Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2003
I know you're all wondering, "how does she know the correct order?" Is she over 100yrs old? Well, I know because my grandmother, gone for 34 yrs now, had each and every book bought hot of the presses. Inside each book, except the first, are the previous books in order. Also a couple of the names have changed a bit since they were first written but I have the Books of Wonder titles in this list.
So, here they are in correct order.
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
The Marvelous Land of Oz
Ozma of Oz
Dorthy and the Wizard in Oz
The Road to Oz
The Emerald City of Oz
The Patchwork Girl of Oz
Tik-Tok of Oz
The Scarecrow of Oz
Rinkitink in Oz
The Lost Princess of Oz
The Tin Woodman of Oz
The Magic of Oz
Glinda of Oz
1010 comments| 435 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 22, 2000
This beautiful, oversize, lavishly illustrated Centennial Edition of L. Frank Baum's "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz" is a cornucopia of enjoyment for Oz fans. Edited by Oz expert Michael Patrick Hearn, it's annotated in a manner similar to Martin Gardner's "Annotated Alice" (Gardner contributes a preface outlining the history of the "The Annotated Wizard of Oz").
There's a hundred-page introduction, with lots of photos and color illustrations, covering Baum's life, his family, his non-Oz books, and the history of the Oz phenomenon (books, plays, musicals, movies, other Oz authors, and much more).
The story itself is reproduced from the 1900 edition. W.W. Denslow's original illustrations, including all 24 color plates, are here too. Hearn's notes are entertaining, informative and very extensive. For example, there are three double-columned pages dealing with Baum's brief one-page introduction alone!
Anyone who loves the Oz books will find countless hours of pleasure in this delightful book. It's well worth the price!
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2004
I don't own THIS particular Edition, but I will soon, and as soon as I saw it in Dymmocks, I looked through it and thought "I've really gotta get this book!" And this is why . . . .
I'm sure that there are those of you who have the annotated Wizard of Oz and/or the Dover editions of the Wonderful/Wizard of Oz (Dover has made different copies in publishing it in different ways). the Annotated Wizard of Oz may have the pictures in full-colour, but the colour plates are in 1 whole place, in the middle of the book, and that goes the same for the recent Dover Edition of the Wonderful Wizard of Oz (where Dorothy is wearing a pink dress, talking to her friends, all wearing the Green glasses). The other Dover editions of this story have the pictures in black-and-white (sometimes all, other times, a few of them) with the colour-plates in their own chapter but in black-and-white.
THIS EDITION - the 100th Anniversary Edition - is one everybody should have. It has all the pictures in colour-and-black lined with the FULL-COLOUR-Plates in their OWN PROPER CHAPTER place, e.g. "She caught Toto by the ear" in THE CYCLONE, "I am the Witch of the North" in THE COUNCIL WITH THE MUNCHKINS, etc. It even has the picture of Dorothy and Toto back in Kansas on the very final page on the book in the backboard. And when you pull off this picture-cover (the one that you see now), the actual cardboard-leather-bound cover has the EXACT SAME ORIGINAL Cover Angela Lansbury shows in "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz: The Making of a Movie Classic", where the Cowardly Lion is wearing the Green glasses on the Front cover, Toto is on the spine and the back has the faces of Dorothy, the Scarecrow and (Nick chopper) the Tin Woodman in circles.
An Important Note on this story is that it Is Imaginative But it Is Not DARK as some people say. It is not scary nor is it supposed to be attempted that way in any new adaptation, nor should it always be made similar to MGM with constant references or musical scenes. This is an AMERICAN 1900 Story, it is not English/British like J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter, Tolkien's Hobbit/LofR or C. S. Lewis' Narnia - it is its own place!! Oz is a place where animals can talk, there are strange animals who are not mythical and never appeared in any other legends, wicked people are defeated by simple acts, by it accidentally-non-magical or magical, everybody is friends and the ordinary items of our world can have strong but simple magic.
Now matter how much the MGM Musical is loved, reading this book is worth it, because it explains how many of the events in Oz came to be when Dorothy arrived: how did the Tin Woodman come to be? How did and why do the Winged Monkeys obey the Wicked Witch of the West? What became of the Winkies after the WWWitch's death? Did Lion become the King of Beasts again? Naturally the musical is different from the book, but despite the change of the Kansas beginning/ending, the story is basically the same. this book only offers MORE than the movie did.
Hope you enjoyed my descriptive review. Watch out for my other Oz and Digimon reviews (by Sam A. Milazzo).
review image review image review image
44 comments| 175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Robert Sabuda is one of my favorite illustrators and certainly the most renowned pop-up book artist and paper engineer working today. Combine Sabuda's entrancing three dimensional illustrations with Frank Baum's glorious story about Dorothy, the Tin Woodman, the Scarecrow, Cowardly Lion, Toto and their amazing adventures in the Land of Oz and you have pure magic!
The pop-up illustrations are quite intricate, with artwork that's faithful to W. W. Denslow's original illustrations. Sabuda works in a fresh, new style here using prints made from cut linoleum blocks. He brings the drawings to life in a way that will enchant children and adults alike. Each page contains a large pop-up and a small booklet which tells part of the story. And each mini-book contains small pop-ups too. There's a cyclone that really twists, a wizard's balloon that sails into the sky, holographic foil creates a true, sparkling Emerald City made even greener with the included green glasses for the reader
The text is slightly abridged so I would suggest that true "Wizard of Oz" fans include an unabridged copy in their library. I recently bought a copy for my cousin's little girl. She calls it her "magic book" and can't seem to put it down. This very special edition, published to commemorate the book's 100th Anniversary, is well worth the price and will surely find a place of honor on your bookshelf. It is spectacular!
JANA
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2003
I collect Robert Sabuda's books and love to give them as gifts. The copy I recently ordered was a disapointment.The tornado folded out parallel with the page instead of perpendicular to it. I compared it to my copy purchased last year and found it was printed in Colombia and assembled in Ecuador. The book I am reviewing here was made in China. What a shame. I would rather pay a little more for a quality pop-up book. I returned the book.
11 comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2000
My parents bought this book for my 4.5 year old daughter, and believe me, we are keeping this one out of the hands of her book-destroying 1.5 year old brother. What a magnificent book! Every page has a beautiful pop-up, and not only the page itself, but the accompanying text pages attached to each page. Such creativity and technological wonders. Seriously! My daughter saw this in the store while we were on vacation, and spent about 10 minutes on the plane, quietly spinning the wizard's balloon. If that isn't worth the price, then what is? 10 minutes of quiet on an airplane? The man in the seat next to us couldn't keep his eyes off it... even he was fascinated.
Newsweek just featured this book in their December 11, 2000 issue in their article about the best new kids' books (see p.72). They even show the Emerald City pop-up on their table of contents page.
I am sure that as long as we can protect this book from our precious little one-man-wrecking crew, it will be a treasured heirloom for many years-to-come. Would make a fabulous gift for the holidays.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2000
This is THE book to honor the centennial of Oz. Everyone in my family - from my 4-year-old grandson to my 89-year old mother is crazy about it. It has everything you ever wanted to know about OZ and more. But seriously, Hearn is the world's leading authority on Baum and his work. (If you saw the delightful TV movie DREAMER OF OZ - it was based on Hearn's work in progress.)
The story behind this book is fascinating in itself. Hearn wrote it while an undergraduate at Bard College, finishing it at age 21; and, with the blessing of Martin Gardner, author of THE ANNOTATED ALICE, Hearn's book was published in 1973 when Hearn was but 23. In the ensuing decades, Hearn has never ceased researching and uncovering more and more incredible Ozzy facts and folklore. All who love Oz will find their appreciation of both the book and the famous movie increased 100-fold (seriously!) by this amazing investigative work. The reader will learn not only all there is to know about Oz, but will also be greatly enriched by the historical and cultural contexts in which Hearn places Baum's work. It is a glorious volume with all of the original illustrations by W. W. Denslow in their original colors, plus many other rare and previously unknown pictures.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2000
This is quite a thorough reference book for Baum's The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. It contains about 70 pages of biographical information about Baum, a history of the Oz series including some color plates, and related discussions; a reproduction of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz printed with correct colors with thorough annotations; a 20 page section about W. W. Denslow's illustrations beyond the collaboration with Baum; and 20 pages of bibliography.

Hearn makes a point of saying that the reproduction of the Wizard reproduces the colors correctly; this is probably less of an issue now that high quality facsimile editions are available, unlike say the Dover edition of 1960. There are plenty of annotations, often fairly long, which are interesting but aren't in the category of opening up whole new worlds of perspective on the book. There are also some b&w photos and some other illustrations which hadn't been previously published. The Annotated Wizard is probably most of interest to those with a particular fascination about Oz, and those who are interested in a historical perspective and context for Baum's first Oz book. It would have been nice if it were printed on higher quality paper -- especially the color plates.

28 x 22 cm (landscape), hardcover, 384 pages + 32 unnumbered pages of color plates. New York: Clarkson N. Potter Inc, 1973. LCCN 72-80842.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2012
A foul, evil stench has blown into Munchkin Land.....

After a hundred years in print "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz" has been drastically changed by one Suzi Alexander. She has added her name as an author to "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz," which was written long before she was ever born. So, what has she done to deserve the co-author credit for a book that sold millions worldwide before she ever heard of it? The "Great and Powerful" Suzi of Oz has judged that L. Frank Baum didn't know what he was doing and thus his great novel needed to be condensed and adapted by her for modern audiences. The original, best-selling Oz needed Suzi to save it.

Tell us Suzi, Who died an made you Wizard?

This is an outrage made possible because the copyright for "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz" has expired and so anyone can do anything they like with the text. Yes, by law it is now in the public domain. Anyone, anywhere can publish it.

I have many fine editions of the original novel published by divergent companies that loved the story so much they wanted to keep making it available to more and more children as well as the child in all of us. The Suzi Alexander version, however, seems to be written not by someone who loves the the original but instead by a person who thinks she can make a better version than the one who sold all these millions of copies before she got her hands on it.

May the children of the world throw a bucket of water on her and watch Suzi's wickedness melt away.

As a child who carefully memorized every single word of the original, I find the Dalmatian Press, Suzi Alexander, altered and condensed work to be nothing less than an abomination.

Keep your hands off our priceless treasures! These silver shoes do NOT belong to you!

Don't be fooled by the cover. It may say "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz," but the Dalmatian Press, Suzi Alexander version is NOT the original novel that L. Frank Baum wrote. It is not good enough to be used in fireplaces or in landfills. Suzi should attempt to write her own terrible books rather than messing with our established American classics.

Suzi, If you had enough heart to love the original, you'd have had the courage to bring it to us unblemished, but sadly you haven't got a brain and you can never go home again.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2009
This version of Baum's classic book "The Wizard of Oz" makes a great, not to mention inexpensive, addition to your home library. It's both small and short, making it easy to take with you on a bus trip or for reading in bed.

Don't let the cheesy cover fool you--the book contains the actual black-and-white illustrations from the original version. For me, that was a real plus! Other than that, this printing is no-frills, just sweet and simple. No commentary or analysis, just the wonderful little story we all know and love.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.