Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the wrong reasons!
Let me first state that I love, worship, and adore Weird Al. I went through a great deal of trouble to get VHS copies of this show off the internet, and remember being simultaneously joyous and disappointed by the incredibly uneven show that resulted. While on the one hand, hey, it's Weird Al, on the other, it was painfully obvious where the hand of the network was...
Published on August 31, 2006 by Rebo Valence

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collect Only if You LOVE Weird Al!
I am a huge Weird Al fan (from the 80s), but the reviews are right... These shows are horrible. In fact, I own it just as a novelty item.

What's wrong with it?
-Being a kid's show, it has nothing Weird Al fans can relate to. He himself admits dumbing down the skits in order to meet CBS broadcasting needs.

What's good about it?
Al's acting...
Published on October 30, 2009 by R. J. Jethwani


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the wrong reasons!, August 31, 2006
By 
Rebo Valence "rebochan" (Satellite Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
Let me first state that I love, worship, and adore Weird Al. I went through a great deal of trouble to get VHS copies of this show off the internet, and remember being simultaneously joyous and disappointed by the incredibly uneven show that resulted. While on the one hand, hey, it's Weird Al, on the other, it was painfully obvious where the hand of the network was tooling our friend around. I noticed that the wonderful person I knew was, in the show, an unlovable jerk who constantly screwed over his friends who strangely kept coming over anyway. I noticed the lessons were often weak, contradictory, or a lie. And yet, there were the shining spots - the rare Fatman cartoons, the home movies, the riotously funny phony educational films, Fred Huggins, the brief song parodies sprinkled in. Basically, any moment where Al wasn't getting stomped on by a network censor and allowed to just be himself is pure gold.

Then a funny thing happened - this DVD came out and every episode had a commentary track from the director, the head writer, and oh yea, Weird Al. And I learned that not only were they aware of every single thing I noticed that was wrong with this show, they hated it as much as I did. They mercilessly assault their own program and take no prisoners. The network censors, the educational mandates, the lost sketches, the ridiculous changes...they list them and lambast them all. It proves that Al's excellent UHF commentary was not a fluke - he's very good at keeping these amusing. There's a few guest stars from his close personal friends, but the real highlight is how savagely Al attacks his own program and the difficult working environment that his show was filmed in. And ss one last snub, material such as bloopers and cut scenes are not included because Dick Clark Productions threw out everything except for the master tapes themselves.

This show belongs on every Weird Al fan's shelf - for the commentary, and to remember the few sparkling moments when this show shined inspite of the network's desperate attempts to snuff it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've missed this show, April 19, 2006
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
As a kid I used to watch the Weird Al Show every Saturday on CBS. When it was taken off the air I was heartbroken. I have most of the episodes on tape but the tapes are dying. Now, finally, I'll be able to watch them again without fear of the tapes biting the dust.

In case you've never seen the show, it stars none other than Weird Al himself. In case you don't know who Weird Al is, take your head out from under that rock already. Al has been hired by J.B. Koopersmith to host a television show, which of course J.B. watches as it's going on and sometimes throws in his own creative input, like a Giant Banana. After all, it's his money. Al's next door neighbor is The Hooded Avenger, who often gives Al the very obvious advice which Al somehow couldn't figure out himself, thus leading him to a moment of self-discovery in every episode. Other characters include Val Brentwood, Gal Spy, Al's cousin Corky, and lots of other characters played by Al, my favorite of which being Fred Huggins, another kid's show host who has a love for everything in this universe and is accompanied by his grumpy two best friends / puppets, Papa Booley and Baby Booley.

Really, you don't have to be a kid to enjoy this show. The writing is sharp and of a quality just sappy enough for even adults to find hilarious. The show also includes many cameo appearances, including Alex Trebek, John Tesh, and Gedde Watanabe (thankfully reprising the role of Kuni from UHF ["YOU ARE SOOO STUPID!"]). Every episode follows a different life lesson, like "Don't make promises you can't keep," as this was Al's way of making it "educational." Each show loosely follows these lessons, but for the most part the show is driven by the jokes, the gimmicks, and the educational films which have nothing to do with the episodes themselves ("Where Does Dirt Come From?").

Some of the best humor in the show, however, comes in the form of Al's new parodies. Not songs, these parodies come between the show and the commercial. These ad parodies will keep you cracking up at just how genius and/or rediculous they are (like "Camp Superfun, the perfect camp for shapeless, tall, furry animals between the ages of 6 and 13."). Personally, these were my favorite parts of the show, and I get the feeling that if Al had not had the restriction of making the show educational, most of the show would have been like these.

If you've never seen the Weird Al show and are a fan of Weird Al, you will want to get this DVD when it comes out. However, if you don't like Al's music, you won't find too much too different about his show. The jokes are of the same variety, poking fun at 1997 pop culture (my god is it almost 10 years old???) and how we act on a day to day basis. The show even includes some unreleased Al songs ("Lousy Haircut," a parody of Prodigy's "Firestarter," as well as "I Like You" sung by Fred Huggins, "The Cheese Song" and more). If you've never heard of Weird Al in general, you'd be better off getting to know his music before jumping into the show, as starting on the show could be a little awkward if you are unfamiliar with Al's affinity for parody, of which the show is ripe. Me? I'm getting this the DAY it comes out, "or my name isn't Weird Al SHOELACEovich!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Commentaries Essential, September 29, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
Most DVD's I get that come with commentaries are watched without them until much later as the content of the DVD is much more entertaining than the usually self-serving and boring reminiscences of the participants. In this case the opposite is the rule. The shows are OK as kids' fare and hint at Weird Al's peculiar talents. The commentaries, with Al, his producer and director and occasional guests give an insight into the agonies of trying to do something original in the constipated world of network television. Virtually everyting they wanted to do was censored or banned entirely and every episode was twisted into a mealy mouthed "educational" experience which blunted every attempt at original humor. Especially funny in the commentaries are the network's obsession with "imitatable behaviors", ie, anything dangerous depicted on the show that the tykes might try at home. But they never said a word when poor Harvey the Wonder Hamster was shot out of cannons or catapulted around the stage. This ends up a a course in Dealing With Idiots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Show About A Guy Named Al, October 12, 2006
By 
J. Rose "jrccw" (Greenwood, MS USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
At one time, Saturday morning television was an actual EVENT. Those of us who are of a certain generation remember that as children, we waited through the week of rather boring, standard television (broken up by the occasional rerun of STAR TREK) to reach SATURDAY MORNING: a chaotic place where things such as bears stealing stuff, psychedelic science-fiction, and coyotes falling for fifty feet and actually living to tell about it ruled.

THE WEIRD AL SHOW debuted in the wake of PEE-WEE'S PLAYHOUSE, Paul Reubens' very creative but unfortunately staunchly mannered and deadly serious kids' show featuring his character Pee-Wee Herman. Though both shows have the same set designer, THE WEIRD AL SHOW succeeds in bringing forth the unbridled anarchy that PWP only hinted at, mainly because of two things about Weird Al Yankovic: first, he has no pretensions about his work, and second, his humor attempts to be truly anarchic while remaining, on some level, for everybody. You have to have respect for a man who purposely designed his Ear-Booker Productions company logo (which appears at the end of every episode) to be the most nerve-wracking thing ever made.

The plot is fairly simple: Al (Weird Al Yankovic), a goofy, often jerky but still likable fellow who lives in a cave some twenty miles below the surface of the earth, is bringing you a television show featuring himself, various friends and neighbors (such as the Hooded Avenger (Brian Haley), the superhero who lives in the cave next door, and his strangely cute cousin Corky (Danielle Weeks), who shares Al's taste for clashing-but-colorful wardrobe), and his roommate/pet/best friend Harvey The Wonder Hamster, a professional stunt hamster who performs such feats as hang-gliding off a model of Mount Everest, jumping a race car and wrestling Randy "Macho Man" Savage (who is soundly defeated by said plucky rodent). Each episode has Al involved in a situation that serves as an object lesson of sorts to the viewer, which Al rarely completely learns until the end of the episode. While the lesson is fairly ham-handed in its execution (much of which happened due to CBS forcing educational mandates down the producers/creators' throats, which Al and several others detail in extensive commentary for every episode), the show manages to demonstrate the raucous nature of Saturday Morning TV at a time when it was in its death rattle.

This set features commentaries for every episode by Al, his partners in crime (director Peyton Reed and producer Thomas F. Frank), and occasional drop-ins from Emo Philips, Danielle Weeks and Judy Tenuta, who all appeared on the show. None of these are particularly complementary of the CBS network, who often went to blows with Al and made the production of every episode a struggle. The set also features concept art galleries and animated storyboards for FATMAN, the Al-produced cartoon that appeared on the show, as well as show theme karaoke (probably the weirdest feature on the set).

Pick this up if you like Weird Al, as I do: it's a very good showing from the mind of a talented comedy performer who managed to overcome many obstacles to create something interesting and fun at a time when it was really needed. Good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb dvd, August 16, 2006
By 
the fanatic "Chris" (Vero Beach, Fl. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
I am a huge Weird Al fan and I never saw the show before so I was anxious to buy it on the 15th however NO STORES carried it. So I was able to buy it off of Amazon and I got it today and watched a few episodes. It is close to Pee Wee's Playhouse but this is so much more energetic. If you never seen this show but are interested in satire or even Weird Al for that matter than this is a must have for you. I really enjoy the variety and guest stars in the show. It never gets dull or boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments., April 29, 2006
By 
KaneRobot "kanerobot" (Rochester Hills, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
While this borrows a few things from other Saturday morning fare (Pee-Wee's Playhouse most notably), this still is worth checking out. Some of the musical guests kind of make the show feel dated (even if Hanson has actually turned into a decent act since their Teen Beat "novelty" period back then), but other than that no complaints about guest content. You get the usual mix of Al regulars (Emo Phillips, Dr. Demento) with slightly higher-profile guests (Drew Carey, Michael McKean). When the humor is "on" here - and it often was, to my surprise - it's actually quite funny. I'll probably pick this up, if for no other reason than it was one of the last notable shows before Saturday morning TV died off for good. More like three and a half stars, but since I've dug Weird Al since I was in my single-digit ages in the mid-late 80's, I'll give it a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Al's Only Network TV Show, June 21, 2006
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
Weird Al' Yankovic did UHF (the movie-see my review)in which He parodied songs and TV. Then he tried educational children's programing with a mix of live action and animation in 1997 on CBS tv. There was only lasted 13 episodes, that's the bad news

Now you must understand, in the 1990's , the networks CBS, NBC and ABC took saturday morning programing to the Nth level. Casrtoon Network and most cable shows werent available yet. Other than cartoons of all sorts (from Superman, Tarzan, Zorro, Scooby Doo,Batman, Superfiends, Alf Cartoons, He Man and the Masters of the Universe, Jonny Quest, Flintstones, Back to the Future cartoon, Partridge Family 2020, etc), you had such live action shows as Saved by the Bell, Pee Wee's Playhouse, The Monkees (rerunning shows from the late 1960's show), Pryor's Place (wiith Richard Pryor), HR Puffstuff, Land of the Lost, Sigmund and the Sea Monster, the Kroftt Super show, a children's version of Hollywood Squares (where the actors were dressed in fairy tales costumes and asked fairy tales and legend questions) and many others.GAWD I miss this type of programing and Cartoon Network wont do

Al's show was compares to Pee Wee's Playhouse, Captain Kangaroo, and other children playhouse... CBS stated in a press release in 1997, that Al will do a show similar to Pee Wee's Show. Al used the same set designer for the Al cave...and that where most of the similar ideals stopped

Al's show was character and educational driven like Pee Wee and Richard Pryor in Pryor's Place (which was also on CBS Network. CBS mandated these shows to be too educational...filled with a messaged theme lesson show. It was filled with a combo of animation and live action.

Al consummated the art of being banal, with his frizzy, long hair, flashy Hawaiian shirts, and squueaky voice with his personality makes this show work and work well..different from Pee Wee. As he said in this audio commentary, "Al the character is a jerk in most of these shows learning his lessons."

I enjoyed the parodies that this show had. It satire infocomercial, B rated movies, Superheroes, saturday cartoons with the show's satire FATMAN, and many many others funny shows and bits. The show is filled with guest stars galore, many who you didn't think would do KIDS TV (like John Tesh, Billy Mumy, DR Demento, Matha Quinn, Drew Carey, Dick Clark, Randy "Macho Man"Savage, and Gilbert Gotified), it was fun show to watch (and still is on many levels). It was a kid show-adult could enjoy this Marx Brother sense of style, If you enjoy zany humor-the show wont date itself

The only problem i have with the DVD is the TV show breaks (THE WEIRD AL SHOW BACK AFTER THESE MESSAGES) are included on each episode. since you are watching a DVD you shouldn't have had these breaks in the first place.

Now to the commentary tracks... Al , Producer Peyton Reed and some of the guest stars (Judy Tenuta and Emo Phillips) telling stories of the production on all the episodes. Some of the commentary ran over the show and were cut off in mid sentence...sometime i wish you could hear some of the cut commentary that ended too quick. So watch the show and them watch the show with the commentary tracks

Now if you are an AL fan, get this NOW. A fan of Saturday TV, it also worth your time.

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird Al's weird kid's tv show, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
My son remembers this show from when he was younger, he still loves it. He particularly enjoys the commentary by Weird Al and others on the story behind certain things that were done in each episode. Weird Al's show was a fun and entertaining alternative to the normal children's offerings of superheroes etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collect Only if You LOVE Weird Al!, October 30, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
I am a huge Weird Al fan (from the 80s), but the reviews are right... These shows are horrible. In fact, I own it just as a novelty item.

What's wrong with it?
-Being a kid's show, it has nothing Weird Al fans can relate to. He himself admits dumbing down the skits in order to meet CBS broadcasting needs.

What's good about it?
Al's acting is superb, he really gave it his all, but the humor is seriously lacking. It's a weird (no pun intended) combination of Al's goofy persona mixed with education inducing skits. It's not easy to sit & watch through as an adult. All in all, the special feature - commentary is worth it! Al is kind enough to provide full length feedback for every single episode. Often times his commentary is more engaging than anything on screen.

Again- great novelty item for "Weird Al" Yankovic fans, but this is not UHF style humor.

(*Neat little note for wrestling fans- Macho Man Randy Savage guest starred in the last episode.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much what it claims to be, January 7, 2007
This review is from: The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series (DVD)
I ordered this for my husband because he is HUGE Weird Al fan. He has really enjoyed it. To me, it's kinda like Weird Al does PeeWee Herman. Sorta the same concepts/humor.

Every episode has a commentary with Al and some regular and guest stars. I'm not a big commentary watcher so I haven't paid much attention to them, but for afficiandos, I'm sure their a gold mine of interesting information.

I gave this a 4 star rating becuase I would probably rate it as a 3 ~ just another example of bad Saturday morning TV from our youth, and my husband would probably give it a 5 ~ another example of Saturday morning TV from our youth, but one that is able to make fun of itself and the whole genre AND INCLUDES WEIRD AL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series
The Weird Al Show - The Complete Series by Keith Alcorn (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: $95.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.