Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Woman in Red
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 29, 2001
LeBrock & Wilder, the most unlikely of couples are thrown together through a tram-re-launch advertising campaign, run by Wilder. Wilder with his spark of romance long extinguished through his 'very ordinary' marriage to Judith Ivey and his fashion sense lodged 10 years in the past embarks on a comedy of errors as he attempts to woo the sparkling LeBrock. The supporting cast are superb as a constant supply of fuel for Wilders amazing comedic skills. His observation of the male ego when it comes into contact with a beautiful woman is incisive and uncomfortably familiar. With an accompanying soundtrack by the legendary Stevie Wonder, this movie stands out as one of the unsung heroes of the eighties, the irony being that 'I just called to say I love you' was one of the most sung hits of the decade. A valued addition to any Video collection, which should be visited on regular basis.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2005
There's something appealing about Gene Wilder, a certain je ne sais quoi. He's not sexy, that's for sure, but his sense of humor shines through even if he's silent. Something about him makes you smile with just the thought of him. This was the movie I always think of when someone says his name, even if it wasn't the all time greatest.

Gene Wilder falls for some mysterious stranger (a.k.a. The Woman In Red - hence the title) that sets him off on a tangent. Some would call it a midlife crisis. Infidelity is an ugly thing, but he makes it funny. He and his friends - especially Charles Groden - are a bunch of cutups and their antics are hilarious (that blind man routine!). His real life wife, Gilda Radner, made an appearance as the woman scorned while his wife is blissfully unaware of his wants. An often glossed over character is Shelly, the nice Jewish boy punk rocker who for some reason is hanging around their house a lot with his kids. He's creepy and weird, but harmless. In the end, he faces a big question that a lot of us face when it comes to fidelity vs. infidelity. I've had many conversations that mirror this exactly - "What the hell am I doing? I have a wonderful [fill in the blank] and I'm going to throw it away over a piece of ass?" And a lot of people do. But he wises up before it's too late. It'a lite hearted trip.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
I've absolutely loved this movie ever since I was a kid. It's edgy for its time, brilliant, funny as all get out, and has a great soundtrack. I really like how the guys are always pulling ridiculous pranks and how accepting they are when they discover something interesting about one of their friends. Gene Wilder is one of my favorites and I can't recommend this movie more. It's San Francisco in the mid 80's and good fun with a good lesson. It's a hidden gem, even though it has a 5.8 on IMDB.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2010
This is a very funny movie. Not only did Gene Wilder act in it, he directed it as well. I would say this has to be one of his best acting efforts. His own brand of comedy shines brightly in this movie. Kelly LeBrock is at her sexiest as well. All around a good time!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
ok 5 stars for gene wilder and gilda radner...freakin hillarious if you love obvious comedy...the 80s music adds to the hilarity of all these great 80s films in my opinion...and yes wierd science's girl looks gorgeous as usual
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2016
Another '80s comedy of one man's obsession of another woman, that just so happens to be actress Kelly LeBrock (prior to "Weird Science" '85). Gene and Gilda are great to see together here. The movie basically centers around "Gene's" character having a "rough" spot in his marriage and wonders what it would be like to see this beautiful woman that just came into his office. Kelly plays the woman in question.
The movie has some great laughs in it and funny scenes, but by the "end" of the movie, Teddy tells himself it is NOT worth it to throw everything away just for a piece of you know what.
What is memorable for me is the fact that in one scene Kelly gets out of bed nude, FULL FRONTAL. It is very quick, but DVD can be paused and slow motion in play. I have always liked Kelly. She would later star in "HARD TO KILL" with Steven Seagal in around 1990.

Special Features are Widescreen/Full Screen (It's a "Flipper Disc") /Theatrical Trailer. Sound is good with some Subtitles also.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
To the party that mailed me this movie, extremely quick in sending it to me and as to the movie, I loved this movie a lot and I also
shared it with my wife so that we both had a great time laughing at Gene Wilder in the 2 or 3 times of his sending the wrong
signal to Gilda the very talented and funny lady that he works with instead of Kelly Le Brock, where in the end when she almost destroyed his car. Sincerely, Fred Chaldy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
Married man Teddy Pierce (Gene Wilder) finds out too late that sometimes the grass that is greener on the other side turns out to be astro turf. Some fine comedy moments from the supporting cast. And Charles Grodin always raises the quality of a movie a notch just by himself.
Make the Blake Edwards film '10' (1979) with Dudley Moore, Julie Andrews, Bo Derek the follow-up to see similar themes done masterfully.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
There are other movies than this with Gene Wilder as the star that I enjoyed more, It was nice seeing Gilda Radner in the movie and she did some pretty funny things. The movie wasn't bad, but there are others I 've enjoyed more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
A good movie. Light hearted comedy (if infidelity can be considered funny). Had the same feeling that many movies in the 1980s had so it is also brings up a more innocent time for many of us. Consider renting at least once.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.