Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent treatise on the Liturgy of the Eucharist!, April 3, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a beautifully written work of theology, drawing us more deeply into the mystery of the Trinity through the Divine Liturgy. In Part I, Jean Corbon delves into the Mystery of the Liturgy revealed through the life of Christ and the Church. Then, in part II, he unfolds the beauty of the Liturgy Celebrated. Part III reveals "The Liturgy Lived", emphasizing how the Eucharist is an integral part of human daily living, "the mystery of the river of life that streams from the Father and the Lamb ..." (137). Jean Corbon assists the reader by providing a key to liturgical vocabulary; and, this book has only 200 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible book!, March 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
This book is absolutely amazing. Fr. Corbon provides a masterful contemplative reflection about the mystery of the liturgy and how it needs to be lived. He brilliantly refocuses the debate that rages in modern circles about rules and rubrics to be about reascending to the source and rediscovering the Trinity as the source and font of the liturgy.

The first section of the book can be a somewhat difficult read because the language used is the fruit of contemplation. It needs to be read with prayer and meditation in order for the full effect of what Fr. Corbon is proposing to be realized.

I believe that all Christians, but most especially Catholics should put this at the top of their reading list. It will give you a completely new understanding of the liturgy and in many cases will probably change your life.

Overall it is one of the best books that I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deep meditation on our most important activity, November 11, 2008
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
This is a vitally important work for anyone who wishes to understand the meaning behind Christian liturgy. Fr. Corbon, the principal author of the section on prayer in the Catechism of the Catholic Church (and influential advisor to the section on the liturgy), writes a masterful, as well as beautiful, treatise on the fundamentals of Christian liturgy. Those not familiar with Fr. Corbon might be expecting a dry scholastic treatment, but this is not the case. A Dominican who was part of the Greek-Catholic eparchy of Beirut, Fr. Corbon tightly integrates both Eastern and Western theology to produce a unified vision of why, and how, Christians worship the Blessed Trinity.

A key concept running throughout the book is "synergy", or "coorperation." Fr. Corbon defines synergy as "what is novel in the union of God and man in Christ and, more specifically, what is novel in the energy of the Holy Spirit that permeates the energy of men and conforms them to Christ." As he states, "the full realism of the liturgy and of our divinization has its source in this synergy." This idea of the liturgy being a cooperation between God and man in the worship of God through Christ, by the power of the Holy Spirit (especially highlighted in the epiclesis), is the fundamental premise of Fr. Corbon's work.

A word of warning: this book is deep reading. Do not expect to lightly engage it. In order to understand the deep reflections contained therein, one must work hard to penetrate the mysteries Fr. Corbon brings to light. But in the end, it is well worth it, and one's participation in the liturgy will never be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letting the graces of the liturgy pour forth, October 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
At times a tad poetic, but always elegantly written, in this book Fr. Corbon expresses the majesty and blessing that is found in liturgical life, yes this includes the Eucharist as the prime expression, but he also delves in the more profound sense of how entering into the liturgy is an experience of entering into the life of God. It will certainly help you appreciate the Mass as well as the daily Christian life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wellspring of Worship, December 9, 2008
By 
STAN (Ajax, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
I agree with above, the writing style is quiet "poetic" and one is easily caught up in it in the beginning. Then there are "leaps of faith" in the authors thoughts. The poetical style I found to become tedious and verbose as the book went on. I do not disagree with the content, but I found myself pushing to the end. I wanted to read it all, but had enough of his style. Still a good read though. may give it another crack one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
It was better than I expected. Even though the subject is very specific, it is easy to read and fills most expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wellspring of Worship, August 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
I could not wait to read this book and I was not dissapointed!!! One I will keep handy to read again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-Blowing!, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wellspring of Worship (Paperback)
Written from an Eastern Christian perspective, this book identifies and describes the ineffable mystery of God from whence the worship of the Church flows. Would that every Christian realized this as he/she walked into Mass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wellspring of Worship
The Wellspring of Worship by Jean Corbon (Paperback - July 1, 2005)
$17.95 $14.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.