Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take it from a Cheesemonger - Fantastic Book!!!!
This book is terrific!

As someone who works at one of the nation's best cheese counters (Zingerman's Deli - Ann Arbor), I have seen, read, and heard about a lot of books regarding cheese. In my opinion, this is the best book available. Of course, other classics on cheese (Cheese Primer, Cheese Slices, French Cheeses) are very good books, however, none of them...
Published on June 2, 2011 by Chad Hayes

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book but needs to be updated
It is to my mind a bit outdated and doesn't go beyond the well-known types of cheese. A new edition should be surely required
Published 11 months ago by JESUS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take it from a Cheesemonger - Fantastic Book!!!!, June 2, 2011
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
This book is terrific!

As someone who works at one of the nation's best cheese counters (Zingerman's Deli - Ann Arbor), I have seen, read, and heard about a lot of books regarding cheese. In my opinion, this is the best book available. Of course, other classics on cheese (Cheese Primer, Cheese Slices, French Cheeses) are very good books, however, none of them have the impressive layout and concise writing, as this fine book. The pictures are fantastic and accurate, while giving apt descriptions. Some other books may have more cheeses, and/or more information, but none have the impressive cohesiveness for studying and learning about the important aspects of cheese: origin, geography, size/shape, and production notes. In addition, there are well-kept sections on cheese production for each major category featuring examples of each.

Easy to use, it has 3 cheeses per page with one close-up and one profile picture. Each cheese has a chart with the important info spelled out, a map locating where it comes from, tasting notes, and suggestions for pairings/serving. Fantastic book! A great choice for either a novice or an expert1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many cheeses so little time, January 26, 2010
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
This one arrived in my Christmas stocking and had me going though my "Have I eaten this? Checklist".
Although it may not be a must buy for the general cheese-eater the photography and close-up of each cheese (listed by country) will have you salivating and running to the nearest cheese shop to get samples.
Historical information on selected cheeses open colorfully across two pages filled with tasting notes, cooking ideas and wine accompaniments. Over 750 of the world's finest cheeses, described, photographed and mapped for cheese hunters like me.
I will definitely recommend it for my cheese tasting class students.The Cheese Chronicles: A Journey Through the Making and Selling of Cheese in America, From Field to Farm to Table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Obsessed with cheese, November 2, 2010
By 
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
Received this as a gift from a friend. Beautiful book! And of course, it gives me a new goal- to eat all of the cheese in the book. Each cheese entry has the name, a basic explanation of the cheese, tasting notes, the region its made in (with map!), its age, the milk used, the classification (e.g. hard or fresh), and the producer. Most also have a picture of the cheese.

My biggest complaint is that the index is a bit lacking- though a number of specific producers are listed in the body of the book, they are completely overlooked in the index. I would also love to have the classifications or the milk-types gathered in the index, but that might make for an enormous index.

It seems like the information in this book would also lend itself very well to some sort of mobile app. The book's a little heavier than I want to be carrying to the market, but I'd love to have the information at my fingertips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book but needs to be updated, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
It is to my mind a bit outdated and doesn't go beyond the well-known types of cheese. A new edition should be surely required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheese Bible!, September 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
This book was my first formal insight into the world of cheeses and it provided all the basics that I needed, but has some very detailed descriptions on hundreds of cheeses from all over the world. The book has some introductory pages to introduce how the cheeses are classified, and then is organised by country, with a great index to enable easy search for any cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you know it is so simple, May 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
Another great book. Juliet Harbutt is able to tell in concise words all essence of what cheese have to offer.
An excellent companion book to guide novice and expert in their shopping list. Of course, you will not find the 1200 cheeses of France or the 300 of Canada nor the 400 of Italy but you will find a great opportunity to go in depth in a tour of taste of each country. With this book in your bag you can shop in London, Paris, Montreal, New York, Mexico or Dubai and be able to ask your cheese shop one of those gems. A great moment to develop your taste buds and share your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Cheese, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
Lots of really usable information, plus the photos are terrific. But then, it is, after all, from DK. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage with sufficient detail, September 17, 2014
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
If you just want one cheese book this is the one. It covers the making and storage of cheeses and covers the whole world locations. The details of a cheese are easy to follow with several pictures and all pertinent information on location, taste, pairing with food and wine, region, age, size, source and production areas.
Before I bought I thought that the coverage by region might be too sparce. I was wrong, for example over 200 cheeses are covered from France and about 150 in the UK and Ireland. This is as good as many region specific books. The regions are marked for each country to allow you to find regional cheeses when travelling.
Well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Primer on Cheese, May 1, 2011
By 
Patti Ialongo (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
This book covers the basics of cheesemaking and the different types of cheese, then goes into a description of lots of individual cheeses, classified by country. It's very useful for people wanting to explore different cheeses, contains useful information on how a cheese tastes and how to use it. I would have liked information on availability of these various types, which are only available in the country of origin, and which are exported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheese salesman, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Cheese Book (Hardcover)
I felt that with all the different cheese types available your selection was too limited.
I manage cheese sales in a very productive market and find that a larger selection would increase sales volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The World Cheese Book
The World Cheese Book by DK Publishing (Hardcover - October 5, 2009)
$25.00 $18.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.