Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love southern horror!
'The Wild Man of the Navidad' definitely has that 70's camp feel to it! When watching it, I could clearly see that it pays homage to such films as: 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', 'The Legend of Boggy Creek', 'Creature From Black Lake' etc. Even though it does pay homage to those films, it doesn't over do it in such a way that it would be ripping off its predecessors...
Published on February 3, 2010 by Jennifer M. Hensley

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny
Made on no budget, this was a decent first feature. The genre gets a reboot; this is very grindhouse, go-go 70s-style, so you'd need to be a fan of those to enjoy it.
Published on September 28, 2009 by geminimind


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love southern horror!, February 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
'The Wild Man of the Navidad' definitely has that 70's camp feel to it! When watching it, I could clearly see that it pays homage to such films as: 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', 'The Legend of Boggy Creek', 'Creature From Black Lake' etc. Even though it does pay homage to those films, it doesn't over do it in such a way that it would be ripping off its predecessors. It is truly original and I can easily see this becoming a cult classic over time. It just has to! Besides this being a low low budget flick, I could tell the makers behind it wanted their legendary wild man to say as campy as if it were depicted in 70's cinema. And by that I mean this isn't the scariest beastly-looking man that is seen by todays Horror movie standards (today being the keyword). Don't get me wrong, this wild man does play out a creepy vibe! I love how the wild man is portrayed. It's realistic. It's believable. Some viewers will not get it. I'm going to go out on a limb and say younger audiences these days will be the ones that wont get it when getting their first glimpse at the beast. Having grown up just outside of Shreveport, Louisiana for the past twenty something years, I might be a little biased on this "review". To be honest, once I find out there is a Horror flick that puts on some kind of southern act, I go in with almost a negative attitude right from the start. Well, I'm glad to be wrong! This flick has nothing but locals in it! So in that case, I can't argue about actors overplaying the redneck role. haha.

What does make this "true events" story different from the other flicks I've mentioned, is that there is some splatter involved, but nothing too over-the-top. If those of you can understand its campy approach and not look at it as just being silly, than you will enjoy it for what it's meant to be. The images captured in 'The Wild Man of the Navidad' are beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wild MAN of the navidad, August 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
I had been eagerly waiting to see this film ever since I learned of it. Paying a homage to one of my faves "The Legend of Boggy Creek", it plays as a vintage 70's low budget horror flick. The filmmakers even contacted the late Charles Pierce (who had done Boggy Creek) for his involvement...to which Chuck replied if he wasn't running the show, he wanted no part.

(Below riddled with spoilers)

Based on true events, this is the story of a man recently laid off from his job, and (in desperate need of money) decides to open up his land to the local hunters so they may hunt for game on his property, even though he knows his land is inhabited by a savage wild man. Though he has been trying to appease the wild man for some time with offerings, a hunter shoots and injures the wild man, and then all hell breaks loose.

I have read many reviews on this film, and have heard the good and bad things people have said. But I wanted to address the bad:
Yes I agree, I wanted a bigfoot movie out of this too. This is a little different creature feature. I was confused at first about the creature's appearance with it wearing animal skins. This was unlike any bigfoot story I had heard. But then I looked it up online. Some reports say that the original wild man of the navidad was indeed a man, an escaped slave in the 1800's who was a prince of his tribe back in Africa. After escaping, he donned animal pelts and lived off the land for 14 years. Farmers would find their tools missing one day, only to find them returned and sharpened the next day. And he never hurt anyone. He was eventually captured and re-enslaved. Then after the Civil War, he was released. So even though the creature seemed strange to me, to see him running around in animal pelts, I get that side of the story....maybe it was truly a real feral man living off the land and killing people. Look it up, there's scary stories like this everywhere. Once they remove the hood at the last where you can actually see his face, it's pretty scary though brief. There is a very scary picture of his face online, looking like a balding man with a shaggy mustache and beard, and a desperate need to see a dentist. And with all of the creature's growling, it just made it more eerie....for if it was just a man to begin with, and you heard the man say "Rowr!!!", the jig would be up. But still other reports say there have been bigfoot beasts in the navidad region for years, and this movie tells a story of factual events that took place in 1975.

So whichever of those two stories you choose to apply to this film's ending is your choice I suppose. Man or beast, it doesn't really matter, because the story is every bit worth the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, September 28, 2009
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
Made on no budget, this was a decent first feature. The genre gets a reboot; this is very grindhouse, go-go 70s-style, so you'd need to be a fan of those to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terror In Texas..., September 23, 2010
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
THE WILD MAN OF THE NAVIDAD cost nearly nothing to make, so how could it be so good? Because, it makes the best of its ultra-limited resources! Even though the creature is barely glimpsed, the local hicks are perverse drunks w/ guns, and the "hero" is a cowardly doofus; somehow, this combination works! I generally hate bigfoot, yeti, sasquatch films, so this one surprised me. Don't expect a zillion-dollar, hollywood spectacular, and you just might enjoy this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
This film is moody, atmospheric and very well-done. Acting isn't bad and the filmmakers rely on building suspense in lieu of effects they can't afford. This is one heck of an entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What you expect!, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
This is a b class movie that gives you what you expect! No surprises here! Don't spend too much for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Freddy Krueger on meds, August 16, 2013
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
I realize that this is supposed to be a deliberate turkey, but "The Wild Man of the Navidad" is actually worse than some of the Bigfoot-related low budget films from the 1970's it's supposedly inspired by. Any relation to "The Legend of Boggy Creek" is purely incidental.

The "hillbillies" are primitive, perverted and bizarre, rather than normal or quaintly charming. The monster is purely evil, rather than misunderstood. The first part of "The Wild Man" comes across as a David Lynch production, but unfortunately without David Lynch. The second part is a slasher movie. This might be fun to watch if you like really bad horror films (or slash) but they lost this reviewer when the "Bigfoot" creature turned out to be a turkey version of Freddy Krueger.

The end credits contain the following message: "This film contains graphic documentations of wild game hunting and evisceration. These scenes were shot with working, licensed trappers and were in no way staged or repeated specifically for this production". Sure hope you're right, buddy, because otherwise I'm afraid I have to call the proper authorities. Or slash you.

One star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WMofN, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
i love 1970s type of movies. this was a homage to that era, kinda like "boggy creek", one of my favorites. for the most part it was what you expect, small budget, no name no actors, etc. i thought is was a good low budget movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wildman of the Navidad - Pass!, September 8, 2009
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
I saw this film because it claims to hearken back to the early
Seventies cult gore fests. They accomplished that. The film looks
exactly like it was shot in 1973. They mainly accomplished this with
poor quality film, bad lighting, bad sound and poor scripting. But it
looks exactly like an early Seventies slasher film.

Bacically, there's this Sasquatch-type creature living in the river
bottom near this Texas town. The dumb Mexican loses his job and begins
opening the "bottoms" up to hunting. The creature gets shot by this
moonshine guzzling redneck. It survives and goes on a rampage.

First, the creature looks really bad. Basically, they hung this guy
with animal skins and gave him two deer antlers to use as weapons. He
guts people with them and heaves their victles out of their bodies
onto the dirt. But he looks like some guy hung with deer hides.

There's lots of unnecessary perversity. Like, there's this wheelchair
bound woman who cannot speak. The Mexican helper-person likes to
strangle her until she's unconscious and molest her. I can'gt see
where this savagery fits into the story. It sure is disturbing to
watch though.

I shut the film off about 2/3 of the way through. I shut it off right
when the townspeople were getting ready to "clean out" the bottoms.
They had all kinds of guns, dogs and moonshine. I couldn't watch any
more.

I LOVE Seventies cult horror films but avoid this piece of sheeeeeit.
It looks like they shot this film for about ten grand. Then it gets
released onto video? These guys are laughing all the way to the bank.
Don't get suckered in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arthouse/grindhouse, March 6, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Man of the Navidad (DVD)
Not bad for a micro-budget 1st feature...
I'll give it an "A" for ingenuity...
& it really is a nice-looking film...
I like the way they tweaked the digital imagery
to almost fool you into thinking you're looking
at 16mm reversal blown up to 35
to show on some drive-in circuit!

& the thoughtfully cheezy script is nicely whack...
Combine that with a brilliant supporting local cast
& you're in for almost 90 minutes of free wheelin' no budget fun!

the monster suit is pretty much film school surreal...
& I mean this mostly in a positive way...
You know the thing about how seeing the zipper in the monster suit
breaks the spell of our suspension of disbelief...
Well, this monster suit is made of nothing BUT zippers!
The result is a sort of dissociative archetypal thing that ends up
slamming you face first into a real arthouse/grindhouse boogeyman...

More fun than too scarey...which adds to the surreality...
especially considering all the pig guts strewn around!

Cool movie. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wild Man of the Navidad
The Wild Man of the Navidad by Ben Buchanan (DVD - 2009)
$24.98 $4.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.