Trade in your item
Get a $0.74
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The World of Alice (Boxed Set): The Agony of Alice; Alice in Rapture, Sort Of; Reluctantly Alice; All but Alice Paperback – October 1, 2003

Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
$214.03 $19.85



Back to School for Kids
Get ready for the new school year and help kids of all levels learn with books on key topics. Browse by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Series: World of Alice
  • Paperback: 672 pages
  • Publisher: Aladdin; Slp edition (October 1, 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0689030282
  • ISBN-13: 978-0689030284
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.3 x 2.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,598,591 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

I guess I've been writing for about as long as I can remember. Telling stories, anyway, if not writing them down. I had my first short story published when I was sixteen, and wrote stories to help put myself through college, planning to become a clinical psychologist. By the time I graduated with a BA degree, however, I decided that writing was really my first love, so I gave up plans for graduate school and began writing full time.

I'm not happy unless I spend some time writing every day. It's as though pressure builds up inside me, and writing even a little helps to release it. On a hard-writing day, I write about six hours. Tending to other writing business, answering mail, and just thinking about a book takes another four hours. I spend from three months to a year on a children's book, depending on how well I know the characters before I begin and how much research I need to do. A novel for adults, because it's longer, takes a year or more. When my work is going well, I wake early in the mornings, hoping it's time to get up. When the writing is hard and the words are flat, I'm not very pleasant to be around.

Getting an idea for a book is the easy part. Keeping other ideas away while I'm working on one story is what's difficult. My books are based on things that have happened to me, things I have heard or read about, all mixed up with imaginings. The best part about writing is the moment a character comes alive on paper, or when a place that existed only in my head becomes real. There are no bands playing at this moment, no audience applauding--a very solitary time, actually--but it's what I like most. I've now had more than 120 books published, and about 2000 short stories, articles and poems.

I live in Bethesda, Maryland, with my husband, Rex, a speech pathologist, who's the first person to read my manuscripts when they're finished. Our sons, Jeff and Michael, are grown now, but along with their wives and children, we often enjoy vacations together in the mountains or at the ocean. When I'm not writing, I like to hike, swim, play the piano and attend the theater.

I'm lucky to have my family, because they have contributed a great deal to my books. But I'm also lucky to have the troop of noisy, chattering characters who travel with me inside my head. As long as they are poking, prodding, demanding a place in a book, I have things to do and stories to tell.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on October 14, 2003
Format: Paperback
I bought this thinking it was a new book in the Alice series. Sadly, it wasn't but it's a great deal for beginning "Alice" readers. It is a box set of the first four books in the series. Titles included are: "The Agony of Alice", "Alice in Rapture, Sort Of", "Reluctantly Alice", and "All But Alice". For only about $...this is a great price if you don't already have these books. Just don't make the same mistake I did and get your hopes up for a brand new book when it's just the oldies.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Juliet on February 19, 2004
Format: Paperback
I was very excited when I got an email from Amazon saying that a new addition to the Alice series was out. I jumped up and down and begged my big cousin to drive me to the store pronto to get it. It wasn't there so we ordered it off of amazon and I was SUPER dissapointed when I found out that this was a box set of books I had already. I am giving this box set 3 stars because I don't know what to put. If you have never read the first 4 books then by all means get this box set, but if you have already read them don't bother.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Little Willow on January 26, 2007
Format: Paperback
This set includes the first four titles in the realistic and meaningful Alice McKinley series.

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor has combined the frankness of Judy Blume's writing with the fun of L.M. Montgomery's stories, creating a likable protagonist that would be pals with Anne Shirley, were they contemporaries. Alice McKinley is, at times, awkward, uncertain, and shy; in other instances, she is bold, brave, and determined. She lives a good, clean life and makes good decisions most of the time, but is not afraid to ask questions and make her own decisions.

Alice lost her mother at a young age and barely remembers her. She adores her father, who works at a music store, and her older brother Lester. She has two best friends, one mama's girl and one slightly wild child.

Readers can grow with Alice. As the series progresses, Alice gets older, and the reading level (due to content) goes up too. The series tackles everything - name-calling, dating, religion, school, death of a parent, remarriage and stepparents, peer pressure, and more - without ever being preachy or saccharine. Alice discusses life issues and questions taboos with her father, brother and friends without shame, without fear - just openness and honesty. In turn, readers should feel encouraged to discuss these books with their families.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?