Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of Geryl's three books this is the one you can skip!!
I read Geryl's first book "Orion Prophecy" in 2003 and thought it was excellent and that he is on to something. I next read his latest book "How to survive 2012" and that was excellent although a little discouraging in terms of survival places to be when 2012 hits. This book "The World Cataclysm in 2012" completes what Geryl wants to say but it is the one to skip of the...
Published on June 8, 2007 by denny

versus
47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Charlatan's Math. Stick to Archeology Mr. Geryl
The historical background of the book is very interesting but I consider the "math" inside an insult.

My advice to the author: stay away from math, seriously, your knowledge of arithmetic leaves much to be desired.

My advice to the potential buyer: read the following paragraph and decide if you still want to buy it

On pages 74/75 he takes...
Published on October 15, 2006 by Steven B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Charlatan's Math. Stick to Archeology Mr. Geryl, October 15, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
The historical background of the book is very interesting but I consider the "math" inside an insult.

My advice to the author: stay away from math, seriously, your knowledge of arithmetic leaves much to be desired.

My advice to the potential buyer: read the following paragraph and decide if you still want to buy it

On pages 74/75 he takes three numbers 365.25, 365 and 360 and multiplies them twice by 0.666666666

Later on page 79 he starts again with the same three numbers but now he multiplies them once by 11520

Finally on the next page he divides the latter three results by the former ones and he finds himself SHOCKED to find they all yield the same result: 25920

NO KIDDING! ...Pitiful.

Take ANY number X and multiply it Twice by 0.66666666 you get (0.44444444)X

Take the same X number and multiply it by 11520 you get (11520)X

If you divide the latter by the former THE X's CANCEL EACH OTHER and you end up with (11520)/(0.44444444) which will ALWAYS yield 25920 regardless of the number you start with.

Yet the astonished words from the author are: "The identical result of these calculations is the precession number, which made me break out in cold sweat"

Mr Geryl please stick to Archeology and find the labyrinth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of Geryl's three books this is the one you can skip!!, June 8, 2007
By 
denny "Book Guru" (Sterling Heights, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
I read Geryl's first book "Orion Prophecy" in 2003 and thought it was excellent and that he is on to something. I next read his latest book "How to survive 2012" and that was excellent although a little discouraging in terms of survival places to be when 2012 hits. This book "The World Cataclysm in 2012" completes what Geryl wants to say but it is the one to skip of the three he has out. This book is big on math. And though I think he is on to something, as I believe this knowledge came from Mu and Atlantis (ie E.T.'s), he also comes off as sort of a cook to someone who is light on math and not their forte. For this reason mostly, I feel this book is the one to skip of the three Geryl has out there. If your big on 2012 as I am, then you will want to pick up a copy of this book because it completes what Geryl has to say about this subject. Geryl believes every 11,500-12,000 years the sun cycle causes the sun to reverse its poles which causes huge CME's which reach the earth and cause the earth's poles to flip making the earth to start revolving in the opposite direction thereby causing great destruction on all of civilization. This science is right on as I have checked it out, which makes me a big Geryl fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time is Short, April 25, 2007
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
World Cataclysm in 2012 is the second in the series of three books by

Patrick Geryl about his discoveries using cartography, astronomy, and

mathematics to decipher the codes left by the ancient Egyptians and

Mayans. His findings: the Altanteans, Egyptians, and Mayans were all

trying to warn us of a coming world cataclysm of devastating proportions,

a crustal pole shift that would destroy civilization.

This book documents Patrick Geryl's research in which he shows:

1)An interpretation of the Isis-Osiris legend to be the story of the

previous pole shift in 9792 B.C.,

2)Why the pyramids of Gizeh were placed, and the relationship between the

pyramids, Orion's belt, and the next pole shift, and why the Sphinx was

built,

3)How the Atlantean, Egyptian, and Mayan civilizations were linked and

why they were all saying the same thing,

4)The incredibly precise number system of the Egyptians and Mayans and

the number codes contained in ancient writings and hieroglyphs that can

only just now be deciphered and what they tell,

5)The real meaning of 666, the number of Apocalypse, and where it came

from,

6)The Sun and the relationship between sunspot activity and magnetism,

and how the ancients developed number systems that precisely calculated

the cycles of pole shift,

7)Why there are no records of previous civilizations that existed before

the last pole shift,

8)Why polarities in magma show sudden changes in the location of the

magnetic North Pole,

9)Why the Zodiacal procession was disrupted and did not follow in

sequence in ancient times.

Patrick includes his breaking of the numerical codes and extensive

calculations to show how the Egyptians and Mayans used incredibly precise

number systems that we are just now reaching the point of being able to

decipher, and why these numbers that were written in stone in the sacred

temples were left behind: to warn future generations of the time of the coming pole shift.

If the author is correct, then this series of books

contains one of the most important messages for the planet and for

humanity's future. If you are interested in what happened to Atlantis,

the mystery of the pyramids, pre-history, Meso-America, survivalism,

Earth changes, prediction and prophesy, and what will happen in 2012,

this book fills in many of the missing pieces of the big puzzle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, March 9, 2008
By 
Interpreterboy "signmonkey" (Lakewood, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
Not only is the "information" contained in this book suspicious, but the author apparently has a screw loose too. The illustrations in the book, although they look authentic, and appear to be renderings of actual tomb inscriptions, are worthless. The Figures have no approximate dates, no locations of where they were found, no translations of the heiroglyphs, nothing. What culture, and ruler commisioned the works? What Temples are they on? What are the temples dedicated to? What are the dates of the tomb carvings? All of this "Factual" information would have bolstered his "hypothetical" claims. I could have drawn these, and used them to support my claims that the earth is flat! Also, what's with this story of the Atlantians and the Egyptians? Where is any of this recorded? It's all in quotes too! The logic behind his reasoning is like a 3rd graders too. Here is a typical flow of logic from this book, it's on page 15: "Thanks to a unique coding of the Egyptians and the Maya I could discover an advanced pattern in them. They form a one-way communication channel with my thinking. Mathematical inscriptions and pictograms have a key role in an endless flood of discoveries. Magic numbers in a whirl of calculations. They are the messages from a long-lost, exotic civilization." What? One-way communication with my thinking? Magic numbers? Are you kidding me? What editor is responsible for allowing this to be published? Don't waste your money on this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 20,926 / 86,400 = 0.2421990741, September 12, 2011
By 
Jeff Marzano (Essex Junction, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
This book has some problems, at least for me.

I had a hard time differentiating between what Geryl believes and what is actually stated in the ancient records of the Mayans and Egyptians. I felt like he may have been taking statements from those ancient texts and combining them with his own conclusions to make it sound like the Mayans and Egyptians agreed with what he is saying.

All through the main part of the book he combines numbers using arithmetic. Those mathematical statements appear suddenly in the text and it is difficult to remember what he previously said about those numbers. It wasn't clear to me that these numbers represent things that are related to each other in any meaningful way. The last 70 pages descends into a quagmire of these mathematical equations.

He sees some sort of major significance to the sun spot cycle that occurs on the sun and he feels that he was the one who discovered this in modern times.

Geryl is convinced that a large part of the human race is going to be annihilated in 2012 when a rare astrological alignment will occur and the 25,920 year astrological cycle ends. Not surprisingly this causes him to have nightmares and wake up in a cold sweat sometimes.

There's some good general information in the book so reading it won't be a total loss I guess. But I wouldn't recommend it as any sort of great book.

I have seen Geryl on various TV shows so I figured I would read one of this books. But I knew even before reading it that his ideas are out on the fringes even for the 2012 crowd.

He may be right that something very unusual is going to happen in 2012. In any case we are living in a very unique time right now, astrologically speaking. Whatever's going to happen on 12/21/12, if anything, only happens once every 26,000 years or so.

Geryl has gone out on a limb and made specific predictions about what's going to happen. If we are all still here on December 22, 2012 I think his writing career will be over.

If on the other hand he is right I guess we'll all be gone and he'll be safe and sound in his bunker in Madagascar.

Jeff Marzano

Atlantis

Edgar Cayce's Atlantis and Lemuria: The Lost Civilizations in the Light of Modern Discoveries

The Mystery of the Crystal Skulls: Unlocking the Secrets of the Past, Present, and Future

Fingerprints of the Gods

The Giza Power Plant : Technologies of Ancient Egypt

Egyptian Heritage: Based on the Edgar Cayce Readings

Initiation

Initiation in the Great Pyramid (Astara's library of mystical classics)

Fulcanelli: Master Alchemist: Le Mystere des Cathedrales, Esoteric Intrepretation of the Hermetic Symbols of The Great Work (Le Mystere Des ... of the Hermetic Symbols of Great Work)

The Philosopher's Stone: Alchemy and the Secret Research for Exotic Matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's All Here, January 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
For anyone looking for the nuts and bolts behind the upcoming 2012 cataclysm, this is the book you want. Though his calculations of a physical pole shift in the earth continues to be a point of contention in the scientific community, Geryl's research is both thorough and persuasive. With an entertaining and engaging vigor, he lays out the historical and mathematical proof that not only is it a possibility that the earth will reverse rotation in December of 2012, but it is a certainty. I recommend reading all three of his books, beginning with this one, 'The World Cataclysm in 2012', then 'The Orion Prophecy' for the historical foundation, and finally 'How To Surive 2012' for the wrap-up. Trust me, all other books on this subject can be trashed, as they are generally written by people only trying to make a fast buck on the sensation. His books (and research) are the only credible resource, and while many will find the information too terrifying to accept, you owe it to yourself and those you care about to read what he has discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good research and explanations, December 23, 2007
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
Mr. Geryl did an excellent job with his book. Many years of research went into it. A solar superstorm will happen again, and it could be an extinction level event for mankind. I highly recommend reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyramids, End Times, and Giza Plateau Scanned, June 26, 2006
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
A note, the Giza plateau was scanned with ground penetrating radar earlier this year (2006) by Patrick Geryl and he has asked for permission to excavate.

It appears that something may be lurking beneath the sands of egypt after all waiting to be discovered.

Josephus writes in The Antiquities of the Jews 1.2.3:
They also were the inventors of that peculiar sort of wisdom which is concerned with the heavenly bodies, and their order. And that their inventions might not be lost before they were sufficiently known, upon Adam's prediction that the world was to be destroyed at one time by the force of fire, and at another time by the violence and quantity of water, they made two pillars; the one of brick, the other of stone: they inscribed their discoveries on them both, that in case the pillar of brick should be destroyed by the flood, the pillar of stone might remain, and exhibit those discoveries to mankind; and also inform them that there was another pillar of brick erected by them. Now this remains in the land of Siriad to this day.

Pause and listen, allow me to share some wisdom with the foolish. We are living in remarkable times and don't be proud in your way of thinking for everything that was has already been. Now read on .....
Jude 1:18 How that they told you there should be mockers in the last time, who should walk after their own ungodly lusts.

Isaiah 19: 19. In that day there shall be an altar of the Lord in the midst of the land of Egypt, and a monument of the Lord at the borders thereof 20. It shall be for a sign, and for a testimony to the Lord of hosts in the land of Egypt. For they shall cry to the Lord because of the oppressor, and he shall send them a Savior and a defender to deliver them.

The pyramids hold answers and signs for the end time and reflect a plan that which was prepared since the beginning of time. For Yahweh has already determined everything before it ever came into being. In some sense, the hall of records contains the life and storey of every soul that was, is and is to be.

Isaiah 46:10 I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say: My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.

Jer.32:20: God has set signs and wonders in the land of Egypt, even to this day.

Did you know that the land of Egypt was known to the ancients as the land of Siriad. This is significant connection linking the Pyramids with the ancients or otherwise known to us as the Antediluvian races. Now if you believe for one moment that all life on this planet has progressed through a linear approach, then you are simply wrong. The renaissance of knowledge back in the 19th century started off on the wrong foot when they said that all civilizations since the Greeks and the Romans were primitive and cave like and had no sophistication; so therefore, knowledge must have progressed linearly. On top of that Darwin destroyed the minds of many people with his nonsense of the theory of evolution. In fact science and archeology is proven to the contrary that our ancestors were more superior to us today and we would do well to learn form their mistakes.

I believe there is significant evidence from God's words alone to point us in the right direction as to who our ancestors were and who built these signs in the earth today, such as the Pyramids. For example, when God brought the Israelites up out of Egypt and gave them these unique set of commandments 10 in all. What is interesting to note is that the 2nd commandment stipulates not to make any images of anything in the heavens above. Stop and pause for a moment, why the heavens above and who would have knowledge of anything up there? Why did all the ancient monuments contain astronomical knowledge and alignments with the stars? The answer to this is simple when you think of who was able and had the knowledge to construct such Megaliths using accurate precision, alignments and knowledge of the cosmos? The bible gives us a remarkable clue as to who these are:

Genesis 6:4
The Nephilim were on the earth in those days--and also afterward--when the sons of God went to the daughters of men and had children by them. They were the heroes of old, men of renown.

The word Nephilim comes from a Hebrew word meaning the "Fallen Ones". In the Sumerian texts these were referred to as the EL. The word EL means God, from where we get the world Elohim meaning God. In addition, we also derive the word AngEL, meaning messenger of God. This is why in the ancient texts in Egypt they said that their God's came from the Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the world cataclysm in 2012, March 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
WOW!!!!!! This was a book I could not put down and it is most informitive and really make you think all of this out. This was my 1st incounter with the works of Geryl. I was so impressed that I have purchased the advance copy of survival in/after 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars World Cataclysm review, November 9, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World (Paperback)
This is one of the worst books I've ever read. The guy goes through ridiculous number gyrations that make absolutely no sense to prove points that make no sense. I'm going to toss this book in the garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World
The World Cataclysm in 2012: The Maya Countdown to the End of Our World by Patrick Geryl (Paperback - December 30, 2005)
$16.95 $14.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.