Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom Then
In a 1996 interview with David Gergen on NPR, one of this book's central characters makes a case for, what I will hazard to suggest, is one of the authors' central views;

DAVID GERGEN: Let me ask you this in terms of thinking back over then of that period of American foreign policy in the last forty or fifty years, one of the ironies here is that in an age of...
Published on January 16, 2007 by Mark S. Kucinic

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History from one view point
The book the wise men I recently completed about a month ago. It was an interesting history book of the lives of the six men who had the controlling diplomatic posts during World War II and through most of the Cold War. It starts out how each of these men was educated and how they were similar in many ways and it gave them similar ideas how to deal with situation. The...
Published 10 months ago by A. A Slezak


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom Then, January 16, 2007
In a 1996 interview with David Gergen on NPR, one of this book's central characters makes a case for, what I will hazard to suggest, is one of the authors' central views;

DAVID GERGEN: Let me ask you this in terms of thinking back over then of that period of American foreign policy in the last forty or fifty years, one of the ironies here is that in an age of information you suggest we have too little wisdom.
GEORGE KENNAN: Yes, I do, and one of the things that bothers me about the computer culture of the present age is that one of the things of which it seems to me we have the least need is further information. What we really need is intelligent guidance in what to do with the information we've got.

Thus The Wise Men becomes a paean to, as the authors' admit at the outset, "the twentieth-century tradition of an informal brain trust of internationalists who first served Woodrow Wilson at Versailles and returned home to found the Council on Foreign Relations, " establishing along the way, "a distinguished network connecting Wall Street, Washington, worthy foundations, and proper clubs." The polemics about where one finds wisdom aside, The Wise Men provides a fascinating and uncompromising study of the evolution of U.S. foreign policy vis-à-vis the Soviet Union from the establishment of formal relations during the Roosevelt administration to Vietnam from the perspective of six of it's most significant players; Dean Acheson, Charles "Chip" Bohlen, Averell Harriman, George Kennan, Robert Lovett and John McCloy with side trips into electoral politics and the Middle East. Although I found the authors' fascination with many of these individuals' membership in Harvard's elite Porcellian and Yale's Skull and Bones clubs a bit off-putting (to say nothing of the not-so-veiled apologia for a certain social elitism . . . call me a populist), it would be difficult to find six more pivotal characters. The arguably lesser stars make significant appearances, most notably the Alsop and Bundy brothers, Clark Clifford, James Forrestal and Paul Nitze. I will even forgive the authors' treatment of one of my heroes', George Kennan's, emotional shortcomings. For those of a certain ideological bent, John Foster Dulles and Dean Rusk are not treated sympathetically. It all rings true notwithstanding and The Wise Men makes an excellent post-war study of U.S. foreign policy particularly as a counterpoint to David Halberstam's "Best and the Brightest" for those too busy or cheap to subscribe to Foreign Affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reminder..., July 10, 2008
By 
Giordano Bruno (Here, There, and Everywhere) - See all my reviews
... of a ten-year-old book that shouldn't be forgotten, the "biography" of American foreign policy from the Truman years to the apotheosis of Reagan. Like most biographies, this one concentrates on the childhood of the Cold War containment/exhaustion strategy, the DNA so to speak of neo-conservatism, born of a Democratic mother and a Republican father. Any reader of my other reviews, who doubts my assertion that Ronald Reagan and George Herbert Bush were mere inheritors of a foreign policy as rigidly sustained as if by primogeniture, should take on this book as ferociously as you dare.

The six Wise Men -- McCloy, Bohlen, Acheson, Lovett, Harriman, and Kennan -- would be the last to blush at being identified as "The Greatest Generation" or "The Best and the Brightest." Their egos and their sense of elite entitlement to lead are central to their story. This is a deeper portrait of their intellectual mode than either of those two just-mentioned best-sellers. Authors Isaacson and Thomas are clearly of the same "old school" as their subjects. Their admiration is in a sense self-adulation; even when the Wise Men acknowledged errors, the very nature of their errors turned out to reflect wisdom. My own admiration for the six is considerably more limited, but it's hard to deny the authors' thesis that these Yale and Harvard whiz-kids and their colleagues were the movers-and-shakers of administration after administration. Even as some of them lost a portion of their self-assurance in light of the massive failure in Vietnam, they continued to limn the hegemonist, exceptionalist conception of America which has continued to fail up to the current massive failure in Iraq. Given that all six were perceived as "liberals" aligned with Democratic administrations, some partisans of the other party may come to this book with an established antipathy toward its subjects. All I can say to that is "read it and learn!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive (exhausting), and fascinating, July 30, 1999
By A Customer
This book is fantastically interesting. The detail and the descriptions of personalities involved make the subject matter more than palatable, even to the less scholarly among us. The book is, however, very, very long and would have perhaps been better broken up into several volumes. I would characterize it as very well written, exhaustively researched, slightly fawning and uncritical at times, and, in general, well worth lugging around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another reader, March 17, 2006
A very interesting book, but you have to be able to read between

the lines. Isaacson paints a picture of six powerful men who did

everything they could for US and mankind in general.

Another reviewer used the words fawning and uncritical to

describe the book. Well, there is a good reason for that.

Walter Isaacson, head of Aspen Institute, is himself a member

of the same "Insider Establishment" as the six men in

the book.

For kissing up, he has also been made a member of the

powerful Council on Foreign Relations.

This book should be combined with other more critical or

even negative writings on the subject to help build a more

realistic view.

For example I recommend books by the late Anthony Sutton.

Averell Harriman was a particularly unsavoury character, a

notorious Bilderberger, whose nefarious machinations are

becoming more and more known to the public, even

though still much is suppressed by the media.

Some people I have talked to think that the book should be called "the Wise Guys" instead of "the Wise Men" , but personally I wouldn't go that far.

The world isn't just black and white after all. These guys

looked after their own like everybody else on the planet and maybe, just maybe, in the meantime something good came out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine survey of American policy makers post WWII, February 12, 2010
By 
Digital Rights (Newtown/Fairfield CT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Wise Men by Walter Issacson and Evan Thomas is part homage to six men they see as the founders of "Pax Americana" the post WWII US Foreign Policy and part historical survey of the world through an American, and largely Democratic lens from 1940 to the early 1980's.

Acheson, McCloy, Lovett, Harriman, Kennan and Bohlen are Issacson and Thomas's type of guys. Like the writers they are all Harvard or Yale men who joined the right clubs, followed the right career paths to law, Wall Street and national government "service". The book is split into three sections; the early years of each of the men through to 1940, then through from WWII to the end of the Truman Administration and finally the years largely out of political office during the Eisenhower 1950's and back into the fold during the 1960's with Kennedy and Johnson dealing with the Vietnam War.

The Wise Men flows smoothly is straightforward in it's presentation of the main areas where these men were most active. Dean Acheson at the State Department, Bob Lovett at Defense, John McCloy at Defense and the World Bank, Averell Harriman as a Special Envoy, Roving Ambassador and Advisor to Truman, Kennedy and Johnson, Chip Bohlen and George Kennan as early Ambassadors to the Soviet Union and leading strategists on containment and response to communism. All were critical towards designing reconstruction loans for Europe and support and implementation of the Marshall Plan.

The book covers major events of the time; the Berlin airlift, the retrenchment of the British Empire, particularly in regards to the creation of Isreal, McCarthyism, the Korean War, Eisenhower's election, Kennedy's dealings with Kruschev and the final chapters deal with the Vietnam War. With so many events there is a need for a bit more depth and context for example the arguments for how the Soviet Union viewed Poland could have been better discussed. In each key event the book could have used a paragraph to a page more to better set events in perspective.

This is an entertaining and informative read. The first half is a bit over the top in it's "we're the elite but we're just like you" tone but as each man ages and the times change the book rewards by showing more of the ups and downs in their careers and in US policy. Written in 1986 with a brief 2012 intro the book exposes just how much we have learned since the fall of the Wall and the opening of Soviet Archives. This isn't a limitation in the book but a lesson that history's great stories need regular reinterpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Best and Brightest, January 1, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a fascinating and well-written book about six men that are probably unknown to today's general public but shaped US Foreign Policy from post WWI through Vietnam. Their lives moved through the 20th century intertwined via elite prep schools, Yale/Harvard, investment banking firms, law firms, high level cabinet roles and foreign policy posts. Their advice to the Presidents resulted in tragic wars - some right and some wrong, the strategies that prevented nuclear annihilation but also may have resulted in elongating the Cold War.

Isaacson and Thomas also provide a multi-sided view into each one's personality but especially Dean Acheson, George Kennan and Averill Harriman. We see their strengths of brilliance, integrity and deep patriotism but also their weaknesses. Kennan was overly sensitive, conducive to self-pity and had a tendency for literary flair and verbosity. Harriman became more self interested after WWII and sometimes placed politics over diplomacy. Acheson's persona came across as elitist, condescending and pompous which turned away many liberals, moderates and conservatives even when they agreed with his views.

The right schools, the right families and the right wealth played a large role in giving these six men the opportunity to shape the century. One can argue if that tradition has continued today or not. What may be different is that their vision and actions seemed to be more defined by pragmatism rather than ideology. The results are not always what we wanted but far better than the foes they battled that placed ideology over pragmatism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Anti "Best and Brightest", January 28, 2009
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fascinating "collective biography" of six major, interrelated figures in the American establishment from the 1930s into the 1960s. Some might think of this as another "Best and Brightest," set earlier in time. But Halberstam's use of that term was ironic; here, the authors are not speaking ironically when they refer to the six as "the original brightest and best" (Page 19).

The beginning lays out what follows. Isaacson and Thomas observe that (Page 19): "Six friends. Their lives intertwined from childhood and schooldays, from their early days on Wall Street and in government. Now they were to be destined to be at the forefront of a remarkable transformation of American policy." They (Page 19) ". . .knew that America would have to assume the burden of a global role." And, say the authors, their (Page 19) ". . .outsized personalities and forceful actions brought order to the postwar chaos and left a legacy that dominates American policy to this day."

Those are some powerful statements. Does the book back these up? To a considerable extent, yes. But these six can hardly be said to have been the orchestrators. They were surely players, but to say that they were the architects of the American century (the title of the chapter in which these quotations are embedded) is too strong a statement.

Who were those among this sextet? George Kennan, Dean Acheson, Charles ("Chip") Bohlen, Robert Lovett, Averell Harriman, and John McCloy. From their youth, they were trained to expect doing large things. For instance, Harriman took over his father's economic empire and grew it. Later in his life, he was elected as governor of New York (only to be defeated by Nelson Rockefeller after serving one term).

The story shows the interconnections among them. Harriman coached Acheson in rowing at Yale, for instance. As they matured, they sought careers in business. Later, all became interested in public service under the FDR Administration. The book chronicles their achievements (and some failures) in considerable detail from FDR's term on. The friction that flared among some from time to time is also discussed. They played major roles in the Truman Administration.

Later, when Lyndon Johnson tried to dissect what to do in Vietnam, he held a number of meetings, in which many of the "wise men" participated. Given Halberstam's discussion of the "best and brightest" who got the country into Vietnam and couldn't figure out how to succeed there, the "wise men" were opposed and raised their questions with Johnson.

Then, their final years and their fates. . . .

I think that there could be a somewhat more critical cast to the work, but it does a great job of portraying these eminent players in American politics. If there has been an "establishment," they were surely part of that in their time. I think that the authors may overestimate their impact, but they surely made a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History from one view point, August 27, 2013
This review is from: The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made with a new introduction by the authors (Hardcover)
The book the wise men I recently completed about a month ago. It was an interesting history book of the lives of the six men who had the controlling diplomatic posts during World War II and through most of the Cold War. It starts out how each of these men was educated and how they were similar in many ways and it gave them similar ideas how to deal with situation. The example that of A. Harriman where he always thought that he was superior to other people and could outlast them because he had had superior breeding. He always thought that he could convince people in the end. It is a pretty good review of history from a Democratic view. When the democrats are not in power in this book that entire era is skipped over like the time with IKE because it really doesn't say much between Truman and Kennedy it was like that piece of history did not happen. I guess I would like to see how they dealt with these presidents.

Throughout the book it is emphasized the Soviets could not be trust and all the things that they said were lies. That is why they had such a difficult time in the Soviet Union when we were their allies during the war. I think that being the Russian diplomat had to be the worst job in the world. The other part that kind of bent me out of shape was when they talked about Richard Nixon because all the wise men seemed to hate him even before there was any controversy about him. That just meant they were all such wise men. I did enjoy the book although it was leaning left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How The World Was Designed After World War II, January 30, 2009
By 
Daniel J. McGarigle (EL SEGUNDO, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made with a new introduction by the authors Six American boys who were childhood friends, and who held few public offices, came, through their individual and collective efforts, to simply design, during and just after World Ware II, the whole world as we know it today. Yes, these six men really did design the whole world, the whole world that we know, the whole world.
The six men, Dean Acheson, Charles Bohlen, Averell Harriman, George Kennan, Robert Lovett and John McCloy really did design the whole world. Their personal lives were intertwined from their childhoods and schooldays, and from their early careers on Wall Street and in government jobs.
By breeding and training these six men, and a few of their close colleagues, knew that America would have to assume the burden of a global role. Out of duty and out of desire, and probably out of divine inspiration, they heeded their own individual calls to public service.
These six were the original "best and brightest" of twentieth-century men. Their outsized personalities, and forceful actions, brought order to the post-war chaos and left a legacy that dominates the way the world works to this very day.
The book is masterfully written by Walter Isaacson, now of Time magazine, and Evan Thomas, currently Assistant Managing Editor at Newsweek.
The authors bring the hundreds of world defining moments into clear focus and illustrate how effective six citizens can be. We can all follow their examples of how to lead, in the most personal way, our own lives
The book very easily readable and I just could not put it down until I had finished it. The book can take you on an exciting ride through the myriad events that created the world we live in today.
The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made with a new introduction by the authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made with a new introduction by the authors (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book by Walter Isaacson and Evan Thomas, two very good authors. The United States was very fortunate for the intelligence, creativity, patriotism, determination, ethics, and efforts of the six men who are the book's subjects. We Americans benefited from having them doing their best in a wide variety of critically important international affairs. Born at the outbreak of World War II, I remember their names in the news from about 1949 onward. When the U.S. was in a tight spot one or more of these men were called to counsel the President, Secretaries of State or Defense and others in the government hierarchy or to act on their behalf with other Heads of State such as Stalin or Churchill.

The book is both a history and a biography. The reader learns about the lives of each of the six from their prep school days on so we get an inkling of what basic values were inculcated into them and we see that these values molded their character and their lives.

In the course of things we also get a unique view of every President from Roosevelt to Johnson, and several others such as Secretary of State John Foster Dulles. This book has a cast of scores of fascinating people involved in scores of events over scores of years! A great book! Originally published in 1986, it was re-issued in 2012 with an new preface by the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made with a new introduction by the authors
Used & New from: $5.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.