Kindle Price: $2.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Weird Girls: A Novella (A Penguin Special from Signet Eclipse) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 99 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Similar books to The Weird Girls: A Novella (A Penguin Special from Signet Eclipse)

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 891 KB
  • Print Length: 99 pages
  • Publisher: Signet (December 4, 2012)
  • Publication Date: December 4, 2012
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008EXNZZM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #314,812 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Cecy (pronounced Sessy) Robson is the Penguin Random House author of the Shattered Past new adult contemporary romance series and the award-winning Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Cecy counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song, despite her family's vehement protests. A registered nurse, full-time writer, wife, and mother living in the South, Cecy enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories. Connect with Cecy online:

www.cecyrobson.com
twitter.com/cecyrobson
instagram.com/cecyrobsonauthor
google.com/u/0/+CecyRobsonAuthor
tsu.co/CecyRobsonAuthor

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Wow, this little book reads like a full length novel, on steroids! It does much more than just set up the series; it is an awesome stand alone story that is one wild ride. I was hooked on like the second page and amazed at the gamut of emotions I experienced in just a short amount of time. What a great introduction to Cecy Robson's new Weird Girls Series! The sisters are each unique and uniquely powerful. The story is told through Celia's POV. She is the oldest and a complex character with real depth. She will stop at nothing to protect the ones she cares about and she is a powerful force to mess with. The witches in the story, and specifically the head witch, are refreshingly mean and interesting. I really loved this little gem and must say I am hooked!
Comment 12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

Mark my words, Ms. Robson will make her name known in no time with this
great UF series ~Under the Covers

The Weird Girls is an amazing prequel to a new series. This new and upcoming author knows how to deliver suspense, humor, action and it's a surprise that she is just coming out with a novella/novel now. Mark my words, Ms. Robson will make her name known in no time with this
great UF series.

Celia, Taran, Shayna and Emme Wird's parents were cursed and the end results are four children with very special powers. Not necessarily fitting into a specific faction; not just humans, not quiet witches, nor vamps or wolves, the Wird sisters did not have it easy growing up.
They were never the in crowd and even now as adults, the mean girls still treated them as outcasts. But the sisters are tired of it all and had found a life in a serene town of Lake Tahoe. And they will do anything and everything to protect the lives they had come to enjoy even if it means battling a coven of witches. I'm afraid to give too much but bottom line is these girls are down to earth, funny as hell, protect each other and totally kick ass heroines.

Ms. Robson is a new author to watch out for! Her writing is superb and she kept the book flowing with intrigue from the heartfelt Dear Reader until the end of this short story. I can't tell you enough how excited I am with this series. These sisters are one to keep an eye out for in the Urban Fantasy genre.

If you like Amanda Carlson's Full Blooded, Kendra Leigh Castle's Dark Dynasty series and Cassie Alexander's Edie Spence Series, you will love this The Weird Girls.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
3.5 stars

This novella is a prequel to Cecy Robson's new Weird Girls series and introduces us to the four sisters who are going to star in the series. The girl's mother was cursed by her family for marrying outside her race but the curse backfired and gave each of the sisters unique and unusual abilities. As they were growing up their abilities meant that they never really fitted in, they aren't human but they don't quite fit into any of the supernatural groups either. All that Celia, Taran, Shayna and Emmy really want is to find a place to settle down, a home to call their own where they will be left in peace by humans and supernaturals alike. They think they have found the perfect place but when a fight in a bar brings them to the attention of the local coven of witches they find themselves in trouble. They refuse to give up their new home without a fight though so if that means taking on the whole coven then so be it, after all they have a few tricks of their own to help protect them.

The Weird Girls was an interesting start to the series, we get to learn just enough about the sisters to want to know more, all four girls have distinctive personalities and I'm looking forward to getting to know them better. As the oldest Celia feels responsible for the others and she is very protective, when the witches target the family she will do whatever it takes to keep the others safe even if that means putting herself in the firing line. Considering this is a novella not a full length novel Cecy Robson managed to create an action packed story that left me excited to see what will happen next in Sealed with a Curse. If you're looking for a new urban fantasy series with a group of strong female heroines then I don't think you can go far wrong with this one.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This novella introduces the reader to a new family of urban fantasy characters-- the Wird girls: sisters who are not quite human, but don't neatly fit into a category of the supernatural world either. This makes them outcasts of both worlds. In this novella, they get into trouble with a coven of witches. Having run all their lives, they refuse to leave their new home in Lake Tahoe. To protect her sisters and keep their home, the protagonist, Celia, forces a showdown with the leader of the coven. This leads to a series of one-on-one challenges, each more dangerous than the last.

Fortunately, Celia and her sisters are well-equipped to face a coven of witches. Each has her own abilities, a by-product of a curse cast on them in their childhood.

Perhaps because the sisters have no one but each other, Cecy Robson does a great job building a sense of camaraderie between them, nicely depicting how much they care for each other and at the same time displaying how they each have their own unique quirks and traits. The secondary characters were also well fleshed out, and I never got the sense of a cut-out character. The setting was great, invoking images of forested landscapes blanketed in snow as the supernatural story played out.

The writing was fast-paced the action really puts you into the scene. In between and throughout the dangers the protagonist faces, the story was interspersed with humor and wit, all told with a strong narrative voice.

It was easy to be pulled into the story and it definitely makes me look forward to the forthcoming novel. Fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse novels and Jim Butcher (I think I caught a shout-out to the Dresden Files) alike should enjoy this one.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in