Customer Reviews


381 Reviews
5 star:
 (348)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


367 of 383 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have been waiting for YEARS for the DVDs to come out
While the complete version of a lot of TV series have been available in DVD, why has this not come out yet? For YEARS I have been checking amazon.com and other major DVD outlets for signs of their appearance. No luck so far. Out of the top 5 TV series I like, "Wonder Years" is the only one that has not appeared in DVD format. Why? Why?
TO THE PRODUCERS (If you...
Published on October 1, 2003 by Paul Budiardjo

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RIP-OFF! On Time Life's homepage you can order the ...
RIP-OFF!
On Time Life's homepage you can order the complete set for 249,95 and the signed edition for 299,95. So do not buy this set here! They are making you pay HUNDRED AND EiGHTY Dollars more!
Published 3 months ago by Sliponshoe


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

367 of 383 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have been waiting for YEARS for the DVDs to come out, October 1, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
While the complete version of a lot of TV series have been available in DVD, why has this not come out yet? For YEARS I have been checking amazon.com and other major DVD outlets for signs of their appearance. No luck so far. Out of the top 5 TV series I like, "Wonder Years" is the only one that has not appeared in DVD format. Why? Why?
TO THE PRODUCERS (If you are reading this): I solemnly promise before you, and the millions of amazon.com customers, that I will purchase the complete set of DVDs of Wonder Years within 1 week of the release date, no matter what the price is (I only hope that they are reasonably priced).
To the uninitiated: "Wonder Years" is a story of a young teenager (Kevin Arnold) growing up in a middle-class suburb in the late 1960s. Through the other main characters which include the loving mother, distant father, annoying older brother, nerdy but kind best friend, and most importantly, his first love (Winnie Cooper), we accompany Kevin as he encounters new social situations at school, trials in father-son relationship, ups and downs of teenager love life, awareness of puberty and early adulthood, etc.
We all have our moments during teenager years, and as we grow older we often look back with a smile and fondness, or sometimes, regret. But usually, our adult experiences answer the "why" questions we grappled with when we were young, and give closure to some of the growing pains.
That's what the series is all about: trying to find meaning and closure of teenage experiences. Every episode features an interplay between the teenager Kevin and the adult Kevin voiceover reminiscing over his teenage episodes. So many times we find Kevin struggling over with similar issues during our teenage years, and the voice over sometimes give a new and heart-warming perspective. That's what I love most about this series.
Cannot wait to view ALL episodes again in DVD. So, producers, PLEASE.... PLEASE.....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~* NEWS ABOUT THE RELEASE OF THE FIRST SEASON, May 13, 2005
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
~* I honestly think this DVD Set is in the Works.

There seems to be a HIGH demend for this show !!!

I found some ENCOURAGING NEWS on TVSHOWSDVD.COM.

Here is a quoted passage --

"This issue of Entertainment Weekly quotes Fox Home Entertainment's Senior Vice President of Marketing & Communications, Mr. Steve Feldstein, as saying "We've got it on the schedule, but there are hurdles to clear prior to a firm release date."

"On the schedule" sounds pretty good to us, how about you? In all likelihood, the "hurdles" would start with all the music licensing that would have to occur in order to present the show on DVD the same way it was originally broadcast. According to the EW story, that is precisely the way the people who were behind the production of The Wonder Years wants to see these episodes brought home.

I just thought i would share that piece with everyone who has their fingers crossed that this CLASSIC show is brought to DVD.

~*~* hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait?, October 6, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
It’s finally here. The one “Wonder Years” fans have been waiting for. Was it worth the years-long wait? Read on.

As most know, the complete series DVD release was held up for years by music licensing issues. Even with all the negotiations that made this long awaited release possible, it was not 100% successful. More on that later. I also won’t be discussing whether or not the set is worth the $250 price tag (You shouldn’t pay more, unless of course you want to spring for the personally autographed limited edition which will set you back another 250. As others have noted, there are sellers buying up blocks of them and peddling them to unsuspecting buyers at increased prices, hoping the buyers hadn’t seen the Time Life/Star Vista offer). The answer to the “Is it worth the money?” question will be different for everybody.

The packaging, aside from one issue I’ll discuss in a moment, is stellar. The whimsical, yet sturdy steel locker replica holds two three-ring binder replicas containing the DVDs with paperback episode booklets and a hardcover ‘Yearbook’ featuring cast and crew comments, memories, trivia and great artwork printed on slick heavy stock. Also included is a set of iconic magnets that can be put on the locker. The one issue that could become a potential problem is that the discs fit so snugly in their sleeves that if care isn’t taken sliding them in and out, could become scratched. As anyone who has ever experienced a fingerprint or a deep scratch on a DVD completely stalling out a player, this could become a problem. My solution: a ten-dollar CD wallet with plastic sleeves from any office supply store. I pulled all the DVDs from their original sleeves and simply relocated them to the wallet. Problem solved.

If you’re purchasing the set expecting Blue-Ray video quality, you’ll probably be disappointed. That being said, the video and audio quality are excellent, especially if you are among the unfortunate who unknowingly bought one of the bootleg boxed sets being offered over the years. The video is definitely NOT as bad as VHS quality as one reviewer has stated. Again, not Blue-Ray quality, but perfectly acceptable.

As stated earlier, the package has been held up this long due to the licensing of the hundreds of iconic pop songs heard in the series. Unfortunately, the resolution of that issue was not 100% successful. There are 14 songs whose rights could not be obtained and have therefore been replaced with other music. Time-Life gets props for being as unobtrusive as they could be in this process. For example, the version of “Spinning Wheel” by Blood Sweat and Tears has been replaced with another version sung by BST’s lead singer David Clayton Thomas.

You’ll find many hours of bonus material, including the cast reunion, interviews with cast members, writers, producers and crew, out-takes, etc.

In conclusion, is the package perfect? No. Is it worth the price tag? There will be a hundred different answers to that question. But, in this reviewer’s opinion, definitely worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why no DVD's....yet, January 19, 2005
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
I would love the DVD's to come out because TWY is one of the best shows of all time, but the reason that the DVD's are not out yet is the music rights.

The producers are working on getting the rights & royalty contracts done for each song that was played during the series.

We all know how great and crucial the soundtrack was to the show, so you can imagine the sheer amount of work they are going through to procure the rights to each track. Songs from Bob Seger, the Beach Boys, Joe Cocker, The Yardbirds, Jefferson Airplane, CCR, Mamas and the Papas, The Band, The Stylistics...thats a lot of groups to get the rights to.

So until that part is cleared up, the DVD's will remain delayed.

but heres wishing they get it all together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put The Wonder Years on DVD!, November 4, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
I also agree with everyone who has posted asking for The Wonder Years to be sold on DVD. I am still young and I remember watching it as a child and later watching the repeats. I can recall all of the episodes and they all bring back wonderful memories. Each episode was not only funny, but always moving. I remember how upset it made me when it was removed from Nick at Nite. Now I can barely ever see the repeats. So it would be very convenient to release it on DVD. I know that this would make all of the devoted fans happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please bring this wonderful show to DVD!, July 17, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
PLEASE! A show of this quality deserves better than to remain locked away in some studio vault. If I could give this show ten stars, I would. The writing was first-rate, the acting beautifully executed, and the storylines subtle and poignant. It's rightful home is on a DVD set, where people of all ages can relive the wonder for generations to come. Please don't make us wait any longer. Bring it to DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RIP-OFF! On Time Life's homepage you can order the ..., November 18, 2014
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
RIP-OFF!
On Time Life's homepage you can order the complete set for 249,95 and the signed edition for 299,95. So do not buy this set here! They are making you pay HUNDRED AND EiGHTY Dollars more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Wonder Years, November 11, 2003
By 
Stephanie A. Denny (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
I, too, share the sentiments of others who have commented: The Wonder Years should be available in DVD -- the complete series. It was one of the most well-written TV shows of all time. It especially meant a lot to me since I grew up in Burbank, California, where it was filmed on Amherst Street. Each epsiode brings back so many memories of my childhood. We need more programs like this instead of the poorly-written, thoughtless trash on the networks today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still waiting-music battle continues, April 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
still waiting----the issue is MONEY and Music...it is about Music rights--the show was filled with lots of classic 60's-70's songs--at the time of filming home release of TV shows was not a consideration thus the early contracts that allowed use of the 'music' on the show didn't include rights for a DVD release--every song has to be tracked down-every right holder 'paid' etc You get the picture--either they can't track down the rights to a certain song or the holder of that right is smelling money and demands a huge fee for the rights and threatens to block the entire series release unless paid off...the series is coming (reportedly again) but with altered music tracks...just too costly to secure all the rights....but its also not cheap to alter the music tracks thus delays and indecision about the release..darn shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonder Years DVD, August 8, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set (DVD)
What made the "Wonder Years" extraordinarily brilliant was its ability to affect viewers with virtuous poetry that put them on a path back through thier own journey of adolescence. It captured the affection of growing up so precisely and it never shied away from the truth behind reality. Neal Marlens and Carol Black weren't just geniuses, but earnest writers who knew what it felt like to grow up during a time when the world was under significant change. The "Wonder Years" holds a piece of truth from any generation growing up with the show. It was able to go beyond the era of the 1960's and capture the true meaning of what it felt like to be young with wonder. Not releaseing "The Wonder Years" on DVD will be a stab in the back to everyone's adolescence. We need quality television again and this show provided every second of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wonder Years: The Complete Series Set
$395.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.