Customer Reviews


566 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (157)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless This Movie
"Goldeneye" was great. "Tomorrow Never Dies" was good. "The World Is Not Enough" was excellent. Pierce Brosnan, no matter what cranky critics say, is a fantastic Bond, who is sort of like a melting pot of the past actor's best attributes. Connery's vicious edge, Moore's amusing wit, and Dalton's brutality. Another thing that makes Brosnan a keeper is that, like Connery...
Published on April 29, 2000 by Dave

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic 007
"The World Is Not Enough" (1999) could have been one of the finest Bonds. Pierce Brosnan's third installment features a terrific pre-credit chase sequence and two memorable 007 villains. Unfortunately, the movie suffers from a weak Bond heroine (a hopelessly miscast Denise Richards) and yet another humdrum climax. As with "Tomorrow Never Dies," the 007 formula undermines...
Published on May 3, 2000 by Scott T. Rivers


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless This Movie, April 29, 2000
By 
Dave (Bethel Park, Pa) - See all my reviews
"Goldeneye" was great. "Tomorrow Never Dies" was good. "The World Is Not Enough" was excellent. Pierce Brosnan, no matter what cranky critics say, is a fantastic Bond, who is sort of like a melting pot of the past actor's best attributes. Connery's vicious edge, Moore's amusing wit, and Dalton's brutality. Another thing that makes Brosnan a keeper is that, like Connery and Moore, he has fun with Bond. Dalton and Lazenby made the mistake of taking this as a serious acting job. It isn't. TWINE does have a great script which is understandable (I guess a lot of people who complained just weren't attentive, since very few modern movies require that.) Renard may have been a lame bad guy, but Carlisle did play him well and believably - isn't that all that counts? Denise Richards, however laughable she was as Christmas Jones, did well with her material. And, the way I look at it, she wasn't evne the main Bond woman this time around. Sophie Marceau is perhaps one of the sexiest Bond women ever to grace the silver screen. There was no doubt that she was the perfect choice for Elektra King, playing the good-girl gone bad to a tee. I hope she is more visible in future years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God, it has a plot!, April 3, 2000
By 
"emeraldavatar" (Jersey City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
I think right now, the 007 dynasty is damned-if-they-do and damned-if-they-don't. It seems every time they try to do something a little bit edgy or different from the usual formula, they get castigated by millions of viewers crying, "This is not we expected!", while the more formulaic films get lambasted for containing "all the usual lame gadgets and contrived stunts". Personally, I love it when the creators try to depart from the norm, and TWINE is one of the best examples of this. To begin with, it actually has a plot! I agree, it's not the best plot I've ever seen, but in Bond films the plot does not have to be airtight, and at least there is more to this one than the stupid action-driven premise of TND. Brosnan is seriously trying to portray 007 as a real person, rather than the suave superhero parody that Moore was trying to be. Carlyle is great as the new millenium's Jaws, although he is seriously underused. The action is not non-stop, but when it comes it is breathtakingly done. Come on, admit it - you never expected that second parafoil to open up, did you? Overall, I'd say this is the fifth best James Bond ever, much better than TND and leagues ahead of anything Moore or Dalton ever did. Just for comparison, my all-time favourite is Goldfinger, followed by FRWL, OHMSS, and Goldeneye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pierce Brosnan is definitly falling into the Bond Character, May 7, 2000
By 
Jon E. Hanford (A state of bliss) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is definitly the best of the new bond films. Pierce Brosnan is aproaching Connery like proportions with this film. If youre into bond films, heck, even if your'e not, this is a must see. Plus, the special features on the DVD are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger and Better!, May 21, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Here's a Bond film that deserves to be ranked among the best in the series. Along with the usual Bond formula of high tech gadgets, one-liners, and of course, the Bond girl(s), this latest installment also provides a story with a different twist. Throw in a combination of mind games, an unusual villain, exotic locales, and amazing stunts and you get an explosive, testosterone driven, eye-candy, action-packed thriller with a dash of high quality performances. One sequence in particular is the high adrenaline boat chase along the Thames River that takes place very early in the movie. Cool stuff!
The story delves much deeper into the psyche of James Bond than previous 007 flicks. Pierce Brosnan plays a much darker and vulnerable 007 in his third run as the British super agent spy James Bond. The World Is Not Enough also showcases the acting talents of Dame Judi Dench (who plays M) and Sophie Marceau as well as many others. John Cleese, of Monty Python fame, also plays a role in the movie as the heir apparent to Q. Every character played a larger role in this movie, in which, there were times when I felt James Bond was a supporting character rather than a leading one. There is definitely no shortage of star power in this movie.
A few things I didn't like about this movie (just my personal opinion mind you) were the opening Bond song, the paraglider-ski sequence, and the miniature scaled models. Yuck! Still though, this latest 007 thriller gives a good ride! Humor, international intrigue, and plenty of action. This is a James Bond of the 21st Century and I hope Pierce Brosnan sticks around to do many more like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bond movie with Action, Thrills and emotional touch, April 19, 2000
By 
Waqar (Qatar, Gulf) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie starts with a good action and stunt, but not strong enough enough to nock your socks of. As compared to this bond movies, the previous two bond movies started with a great stunt. The main villian Renard was good. But he dosn't looks strong, rather he looks like some confused thief. The movie has a good story line and a cool suspense theam. But as the story progress, you might feel it like a emotional movie rather than a typical bond one. The reason Bond gets emotional with Elektra King(sopphie Marceau) as he was getting involved with her to save her. The Bond girls are cool. The reason for giving this movie a 4 star is it has some action scences and thrills that adds this one to a good entertaining movie list. If you are a fan of bond movies or a movie collector and wanted to buy this movie on video. Then you must go for a DVD as its contain some great cool extra stuff that you want find in a VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bond is back, March 6, 2000
bond is back in this action thrill ride.more like the old ones with sean connery,and roger moore.it goes back to bonds roots showing that he's still serious,and at the same time has a charm,and loves women,and witty too. this bond movie is one of the best.a great openeing scene.great stunts start to finish.pierce brosnan gave it all in this one,way better than golden eye which is still good.anybody whose a bond fan will love this one.the plot has great twists and turns which i love.this is the best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond......James Bond, February 21, 2000
Pierce Brosnan's third outing as James Bond and a slew of controversy if it will be his last.
Feeling responsible for the death of a British oil tycoon and a friend, who died in an explosion in MI6 headquarters, James Bond takes position as bodyguard to the tycoon's daughter, Elektra (Sophie Marceau), who has a mysterious past and hidden agenda.
In recent weeks, Brosnan has gone on record saying he wants more revealing and sexier love scenes in Bond and he would love to see Bond killed off. He has also said he wouldn't mind leaving Bond behind. Are these the greatest things to be saying upon the opening of the film?
It would be such a shame when he seems to be playing Bond right and having a script that wants us to see more Bond.
I guess the next question to ask is who or what is Bond? And why that element makes a good Bond film. A superior Bond film is always in the script and the intrigue associated with a spy. In the latest film the script always has two levels going on coupled with a pain within Bond himself. These play off each other as the perpetual hero shows the signs of being human. In the past 5 Bond films they have been trying to make him more human and it really isn't till this one that they seem to have located the angle they sought. Betrayed, injured, and scorned are just some of the emotions I haven't seen in Bond in years. And that's exactly why this one works and why it's the best Bond in ten years.
With this revelation, director Michael Apted's action sequences and locales seem to be fleshed out and in the highest of Bond form. Apted pushes the envelope with a great Bond finale which pivots Bond and the villain dueling in a submarine spiraling towards the bottom of the ocean. This sequence is true Bond and reminds me a lot of the great climaxes of the 80's pictures.
Within the cast is the always brilliant Sophie Marceau who's innocent but brutal Elektra is going to be a fondly remembered Bond girl. Wasted is 2nd Bond girl Denise Richards who seems to be quite out of her element and made me thinking that these two could be father and daughter instead of lovers. Richards looks like a teen and is supposed to be a "Lara Croft type nuclear expert"? Rounding out the rest of the cast is "the man who can feel no pain" Renard played deviously by Robert Carlyle. Carlyle reminded me a lot of Sean Bean's 006 in "Goldeneye".
With this entry into the Bond vault I hope Brosnan comes back for at least two or three more. Connery and Moore did over six each why can't Brosnan. So here is to the continuation of the franchise. I hope the DVD release is every bit as good as the film and the previous Bond DVD releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World is not enough DVD, May 4, 2000
I was recently lucky enough to obtain an advance copy of the region 1 disc in England. I have been told the two main differeces between my copy and the U.k release will simply be a different graphical interface. The dvd is chocked full of special features, the best one however is a feature similar to that of Tomorrow Never Dies storyboard, however this time around you can opt to stop the action when a special symbol is displayed (007) and watch how that stunt etc was created- Fantastic. The quality of picture is excellent, I saw the premiere here in London, and the picture quality on my desktop p.c is sharp well detailed and clean. The sound however is where the disc really excels. The boat sequence in particular picks up every splash and bullet. Forget the Matrix, this dvd is the new showcase by which all other dvd releases will be judged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The World is Not Enough - Was the storyline enough?, June 7, 2000
I enjoyed this movie but a few things bothered me. I think Denise Richards is a beautiful woman but she's not convincing enough as a top nuclear scientist. Sophie Marceau is sexy and does a good job. I don't know too much about Robert Carlyle but he did well as a villain. Seeing Judi Dench as M was very cool but it's not so much the fault with the acting it's the plot.
It's good but it didn't have the "OOMF" that I usually get from previous Bond films. Oh, the action and effects were top notch and you can see so in the secrets segment of the DVD but the goal for the producers was to see a new side of Bond. Thus they selected Michael Apted to direct the film. His previous movies were not action. They were good movies such as "Coal Miner's Daughter", "Gorillas in the Midst" and "Nell". Three very cool movies but non-action. It was a bold move. I guess we are treated with a side of James Bond that we are not used to seeing. A Bond that shows his rage. Is something new, something good? Either way, I enjoyed the movie and it's very good and different from the others. Maybe another woman as a nuclear scientist and not a young 20+ year old? I guess I'm used to seeing older women as Bond's ladies and not someone so young but it's OK. Denise Richards is very beautiful and she's a talented actress.
First, let's discuss the audio and video. The audio is great and at first I questioned about the surround in the early beginning but then I started to hear the surround later on. I was expecting a lot more through the boat scenes in terms of audio but throughout the movie, the sound becomes prominent. The audio is well done throughout the film and is a good highlight for this DVD. The video is pretty good and MGM did a great job. I don't think I recall seeing any artifacts and no horrendous switch to the new layer. It's anamorphic, so be happy!
As for the DVD, The menu is done really well, interactive, computer generated and very nice. Similar to the MATRIX DVD where you can see how they created some scenes in the movie, this DVD allows you to see "The Secrets of 007" where if you see the 007, with a press on your remote, you can access the making of certain scenes and see the storyboards which is nice. The GARBAGE music video for "The World is not Enough" is pretty cool. I always felt she is a freaky woman, I like their music but she's freaky. The video is very cool and they must of spent a lot of money on it. For commentary freaks, you get two. One from the director and the other from the production designer, unit director and composer. Also, the booklet included is pretty cool but booklets would be nice if they included it on the DVD as well.
Welcome to a new Bond and a chance to share the psyche of the agent known as 007. A very good DVD but a new side of Bond that I was not easily open to but it was a pretty damn good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You like Bond? Then you'll love this., March 5, 2000
Listen, I don't really care what you've heard from others. People are always complaining about the weak points of this movie and rating it less than what a real Bond fan would. What I'm trying to say is this movie has no weak point. It's the action and the suspence that should get you, not what you think you've seen in all the other Bond films. So for all you Bond fans out there, don't listen to these complaints from these Bond critics. Trust me, it will be the 19th greatest movie you've ever seen.(including the other 18 bond films)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacf1cd8c)

This product

The World Is Not Enough
The World Is Not Enough by Michael Apted (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $8.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.