Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars57
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$17.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2012
R.C. Sproul's latest contribution to Biblical studies, The Work of Christ, is a solid, no nonsense overview of the life of Christ from birth to His second coming. Sproul's goal was to examine the pinnacles of Jesus's sojourn on earth in relationship to his redemptive work that He completed through the cross. But most importantly Sproul wants us to be able to understand exactly what it is that Christ did for us through his life. Sproul, through this book, reminds us that Christ's entire life was all part of the redemptive work and needs to be looked at and understood at a more profound level.

The Work of Christ would be an excellent study for a new believer or a great refresher for a seasoned saint. Each chapter examines a pivotal moment in Christ's life and the works He accomplished during that time. From Bethlehem to His return, Sproul breaks it down so we can see the importance of every aspect of Christ's works.

To be honest, The Work of Christ provided no new insights for me - it was an excellent overview - but nothing that made me stop and go "Wow". But that's okay because what I loved about this book is that, after each chapter, there is a thorough outline of the important points that you needed to understand about that section. Even better there is a series of study questions that point you to more scriptures, allowing you to expand your study, if that's what you desire. If the reader takes advantage of these end-of-chapter studies, he will get even more from this book.

The Work of Christ will benefit anyone wanting a deeper understanding of what Christ did for us. A great addition to the bookshelf of any believer.

Courtesy Copy From David C. Cook publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
Sproul writes his best in this study of Christ's work as He fulfills the covenant between Father, Son, and Holy Spirit Who entered into covenant before creation. His deep theological teaching is written so the layman can understand. It is challenging as well as fascinating. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to understand Christ and to grow in Him.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
R. C. Sproul in his new book, "The Work of Christ" part of the Classic Theology series published by David C. Cook shows us What the Events of Jesus' Life Mean for You.

From the Back Cover: "The work of Jesus reveals to us who He is. The work and the person may be distinguished but never separated." --Dr. R. C. Sproul
Most Christians recognize the importance of Christ's death and resurrection. But how many of us understand the theological significance of Jesus' actions before and after the Crucifixion? In The Work of Christ, Dr. R. C. Sproul looks at every aspect of Jesus' life and work, addressing such life-changing topics as:
Why Jesus' baptism is relevant for our salvation
The similarities and differences between the temptation of the first Adam and the temptation of Jesus, the "second Adam"
How God uses song to celebrate his redemptive acts
Why the Last Supper marks the beginning of a greater exodus than that of the Old Testament
How Jesus' death and resurrection are grounded in the eternal covenant among the persons of the Trinity
Why Jesus' ascension makes a difference in our lives today
What we know and don't know about Jesus' return
Moving from Jesus' existence from before creation through His incarnation, boyhood, adulthood, death, resurrection, and return, Dr. Sproul guides you to a deeper understanding of God's beautiful promise and purpose behind the works of Christ's life.

Who exactly is Jesus? Why didn't He just come down as a thirty-three year old man and go directly to the cross and die that Friday? His death would have freed us from Sin but would still have left us without a Redeemer. So Jesus had to be born and live a righteous life so that we could have His righteousness transferred onto us before The Father. In twelve chapters Dr. Sproul gives us a brief overview of Jesus' sojourn in this world, looking at the major events of both His life and death to show that He fulfilled a lifelong mission. Each chapter has an outline of the work, a Bible study with questions to ponder and reflect as well as a discussion guide and recommended reading. Obviously Dr. Sproul does a much more magnificent job in explaining which is one of the reasons why you need to have this book. "The Work of Christ" is a must have book. It is a must have for you because you will read it once, stash it on your bookshelf and come back to it again and again for refreshing. It is a must have for your friends and family so that they can do the exact same thing. We all need to learn and understand and who better than Dr. Sproul to help us with that understanding. I recommend this book highly!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from David C. Cook for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
I highly recommend this book for any person who is seeking to deepen their understanding of the God-Man Jesus. Whether you are a "Mature Christian" or have recently been given a love for the Gospel, it is a great read and will challenge you to seek the significance of Christ in His life and death and how it applies to us today.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
It is a fantastic book and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in getting to know the bible more and have a clearer understanding of who Christ is and how important He is to all of mankind. We all need to find our way back to Christ and rely on Him for our Salvation and eternal life and this book helps us understand that. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2012
When Christians think of the work of Christ, we typically think of His work on the cross--His atoning death on the cross for our sins and rising again in victory over death. This is a central truth of the Christian faith, one upon which it stands or falls.

But it's only part of Jesus' work.

"If Jesus had only paid for our sins, He would have succeeded only in taking us back to square one," writes R.C. Sproul in The Work of Christ: What the Events of Jesus' Life Mean for You. "It is important that we not minimize the work of Christ throughout His life by focusing too narrowly on the work of Christ in His death."

That may seem like a shocking statement, but it's an important one. The totality of the events of Jesus' life comprise His complete work--from His incarnation to His promised return. Yet we too quickly forget this, particularly as we work out our various evangelistic methods and formulas, and even in the day-to-day practical living of the Christian life.

This must not be. If Christ is our righteousness, then we need to understand the impact of the other aspects of His life for us beyond His death.

This is why Sproul's written The Work of Christ, where he briefly examines 12 essential events in the life of Jesus:

* His Incarnation
* His Birth (via the infancy hymns)
* His visits to the Temple
* His Baptism
* His Temptation
* His Transfiguration
* His Triumphal Entry
* His Last Supper
* His Crucifixion
* His Resurrection
* His Ascension
* His Return

Sproul's singular style is on full display in this book. He excels at making the most difficult subjects accessible to the average reader and this book is no exception.

In His examination of the incarnation, for example, he dives into the Kenotic Hymn of Phil. 2:5-11 where we see the great humiliation and exultation of the Lord. Jesus takes upon Himself a human nature for the purpose of redemption--and yet He is still divine.

This is among the greatest mysteries of the Christian faith, one that has caused great friction and debate for centuries. How can Jesus be both God and man? How can the Creator also have the form of His creation? Sproul writes:

"Even in the incarnation, the divine nature did not lose its divine attributes. Jesus did not communicate His divine attributes to His human side. He did not deify His human nature. The union between the divine and the human natures of Jesus is mysterious, but His human nature is truly human. That means it is not omniscient. It is not omnipotent. It is none of those things. At the same time, His divine nature remains fully and completely divine."

Notice that Sproul doesn't try to explain away the tension. He doesn't engage in convoluted logical gymnastics. He simply embraces the mystery and says, "Yes."This is incredibly important (even if not terribly profound by some standards).

It's tempting to make these kinds of subjects more difficult than is necessary. Sproul's answer should serve as a reminder that sometimes the most simple answer--one that requires us to embrace the tension rather than explain it away--is the most helpful one.

Among the most helpful chapters in the book is that on Jesus' baptism. Why did Jesus need to be baptized at all? Maybe it's just me, but it's a question I've not give nearly enough thought, nor enough study.

Sproul reminds us that the reason Jesus had to be baptized was in order to fulfill all righteousness. If Jesus was to complete the Law, He needed to obey every part:

"Jesus had to adhere to the whole law of God because the redemption He brought was not accomplished solely by His death on the cross. God did not send Jesus to earth on Good Friday so He could go straight to the cross. Jesus not only had to die for our sins, but also had to live for our righteousness. If Jesus had only died for our sins, His sacrifice would have removed all of our guilt, but that would have left us merely sinless in the sight of God, not righteous. We would not have done anything to obey the law of God, which is righteousness. . . . Jesus' life of perfect obedience was just as necessary for our salvation as His perfect atonement on the cross."

Rather than trying to be the final word, The Work of Christ serves as a starting point for greater study. Sproul doesn't expect readers to just take his word for the importance of each of these events, nor does he provide extensive overviews of each subject--he expects readers to study for themselves.

The accompanying study guides for each chapter (some of which are longer than the actual chapters themselves) are a wonderful resource to assist the reader in delving deeper into each topic. Arguably, they make the book worth its cover price. It's not that Sproul's work isn't excellent (it is), but you're not going to get its full value unless you engage the book in the way it requires.

From beginning to end, from incarnation to return, the work of Christ is necessary for our salvation and our growth in Christ. This is a subject we must study thoughtfully and apply well. The Work of Christ offers readers--whether individuals or small groups--a wonderful starting point. I trust that you'll be blessed as you see just how important all the events of Jesus' life are for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
Probably one of RC Sproul's best. I like how it was laid out. Each work of Christ from the trinity to his return. Learning objectives of each work, a quotation from a well known teacher that brings it all together, an outline of the work, and for deeper- a bible study with questions to ponder and reflect. A discussion guide and recommended reading. The work of Christ his is exaltation and his humiliation back to his exaltation. We experience the same as we come to know him and follow him. My favorite was the temptation of Christ. Starting where it all began in the Garden to Jesus own temptation. The differences and similarities. Page 86...In truth, contradiction is the hallmark of the lie. Are we more mindful of the things of men or of God? Satan said...Did God say? Jesus said...it is written. With study and deep reflection you will find the bible still very relevant. Satan is stills saying "Did God say".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
I purchased this book out of a great desire to learn more about Jesus's position in my life. While the presentation is not exhaustive, it certainly delivers. I was extremely satisfied with the teaching....very Biblical, and it has served to whet my appetite for something more in-depth.. l wholeheartedly recommend this reading to those who seek a deeper walk in their faith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
This was a very good book. It explained a lot of thing I did not remember or know or understand. I recommend this to the new believer to study what might be 'over their head' in the first few years of being saved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
On reviewing the book reads as a devotional. It should (actually must) be read with a bible in hand to use it correctly.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse