Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish
I came to reading the Wives of Bath having seen and rather enjoyed the Leah Pool film based on it, Lost & Delirious. The two are very different incidentally. This book is about gender, more than anything else in my opinion. Paulie has some sort of objection to, not so much her place in society as a woman, but to what can be simply described as 'girlieness'. Her bizarre...
Published on November 14, 2004 by Tzvika Barenholz

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uh...
I really don't know what to make of this book. You can interpret the gender-bending as a feminist critique of society, but given the way in which it happens and the frequent anti-women comments of Mouse, it can also be taken as highly insulting to women. There are wonderful moments in the novel, but the way in which the story unfolds is so bizarre that I'm not sure that...
Published on July 1, 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, November 14, 2004
This review is from: The Wives of Bath (Hardcover)
I came to reading the Wives of Bath having seen and rather enjoyed the Leah Pool film based on it, Lost & Delirious. The two are very different incidentally. This book is about gender, more than anything else in my opinion. Paulie has some sort of objection to, not so much her place in society as a woman, but to what can be simply described as 'girlieness'. Her bizarre obsession with King Kong is contrasted with Mouse's more common infatuation with President Kennedy.

All in all, I'd say this novel is surreal, well written and stylish. It reminded me somewhat of the writings of Jeanette Winterson or possibly even the late great Doug Adams - not so much in humor, but in the absent-minded and beautifully composed suspension of reality for the sake of the story. It did resonate with me for a while when i finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but very different from movie, April 21, 2011
This review is from: The Wives of Bath (Paperback)
Ok so if you have never seen the movie, or read the book then read at your own discretion because i may put details in here that may giver things away,

So i watched lost and delirious and loved it and i heard about the book and jumped at the chance to buy it. The book is completely and utterly different, the only things that are the same are the characters names and certain traits they possess. Tory is in the book about 25% of the time, even though she is mentioned more often. Now from the perspective of seeing the movie first, i was expecting Paulie and Tory to have a relationship throughout the book, and they did, but it was not really shown in the book, more implied, and it made me want as much as the movie showed. It was slightly disappointing because i really loved the movie and i wanted to book to portray similar ideals, or maybe if i had read the book first, i would be mad at the movie for changing it so much. I loved the book and suggest it to others, but i am sad that Tory does not have a larger role in the book. Where is Tory in all of this!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Read, December 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wives of Bath (Paperback)
Exploring the world of a teenage girl in rural Toronto during the early 1960's, was an interesting undertaking by the author, Susan Swan. I first looked this novel up when I saw the 1999 movie, Lost & Delirious, based on her story. Comparing the two, the movie does this book no justice and does not truly explore all the issues discussed in the book. Concerning the book "Wives of Bath" it does little justice toward or for the issues it discusses. In reality, it starts off strong with its characters playing off what society truly believes in regard to the LGBT community during the age of JFK's early presidency, up through the 1966. However, so much is left or unexplained and what is explained or discussed makes it sound like much of the LGBT community are entirely cracked mentally, when we are not. Although, for a quick read, this book was entertaining; despite lack of true information and compation toward those who live within the community today. Thus the reason for only 4 stars, however I truly believe it only deserves 3.5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!, August 14, 2003
This review is from: The Wives of Bath (Hardcover)
"The Wives of Bath" is one of the best books I have read in recent years. The story of is rge type that you can get caught up in and not put the book down. I read this book in one night and thought that it was absoltely amazing!I really liked how, with Polly, you were never really sure about her gender and how the story was seen through Mouse's eyes. All in all i feel that this book is one of the best written pieces of literature with a gay theme ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uh..., July 1, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wives of Bath (Hardcover)
I really don't know what to make of this book. You can interpret the gender-bending as a feminist critique of society, but given the way in which it happens and the frequent anti-women comments of Mouse, it can also be taken as highly insulting to women. There are wonderful moments in the novel, but the way in which the story unfolds is so bizarre that I'm not sure that it's believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny, December 10, 2012
By 
Elyshia (Calgary Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wives of Bath (Kindle Edition)
I read a review that this book was funny. I laughed only once. I read in on vacation in the Bahamas. Not the best idea, a real downer. Too bad she's Canadian, I had high hopes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0cc272c)

This product

The Wives of Bath
The Wives of Bath by Susan Swan (Paperback - November 21, 1998)
Used & New from: $7.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.