of the wealthy of the planet (though there are plenty of gorgeous 'palaces' of design to please the most art hungry eye), Cliff views the differences geography makes in dwellings, from spectacular vistas of the sea to the mountains and to the deserts, and how the climates influence the manner in which 'design' is used. As interested in discussing and sharing the most humble abodes with the most lavish mansions, Cliff doesn't miss a beat as he and de Chabaneix journey to places obscure and places of notoriety. The emphasis is always on the manner in which the people of these dwellings adapt and incorporate their living spaces to their environment.

A book that is both sumptuous in design itself and tender in its approach, THE WAY WE LIVE will appeal to both students of design and to those who long to understand the essence of living, wherever they travel. Highly recommended. Grady Harp, December 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the Keyhole, February 7, 2006
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
Have you ever walked or driven past someone's home and wanted to look inside? Looking through this book is a bit like that on an international scale. The book is a beautiful work of art in itself, the presentation top class, the paper quality excellent, the binding great. It is packed with marvellous photographs of interiors, accompanied by descriptive text. What it isn't is another of those boring interior design books, filled with rooms that are painted offwhite, with large mirrors, potted palms and overstuffed sofas. This book is interior design getting real!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, complex, atmospheric, June 13, 2006
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
I thought this book was exceptional.

This book deals with design in all parts of the world, but much more than this it gives you the feeling of the cultural richness of people who live in these spaces. It is visually beautiful and evocative.

I think the photography is outstanding. The photograper has a real knowledge about light and composition. It is rare, I think, to have so many excellent photos in a single volume. Along with this, the narrative is direct and insightful.

For those interested in design, the book offers many ideas for all types of settings. None of the ones presented are stereotypical or stiff.

The most winning aspect in this book is the realism and beauty that we are able to see around the world. The colorful, serene, and eclectic nature of many settings make this book a delight to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Research Book., October 1, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
As an interior designer, I often start thinking about new spaces by doing research as to what other people have done in the past in similar situations...this is a great book to have in your library for that purpose. I've referenced it many times to show clients the sort of "mood" I'm looking to create before we sit down to hammer out the nuts and bolts of how that feeling translates into a different space with different furnishings and fabrics...this book won't teach you how to make curtains, but it is well worth the investment as exactly what it says it is..."a global design inspiration".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gorgeous, February 6, 2005
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
I buy many books of this type, and don't know when I've seen one as well put together and as beautiful as this. The juxtapositioning of images and text is exquisite, and the small table of similar items on other pages at the bottom of each page genius. More than just a bunch of pretty pictures - this book communicates a sense as to why people create such environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific book, May 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
brilliant pictures of landscapes from around the world and homes. I particularly enjoy the pictures of various stairwells together or doorways for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way We Live, May 20, 2008
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration

Houses, castles, rooms, gardens, people, colours, moods of every description. Beautifully photographed. As the title indicates the way we live with the following description 'an ultimate treasury for global design inspiration'. It is certainly that. Just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The way we live, June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is Ginormous! I was super dissapointed with it overall. The cover suggests beautiful layouts and views into gorgeous decor's - so not the case...Loaded with boring photographs........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oprah liked it, January 24, 2005
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
Oprah said--"...there was this book that somebody had given to me, a book called The Way We Live. It was a great coffee-table book, and it had pictures from all over the world of different homes and how people live in all these different homes. ...It's a beautiful book." (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, November 10, 2003
This review is from: The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration (Hardcover)
I have bought countless books on design, style and interiors.
If vision sees more than just design, if space creates more than just line, if living feels more than just fine;then this is your book and inspiration for creating dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration
The Way We Live: An Ultimate Treasury for Global Design Inspiration by Stafford Cliff (Hardcover - November 4, 2003)
Used & New from: $18.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.