Start reading The Whopper Strategies on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Whopper Strategies [Kindle Edition]

Pirooz Kalayeh
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Literature & Fiction Books for $1.99 Each
Now through November 14, select literature & fiction Kindle books are $1.99 each. Browse the full selection to find your next great read.

Book Description

In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Richard Brautigan, comes The Whopper Strategies, a faux manual on corporations, politics, love, and Enlightenment. Pirooz M. Kalayeh, author and narrator of the novel joins the ranks of the fictional super power, Phipps Inc., where his mandate is to concentrate on the future: because that’s what matters and all that will ever matter. Sent to the Future Division of the Phipps Inc. Super Building, the narrator makes quick progress in coming up with several big ideas, or Whoppers. He helps with the company’s new campaigns, including Appreciation and The Crying Policy, while still adhering to the guidelines set in the Optimum Diet Plan for Whopper Cultivation. It is not long before he is introduced to the greatest Whopper of all – Enlightenment In A Box™. The only problem is how to package it for consumers. He decides the only way to find out is to get there himself.

"At first you are wondering if he is going to be able to keep this up.

'I wonder if he is going to be able to keep this up,' you say.

"And then you realize Kalayeh has made a world out of tiny words and big ideas.

'Kalayeh has made a world out of tiny words and big ideas,' you say.

"Inventive, surprising and sweet. Feels like many things you have read before (in a good way) and like nothing you have read before (in a good way)."

—Charles Yu, author of How to Live Safely in a Scientific Universe

Composed in simple sentences that belie its complex intentions and enhance their revolutionary effects, The Whopper Strategies is a book that demystifies and devours our corporate culture. Kalayeh has written the anti-manual for the twenty-first century.
—Jim Goar, author of The Louisiana Purchase.

“Crackling with mordant energy, bursting with trenchant wit, The Whopper Strategies is a technical, metaphorical, and ontological knockout.
Pirooz M. Kalayeh is a writer to watch.”
—Laird Hunt, author of The Impossibly.

With the innocence of an infant and the sharp knife of the satirist, Mr. Kalayeh has constructed a world that trips lightly across one’s retina and at the same time burrows deep into one’s heart. He holds a feather in one hand and a burning torch in the other, to tickle and tease with the former and burn away all illusion with the latter. The Whopper Strategies, like the best of tales, delights, thrills, bludgeons, cajoles and enlightens.
—Marlowe Fawcett, director of The Other Half.

The Whopper Strategies is like a techno blast to the gut.
—Noah Cicero, author of Best Behavior.

Product Details

  • File Size: 690 KB
  • Print Length: 141 pages
  • Publisher: Dirt e-books (June 25, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008EWZRHW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,491,285 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
(4)
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read July 30, 2012
The Whopper Strategies is a very funny and yet poignant tale, written in a disarmingly simple style that makes it easy to turn those pages. It is the story of an endearingly innocent young man working for a somewhat shadier corporation called Phipps Inc. As the stakes get higher and the dangers lurk closer, he can be relied on to remain completely unaware that anything is amiss, and eternally positive about, well, everything. This makes you either want to knock him on the head and tell him to watch out, or wish you could be him and see the world with such innocence again, if only for a little while.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Breezy but not light July 31, 2012
Verified Purchase
I started reading this book casually, intending to read a few lines and then to pick it up later. I ended up finishing it in a single sitting and was done before I realised. You are highly likely to laugh while reading this book. It feels quick -- I mean the book goes by quickly -- but it's not exactly rushed. It's a bit difficult to describe. Descriptions should be left to writers anyway. Like the writer of this book. P.S. My favourite character is Chuck.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whopper Strategies July 31, 2012
A book that demands an audience. A voice that warrants a listen. I picked this book up last week and haven't been able to put it down.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Verified Purchase
This was a fun book about corporate life. I read it while on a bus. I felt like I was in the future when I read it. Like this is what life would be like. I also liked all the illustrations and memos. I could imagine teenagers and adults enjoying this book. I'm into sci-fi and film noir books, so this book fit with my aesthetic. I also like Keith Haring and pop art, so it seemed to have a bit of those elements in there as well. I'd recommend it to anyone that wants to laugh or likes futuristic 1984-like societies.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category