Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Poignant Documentary About Forging Unlikely Connections
We're told from the beginning of the documentary "The Whale" that the filmmakers never intended to produce a movie about the subject. In many ways, though, this incredible true life tale was begging to be shared with the world. The life of Luna, a baby orca who became an international media sensation, is just so incredible, so unusual, so heartfelt, and even...
Published on November 30, 2012 by K. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it but it just was not what I expected
I was under the impression that it was a whale movie not a documentary . I enjoyed it but it just was not what I expected .
Published 7 months ago by King


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Poignant Documentary About Forging Unlikely Connections, November 30, 2012
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
We're told from the beginning of the documentary "The Whale" that the filmmakers never intended to produce a movie about the subject. In many ways, though, this incredible true life tale was begging to be shared with the world. The life of Luna, a baby orca who became an international media sensation, is just so incredible, so unusual, so heartfelt, and even occasionally disturbing that the film will linger with you long after the credits roll. I watch a ton of movies (and documentaries) but the day after I viewed "The Whale," I mentioned it to three friends as a must-see. That's a testament mostly to Luna (and the movie secondarily), but I almost NEVER go out of my way to make such a bold recommendation. This is not your polished nature documentary, this is a piece with real intimacy and emotion. Much of the movie was joyous and much of it aroused feelings of anger and disappointment but, trust me, you can't watch this and be unaffected. While the movie is rated G, though, I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to all ages. It's not always a nice story, but it gives you a lot to think about.

Luna, as a two year old, showed up one day in a small bay on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Separated from its pod, the whale seemed to be thriving with plenty to eat. But whales are essentially a social animal and Luna really lacked for company. I'm not one to humanize animal traits, but there is little doubt that our baby wanted to play and socialize with the only species available to him. Luna started popping up and the locals were enchanted with their new aquatic friend. Over the course of the next few years, though, Luna's presence would become a source of much concern and debate. From the simplicity and playfulness of Luna's early days, government regulators get involved, the animal takes on mythological status to a local tribe, he becomes a human interest story around the globe, and the whale's antics start to upset some in the community. To paraphrase from The Sound of Music, how do we solve a problem like Luna? That's a point of major contention in this riveting and occasionally unsettling presentation.

"The Whale" boasts some prominent names as Executive Producers (Scarlett Johansson and Ryan Reynolds). Reynolds makes a very personal and informal narrator as well. But the real star is Luna. From a technical standpoint, "The Whale" isn't fancy or overdone. Its impressive footage is captured naturally over time and the movie actually benefits from this of-the-moment imperative. The spectacular shots of Luna are interspersed with interviews of the major players in the debate, each thinking that they were doing what was best. In the end, it is easy to become emotionally invested in Luna's plight and it is easy to see why so many were passionate in the fight (even if they were at odds). This is one I won't soon forget! But again, screen it before you show it to your kids. It's perfectly acceptable for those that can deal with more complex issues, it just isn't a Disney-fied G-rated nature documentary. KGHarris, 11/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luna was endangered even before he became separated from family, just like Lolita. But she can be re-united with her family., December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
I was very fortunate to have seen the original version of this film on its big screen premiere in Seattle under the title, "Saving Luna". The filmmakers were present for the showing and provided a remarkably insightful Q&A session afterwards.

If you are not moved by this film, there is likely no hope. The Southern Resident Killer Whales were already an endangered species at the time of Luna's unfortunate demise and their population continues to decline.

The L-Pod (and the rest of us) lost a beautiful, innocent, non-human person named Luna and his long-lost cousin, Tokitae, who was kidnapped and sold into slavery as a child to perform under the show name "Lolita" for more than four decades, alone in the same run-down, excruciatingly-tiny concrete pool. She is wise and sentient, like all killer whales, and still could be re-united with her family. Luna unfortunately did not have that chance. Check out the Orca Network's website.

If you enjoyed this film, another documentary from the same filmmakers can be found easily by navigating to your favorite search engine and entering: "BBC Natural World A Killer Whale Called Luna".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So sad, December 13, 2012
By 
JYK (Washington State) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
Just a really sad story of the tragic consequences for animals who unwittingly try to befriend humans. After reading up further about the whale and the bureaucratic entanglements that might have prevented a sad and not-so-inevitable conclusion, I am just sad for what could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!, December 12, 2012
By 
Kino (S.F., CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
Not a word I use often, but, enchanting from the first scene (after too much narration, or maybe I was just impatient) of Luna the Orca, and star of this documentary. Whatever the movie's faults, this animal's incredible and mysterious energy comes across on the screen. I've never seen anything quite like it.
It is also a tragedy: Luna was never reunited with his pod due to human incompetence. But that's part of the story. Loved the human characters too, especially the native tribe.
Sour grapes: I paid almost $20 (from Amazon seller) first week of release and second week price starts @ $10. Bit of a rip-off; and dvd is skimpy on extras.
Lessson: don't buy the first week of release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Poignant Documentary About Forging Unlikely Connections, December 5, 2012
This review is from: The Whale (Amazon Instant Video)
We're told from the beginning of the documentary "The Whale" that the filmmakers never intended to produce a movie about the subject. In many ways, though, this incredible true life tale was begging to be shared with the world. The life of Luna, a baby orca who became an international media sensation, is just so incredible, so unusual, so heartfelt, and even occasionally disturbing that the film will linger with you long after the credits roll. I watch a ton of movies (and documentaries) but the day after I viewed "The Whale," I mentioned it to three friends as a must-see. That's a testament mostly to Luna (and the movie secondarily), but I almost NEVER go out of my way to make such a bold recommendation. This is not your polished nature documentary, this is a piece with real intimacy and emotion. Much of the movie was joyous and much of it aroused feelings of anger and disappointment but, trust me, you can't watch this and be unaffected. While the movie is rated G, though, I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to all ages. It's not always a nice story, but it gives you a lot to think about.

Luna, as a two year old, showed up one day in a small bay on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Separated from its pod, the whale seemed to be thriving with plenty to eat. But whales are essentially a social animal and Luna really lacked for company. I'm not one to humanize animal traits, but there is little doubt that our baby wanted to play and socialize with the only species available to him. Luna started popping up and the locals were enchanted with their new aquatic friend. Over the course of the next few years, though, Luna's presence would become a source of much concern and debate. From the simplicity and playfulness of Luna's early days, government regulators get involved, the animal takes on mythological status to a local tribe, he becomes a human interest story around the globe, and the whale's antics start to upset some in the community. To paraphrase from The Sound of Music, how do we solve a problem like Luna? That's a point of major contention in this riveting and occasionally unsettling presentation.

"The Whale" boasts some prominent names as Executive Producers (Scarlett Johansson and Ryan Reynolds). Reynolds makes a very personal and informal narrator as well. But the real star is Luna. From a technical standpoint, "The Whale" isn't fancy or overdone. Its impressive footage is captured naturally over time and the movie actually benefits from this of-the-moment imperative. The spectacular shots of Luna are interspersed with interviews of the major players in the debate, each thinking that they were doing what was best. In the end, it is easy to become emotionally invested in Luna's plight and it is easy to see why so many were passionate in the fight (even if they were at odds). This is one I won't soon forget! But again, screen it before you show it to your kids. It's perfectly acceptable for those that can deal with more complex issues, it just isn't a Disney-fied G-rated nature documentary. KGHarris, 11/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie for all ages, December 17, 2012
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
Honestly one of the best movies I have seen.
It is an amazing story that you will remember long after you watch the movie
It is filled with emotion and so many life lessons ....a perfect movie to watch with your children/
Grandchildren or students. A perfect gift for the holidays.
I have seen it multiple times....Luna is an unforgettable "character"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful whale, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whale (Amazon Instant Video)
what a beautiful whale. sad that the humans didn't know how to respond. it was a heart breaking story for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderous, inspirational movie for the entire family!, October 30, 2012
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
How could one orphaned Orca make for an incredible documentary film? The answer is "The Whale," with wonderful narration from Executive Producer Ryan Reynolds (Scarlett Johansson also co-produced) and always fascinating commentary from the many scientists and local people who worked with Luna the whale. This one is excellent for kids and adults, all! I'm ordering a few extra for holiday gifts, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this., March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
Seeing this made me appreciate so much more about the documentary Black Fish and added fuel to why that needed to be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am not talking about the humans that loved and adopted Luna into their own, September 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Whale (DVD)
I watched this Movie again today with a friend. It took me an hour to get her to stop crying. This movie is indeed testament to the stupidity of humans when interacting with animals. I am not talking about the humans that loved and adopted Luna into their own. I am speaking of the a$$hole bureaucrats that really screwed up this entire situations.
All they had to do... was pick Luna up (just like they do for SeaWorld) and take him to his pod 200 miles away. Luna would still be alive today if they would have done this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Whale
The Whale by Docurama (DVD - 2012)
$29.95 $14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.