Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy New
$14.99
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Wicked has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Wicked Paperback – May 13, 2012

4.5 out of 5 stars 44 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.99
$12.17 $5.60

Top 20 lists in Books
Top 20 lists in Books
View the top 20 best sellers of all time, the most reviewed books of all time and some of our editors' favorite picks. Learn more
$14.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Wicked
  • +
  • Ugly As Sin
Total price: $28.98
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Wicked is a good old-fashioned, unabashed Horror novel. James Newman remembers when horror used to be fun, and he's recaptured it here in all of its gory glory. A terrifying page-turner in the tradition of Graham Masterton, J.N. Williamson, and Richard Laymon."

--Brian Keene
Author of The Rising, City of the Dead and Ghoul

"The Wicked is a well-honed blade."

--Norman Partridge
Author of Mr. Fox and Other Feral Tales and Lesser Demons

"Reminiscent of the best of 80's horror and Bentley Little at his most grotesque and unrelenting, The Wicked is the kind of horror we don't see enough of anymore. This is one wild and bloody ride, and in the capable hands of James Newman, it's one worth taking."

--Kealan Patrick Burke
Stoker Award-winning author of The Turtle Boy and Kin

From the Inside Flap

Originally published in 2007 in limited edition hardcover, The Wicked has been revised by the author, expanded with a new foreword by Mark Allan Gunnells, a new afterword by the author, and brilliant new artwork and illustrations by Jesse David Young (with additional cover layout by Yannick Bouchard). Also included is a brand new, exclusive tie-in short story written specifically for this release.
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle Edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Shock Totem Publications (May 13, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0615419003
  • ISBN-13: 978-0615419008
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,720,100 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
The Wicked, by James Newman, is a frightfully fun exercise in classic eighties horror. The pacing is excellent, all the time-honored elements are there - evil comes to a small town, preying on vulnerable sensibilities, trying to become "flesh" - but most importantly, it's so very well written. The prose is lean, the characterization rings true and even at 325 pages, the story moves like a dragster fueled by the fires of Hell.

David, Kate and Becca Little moved to Morganville, North Carolina in a desperate attempt to start over. After Kate's assault and rape, the Littles are hurting, badly. This may be the only chance they have at saving their family and returning to some sense of normalcy. Especially with Kate's pregnancy looming above them. Because they don't know. Whose child is this? David's?

Or the rapists?

Much worse dangers lurk in the shadowed corners of Morganville, however. Invoked by the fire that destroyed the Heller Home for Children several months before the Littles arrived, an ancient demon has come forth. Its hunger is eternal, and not only does it want to defile and debase and corrupt all human life...

It wants the children. To fuel its unholy fires, and bring it forth from hell. And to defeat it, David must face sacrificing more than just his life...he may have to sacrifice everything he holds dear in this world.

The debate will always rage, one imagines, between those who champion "introspective, literary horror" and those who favor the more visceral sub-genres like splatterpunk and monster fiction (zombies, vampires, etc). And that's the best thing about The Wicked. It's so well written.
Read more ›
Comment 18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Just to be upfront, I did write the intro for this edition of the book, so some will say that makes me biased. But truth is, I discovered this book in its original incarnation as a hardcover from Necessary Evil Press years ago, read it and loved it, so when I was asked to do an intro for this new edition, I jumped at the chance because I was such a fan.

As I state in my intro, growing up as a child of the 80s I just loved those mass-market horror novels that seemed to be so prevalent back then, with their garish covers and lurid descriptions. They were often cheesy and exciting and above all else, FUN! With The Wicked, Newman set out to pay tribute to those tales, a homage of sorts. And he succeeded, but at more than just paying tribute to those 80s horror novels. He outdid them. His small-town-invaded-by-ancient-supernatural-evil tale definitely mirrors the formula of a lot of those great 80s chillers, but Newman also elevates the material. Through complex and intriguing characters, a plot that is rich and fast-paced, and most of all through some damn fine writing, he creates a story that sucks you in and just whisks you along til the end. Newman is a major talent, and if you haven't read him, then you're truly missing out. He is a diverse writer that tackles different subjects and different tones, but he always provides excellent storytelling. And The Wicked is a prime example.

And this review wouldn't be complete without talking about the production from publisher Shock Totem. They wanted to take the idea of this book as homage to those 80s horrors and really put that into play, and they created a truly beautiful book. The design, from the cover to the ads in the back, really sells it.
Read more ›
Comment 13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The Little family--in an effort to rebuild their lives after a sexual assault--move from New York City to the small town of Morganville, North Carolina. David's a popular book-cover artist, his wife Kate both pregnant and taking care of their 7-year old daughter Becca. Kate's nrother Joel had moved there a few years earlier and is now the town's coroner.

Almost as soon as they move in, bodies begin to pile up, some victims of strange insect stings, others in brutal car crashes. And when a department store Santa gets a little too close to young Becca, the idealic town of Morganville begins to reveal dark secrets that drag David, his family, and their elderly, ex-Marine neighbor George into a dark world of occultic violence and ancient mysteries.

THE WICKED is James Newman's homage to the generic horror novels of the 80s, and in the hands of a lesser author this could have been a real cheese-fest. But Newman manages to give the tired old "Evil in a Small Town" thing a real kick in the pants, placing both children and religious institutions into frightening peril that's anything but campy. The blood flows as freely as any classic Laymon or Garton novel, but unlike many stories THE WICKED pays tribute to, there's a real sense of impending doom throughout, as well as two protagonists we truly care for. The compulsively-readable prose yanked me through it's 325 pages in 2 manic sittings.

Shock Totem's gore-geous retro-80's-looking cover design made me yearn for my teenage years, and Newman's bonus short, 'Boaracle,' is a fine way to top off what is easily going to be the most fun-to-read horror novel of the year. Even those who read the limited edition hardcover from Necessary Evil Press a few years ago will want this nifty, extras-packed edition.

GREAT stuff.
Comment 12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Wicked
This item: The Wicked
Price: $14.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com