Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars23
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 31, 2012
Free ARC Provided by NetGalley

I love Michele Hauf's voice. If her name's on a book, I'll read it. And I've never been disappointed--until now.

The Werewolf's Wife has a great premise. Who wouldn't want read about a yummy shifter wolf saving a damsel in distress, commiserating over drinks, getting hitched in Vegas and having a crazy-wild night of passion? Okay, so that's only the start for the rest of the book, but it grabs your attention, right?

Ridge Addison becomes pack leader. In order to set a good example and help his pack grow, he needs to marry and have children--which means he needs to get a divorce from his who-knows-where-she-is-or-what-she's-doing witch of a wife. No, seriously. Abigail Rowan's a real witch with powers and everything.

Here's where the plot derailed for me. Ridge wants to have a family desperately. Of course Abigail has a son, and of course Ryan might be Ridge's child (or the deadly abusive boyfriend Ridge rescued her from). A little predictable, but I rolled with that.

When Ridge finally tracks Abigail down to ask for a divorce, all kind of wrong hits the page. Abigail has received a call that her son has been kidnapped. She's scared, angry, hurt. Then Ridge knocks on her door.

She basically tells him this isn't a good time, so shove off. Ridge says he has divorce papers, but what if he wants to keep her. He's working an angle just to get inside the house. Lousy angle. These two people had a one-night stand and haven't seen each other in 13 years. Why would they want anything to do with the other?

I digress. Abigail lets him in. She's stressed. Then she notices how good he looks. Really? Her son's kidnapping just occurred. Why wouldn't she just sign the divorce papers, get him out of her hair, search for her son and fry the bastards that took him? That's what a badass witch would do, right?

Nope. Abigail's obsessive, controlling and plain mean. I didn't like her character at all--which is sad because I really liked Ridge's character. I had to forgive him for being such a knob toward Abigail, but the rest of his qualities made him a nice, caring, working-on-being-an-alpha male.

Will I read more of Michele Hauf's books? You bet. Hopefully the characters will be more engaging as a whole and the plot will not be so predictable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2012
This was unfinishable. There were a lot of motivation issues and the biggest being the h son had been kidnapped and she conducts a whole sexual relationship after she is given 48 hours to meet the kidnappers demands. Nothing sexy or romantic about this plot. The conversation between the characters was frequently weird, like they would say a very unusual word or syntax that would be ok in narrative, but no one would say outloud. Like SAT words. Does not make the writing smarter, just made the style clunky and strange.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
The Werewolf's Wife (Wicked Games #4)
Author: Michele Hauf
Narrator: Sasha Dunbrook
Length: 286 pages, File Size: 454KB, 7hrs 6min.
Publisher: Harlequin Nocturne March 20, 2012, Audio: Harlequin Enterprises, Ltd. April 1 2012

The legacy he must obey...
The child she must save...
The man who threatens to fulfill her every fantasy...
and break her heart.

Alpha wolf Ridge Addison left his wife in Las Vegas, vowing to put their one reckless night of passion behind him and return to his clan. Thirteen years later he needs a divorce so he can become pack leader. Yet he's never forgotten the sensuous witch whose life he saved...or the knee-buckling kisses he still craves.

After they parted, Abigail tried banishing Ridge from her memory. Now her heart belongs only to her son. But when the boy is kidnapped, she knows she alone can't save him. Though Abigail's body still aches for Ridge, she's willing to give him his freedom in exchange for his help. But who will shield her heart from the only man she's ever let claim her, body and soul?

What happens in Vegas....doesn't stay in Vegas....Ridge and Abigail are case in point. Theirs was a wild and fun beginning. Wolf meets witch, saves witch, after a night of partying Elvis marries them and then everything kind of explodes from there. Ridge is a rare guy, a guy who wants to settle down and have family...and guy who actually craves it. He's also a guy who doesn't know that he's half way there. Abby....well she needs a good clunk on the head. She pushes everything away and has done that most of her life. Now, her son is kidnapped and Ridge is the only person that can help her, a knight in shining armor! Lies and half truths can't prevent either from their goals; in the end it takes one smart kid to point things in the right direction.
To me this was major role reversal; it's usually the guy that has commitment issues not the girl. Change is good! The story is delightful, even if a bit predictable in some places, but still a good read. The ending was cute, needless to say that I've gained a respect for teenagers.
The audio was fun. I laughed out loud causing a few stares in my direction. I must admit to not liking the sound of Sasha Dunbrook's voice at the beginning of the story, it had a whinny undertone to it. But by the third chapter I had notice that she acts well, using inflection in her tone and distinguishing the multiple voices so that you know who is narrating, and which character is speaking. She even made Ryan's voice sound younger, the perfect age for a new teenager. If you have enjoyed Michele Hauf in the past you will continue to do so, weather in print or audio, this is a must read.

The Oracle (Maria Mercedes)
All synopsis are supplied by the publisher via Amazon, Goodreads, or Barnes & Noble
The Oracle Reviews: [...]
The Oracle Reviews purchases some titles others are received via Netgalley. All opinions and reviews are her own.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
Author: Michele Hauf
Published By: Harlequin Nocturne
Age Recommend: Adult
Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
Raven Rating: 4
Blog Review For: Great Minds Think Aloud

Review:
"The Werewolf's Wife" by Michele Hauf was a good read for me. I really enjoyed it all. I was caught up in this novel from page one....definitely a 'Twilight' moment! Yes, it was long however, if you can stay with this storyline setting from Minnesota... I believe you will understand what the story is all about.

The hero and heroine was marvelously presented. Ridge Addison was from the Northern Wolf Pack who was the leader (Principal-Alpha)who was a lumberjack...and yes a werewolf......and then there was Abigail Rowan(fire-witch) and member of the Council that represented the Paranormal Nations. How these two people meet up was somewhat hilarious..... both being drunk one night in Vegas thirteen years ago...THEY GOT MARRIED by Elvis.......only later the witch bride freaks out over him(Ridge) becoming a wolf....things end up where they depart..... and finally the story picks up where that Ridge is now thinking of being married again...starting a family, however, he will have to have his divorce finalized from Abigail before that can happen..........How will this turn out? Ridge has to go see Abigail (who is now a mother of Ryan)...and now her son had been kidnapped. This is the time that I will say you must simply pick up this good read to find out what will come from all of this. Be prepared for a fun ride..... this storyline moves fast.... you get it all from this plot....fights, gunshots, killings and in the end .....I will stop now ..... I don't want to give anymore away. Pick up "The Werewolf's Wife" and read it for yourself to find out who is the villain..... I even guessed it!

If you are looking for a good Paranormal Romance novel with a lots of action, twist and turns... and yes...it gets intensive .... you have come to the right place...."The Werewolf's Wife" would be a good read for you. I would recommend this novel as a good read and the book cover isn't bad to look at either.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2012
Our Review [by Michelle L. Olson - LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha]:
O.K yeah, it's no secret that I love Michele Hauf and gush about pretty much everything she's written, but this book really does deserve it. While not my personal favorite of Michele's thus far, it was an engaging and thoroughly enjoyable read.

Our hero, Ridge Addison, is like the Brawny papertowel guy (including the softer side) with Jason Statham's sexy action hero streak. If that isn't enough to get you to love him right there, then throw in some real to life insecurities, some hardships, and the fact that he's an Alpha willing to fight for what's his, and you have a sigh-worthy leading male that you'll follow just about anywhere.

Our heroine, Abigail, is a little hard to love at first admittedly. To sum it up, Ridge calls her the "Baddest Witch in the Midwest" and she sort of lives up to that name. She has some incredible layers herself, however, and once each of those is peeled away throughout the story and you get to see what makes her tick you can't help but start to love her. I loved her immediately because she's a tough leading lady, and that's one thing that I search for in my Paranormal Romance. No wimpy heroines for this reader! Abigail is that in spades, but she also has her reasons for her walls...

Together, they are a dynamic duo that tug at your emotions because you're just not sure they're right for one another. They each have their own lives - hopes and dreams, and it's not a forgone conclusion that being together will bring them the HEA that you want them both to have. The way Michele spins her tale however has you cheering for them despite (or in spite of!?) the potential hurdles, and left me cheering at the final outcome.

The Werewolf's Wife was another incredible release from Michele Hauf, and I would recommend it to ALL Michele Hauf fans, Paranormal Romance readers, fans of witches and werewolves, and anyone who likes their romance with some conflict (no love triangles or anything of that sort, just real life (and some preternatural) hurdles to overcome.

LITERAL ADDICTION gives The Werewolf's Wife 4 Skulls and cannot wait for whatever Michele has in store for us next!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2012
I liked this book but it was too long, with too much description. The plot didnt make sense all the way. Why was the boy kidnapped? The author answers that but for some reason the person who kidnaps him is never told the truth, that the boy may not be his. Is it done to protect him? We don't know for sure. The man responsible for the kidnap does one thing and then another. He doesn't seem like he has a singular goal in mind and i was left wondering what exactly his motivation was for each move he made. Theres alot of description between ridge and the witch but most of it seems a little clueless as to how they actually feel about each other, as if they don't know themselves how they feel from one moment to the next. The first half they kind of treat each other like they have strong feelings for each other but both could live without the other if worse became worst.
Their feelings yo-yoed so much, neither think they deserve each other, even in the last few pages of the book. Both the hero and heroine describe how perfect they have become for each other over time, and being together has only cemented that bond, but they are both still willing to walk awayfrom each other for no reason at all.
There was absolutely no reason for them not to be together. The witch struggled with control and obssessive issues and the hero with insecurity and self-doubt, but both overcame that before the end of the book. They fell in love and each knew the other loved them, but it didnt make sense that they would walk away from each other like that. The hero and heroine should not able to live without the other. Thats mostly the point of romance novels, to show that love conquers all where in real life it often doesnt. These novels are quick, entertaining reads, partly meant to give a warm, fuzzy feeling so the real world doesnt seem so cold and partly to give the reader a nice, sexy buzz and a hope that love can be better than we can imagine, if only we let it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2012
3 STARS
I liked the story line but I felt I was missing a lot by not reading any of the previous books. Plus it had way too much sex scenes for me.
Ridge Addison is the leader of his pack but thier is only four members. To
get more he needs to find a wife so he can have a family and give his wolfs a family to be a part of.
Ridge is already married to a witch for one day. That had ended in a big fight that almost cut off the family jewels but it did stop him from fathering children.
Abigail was being burned at a stake when Ridge saw and rescued her. They both got drunk and ended up married by Elvis in Las Vegas. She freaked out when they were making love he started to shift and lost control of her magic and hurt Ridge. Abigail had no idea he was a werewolf until then.
Now she gets a phone call that her son was kidnapped and she had to rescue a vampire and exchange him for her son. She can't call the councel.
Right after that Ridge knocks on her door wanting divorce papers signed. Abigail being desperate makes him a deal help her find and rescue this vampire from other wolf pack. So she can rescue her son from his kidnapper.
Some werewolf packs kidnap vampires and make them fight to the death. Even though its against thier laws. That stopping is pack from doing just that is how Ridge became the new pack leader.
Ridge finds out that their is a chance he is Abagail son father but only a slight chance. He was willing to rescue him before he thought he was a father but that is his dream to have a family and belong to one.
Thier are a lot of fights and a lot of death and sex in this story.
I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
04/03/2012 PUB Harlequin Harlequin Nocturne
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As the new head of his werewolf pack, Ridge realizes that it's time for him to find a mate and start a family. But before he can do that, he needs to get a divorce from the woman he married in Vegas during a one-night stand 13 years ago. As hot as their drunken roll in the hay was, it ended very badly when he started to shift in bed --and the fiery witch responded with a powerful zap to his gut. He hasn't seen her since.

Just as Ridge shows up on Abigail's doorstep, her son is kidnapped. The mysterious abductor demands that she track down a particular vampire to trade for the boy's life. Ridge agrees to help her get her son back. And as they work together, all the old sparks start flying again.

My biggest complaint about this book is that it's predictable. Basic math skills tip off the possibility of the child's paternity from the get-go. We know that Ridge is starved for family and what better payoff could there be, other than one that's ready made? The identity of the kidnapper is pretty transparent as well.

My other beef? The very idea that Abigail could reignite this relationship while her son's in mortal danger. Sure, I can see her leaning on this stalwart man and reaching out for his goodness and strength. But I just don't buy any mom putting her terror on hold to get laid. Nope. Her son has been kidnapped; his life is in jeopardy and she's getting busy with wolfman.

The book is part of Michele Hauf's Beautiful Creatures world and references events and characters in the Wicked Games series. You don't have to read those books to understand what's going on, but as a new reader, I could definitely feel I had missed something, with the large amount of backstory we're filled in on.

The book was ok reading in parts. I liked Ridge and I wanted him to get his HEA. But overall, it wasn't great. A little less than 3 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2012
The Werewolf's Wife by Michele Hauf
I could not find this book listed as part of any series but previous events that were mentioned had been in the book Her Vampire Husband. Ridge Addison was part of the Northern Pack. After he eventually had to kill his pack leader, he became the Principal. They have been losing members so his pack mate, Jason, suggests that Ridge marries and starts a family to bring members back. One problem. Ridge had gotten drunk one night in Vegas thirteen years ago and married. The honeymoon barely started before his new witch bride freaked over his wolf and things ended on a bad note. Ridge still thought, dreamed and cringed when she came to mind but it was time to finalize their parting with divorce papers.

The worst day of Abigail Rowan's life just happened, a phone call claiming they kidnapped her son. And now Ridge Addison is at her door with divorce papers. Why not have him help her before she releases him? As Ridge and Abigail work together to find a vampire that the kidnapper's demanded they end up on an adventure that brings them closer and they both try to remember the night so long ago where a drunken werewolf and witch got married by Elvis. Is there any hope for these two mismatched breeds to find happiness together?

Michele brings her characters to life. Ridge has been mistreated most of his life. An orphan pup trying to please. You feel for the poor guy and just want him to find someone who will truly love and appreciate him. You feel for the mother in Abigail as she works to meet the deadline to rescue Ryan. And of course the angry feelings against the characters who are the villains.

**Sexual situations and language
**Book received from Netgalley for review.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2012
If you're ready to grow up from the Twilight Saga, pick up this tantalizing book by Michele. You won't want to put The Werewolf's Wife down.
Ridge Addison - lumberjack, tall, muscular, principal of the Northern pack and, oh yeah, a werewolf too. Abigail Rowan - mother, has problems with electricity, a member of the Council and, did I mention, a fire witch out to save her kidnapped son, Ryan. Main setting - Minnesota - Lake Harriet neighborhood and the north woods.
Ridge wants to be leader of his pack but needs to find a suitable mate for life. One problem, he's married. Thirteen years ago while in Las Vegas, he came upon a damsel in distress. In the middle of a fire pyre, tied to a pole, Abigail screamed as a male fire witch chanted a spell in Latin. Ridge saved Abigail and after many shots of vodka, decided to get married - by Elvis. Remember, what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.
Fast-forward thirteen years, and Abigail receives a disturbing phone call while waiting to pick her son up at the airport - he's been kidnapped. Given the demands, time frame and meeting place by the captors, witches allied with the Light, she prepares to save Ryan at any and all costs. Ridge shows up on her doorstep with divorce papers for her to sign. Before presenting and asking her to sign the papers, he learns of her situation and offers help. This is where the fun begins.
Abigail and Ridge set-off on a hunt to find the demanded vampire in exchange for Ryan. On the journey, they encounter fights, gunshots, and find their vampire. Abigail discovers why they want this particular vamp and takes appropriate action to protect her son.
Abigail and Ridge encounter and confront battles within themselves and with the reality of love. Things don't always go as planned. Things take you by surprise. Things can make you happy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.