Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you certain you know what reality is??
I have been providing my own horror reviews for many months now, and I feel that the best way to end 2003 is to critique a movie by the Godfather of Gore himself, H.G. Lewis. His greatest project is none other than "The Wizard of Gore," an outrageous cult masterpiece of murderous, magical mayhem! Filmed in 1970, it's one of the first fright films to present...
Published on December 31, 2003 by Pamela Scarangello

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the better HG Lewis Flicks
Another offering from the creator of Blood Feast and Two Thousand Maniacs that is also characterized by a rock bottom budget and unconvincing gory effects.
The story concerns a weird magician who kills people as part of his performance, but hypnotizes the audience into thinking that the people haven't actually died.
I have hard time giving useful advice on this...
Published on June 13, 2002 by Stephen Cannon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you certain you know what reality is??, December 31, 2003
By 
Pamela Scarangello (Middletown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
I have been providing my own horror reviews for many months now, and I feel that the best way to end 2003 is to critique a movie by the Godfather of Gore himself, H.G. Lewis. His greatest project is none other than "The Wizard of Gore," an outrageous cult masterpiece of murderous, magical mayhem! Filmed in 1970, it's one of the first fright films to present sickening onscreen violence as its main attraction. At the same time, the acting is unbelievably campy. Star Ray Sager brings forth a zany zest to his sly alter ego, Montag the Magnificent; I can best describe his acting as that of a horribly hilarious ham!
The basic synopsis is this: Montag earns his reputation as a cutting-edge illusionist (in more ways than one!). During each performance, he picks a young woman from the audience, bewitching her with hypnotic powers. Then, he butchers his pretty assistant right before the crowd's eyes. By the time he takes a bow, the victimized volunteer is magically restored and walks away unharmed. However, no one realizes that Montag's sadistic lust for blood is real, and that on the same night, every victim comes apart at the seams...literally!
Throughout the film, each trick becomes more gruesome than the last. In the first act of extreme gore, the mad magician cuts a redhead in half with a chainsaw (and this is before Leatherface came along!) Next, Montag hammers a metal spike through a lovely blonde's skull, scooping bleeding brains out of her hair! Later on, he has another female volunteer disembowled on a punch press! Last but not least, Montag forces sharp swords down two women's throats; each screaming victim has her tongue and esophagus savagely sliced open! Meanwhile, a gorgeous and outspoken talk show host named Sherry Carson (Judy Cler) is anxious to have Montag appear on her television program, "Housewives Coffee Break." At first, Montag is testy and refuses her offer, protesting like a Shakespearean diva. But he soon changes his mind as he aims to make Sherry his next victim (this is indicated by the numerous mirages of her bleeding right hand). Seizing her opportunity, Sherry regularly attends the theater to experience brand new illusions, dragging her skeptical fiancee Jack (Wayne Ratay) with her. At first, he's not at all enthused at having to sit and watch Montag over and over again. However, is interest in the weird wizard's work increases as he tries to rationally figure out how the tricks were done. When Jack discovers in the newspaper that each of Montag's volunteers are murdered, and that their deaths are eerily similar to how they were killed onstage, he believes that a psychotic serial killer is copying Montag's magic. Eventually, Jack joins the police department to investigate the baffling murders. I will not bore you with any more details. Let's just say that the film's conclusion will emit plenty of smoke and no mirrors!
To truly disgust and flabbergast the viewer, Lewis required the film to feature extreme close-up shots of mutilated organs and pumping arteries. He made sure that when it came to cinematic shock and sadism, "The Wizard of Gore" had nothing to hide. In the opening credits alone, Montag beheads himself on the guillotine, leaving moviegoers gasping for more. What makes Lewis's direction quite interesting, however, is how he carefully splices together TWO versions of Montag's tricks. On the one hand, the film's audience views his act as nothing more than an innocuous illusion. But on the other hand, WE as outside viewers witness the grisly reality behind the red curtain; we are the ones who truly see the blood puddles and hear the shrieks of terror! That concept makes "The Wizard of Gore" work. Buy the DVD while you can. You won't want to miss this humorous slice of hocus-pocus homicide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite H.G. Lewis film, December 24, 2003
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
In 1963 Herschell Gordon Lewis, an independent filmmaker best known for making limited release cutie pictures, changed forever the face of American cinema when he released "Blood Feast." This film, about as low budget as you could possibly get even in the 1960s, began the era of the gore film. While it would be quite some time before Hollywood caught on to the fact that certain segments of movie audiences hungered for films containing nauseating scenes of explicit violence, H.G. Lewis took one look at the receipts for "Blood Feast" and decided he better quickly make another movie similar to this one. What followed was a series of gruesome zero budget shockers, films like "The Gruesome Twosome," "A Taste of Blood," "2000 Maniacs," and this exercise in extreme bloodletting, "The Wizard of Gore." Lewis went on to make one more gore film, the downright offensive "The Gore-Gore Girls," before retiring from the film business in order to launch an advertising career. It wasn't until 2002 that the director returned to form with "Blood Feast 2: All U Can Eat," a movie which proved beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Godfather of Gore still has what it takes to gross out an audience.
"The Wizard of Gore" introduces us to Montag the Magician, played with wooden effect by Lewis crew regular and sometime actor Ray Sager, a guy clothed in a cape and top hat who likes to thrill his audiences with bizarre magic tricks. The shows take place in what looks like a school auditorium, with Montag spouting philosophical musings about the nature of reality before beginning his gruesome act. These performances, which always involve young female "volunteers" pulled from the audience by Montag's hypnotic powers (!), seem to thrill the audience. By turns Montag saws a woman in half with a chainsaw, pounds a stake through a head, performs a sword swallowing trick, and perforates a torso with a punch press. This guy really packs 'em in, although what the audience sees isn't necessarily what is really going on. Montag's powers of hypnosis allow him to "trick" the audience into seeing a simple, bloodless act. In reality, the magician's antics result in lengthy scenes of gory violence best left unelaborated on here. Again, the audience in attendance sees none of these stomach churning activities. Not until his volunteers leave the show and the hypnosis wears off does the magician's sinister work become all too apparent.
Wouldn't you know it? Women who take part in Montag's show later turn up dead bearing wounds remarkably similar to what would have happened if they had been cut in half with a chainsaw, had a stake pounded through their head, swallowed a sword, or been punch pressed. A feminist reporter who has a local television program happens to see Montag's first show, learns about the mysterious deaths of the volunteers, and wants to know more about this somber figure. She visits the magician back stage but finds the man dismissive until he notices she wears the "bloodmark" (sure, this doesn't make sense but it never makes sense in the movie either) and offers her free tickets to the next show. The reporter makes sure to bring her obnoxious boyfriend to all of the performances, a man who quickly becomes suspicious of Montag's cold manner and the mounting death toll of women associated with the magician's magic act. Intermittently, we see Montag stealing the corpses of his victims in order to place them in some mausoleum (?). The conclusion to the film finds the icky illusionist attempting to take his show national, so to speak, before coming face to face with somebody who challenges him on his own terms.
"The Wizard of Gore" contains all of the hallmarks fans of the master have come to know and love: bottom of the barrel acting, glacial pacing, cheesy yet oh so effective special effects, and head scratching plot elements. What, exactly, is the meaning of the red tinted scenes showing Montag strolling through a cemetery with a corpse thrown over his shoulder? Who knows? Lewis never explains why this activity takes place so I guess we shouldn't ponder its implications too much. The acting is painful to watch, especially Sager's turn as the master illusionist with a taste for blood. This guy is so wooden, the pancake makeup on his face so heavy, that you will laugh at his histrionic delivery more often than not. Less amusing are the sadistic gore effects. Although many of the props used for the film are obviously fake--note the mannequin head used in the spike scene and the guillotine sequence in the beginning--it is the way Lewis allows the camera to linger on the unfolding violence that makes you cringe as you watch this movie. Only the director's final film exceeds the general nastiness seen in "The Wizard of Gore."
The Something Weird DVD release is a great catch for Lewis fans. While not as extensive as the extras included on the "2000 Maniacs" disc, this movie still sports an in depth commentary where we learn a lot about the production of "The Wizard of Gore" from H.G. Lewis himself. The director tells us how Ray Sager ended up with the part of Montag, warns viewers not to read meaning into any of his films, and explains how he wanted to really up the gore quotient in the final scenes of the film. Unfortunately, the print used for the DVD looks like the same scratched, grainy, torn version I own on videotape. "The Wizard of Gore" is a must have for H.G. Lewis fans and we can only pray that a remake/sequel will be forthcoming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Lewis' darker efforts not even counting the gore, April 25, 2003
By 
Scott Jeune (kerhonkson, ny) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
In "Wizard of Gore" Montag the Magnificent dispatches hypnotized women with slop happy glee while the audience is hypnotized into thinking they are watching a standard issue hypnosis and magic act. Other people have talked about the acting, the really bad pancake makeup on Montag, and the ending which basically makes this film the Florida drive-in circuit version of "The Matrix" (I was waiting for Montag to ask the heroine of the film which pill she'd take- red or green?). But aside from that, the most pervasive element of this film to me is the bleak nihilism within it. There is only one emotion in the film- Montag's, when he is tiptoeing through the organs. Otherwise he acts as somnabulistic as the women he dispatches. The boyfriend in the film spends most of his time yelling things into the phone while he tries to stop his girlfriend from just about EVERYTHING!! By the way, has anyone noticed that halfway through the film He turns into the panicked girlfriend while She turns into the main catalyst for the plot. At the same time she is an accomplished television host with a dollop of women's liberation to boot. Was this Lewis' appeasement to the viewing public (and more often than not, the not viewing public... if you've ever run into them outside a theatre,you know what I mean)? If so, I'd have to say that with me it works, and it was something I hadn't noticed when I'd seen the film many years earlier as a teen... it makes an interesting bridge piece between the wigged collegiates of "The Gruesome Twosome" and the 'women's liberation' scene from "The Gore-Gore Girls". But I'd really have to say that this is Lewis' most humorless and darkest film; most of them have the sickening violence in the same way that the Three Stooges would build up to a pie fight. By the way, I haven't gotten around to the commentary (but intend to), and about that, remember: ALWAYS BUY LEWIS FILMS WITH THE COMMENTARY. Rumor around is that he doesn't have the rights to the films anymore but he does to the newly recorded commentaries- so, basically, if you are buying a Lewis film with no commentary, the man sees none of your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPLATTER comes to DVD, April 30, 2000
By 
frankenberry (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
Herschhell's ultra-bad, but very gory and entertaining "The Wizard of Gore" has been given a good DVD release through Something Weird - IMAGE ENTERTAINMENT. The transfer is quite sharp (no compression artifacts like on the "2000 Maniacs" DVD) and the print used is pretty clean (a few scratches and some slight wear around reel changes)...overall looks really nice for such an old low-budget film. There's lots of gore in this one too...much more than in his other gore movies (except for "Gore Gore Girls" which is ultra-sick...can't wait for that one!). The "Wizard" is Montag the Magnificent and he's a maniacal magician who likes to mutilate young lovelies during his stage act. You'll see a woman's brain get spiked out of her head, a pipe machine drill through a woman's intestines, women's tongues and throats mangled by swords, and eyes poked out of their heads! Ya, it's all pretty fake, but it's still pretty incredible to watch. The DVD features another interesting commentary track with H.G.L. and Mike Vraney (Herschell keeps referring to "Montag the Magician" instead of "Montag the Magnificent"!), the original theatrical trailer (not in the best of shape), and another gallery of HGL exploitation art (different from the first 3 DVD's which all had the same stuff). Overall a very good purchase for HGL fans and fans of early gore movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespearean gore, November 11, 2002
By 
ADK (Royal Oak, Mi. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
I love when an actor (?) brings such dedication to a role and Ray Sager approaches his Montag role as though his life depended on it (he was hired for the lead day before shooting began).
The Wizard is not filled with highspeed, action hero, death defying stunts or rapid paced scenes. Instead we get Montag giving a Shakespearean worthy monologue to you, yes you!
First time I played this disc my sides were hurting from laughter.
Cute females, grinding gore, twisted ending and bottom of the barrel budgeting make this a new favorite for me.
Watching it again, this time with the H.G. Lewis commentary makes it even more entertaining.
Oh, the glorious days of real time special effects and two-bit acting.
Forget about the outlandishly budgeted hollywood gloss junk made for the masses. This is a prime example of creative, esoteric, humerous, low budget filmaking.
Shakespearean gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best H.G. Lewis Film!!!, November 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
This superficially surreal tale concerning a demented magician (Montag the Magnificent) and a string of bloody "illusions" is by far some of Lewis' best work. That is not to say you won't hear the echoed voices of less than average actors unraveling a pitiful script on a noticeably low budget. Oh, and of course plenty of squishy guts. All of those delicious elements remain true. But this film also offers a few mind-bending scenes where you find yourself saying "whoa" before bursting into laughter.
The cast's collective melodramatic ability is shadowed by Ray Sager's portrayal of Montag (AKA the Wizard of Gore). Notwithstanding, he manages to be eerily effective at points, most notably with a somniferous spell aimed toward the "viewing" audience. This act also ushers in the most "surrealistic" angle in the film and its amusing "final illusion".
Combined with some some cliched psychedelic camera effects and a groovy score you have one of the best B-Grades ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic shows can be shocking!, December 21, 2012
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
The Wizard of Gore is an outrageous cult masterpiece and is one of a few films that actually still shocks audiences today. Filmed in 1970, I am only able to imagine how shocking it was upon its release, but the magic show scenes even give today's splatter films a run for their money as far as shock value. Swords down throats and needles into eyeballs are just a few of the surprises that this film holds. Like BLOOD FEAST before it, The Wizard Of Gore is one bloody film. It introduces us to Montag the Magician, played with wooden effect by Lewis crew regular and sometime actor Ray Sager, a guy clothed in a cape and top hat who likes to thrill his audiences with bizarre magic tricks. The shows take place in what looks like a school auditorium, with Montag spouting philosophical musings about the nature of reality before beginning his gruesome act. These performances, which always involve young female "volunteers" pulled from the audience by Montag's hypnotic powers, seem to thrill the audience. It isn't until its too late that anyone figures out that Montag is a psychotic murderer. A very interesting movie but it should really be watched only by film students or gore hounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're off to see the wizard the wondeful wizard of GORE, November 22, 2009
By 
Dave. K (Staten Island, NY,) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
THE WIZARD OF GORE

**** Out of 5

Release Date- October 23rd, 1970

Running Time- 95-Minutes

Rating- NR

Screenplay- Allen Khan

Director- Herschell Gordon Lewis

Starring- Ray Sager, Judy Cler, Wayne Ratay, Phil Laurenson

Released in 1970 The Wizard of Gore was yet another blood soaked horror flick by exploitation filmmaker Herschell Gordon Lewis; The Wizard of Gore is the 3rd movie I've seen by Lewis with the first two being The Gore-Gore Girls and Color Me Blood Red. I highly enjoyed Gore-Gore, but I thought Color Me Blood Red was lousy, but Wizard of Gore gets things back on track and is as of right now my favorite HG Lewis movie.

Some have accused the movie of being boring with such witty comments about the movie calling it The Wizard of Bore and I suppose I can see why some might find it boring, but I can honestly say I was never once bored. As much as I liked The Gore-Gore Girls when there were lulls in the action I did every so often lose a little bit of interest, but Wizard of Gore I can say I was never once bored at all. The Wizard of Gore lives up to its name; if you want gore you got in buckets! Some of the gore F/X don't look great anymore, but for the most part they still pack a punch and can be rather gruesome and I loved every second of it.

The screenplay by Allen Khan is pretty much what one can expect from a low budget gore flick, but there were some decent ideas presented even if they never really go anywhere or make much sense. The screenplay is pretty much the same scenes over and over again just worded differently, but overall while the script may not be great it was actually better than I expected it to be; but I doubt anyone will really care about the script since it's just merely there to well kill time before the gore.

Director Herschell Gordon Lewis delivers a gore drenched cult classic; the pacing is fairly well done and like I said I was never bored during the movie even when there were lulls in the action. The Wizard of Gore is a bit sloppy and rough around the edges, but this is what makes the movie so entertaining. HG Lewis is very much a schlock director The Wizard of Gore delivers on that. The biggest selling point is the gore and Lewis never holds back and showing us the gore; from insides being ripped out and all being shown close up, HG Lewis delivers on what the fans want.

The acting is obviously wooden and that does make the movie all the more enjoyable, but the characters though were fairly interesting and likeable. Montag the Magnificent played by Ray Sager was just awesome. Sager's performance is over the top and silly, but that is exactly how the character was meant to be played. Ray Sager actually went onto have a fairly successful career as a producer with the Prom Night sequels as well as the TV series the Eleventh Hour and was an assistant director on such films as My Bloody Valentine (original) and Terror Train.

The Wizard of Gore was a highly enjoyable splatter flick and we just don't see movies like this anymore. It seemed once the 80s ended a lot of low budget horror flicks got terrible and not in a good way. Many try to make a cult flick, but I think it something that just happens. The Wizard of Gore has found a new lease on life with the remake with Crispin Glover and being mentioned in the surprise blockbuster Juno. If you are a fan of HG Lewis or schlock cinema this comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wizard Of Gore is Great!, April 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
This movie is great - Many people may not like it only because it is made as "background" movie. The look and feel of the movie is genuine. When watching the movie I sometimes feel like I am in a Drive-in movie theater somewhere in Florida in the early 60's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best H.G. Lewis Film!!!, November 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) (DVD)
This superficially surreal tale concerning a demented magician (Montag the Magnificent) and a string of bloody "illusions" is by far some of Lewis' best work. That is not to say you won't hear the echoed voices of less than average actors unraveling a pitiful script on a noticeably low budget. Oh, and of course plenty of squishy guts. All of those delicious elements remain true. But this film also offers a few mind-bending scenes where you find yourself saying "whoa" before bursting into laughter.
The cast's collective melodramatic ability is shadowed by Ray Sager's portrayal of Montag (AKA the Wizard of Gore). Notwithstanding, he manages to be eerily effective at points, most notably with a somniferous spell aimed toward the "viewing" audience. This act also ushers in the most "surrealistic" angle in the film and its amusing "final illusion".
Combined with some some cliched psychedelic camera effects and a groovy score you have one of the best B-Grades ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition)
The Wizard of Gore (Special Edition) by Herschell Gordon Lewis (DVD - 2000)
$9.99 $9.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.