Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Wedding Planner
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 216 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
VINE VOICEon April 5, 2008
Mary Fiore is the wedding planner extraordinaire. Since she has always been unlucky in love, she decides that those that can't wed - they plan! While crossing the street, her heel becomes lodged in the street grate. As she tries to free it, a dumpster comes loose heading her way. In the nick of time, she is pushed out of the way, but hits her head on the pavement and looses consciousness. When Mary comes to, she finds out that handsome Dr. Steve Edison saved her. Her assistant sets up a date for them that works out very well except when he begins to kiss her it starts to rain. The next time that she sees Dr. Steve is when - surprise surprise - she meets the groom of the current wedding she is planning. Mary vows to remain distant and to plan the best wedding for Fran and Steve, but the heart wants what the heart wants.

This is a very entertaining and heartfelt movie. Jennifer Lopez is wonderful and Matthew McConaughey is sexy and charming. What great chemistry they have on screen!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2006
This is the movie where I began to love Matthew McConaughey, and where I began to see that Jennifer Lopez is not a bad actress (in this type of role).

Basically she meets him and they have a connection, and little does she know that she already knows his fiancee because she is planning their wedding.

It's a cute light-hearted romantic comedy and if you like that genre, you will love this. Yes there are corny lines and outrageous situations, but that is part of the fun. It's a great movie that all romantics will love.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2001
The Wedding Planner, along with Sandra Bullock's Miss Congeniality, is as good as mainstream Hollywood gets these days. The situations are pretty much as we expect, the characters whacky but loveable, the resolutions fairly predictable, but the writing and acting, like a good cappuccino, are frothy enough that our enjoyment is guaranteed.
Jennifer Lopez delivers her commedic role quite well--she's not quite in Sandra Bullock's league here, but then I think it is her first comedy, and she's not far behind. The only real willing-suspension-of-disbelief problem audiences might have is that such a gorgeous woman would have difficulties with relationships, and Lopez plays neurotic well enough that she manages to overcome this issue. The casting and role of Matthew McConaughey's character creates similar issues which are not quite so readily resolved--he's literally too good to be true, but he acts what the writers gave him with gallons of charisma.
The Wedding Planner is a pleasant dip in a shallow pool, and as such is highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2005
I love this movie. It's very sweet and touching. Jennifer Lopez and Matthew McConaughey have great chemistry. The Wedding Planner is by far my favorite Jennifer Lopez movie. The Wedding Planner is a delightful light hearted romantic comedy. Lots of laugh out-loud, I-can't-believe-she-did-that scenes and oh so plenty of heart warming moments. The relationship between the leads is endearing. The secondary characters are enjoyable as well. It is a fun escape from reality.

If you love While You Were Sleeping, Maid in Manhattan and Fools Rush In. Then you will love The Wedding Planner.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
This movie had a great plot, with the typical kiss at the end love story theme. There were a few too-good-to-be-true elements in it, but that only added to the already unrealistic love-at-first-sight theme. The drunk scene after the main character sees her ex was the worst part of the movie and could have been left out. It just made her strong character now seem whiny and pathetic. And would this master of planning seriously jump into a relationship just because it's there in front of her begging? Unrealistic. Lopez can play any role, brilliantly. McConaughey was a little bit annoying in this character. I've seen him do better. Other than that, I loved it. Happy endings don't happen in real life, no matter how many old people brag about their wonderful 100 years of marriage...so movies and books should all have happy endings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2006
one of my all time favorites. my best friend and I practically have the whole movie memorized we've watched it so much.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
Bad choice in casting. I don't think they mesh well as a couple. She is a neurotic workaholic and he is an engaged pediatrician. Considering how they met it should be a clue that something is off about this paring. LOL They fall in love/hate and struggle with their guilt as he is engaged to be married.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 8, 2005
In The Wedding Planner, Jennifer Lopez plays a perfectionist wedding planner who has been unsuccessful finding love herself. She becomes hopeful after being rescued by a hot stranger on the street, then finds out that he is the groom-to-be in a major account. Will she break the wedding planner's cardinal rule of not falling in love with the groom?

At the same time, viewers see her relationship with her traditional Italian father and his kind, Scrabble-playing friends.

It's a light hearted movie with a good dose of saccharine. However, the well-written story, sympathetic characters, and interesting plot make it a good movie for a light evening.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2011
I love Jennifer Lopez and Matthew M. so I would like this movie right off the bat just for that but it is really a great movie. It is definitely a good chick flick movie but some guys may like it as well. Definitely check it out as it is worth the 2 hours. You won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2006
Talk about the comedy of errors in bad timing when you meet the right one right before marrying someone else. When Mary Fiore meets a handsome supposed bachelor she is in shock when a few days later he and his fiancee are her new clients. She needs this account to make partner even though it may cost her a partner of other sorts. Great timing, lots of tears and laughter, and a typical but hilarious ending on the way to an altar. Always the bride's planner but this time... she just might get to be the bride.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.