Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary reading
Melanie Phillips is doing her best to understand the modern world. I guess many of us are, but she is really giving it the old college try.

She joins R. Emmett Tyrrell (see After the Hangover: The Conservatives' Road to Recovery for his latest) in a new and laudable effort: nailing down elements of what Tyrrell calls the Kultursmog, a term which I will now...
Published on May 14, 2010 by Geoff Puterbaugh

versus
9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty decent, but a bit windy.
This book is very interesting.

One gets the impression that the author writes/ has written a large number of manuscripts and she chose from among those many in order to put together a book. From that, it follows that the book can be read out of order (which it can). There are 18 essays in 409 pages, which works out to be just under 23 pages for an average...
Published on October 31, 2011 by Lemas Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary reading, May 14, 2010
By 
Geoff Puterbaugh (Chiang Mai, T. Suthep, A. Muang Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
Melanie Phillips is doing her best to understand the modern world. I guess many of us are, but she is really giving it the old college try.

She joins R. Emmett Tyrrell (see After the Hangover: The Conservatives' Road to Recovery for his latest) in a new and laudable effort: nailing down elements of what Tyrrell calls the Kultursmog, a term which I will now steal and English as: Cultural Smog. James Piereson has defined this Strange Smog as: "the Liberal understanding of events ratified as a matter of morals and etiquette within the media and academe." This Cultural Smog is so pervasive that you cannot escape it: it pollutes everything.

Phillips devotes four chapters to four different elements of this Cultural Smog. They are (1) Environmental Armageddon (2) the Iraq War (3) Misrepresentation of Israel (4) Scientific Triumphalism. And each of these subjects could be treated in a book!

The first item of the Cultural Smog, which pervades all media and academic jabberwocky, is the Myth of Environmental Armageddon. In the year 2010, this has its own particular annoying particulates, such as totally ignoring Climategate, the resignation of Phil Jones in disgrace, and Jones' subsequent confession that he had lost his data. For more detail, you want to read this book! :-)

The second item in the Cultural Smog, the Iraq War, needs to be described carefully and precisely. We are NOT talking about principled, reasoned difference of opinion: we are talking about Code Pink and the New York Times perpetrating the obvious fiction that "Bush lied, thousands died." As Phillips memorably and accurately states, "a glance at what was said at the time...shows that this was not so." At least for those who still have enough command of English to distinguish between a "lie" and a "mistake." Most of those emitting Cultural Smog pretend to be incapable of such subtle distinctions ("It doesn't MATTER whether Bush believed what he said or not," as someone memorably put it). Further elements in the Grand Irrationality about the Iraq War include "Bush-Hitler," and other items detailed by Phillips.

The third item, Misrepresentation of Israel, deserves volumes in itself. One such volume is: Unholy Alliance: Radical Islam and the American Left. I would be wasting your time and mine if I went into more detail. I recommend reading this book instead.

The fourth item, Scientific Triumphalism, may be the most important on the current list. Triumphalists such as Richard Dawkins imagine that science has disproved religion, and is here to explain everything to a waiting humanity. The most interesting volume taking these self-important blowhards to pieces is: The Devil's Delusion: Atheism and its Scientific Pretensions. How did this become such an important part of the Cultural Smog? I am not sure, but I can tell you a definite symptom: when I was young, it was literally unheard of for an atheist to run for President. It was considered important that JFK won as a Catholic. Nelson Rockefeller could not run because he was a divorced man. By the year 2010, anyone running for political office had to be defensive about his religion, and the sort of "religion" preached by Jeremiah Wright was regarded as "better" than the mainstream Protestantism of such "yokels" as Sarah Palin.

All of this deserves a good challenge, and Melanie Phillips does yeoman work outlining that challenge.

I have glanced ahead at her proposed solution, and I find that a little problematic. She claims that reason developed from Jewish monotheism, and says we need to get back to that. What I found problematic was her way-too-casual dismissal of Greek and Roman philosophy. From my own study of history, it seems clear to me that pagan philosophy played an extremely important role in the development of Catholic theology --- that the dynamic European civilization which gave birth to the Renaissance and then to science was a result of Judaeo-Christian beliefs working together with Graeco-Roman systems of thought. Melanie Phillips seems to think that Rabbinical Judaism alone could have accomplished this. We will never know, of course, but I doubt it.

All of which is another reason to recommend that you get this book and read it. I would also recommend taking a good long look at The Closing of the Muslim Mind: How Intellectual Suicide Created the Modern Islamist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rational thinking, April 22, 2010
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
In order for Western Civilization to survive, it is vital that we think rationally about the problems we face. Many do not know how to think rationally. Part of the blame lies with our university professors, who often teach dogma instead of rationality. This book clarifies these issues. Individuals must learn how not to trust our leaders, and how to think critically. Although she is not a scientist, she discusses phony science. For an additional comments about false groupthink in science, see [...], the article about the aura of Einstein. I gave it 5 stars for it is essential that we know about the nonsense we hear from everywhere and how we can fight it.

An excellent book about rational thinking, see Rational Thinking, Government Policies, Science, and Living. Rational thinking starts with clearly stated principles, continues with logical deductions, and then examines empirical evidence to possibly modify the principles.

We need to focus on education. Muslim schools teach rote. Students memorize and repeat without questioning. We need to challenge this form of education. We need to educate our students to be rational. See Teaching and Helping Students Think and Do Better: Things to Help Students Think and To Do Better in School and In Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Worldwide Rational War Concerning God, Reason, and Progress, May 6, 2010
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
It's more than a little odd that countless secular intellectuals and academicians not only lack an absolute epistemic ground, but they maintain power and make a living promoting irrationality; hence much of the global political goals are alogical as deference for the anti-rational and anti-ethical is advanced. In "The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power," Melanie Phillips provides a fine assessment of the massive problems within the evolution of the global culture as well as the proper approach necessary to enact a turnaround.

Phillips reveals that irrationality is manifested in the affirmation of:

- pretending that violent religious views are the fault of their victims
- the growth of bizarre cults
- para-psychology
- paganism and witchcraft
- nonsensical conspiracy theories.

The fundamental moving source of the global lunacy is the embrace of an irrational worldview as the architects of culture reject much of Western civilization. The astute author argues that it was "Christianity and the Hebrew Bible that gave us our concepts of reason, progress and an orderly world--the foundations of science and modernity." I would make the distinction that CT(Christian Theism) and the Bible furnish the epistemic wellspring, absolute ethical ground, and consistency within the motivation for progress (as well as a standard to judge progress) and not just a discovery of the right application of reason. Yes the Greeks exhibited history changing philosophical notions, and the Romans build imperial governance, and other cultures have advanced numerous significant concepts, but CT provides the immutable universal absolutes necessary to account for reason, advancement, and true truth.
There Are Moral Absolutes: How to Be Absolutely Sure That Christianity Alone Supplies

Herein this exceptional blogger presents a rock-solid case that demonstrates:

- the West has replaced revealed religion with biased ideology and applied prejudice
- a "secular Inquisition" has wrought a "mass derangement, as truth and lies, right and wrong, victim and aggressor are all turned upside down."
- that pseudo witch-hunts demonize global warming skeptics and the nation of Israel
- a self-defeating view of Islamic aggression is detrimental to peace: "While the Islamists are intent on returning the free world to the seventh century, the West no longer seems willing or able to defend the modernity and rationalism that it brought into being."

I know that without CT, nothing can supply the paradigm for universal moral absolutes. Society needs an absolute universal moral law to evaluate what is best and what is good, or it will fall into barbarism. Deny God, moral choices are indistinguishable, imprecise, and unintelligible. CT is the only rational precondition for moral absolutes. CT is inescapable. Men may try to escape absolute moral decrees, but without them, life can only lead to despair, pain, and confusion.

This impressive and readable volume is endorsed by:

-Richard S. Lindzen (MIT)
-Norman Podhoretz
-R. James Woolsey (former Director of the CIA)
-William Kristol (The Weekly Standard)

Phillips has conferred a tour de force for the necessity of the confirmation and application of the Western worldview as the means to bring further advancement through reason and ethical absolutes. This volume is a treasure trove of rich information concerning worldviews as it addresses a multitude of relevant topics. For scholars and non-academicians alike, this is a must read and a potent resource for all who seek reason and justice.

This admirable volume makes a great gift to help enlighten your friends or loved-ones who are immersed in willful blindness, perpetual self-deception, and bizarre wishful thinking concerning the global state of affairs.
------
See the New Book that contends for the existence of God by Mike Robinson:
Truth, Knowledge and the Reason for God: The Defense of the Rational Assurance of Christianity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking at our western culture with measured reason, June 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
This book develops a reasoned argument for the author's point of view. If you are caught up in ideology, read this book with an open mind (is that possible) at risk of abandoning your ideologically driven views in favor of rational ones.

From the books starting words, it delivers.

This book arose from a sense of perplexity and cultural disorientation. It appears that much of the public discourse has departed sharply from reality. Self-evident common sense appears to have been turned on its head. Reality seems to have been recast, with fantasies recalibrated as facts while demonstrable truths are dismissed as a matter of opinion at best, or as evidence of some sinister "right-wing" plot. This isn't just a question of disagreement over issues or policies. Those who dissent are vilified as beyond the pale, and many fear speaking up. The phenomenon has affected not just the political sphere, where ideology often crowds out facts, for event parts of the scientific domain have given in to irrationality. Over a diverse range of issues, such as the war in Iraq, Israel and the Palestinians, manmade global warming and Darwinism - not to mention all the "phobias" and "isms" such as homophobia, racism and sexism - no debate is possible because there is to be no dissent from positions that are indisputably true and right.

Except that they are not. The planet is supposedly about to fry or drown and succumb to epidemic famine and disease because of manmade global warming - but all the evidence suggests that there is nothing untoward about the climate at all, let alone that mankind is responsible for an imminent catastrophe. We are told repeatedly that were "taken to war in Iraq on a lie" - but a glance at what was actually said at the time by President George W. Bush and Prime Minister Tony Blair shows that this was not so. As for Israel, its representation as the regional aggressor is both historically and currently false, while the obsessive campaign of demonization mounted against it looks positively unhinged. Nearer to home, self-designated "victim groups" have turned right and wrong, victim and aggressor inside out. Their "right" not to be insulted or discriminated against in any way has become the basis for discrimination and injustice against the representatives of majority values.

... Melanie Phillips

and she delivers a book that develops its well thought arguments carefully. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The war of worldviews, May 17, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
In the West we are involved in a war of worldviews. On the one side is the Judeo-Christian worldview. Opposed to it are various contenders, chief of which are two main rivals: radical secular leftism, and radical Islam. Indeed, Phillips notes the many striking similarities between the Western progressives and the Islamists.

Both are a threat to the free West and to Judeo-Christian values because both are involved in coercive utopianism; both demonise any dissent from their ideology; and both have declared war against Israel and the Jewish people. And often these two forces find themselves working together in their assault on the Judeo-Christian West.

In this volume the incisive British journalist examines in detail these and related threats, and highlights how successful these attacks have been in the past few decades. Those familiar with her regular columns for the Spectator and other publications will find familiar ground here.

But this volume allows her to take her brief opinion pieces and develop them in much more depth and detail. In 18 meaty chapters she chronicles this war of worldviews, and demonstrates how very much at risk Western civilisation in fact is. She clearly delineates "The global battle over God, truth, and power" as the subtitle puts it.

She covers quite a bit of ground in this substantial volume. She offers a wide-ranging probe into the problems we face and the reasons behind them. Various confrontations with the Judeo-Christian worldview are explored in some detail. For example, she has chapters on the radical environmental movement, including the global warming crowd.

She assesses the politicisation of science and how radical agendas are being pushed in the name of science. She also notes how scientism has replaced hard science, whether among the atheistic Darwinists or the climate change true believers.

She also assesses the suicidal tendencies of the West over the past few centuries, noting how a collapse in the belief in God turned out not to be liberating as imagined, but enslaving. The rise of totalistic police states, coercive utopias, and depersonalising social engineering, has been among the bitter fruit of the attempt to sacralise man while dethroning God.

About a third of the book deals with Israel and the war against the Jews. Phillips looks at how Israel so often gets a bad press from the mainstream media, and how both the Islamists and the political left seem to have Israel in their sites.

Like all writers, she had an obvious point of reference which she proceeds from. She happens to be English, and Jewish. Thus while the Western world is discussed in general, much of her commentary focuses on the UK in particular.

And as a Jewish author, she has certain takes on other monotheistic faith systems. She calls herself "an agnostic although traditionally minded Jew". She obviously sees Islam as a clear enemy of the Jews and of Israel. With Christianity she makes more obvious distinctions.

She rightly recognises that Protestant evangelicals are "passionately supportive of Israel" while the liberal progressive churches are mainly hostile to the nation. She sees the established Church of England as especially tainted by leftist, pagan and secular nostrums and values, including contempt for Israel.

My admittedly biased Protestantism finds what may be biases on her part concerning Christianity. She can be guilty of somewhat sweeping or overloaded charges, such as: "Medieval Christianity - like contemporary Islamism - stamped out dissent by killing or conversion".

Or she can say rather sloppily, "the New Testament accuses the Jews of deicide and curses them for all time". Leaving aside some of these unfortunate and somewhat reckless remarks, one can take much from the book as a whole. Phillips has been a tireless defender of the West and its democratic freedoms, and she has been quite bold in promoting Christian freedoms.

As she notes, "Christianity is under direct and unremitting cultural assault from those who want to destroy the bedrock values of Western civilization." She has often defended the Christian faith when so many Christians have been unwilling or unable to do so.

Indeed, her passion in this regard puts many Christians to shame. She rightly is perplexed and dismayed at the war against the West, and why so many Westerners - including Christians - are simply standing by, watching it collapse around them.

Indeed, she finishes her book by asking whether the West in fact wants to defend itself and its many important goods any longer. Or, could it be that "Western civilization has now reached a point where it has stopped trying to survive"?

That is certainly the question of the hour. Do we have the will to resist, or have we already raised the white flag of surrender? Phillips has done her part in sounding the alarm, detailing the war we are in, and highlighting the many battlefronts this war is waging on.

She has done her service admirably. It is hoped that readers of this important book will then do theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary for Survival, June 3, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
I will be brief. Others have provided details. This is necessay to our survival. Either we read this book and others like it or our civilization perishes and we go with it. I for one will not outlive America. I could not bear it. Others might think that this is all overly dramatic but it isn't. I live in New York City. The first two major structures that will be opening at the former World Trade Center site in lower Manhattan will be two enormous Islamic centers (15 and 18 storeys high), justified as needed meeting and party space for the growing Moslem community in New York. The largely commercial area in down town Manhattan will be the site for Jihadi celebrations of our destructions and New York's mayor, of Jewish birth, applauds while most New Yorkers weep and worry. May I suggest that we also read this book and try to stop the destruction that threatens us? Please wakeup. Thank you Ms. Phillips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defending the West: A Users Guide, March 21, 2011
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
In 2005, when Bat Ye'or published her seminal book Eurabia, it single-handedly started a sub-culture of writing dedicated towards one subject, the Islamisation of Europe. Each chapter of Eurabia inspired whole books in themselves dedicated to exploring the various ideas in that book further. States side, these warnings did not go unnoticed, with many of those books becoming best sellers.

While Melanie Phillips has been around long before this movement started, she nevertheless contributed to it with her first book in the genre, Londonistan. In Londonistan, Phillips looked at various areas of life in the UK and the institutions being slowly `Islamised'. But she finished that great little book with her trademark prodigious articulation, summing up the situation brilliantly, she wrote:

"What the free world has failed to grasp is that terrorism is not the biggest threat we face. It is instead the ideology that drives it. [...]The principal battleground is the world of ideas. [...]The liberal West, which worships at the shrine of reason and makes such a fetish of the power of the intellect, refuses to acknowledge that ideas can kill. As a result Britain, Europe, America and Israel have all left the battleground of ideas totally undefended".

In `The World Turned Upside Down' she picks up where Londonistan left off, and in what she has achieved here is very much taking the gauntlet from Bat Ye'or, and providing chapter two in this saga; not only the Western response (or lack of it) to its Islamisation, but to the pervading irrationality in so many other areas of our society.

In this book, Melanie Phillips, winner of the George Orwell prize for journalism takes a Socratic meander around many of the issues relevant to today's society, and at the same time demolishes positions held by the anti-war movement, the global warming advocates, the pro-Palestinian activists/jihadists and atheists (amongst others). She brilliantly shows that far from their positions on such issues being incontrovertible, and the very pinnacle of enlightened sophistication, they are at best seriously questionable, and at worst, downright ridiculous.

When I first looked at the chapter layout, the order and content seemed a little strange and unbalanced. But this is a masterly composition and the further you read the more the underlying picture of where Melanie's going begins to take shape. Half way through the book she changes gear and goes into a history of Western thought, and how the Enlightenment unravelled. Here she covers a lot of the same territory of Jonah Goldberg, but much more accessibly. But while Goldberg was great in showing that the foundations of fascist thought lie in liberal thinking (not conservative), he was lacking in the follow through; constantly apologising and reiterating that he wasn't calling liberals Nazis. But here, Melanie not only remains a lot more focused on what this information reveals, her diagnosis incorporating many strands, such as psychology, philosophy, and religious moral teachings, shows a real understanding and mastery of her subjects. As far as the contents, she covers a great deal; everything from the God vs. Atheism debate (leaving the likes of Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens to a rather large dose of humble pie!), the irrationality of those even within the scientific community towards their fellow scientists who profess scepticism towards manmade global warming theory; she summarises the key intellectual Islamist writers, such as Sayyed Kutb, Mawlani Maududi, Tariq Ramadan et al; and of course, the key targets of the politically correct bring the key battlegrounds of multiculturalism, Israel and God.

It is pretty difficult to convey just how excited one should become over this book without giving away her arguments. But suffice it to say that if enough people read this highly accessible book, they will be armed with what are surely to be the last word in these topics for a very long time to come.

I own a small library of books which I'm dying to get through. By my calculations, it will take me another four and a half years to read through them all, but in the few weeks I've had `The World Turned Upside Down' I've read this book twice. Anyone you know, every leader in government who still has an ounce of Enlightenment-instinct remaining, needs to read this. In Britain, I would recommend every conservative and Church leader, every Rabbi and other individual who loves the West, get to know what lies within these pages. With this book, Melanie Phillips is clearly emerging as a thinker with few peers. But in our hour of need, she has provided a light unto believers, the truth and the West.

Further reading:

Retreat of Reason: Political Correctness & the Corruption of Public Debate

United in Hate: The Left's Romance with Tyranny and Terror

History Upside Down: The Roots of Palestinian Fascism and the Myth of Israeli Aggression

America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It

Radical-in-Chief: Barack Obama and the Untold Story of American Socialism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fascinating book, May 10, 2010
By 
Jeff Peirce (Salt Lake City, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
Melanie Phillips must be the last conservative in England. That, of course, is an exaggeration, but not much of an exaggeration. She surely goes against the grain in a country which has moved far to the left. Even Barack Obama would need time to get America moved to the the same place England currently occupies.

In "The World Turned Upside Down," Phillips looks at the syptoms, and causes of the current decline of the west.
She goes into such things as the fanatical belief in evolution, the disdain for "intelligent design," the environmental
movement, pseudo-science, the spread of militant Islam, anti-Semitism, and the retreat of Judeo/Christian culture.

I found the book to be very readable and interesting. I was particularly interested in Phillip's section on what passes for science, and the religious importance of the "green" movement and "global warming."

If you wonder why the west has lost its mind, and how we got to the place we are now, the book is worth reading.
You might, or might not agree with all of Melanie Phillips' conclusions, but you will surely find them
fascinating and well argued.

This book is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Those Who Want To Know Why The World Seems Insane, June 6, 2013
By 
J. McBrearty (Lexington, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You may have an inkling that the insanity that now reigns supreme in Britain and America has some root cause that their leaders seem unable to deal with. You may also suspect that cause is being hidden away in a drawer somewhere at #10 Downing and 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue--like a horrible photo of your senior prom. It's hideous, but you can't bring yourself to throw it away because it's part of you now. The cause of rudderless leadership is to be found in histories that the media no longer considers politicall correct or even relevant. Israel, for instance. How many people know the religious roots of the founding of Israel, and I don't mean Judaism, but Bible-based Christianity. Isn't all Christianity based on the Bible? Yes, but some Christians are more literal than others. So what? The more a Christian sect reveres the Old testament, the more it supports the Jews and Israel's claim to the Holy Lands. How many people know that there was never a state of Palestine, and that the "Palestinians" are actually folks from Syria and it wasn't until Yasser Arafat came along that the whole notion of a Palestinian identity as a separate Arab state was created?

Why is the public so ill-informed and thus ill served by the reluctance of the media to report the facts about terrorism---there I've said the "T" word out loud! Phillips explains it to us: the media has adopted Liberalism to the point where it despises all its other children. Objective truth. Accuracy. Facts. In short, its values have been sacrificed on the altar of secular humanism that rejects all external reality and substitutes reason and the scientific method with pseudo-science and elite ideology. The results are disastrous. Multicultural appreciation has turned into a dogma that has successfully invited the enemies of Western culture into the countries that benefited most from it. In the name of tolerance and equality, Western leaders have denigrated and all but destroyed the cultural legacy that outstripped and has outshone Muslim culture; what our leaders apologize for is Western achievement. As though apologizing for recognized flaws, like slavery, means apologizing for undeniable philanthropy. What other culture has produced the means to feed billions of people around the globe, and is willing to supply every nation (including its enemies) with humanitarian aid?

Phillips not only makes the intellectual and historical case for the preservation of Western values, which includes the liberation and education of women, tolerance of homosexuality, and civil right protection for minorities, but also demonstrates the absolute necessity for them for the world to be put right again. In other words, England and America have more in common with the religion of the Jews than with Islamofascism that is predicated on the destruction of all things Western. But why do the media ignore where our interests lie?

Liberalism and its bastards. For example, Phillips gives in depth consideration to the scientific hoax known as global warming that is decidedly and purposely anti-human. For a pristine planet, we humans must literally die off and those who are left must reject modernity altogether. (Think of her argument as Luddites with political clout!) Then there's the messianic nature of Liberal ideology that is a religion---Marxism, Islam, Fascism, Nazism---all these isms that believe the end (utopian nirvana) justifies the means and that always---always---sacrifice the individual to the collective, subjugate individual rights to collective rights, and substitute love of God with the love of the state. And always---always---end in totalitarianism.

Phillips' book is bone-achingly steeped in history, philosophy, rationality and adult reasoning, yet is frighteningly easy to understand. It is packed with "aha!" moments that make you say, "I knew it!" when you did know but didn't know why you knew. This is a book everyone should read, even committed Liberals. It may be what they need to wake themselves from the nightmare they are living, a nightmare that must end because, if it doesn't, the jihadi terrorists will continue to hack people to death in the streets of London and blow up marathon runners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposure of the hypocrisy mendacity and irrationality of much of Western society today, September 13, 2010
This review is from: The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power (Hardcover)
The Western world, as Melanie Phillips sees it is in the grip of irrationality resulting from its first loss of faith in Religion, and then subsequent loss of faith in Reason itself. She points to the cultic culture and the rule of pagan irrationality in much of Western culture today. She also has a chapter on 'Scientism' in which she attacks the arrogance of the New Atheists, whose most prominent representative is Richard Dawkins. She also has a chapter debunking Global Warming.
Her sense is that the West has lost its way, given in to Irrationality. And she points most convincingly to the alliance of Radical Islam and the Radical Left in demonizing and aiming to destroy Israel. In the strongest part of the book she shows how Israel which has fought a series of defensive wars has been in the West's new narrative made the 'aggressor'. Her exposure of the two- faced hypocrisy and anti- Semitism of much of the media in the West is a strong point in the work.
I should point out that Phillips has been a courageous and strong defender of Israel in her native Britain. She has come under vicious attack again and again often at the hands of a paper she once worked for, 'The Guardian'. But she has held her own and made time and again a strong rational and to my mind correct defense of Israel.
I also believe she is really on to something in connected Western irrationality with the loss of religious faith.
But I have reservations on her views of global warming. I believe the story of the development of Western Civilization far more complex than what she makes of it in this work.
But all in all this is a very strong and thought- provoking work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The World Turned Upside Down: The Global Battle over God, Truth, and Power
Used & New from: $0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.