Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $9.00 (90%)

Read this title for free. Learn more
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Whisper of Stars: A science-fiction thriller (Hibernation Series Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 118 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.99

Length: 298 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

THE PORTLAND BOOK REVIEW - 5 stars by Galina Roizman
 
The Whisper of Stars is an extraordinary offbeat sci-fi thriller. 
The persuasive and smooth narrative grabs readers' attention. The book's strong structure and short but precise descriptions help it. The clean and firm sentences are detailed enough to influence readers' involvement in what is happening. There is a new, intriguing and unpredictable twist within every chapter which is amazingly convincing and believable. For a debut novel this is a marvelously powerful whisper and a captivating read!

portlandbookreview.com/the-whisper-of-stars/


REVIEW FROM KIRKUS.COM
 
Jones' debut sci-fi thriller masterfully blends espionage with ultra-cool technology. Jones keeps the story grounded by ensuring that some of the tech has alarming side effects and the story's open ending isn't a cliffhanger, but leaves room for a second installment. An action-packed sci-fi story that delivers on its promising concept.
 
kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/nick-jones/the-whisper-of-stars/


K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes"  5 STARS
Amazon top 500 reviewer
 
A debut author, self-published. And a really good read. There are so many writers out there trying to get there books seen, it's hard to choose which ones to try. I'd recommend this one. It's confident, it's fast-moving, the characters are sympathetic, the story is good. 
 
One that teenagers might enjoy, but aimed at an adult market (some swearing/short sexual scenes but nothing graphic), it's a good addition to the genre.

Product Details

  • File Size: 649 KB
  • Print Length: 298 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Nick Jones (April 17, 2014)
  • Publication Date: April 17, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00JS3BJZA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #65,598 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Nick Jones was born in Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwickshire in 1972. His debut novel 'The Whisper of Stars' was released in April 2014. He lives in Gloucestershire with his twins, Charlie and Ella, two dogs and two fish. Nick can usually be found in his garden studio surrounded by notes and scribbling on a large white board. His next novel, 'The Embers of Hope' will be released in late 2014, followed by a new time-travel series to be released in episodes throughout 2015.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book falls into the category of what I call ‘realistic sci-fi’ since it deals with so many consequences of today’s world and society--global warming, over-population, the overbearing rise of technology, etc. It shows the negative effects of when technology can become “too smart” to the point of hurting humanity. And there is only one solution...a forced Hibernation imposed by the government: “it didn’t matter who you were or how much you had--in the end, everyone would be drafted.” I can very easily see this book being made into a movie—narrative like this that is so simple, yet is so packed with solid imagery. The characters are so vivid and the plot concept is so action-packed that each scene is so much fun to read.

Nick Jones has such a naturally suspenseful writing style that fits perfectly with this world on the verge of dystopia. But then it gets more complicated--and it revolves around what happens to those bodies during hibernation.

There was a good mix of sci-fi and narrative (complete with romance and sex to add proper twists), and covers a wide range of typical action scenes (chase scenes, not knowing who to trust, etc) to please a wide range of audiences. But it does stay true to its sci-fi roots by keeping with that main story line, and having other genres as sub-plots. So there is no worry about starting the book as a sci-fi and unexpectedly have it turn into a sappy romance. No one likes a book whose beginning and ending don’t match, and luckily this book is not one of those. An overall captivating book that I am so glad to have read. Highly recommended for those who like action-packed novels that have unique depth and a memorable plot line.
Comment 23 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Just about everything you could want, Mr.Jones has delivered:

Editing (that seemingly Achilles heel of the self-published work) is as good as a traditionally published book. Extremely engaging plot line. The characters are well fleshed out and their dialogue natural, unforced and believable.

I am very much looking forward to your next book, Mr. Jones.
Comment 12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
All things considered, “The Whisper of Stars,” Book One of the Hibernation Series, is downright amazing. Its author is quite something, too. Nick Jones, previously unpublished, has, in his first book, has put one out of the park.

“The Whisper of Stars” is complete. All of the loose ends are convincingly tied up so that when you reach the end you are satisfied. Yet, while the end is satisfying, Jones, through the epilogue, leaves room so the first volume of this planned series can merge into the second. Indeed, if the author had wanted to leave the novel as a standalone, he could have done it as the ending works for a lone book, as well.

Jones makes you believe the characters are real so that you empathize with them. He pulls you into the novel and makes your reality the fantasy world he has created. In fact, you worry about the novel's hero, Jen, a hard-working, loyal police sergeant in the Duality Bureau. Jen is surrounded by a conspiracy of silence that touches everyone in the society Jones has created. The conspiracy is so deep that it envelops not only Jen's life but also her father's life. Dad's actions many years before created the conspiracy and he is its first victim.

Interestingly, though Dad should have protected his daughter from the conspiracy, he did not. Instead, he pulled his daughter deeply into the quagmire by placing a very deep memory in her subconscious relating to Project Hysteridae. The deep memory really never surfaces but is apparent in a sudden ability to control a powerful weapon she finds near her childhood home.

Dad apparently thought he could erase all traces of the weapon he created for Project Hysteridae. He made two mistakes: 1.
Read more ›
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A fast-paced futuristic sci-fi techno-thriller with some truly interesting concepts, The Whisper of Stars is the debut novel of Nick Jones (@nickjoneswriter).

After a brief prologue that raises questions that won't be answered until much later, the story skips ahead thirty-odd years to 2091. The future as envisioned by Mr. Jones is filled with cool technology but overshadowed by concerns about climate change and dwindling resources.

With human survival in the balance, the solution seems to be Hibernation, with the population divided into lots so people alternate "sleeping" with remaining awake and active. Hibernation means people live much longer, and there are laws to protect the rights of those hibernating, but it wouldn't be much of a thriller if there wasn't something else going on, would it?

London MI5 agent Jennifer Logan works in the Duality Division, tasked with enforcing Hibernation and rooting out illegal cloning and mind replication operations. In the aftermath of an operation gone bad, she meets Nathan O'Brien, a grieving widower searching for those responsible for the death of his investigative journalist wife.

To say much more would spoil the fun for future readers. The story moves at a good pace, the action sequences are exciting and well described, and there are some mild twists along the way, too. All in all, I enjoyed reading The Whisper of Stars and will add the next book in the series to my To Read List.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in