Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't matter no how. We're gonna GIT ya."
Todd Livingston, Robert Tinnell, and Neil Vokes follow-up their highly successful graphic novel THE BLACK FOREST with THE WICKED WEST, a thrilling tale blending western action/adventure with classic horror set in 1870 Texas.

When lone gunslinger Cotton Coleridge rides into the quiet town of Javer's Tanks to secure a teaching position, a strange evil slowly...
Published on November 8, 2004 by Donald C. Weiss, Jr.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to the Hype
This graphic novel did not live up to the hype. I purchased The Wicked West based on the 5 star reviews it recieved. It was an ok book. The art work was excellent, but the storyline was vague. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't great.
Published on January 17, 2008 by OUFAN1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't matter no how. We're gonna GIT ya.", November 8, 2004
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
Todd Livingston, Robert Tinnell, and Neil Vokes follow-up their highly successful graphic novel THE BLACK FOREST with THE WICKED WEST, a thrilling tale blending western action/adventure with classic horror set in 1870 Texas.

When lone gunslinger Cotton Coleridge rides into the quiet town of Javer's Tanks to secure a teaching position, a strange evil slowly befalls the area and Cotton must deal with an ever-growing population of ravenous vampires!

The dynamic duo of writers, Todd Livingston and Robert Tinnell, score another hit in the crossover genre. The story is very suspenseful, with a likeable lead character and wonderful, juicy dialogue. Cotton Coleridge stands as a tragic and enigmatic figure, a man of great conscience burdened by a destiny to battle the forces of the supernatural.

Neil Vokes' art, the ideal compliment to the authors' writing styles, perfectly captures the mood of the characters and setting, this time in lavish color contributed by Scott Keating. Each distinct expression, from innocence to evil, reaches in and touches the deepest recesses of the soul.

The back-up short story by Andrew Sands and Brian Quinn is a delightful bonus, as is the beautiful pin-up gallery featuring the work of David Michael Beck, Eric Powell, and many more.

Like THE BLACK FOREST before it, THE WICKED WEST reads like a live-action film that constantly keeps the viewers on the edge of their seats. The ending, while nicely contained, teases the reader with the possibility of a sequel. As far as this reviewer is concerned, the idea is a most favorable one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to the Hype, January 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
This graphic novel did not live up to the hype. I purchased The Wicked West based on the 5 star reviews it recieved. It was an ok book. The art work was excellent, but the storyline was vague. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dust n' Guts With Fangs All Over!, July 26, 2006
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
The fellas that produced the pulp horror action classic The Black Forest head into the bloodiest gulch in The Wicked West as they begin to forge the legend of Cotton Coleridge. Fast paced spaghetti western action blends very well with the horror elements on show as the lead and fists fly over the chomping and tearing baddies. A perfect introduction for a new character, when the dust settles in The Wicked West you'll be looking to saddle up for more. The artwork by Neil Vokes hits all the right harmonica notes, the story clomps like a stallion on the run from the black hatted bullets and the coloring provides a slick veneer of tumbling weedy dust to make the whole thing sing like a froggy throated western narrator.

Be sure to check out The Black Forest 2 for more of Cotton's Cadaver Splattering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clever and exciting, June 19, 2008
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
I'm finally over 13 and can write a review. I bought this from Mr. Tinnel as a 12 year old at The Monster Bash and he kindly warned my father and me that it might be a little too adult for me. Dad and I went through it and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I particularly liked the concept of the movie verses real life. And the action was very involving and edge-of-your seat exciting. I re-read it from time to time and enjoy it just as much every time. So does dad. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow....Down...., April 19, 2005
By 
Matthew Mariner (Gainesville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
Now, first off I'd like to praise the artwork--bravo. The scenes depicting the old film were well done and planned, as were the color scenes. I even enjoyed the juxtaposition of the true story and the filmed retelling. This being said, I would have been even more impressed had the writer, colorist, and penciller sat down to discuss pacing. Several frames seemed to come too close to one another--the story moved too quickly, not enough down time between dialogue and vampire-killing. Recently I began reading Kirkman's The Living Dead series--brilliant pacing. The first few pages are bereft of dialogue, just allowing the art to speak for itself. And dare I invoke the name of Frank Miller? The Hard Goodbye goes for pages at a time, devoting several frames to a simple act like running. Now, I might sound like I'm berading Wicked West for having too much dialogue--I'm not. The dialogue was fine, albeit contrived at some points, but generally enjoyable. What I was disappointed in was the fact that action and dialogue intensive frames are tossed at the reader relentlessly. A truly good comic book needs downtime, needs moments where the characters are just sitting and smoking for five frames. I'm a writer and I'm saying this! But I'm sure Alan Moore and Grant Morrison would agree with me. Embrace the dull moment, for a good artist can make tying a shoe as interesting as any bloodbath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tombstone Meets Army of Darkness, June 11, 2007
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
The Wicked West has all the qualities of being the love child of Frank Miller and Bruce Campbell. The writing really puts you into the setting and moves at a perfect pace for action lovers. The art alone is a glorious punch to the face.

The plot is a creative mix of Tombstone rapes Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and the authors are masters of the page turn. The ending leaves you feeling fulfilled and wanting more... kind of like an expensive prostitute.

Any lover of action/horror will most definitely want to invest in this work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shane Meets Dracula is better than The Black Forest Monster Mash, November 19, 2005
By 
Matthew Higgins (Grand Library of Helium, Barsoom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
After first buying The Black Forest, the previous cross-genre book by the same writer & artist team as The Wicked West, a book he wanted so much to love but just felt was lacking as it felt rushed and there was too much cramming into rather than working into the story of the Universal-style monsters, this reader came to The Wicked West somewhat hesitantly. However The Wicked West, essentially Shane meets Dracula, turned out to be a far better book than The Black Forest as it flowed much better than The Black Forest and the juxtaposition between film and "reality" was accomplished in an appropriately satisfying manner. The text short story at the end was not bad either. Accordingly, treating yourself to this book is recommended, as is hoping that Image will have the writer & artist team produce more Cotton Coleridge graphic novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read..totaly enjoyable, November 8, 2004
This review is from: The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) (Paperback)
wicked west will be totaly enjoyable and a great fun read..it mixes horror with the old west in a way that it just goes together so smotthly. the book makes you wish there was another 50 pages of the hero's adventures at the end because you don't want to put it down.even if you arn't into comic books you'll enjoy this and you'll say the same thing i did "this books is awsome".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa360ab4c)

This product

The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1)
The Wicked West Volume 1 (v. 1) by Neil Vokes (Paperback - November 2, 2004)
Used & New from: $3.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.