Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF ROCKY'S BEST!!!
This has been a pretty good year for fans of the lovely AND talented Raquel Welch. First 20th Century Fox released "The Raquel Welch Collection" box set, then Warner Home Video gave us "The Last Of Sheila" and now "The Wild Party", probably one of Miss Welch's best films! And thanks to the fine folks at MGM we have the ORIGINAL, UN-CUT version not the version originally...
Published on July 12, 2004 by SwellBooks

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHEERS!
THIS is one of those delightful, guilty, and dismissed treasures [alongside Glenda Jackson's 'Negatives', and what WAS the title of that vaguely soft-core porno type movie Richard Dreyfuss made???? "INSERTS!" Same period ....] HOWEVER, this Party is somewhat inspired by the Fatty Arbuckle event of the Roaring 20ties and fortunately does not follow the same route, but it...
Published on June 10, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF ROCKY'S BEST!!!, July 12, 2004
By 
SwellBooks (Park Ridge, IL) - See all my reviews
This has been a pretty good year for fans of the lovely AND talented Raquel Welch. First 20th Century Fox released "The Raquel Welch Collection" box set, then Warner Home Video gave us "The Last Of Sheila" and now "The Wild Party", probably one of Miss Welch's best films! And thanks to the fine folks at MGM we have the ORIGINAL, UN-CUT version not the version originally released by AIP back in the 70s. And what a glorious film it is! Rocky is just great as Queenie, the mistress of Jolly Grimm (James Coco), a washed up silent movie comedian vainly attempting to make a comeback into pictures. She is endearing and sexy as his tender young lover, and the song she sings ("SINGAPORE SALLY") is a real treat!
Picture and sound are both quite good on this disc and the extra's include the original trailer and a short interview with the director, James Ivory.
So, if you like Miss Welch (and how can anyone not???), check this disc out. You'll love it! Now if only MGM will release "Kansas City Bomber" and Paramount put out "Hannie Caulder", I'd be a really happy camper! - George Bauch,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible restoration!, June 14, 2004
By 
M. Santoyo (riverside, ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am giving "Wild Party" 5 stars for a few reasons. Most significantly is that this is the version that James Ivory had submitted to the studio, which then recut it for distribution through American International.
I remember seeing WP when it was first released, and believe me that was an entirely different movie than is on this DVD. A.I. was known as the distributor that marketed exploitation flicks, so it purchased WP as it was cut to emphasize an orgy sequence.
Ivory is not a sensationalist, if anything his films incorporate sex to advance the story, here the wildness of the party is just a by product of a much richer story.
Raquel, Coco, Bolling and King are all terrific. The wonder of DVD is that this film makes sense, whereas the theatrical version and all the VHS versions do not. This is really an amazing movie that was never released as it was intended. Thumbs up to MGM for releasing this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little Known Merchant-Ivory Film Deserves To Be Seen., September 16, 2011
By 
Chip Kaufmann (Asheville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wild Party (1975) (DVD)
Raquel Welch in a Merchant-Ivory film? Are you kiddin'? No siree and to top it all off she's very good. So is everyone else in this fascinating low budget period piece which is taken from a narrative poem by Joseph Moncure March and very loosely based on the Fatty Arbuckle scandal of 1921. The setting is now 1929 as the not so subtly named silent comedian Jolly Grimm (James Coco) attempts to make a comeback but circumstances wind up working against him. Welch plays his showgirl lover Queenie who stands by him for as long as she can once everything begins to unravel. The film plays like an oddball combination of DAY OF THE LOCUST and THE GREAT GATSBY (the Robert Redford version) but thanks to several good performances, colorful set pieces, and some interesting photography, THE WILD PARTY manages to be funny, sad, satirical, and frequently engrossing.

In addition to Welch (who shines in her song and dance numbers) and Coco, there are fine performances from old pro Royal Dano (THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE), Tiffany Boling as goodtime girl Kate, and David Dukes as narrator James Morrison. The screenplay by Walter Marks cleverly expands the poem into a full blown movie while his faux 1920s song lyrics (the Herbert Hoover Drag) are a real highlight. When the film first appeared in 1975, American International Pictures cut and rearranged some of the material (a frequent trick of theirs in the 1970s) so that it was a different film from what James Ivory intended. Fortunately AIP kept all of their original cuts and it this original version that is on this DVD. Silent film enthusiasts will shake their heads at all the historical inaccuracies but if you enjoy the films of Merchant-Ivory and/or films set in the roaring 20s then THE WILD PARTY shouldn't be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked gem from Merchant Ivory, January 19, 2007
This is an early entry from the Merchant Ivory team, and one which was unjustifiably dismissed on its initial release.It's a creative, well filmed and acted period piece set in early Hollywood, loosley based on the Fatty Arbuckle scandal. All the angst, drama, insincerity, drugs and general debauchery is perfectly and vividly captured.The movie features great performances from the entire cast Raquel Welch is execellent, Perry King gorgeous and James Coco tragic.

This DVD restores some of the cut footage such as the infamous orgy scene.

Another plus is the excellent music score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHEERS!, June 10, 2004
By A Customer
THIS is one of those delightful, guilty, and dismissed treasures [alongside Glenda Jackson's 'Negatives', and what WAS the title of that vaguely soft-core porno type movie Richard Dreyfuss made???? "INSERTS!" Same period ....] HOWEVER, this Party is somewhat inspired by the Fatty Arbuckle event of the Roaring 20ties and fortunately does not follow the same route, but it is close, and naturally everyone associated or invited to the Party is affected by the outcome in one or another way .... you be the judge here.
Expertly directed - same goes for the Art and Costume design - makes a great companion piece to the rarely seen "SAVAGES" another Ivory gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was in this movie and it's not very good!, April 13, 2013
By 
Michael Donovan (Wilkesboro, NC. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Party (1975) (DVD)
I only ordered this because I'm in the movie. It's actually a pretty bad movie! If you like Raquel Welch or The Mission Inn in Riverside, CA, you might like it, but I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's not about the stars for this fiilm, May 2, 2014
Anyone who likes dumb cheesy old films will understand sometimes less is more when it comes to the star rating. I love these old dumb movies. Will others? Some will most wont but you have to understand the genre. Then you understand. I give it awesome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Drama Of 1920's Hollywood, March 24, 2014
This review is from: The Wild Party (1975) (DVD)
Raquel Welch does a fine job in this drama. The scenes of Hollywood in the 1920's seem deatiled and authentic. Fans of Raquel will probably enjoy this the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best !, January 30, 2014
Not the greatest, but Raquel gives an honest presentation. She's more than just a pretty face. I think this was a stretch for Coco, he's better as a comedian. All in all, worth watching for Raquel fans. Does drag a bit !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good cast, but kind of muddled, January 8, 2014
I saw this when it was first released; I remember being kind of disappointed, because I was really excited to see James Coco in a dramatic part. This character was supposed to be loosely based on Fatty Arbuckle. The actors are good, but the story itself is weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wild Party (1975)
The Wild Party (1975) by James Ivory (DVD)
$24.98 $13.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.