Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Stern's Cosmic Comedy
Steve Stern is that rare writer who combines great storytelling with a gift for elaborate, RubeGoldberg sentences. His stories, while comic in nature, reveal hidden depths the more you venture into them. These are tales, rife with magic, that take the reader to places he or she has never been before, places of fantasy and truth, places in the heart and the head. For...
Published on May 25, 2002 by Corey Mesler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as i hoped.
too smaltzy,,,, if there is such a thing. Kinda funnysome times, bathroom reading only with nothing to repeat to other.
Published 18 months ago by Barbara F. Diciero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Stern's Cosmic Comedy, May 25, 2002
By 
Corey Mesler (Memphis, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
Steve Stern is that rare writer who combines great storytelling with a gift for elaborate, RubeGoldberg sentences. His stories, while comic in nature, reveal hidden depths the more you venture into them. These are tales, rife with magic, that take the reader to places he or she has never been before, places of fantasy and truth, places in the heart and the head. For all his comic exuberance Stern leaves you with much meat to chew on. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy and A Sorrow, October 26, 2001
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
I greatly enjoyed this collection of stories. They were quirky and delicious. This was the stuff that my lower east side grandmother believed in. Saints, sinners and we, the observers cheering them on. The "Old Time Religion" with a twist, beautifully expressed in a multicolor canvass. It did evoke Chagall's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sholom Aleichem Goes to Memphis, April 17, 2000
By 
James L Miller (Saint Paul, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
What a gem of a collection! The neighborhood mystical rabbi, the newlywed coupling orthodox couple, et al! I loved picturing the Memphis Jewish neighborhood. Can't wait to read his next work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!, December 3, 2008
By 
Chicago Baker (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
My only problem with Steve Stern is that he's not a superstar!! His writing is brilliant and what he does with Yiddish themes is transcendent. He uses classic motifs and symbols, such as dybbuks, golems and demons, yet he is accessible to those unfamiliar with Yiddish literature. When his writing is dark, it is redemptive. When it's hilarious, it's also moving. Once you read these stories, you're going to want to read everything he's ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful short stories..., July 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
I'm not a fan of "magical realism" generally; I guess I'm way too Right Brain. But I loved Steve Stern's book of short stories, "The Wedding Jester", when I found the book, years after it was originally published. Stern writes about people - mostly men and always Jewish - who are touched by magic and wonder. Fantastical "events" happen to everyday people in Stern's story. Lives relived, lives changed, and, in some cases, lives lived to the end in ceaseless boredom. But husbands and wives rediscover each other, or in one story, discover the love they had avoided since their wedding day in the old Russian village from where they emigrated.

Steve Stern, who I had never heard of until I found his book, is a wonderful writer. He takes the reader from Memphis to the Catskills, from the 19th century until the end of the last one. His writing is "quirky", not mainstream, but it sure is enjoyable. I'm going to seek out more of his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories that stay with you... a must read!, June 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
Wild. Imaginative. Entertaining and intelligent. What a joy to read.I look forward to more from Steve Stern who has the ability to take the reader where no other author can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How I wish...!, August 26, 2005
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
..that Steve Stern had really been accorded his "distinctive place in modern American Jewish fiction." But he hasn't (yet). One does not have to be Jewish, or a Memphian, or a fan of magical realism to enjoy--nay, to wish to live inside of--his amazing stories and novels. His writing is funny and sad and deep and--I swear, I just opened Jester to a random page--"the stuff of forbidden texts, which made otherwise serious scholars into crackpots."

Please, please, please, read his books, whoever you are. If you like Jester, your next stop should be A Plague of Dreamers, Lazar Malkin, and/or Harry Kaplan's Adventures Underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great writing, January 26, 2010
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
Steve Stern's prowess reminds me we're doomed and blessed at the same time. His sure hand (every sentence rings true) and steady plot progression (unbelievably well-imagined) put him in the highest echelons of modern writing, yet no one knows about him. Why? But the fact he's still out there is some cause for solace. I agree with another reviewer that Stern is redemptive when dark and moving when hilarious. He's dizzifyingly brilliant and worthy of reams of glowing criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jazzy, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
Delightful and zany. I learned some new things about Judaism and the power of the imagination. I cannot say I enjoyed the title story. Too much shtick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wedding Jester (Paperback)
I loved the book! The writing was both smart and humorous! I will read more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wedding Jester
The Wedding Jester by Steve Stern (Paperback - April 1, 1999)
$14.00 $12.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.