Customer Reviews


704 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (165)
3 star:
 (124)
2 star:
 (77)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World's End
The World's End will be released on Blu-Ray November 19th.

Below is the list of supplemental features and my brief review of the film:

*Feature Commentary with Writers Edgar Wright & Simon Pegg
*Technical Commentary with Director Edgar Wright and Director of Photography Bill Pope
*Cast Commentary with Simon Pegg, Nick Frost & Paddy...
Published 15 months ago by Graham Swearingen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weaves in and out of sophmoric and maniacal story-telling ... some genuine funnies
yeah ... hard to rate. It wasn't until half way in that the film picked up. Most of the time it was Simon Pegg acting distressingly manic to the point where I wondered if he was constantly dislocating his shoulder from all the coat-tail flinging he was doing. There were a few moments when something interesting happened, and then it got all Douglas Adams but more boring at...
Published 11 months ago by Tiffany C. Hoyt


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World's End, August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The World's End will be released on Blu-Ray November 19th.

Below is the list of supplemental features and my brief review of the film:

*Feature Commentary with Writers Edgar Wright & Simon Pegg
*Technical Commentary with Director Edgar Wright and Director of Photography Bill Pope
*Cast Commentary with Simon Pegg, Nick Frost & Paddy Considine
*U-Control - Storyboard Picture in Picture
*Deleted Scene
*Outtakes
*Alternate Edits
*Completing the Golden Mile: The Making of The World's End
*Director at Work
*Pegg + Frost = Fried Gold
*Friends Reunited
*Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy
*Filling in the Blanks: The Stunts and FX of The World's End
*Animatics
*Hair and Make-Up Tests
*Rehearsal Footage
*Stunt Tapes
*VFX Breakdown
*Bits and Pieces
*There's Only One Gary King: Osymyso's Inibri-8 Megamix
*Signs & Omens
*Edgar & Simon's Flip Chart
*Trailers
*TV Spots
*TV Safe Version
*Galleries
*Trivia Track

The Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy ends in a very epic way. Shaun of the Dead was a gore fest Zombie film, Hot Fuzz was an over the top, non-stop action romp. The World's End is a sci-fi flick that for me, seemed very reminiscent of Doctor Who. These films may just seem like they are paying homage to genre films on the surface, but all three of these films are anchored in friendship and maturing and have a believable, emotional weight to them. I thought the very epic ending to The World's End was f#@&ing brilliant. I also enjoyed the way the Corentto Ice Cream was worked into this film, the gags that parallel Shaun and Fuzz, the whole thing is done very cleverly. Great soundtrack with tons of songs from the 1990's, great one liners like we've come to expect from Wright and Pegg's writing. Don't listen to the critics giving this a mediocre review. It's hard to say which of the three films I like best, I suppose it depends on my mood. The story and characters of The World's End resonated with me maybe even more so than Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. It's a very fitting third act to this trilogy. It certainly made me laugh more than Hot Fuzz. If you liked Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz, or even love them as I do, you won't be disappointed with The World's End. FULLY APPROVED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys are Back in Town, August 27, 2013
By 
V. Berk (United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Comedy is hard. Delivering consistently outstanding comedies seems near impossible these days, but with The World's End the team of Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, and Nick Frost have delivered yet another hilarious, genre bending film, this time setting their scopes on classic science-fiction. The film features the action comedy one would expect from the team, but also succeeds in arguably possessing Simon Pegg's best performance to date.

The World's End begins on a semi-realistic note. Four friends in 1990 attempted to complete the Golden Mile: 12 pubs, 12 pints, one night. All of them have moved on to productive careers except for the former ringleader Gary King (Simon Pegg). After suffering a psychiatric breakdown and determined to regain his youth Gary coerces the group together to take one last shot at the Golden Mile. But coming home isn't always easy as the gang soon discovers that the townspeople are being replaced by robots. Despite all this Gary leads the gang onward determined to reach the final pub: The World's End.

Simon Pegg as Gary King is childish, pitiful, and manipulative which makes for a great role reversal with Nick Frost (who has played goofy characters in the previous films) now being the serious, take charge figure of the group. The science-fiction plot is handled with great care and is inspired most directly by Invasion of the Body Snatchers and with some elements of apocalyptic fiction. Particularly worth noting when discussing the robots is Pierce Brosnan, who arrives as the boy's former teacher and nails a chilling speech detailing the unknown alien entity's plans. If you enjoy The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy brand of sci-fi absurdity than you'll feel right at home.

As with any Edgar Wright film the audience is also treated to several unique action scenes as the fellas tear their way through the army of robot townsfolk, spilling blue blood wherever they go. Edgar Wright is an inventive director and is clearly right in his element, and although they don't top the shootout in Hot Fuzz you're bound to be entertained by these sequences.

Of the trilogy The World's End is the most emotional the team has delivered. We laugh, but Gary King's life is a tragedy and Simon Pegg's performance perfectly captures a man stuck in the past. There's still the absurdity, and tongue-in-cheekness of Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, but The World's End has a meatier emotional center because of Simon Pegg's performance. If you loved Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz you'll undoubtedly love The World's End. It is a thoughtful comedy despite its absurdity and is sure to leave you with a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, but a lot of fun, November 23, 2013
By 
Joey Morgan "Unabashed book junkie" (Royal Manticoran Navy Third Fleet) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World's End (Amazon Instant Video)
Not as good as Hot Fuzz or Shaun of the Dead, but it definitely has its moments. Some of the jokes are pretty lame, others are clever. If you liked their other movies you'll enjoy this one, but I doubt I'll watch in again, and I re-watch Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead about once a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good time in England, August 25, 2013
By 
This review is from: The World's End (DVD)
This is a theatrical review and there may be spoilers...unless you've seen the trailers.

This hilarious British comedy features the same folks who brought us "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz" so get ready for a good time. This time out, 5 old friends decide to return to their small home town best known for having the world's first roundabout and The Golden Mile. The later features a series of 12 pubs concluding at The World's End. Twenty years earlier the boys only made it half way before youthful drinking incapacitated them.

Four of the five have moved on, but Gary King (Simon Pegg) aka "The King" (how original) hasn't. He still wears the same tee-shirt over the same long trench coat that he did we he was 20. He still drives the same car (The Beast), is still irresponsible and well, you get the picture. He decides it would be a good idea to go back home and start over and this time complete their original goal of 1 pint of beer (minimum) at each of the 12 pubs. The other 4, Andy (Nick Frost), Oliver (Martin Freeman), Steven (Paddy Considine), and Peter (Eddie Marsan), reluctantly give in and off they go.

Along the way, we get plenty of in-the-car-bickering mostly between the alcoholic Gary and the now teetotaler Andy. Directed and co-written (with Pegg) by Edgar Wright, we get just the right amount of obnoxiousness from Gary without wanting to strangle him. In other words, he's funny. Now all of these would seem a bit much after a while as the guys get progressively drunk, but things get a bit weird. At first Gary notices that the bartenders don't recognize him. Others seem to be the same age as they were when he left. Rosamund Pike is introduced midway as the Oliver's sister and former love crush of Steven and Gary. It's pretty much a thankless role. But she being sober, notices the same aloofness of the locals.

If you've seen the trailers, you know that the town has been overrun by some strangers who ooze blue blood and emit bright light from their eyes and mouth. Androids to be sure, but the boys just call them robots. In fact, in one of the funnier scenes, the guys sit around the table, pints in hand, and try to come up a name for the robots. Unable to reach a consensus they just call them the "blanks." Got to love it. As the quintet continue their mission, they have to avoid the "blanks" who want the guys to adapt rather than fight.

But the guys are more concerned about getting to The World's End. For Gary, it is clearly his mission in life. The final act is a doozy with some surprisingly funny and well-staged fight scenes and some hilarious byplay between Gary and a character played by Bill Nighy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World's End was my favorite movie in 2013. And several other years, besides., November 23, 2013
This review is from: The World's End (DVD)
Hey, come on, haters. This is my favorite of the Pegg-Frost-Wright movies. For once, the guys are adults and trying to figure out how to get by. It may have fewer out-and-out laughs than the others because this movie is deliberately more serious, less goofy (though still awfully funny), with characters that seem like actual people. It's not Shaun & Fuzz, but it isn't supposed to be. It's the best acting that Simon Pegg has done, even though his character is abrasive and on a downhill slide and on a search for redemption. You can't really expect them to keep doing the exact same shtick over and over now that they've become adults. (I mean, Nick Frost has to be sick of having to play slobs. I expect he's actually more like the character in this film.) The World's End still has the sweetness of the other films in the trilogy, even if there is more conflict between the characters. Pegg & Frost are still soulmates, even if they're not so sure they like each other anymore. Aliens aside, the movie is more realistic than the others, and this may be part of the reason it's disappointing to some people. But it's the reason that I cared more about it. I give them so much credit for taking risks. Not that I don't still love Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. I just love this one more. And can't wait to see all of the add-ons here on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weaves in and out of sophmoric and maniacal story-telling ... some genuine funnies, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
yeah ... hard to rate. It wasn't until half way in that the film picked up. Most of the time it was Simon Pegg acting distressingly manic to the point where I wondered if he was constantly dislocating his shoulder from all the coat-tail flinging he was doing. There were a few moments when something interesting happened, and then it got all Douglas Adams but more boring at the end. I watched it because Simon Pegg is a genius. I think he's grown up to the point where he can stop with sophmorism and begin to explore the meaning of life--of course through the lense of his brilliant wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments., December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was just okay and no where near the greatness of either Hot Fuzz or Shawn of the Dead. I'm a fan of these guys, but this movie just didn't do it for me. The story just kind of meandered for a bit where it looked like one movie and then all of a sudden it was a completely different movie. I know this was intentional, but neither story was all that interesting. I guess I just don't understand why these guys gave two craps about Simon Pegg's character in the first place? Plus, I knew while watching both Hot Fuzz and Shawn of the Dead they were making fun of the exact movies they were making, while in World's End I never got that feeling. I would probably have enjoyed it more if this were the first I had seen in the "trilogy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOW ME THE WAY TO THE NEXT WHISKEY BAR,, September 14, 2013
In 1990, in the town of Newton Haven, Gary King (Simon Pegg) leads a group of young men on an adventure down the Golden Mile as they attempt to visit all 12 pubs in one night, winding up at "The World's End." They never completed the trek. The group grew up and scattered. Gary has decided he needs to go back and do the 12 pub drinking trek at age 40 as a rite of passage, his life's accomplishment. He gets the reluctant gang back and off they go.

The film starts out like a fairy decent comedy and then suddenly Newton turns into Stepford. In spite of their lives and the planet being in danger, Gary still wants to complete the quest as the best way NOT to draw attention to themselves. The film was funny and when the Doors started to play, I had to laugh and sing with the film.

The theme of the film is about conformity as a swap of freedoms for comfort. It portrays conformists as robots of the system, all working for the common good.

Good quirky comedy that will be added to my collection. Highly recommended for those who like a smart British comedy.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No nudity. Implied sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blueblood Robots And A Marmalade Sandwich, October 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a huge fan of the Cornetto trilogy (my favorite being the exquisite "Hot Fuzz,") but "The World's End," while a very imaginative and entertaining movie in its own right left me a bit less enthused than the two previous installments. This film centers on five old friends reuniting for an epic pub crawl featuring encounters with everything from high school bullies and old flames to a full scale alien invasion. Simon Pegg as the former leader of the gang who has been destroyed by life has a darker and much more emotional role here, and he turns out a great performance; for my money though Nick Frost takes top honors as the straight guy (a great role reversal from "Hot Fuzz" which pleased me immensely.) While Simon is perfectly suited to play a jerk, the supporting cast (many of whom are veterans of "Hot Fuzz" or "Shaun of the Dead") particularly Martin Freeman and Paddy Considine are equally up to their respective roles.

I liked the thematic similarities between The Network and the NWA (from "Hot Fuzz") and the inherent alien evilness of The Network is perfectly encapsulated in Bill Nighy's detached and genuinely creepy dialogue. Pierce Brosnan as a former teacher and alien acolyte is a piece of casting genius, and the scenes in the bar between the protagonists and Brosnan are high points. The conclusion (don't miss the Cornetto reveal...it passes really quickly in this one!) is an interesting post-apocalyptic take on the future that is unpredictable and arresting and allows Frost to really shine.

The film is beautifully made with extraordinary editing of particular note. Edgar Wright is a truly talented filmmaker and "The World's End" features a lot of his signature dark humor, though unlike the other two Cornetto films, I felt a bit empty after watching this one. The acting and cast is first rate, the film is gloriously beautiful to watch, and the action sequences are brilliant, but in the end I felt it was perhaps a bit longer than ideal as there were moments I found my mind wandering, something that never once occurred during "Shaun of the Dead" or "Hot Fuzz."

The DVD has many extras which are all worth checking out, particularly for fans of Wright, Pegg, and Frost. I have no qualms recommending "The World's End," but must honestly say it's my least favorite of the three Cornetto films (but "Hot Fuzz" is perpetually in my list of top five favorite films of all time, with "Shaun of the Dead" close in trail.) This is a thoughtful if bleaker film than the earlier pictures, but the performances and surprises are excellent and deserving of a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Least Effective in the Trilogy, May 14, 2014
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
“The World’s End” is the third Edgar Wright/Simon Pegg/Nick Frost collaboration, which I am afraid is the weakest of “Three Flavours Cornetto trilogy.” Their latest effort is funny to be sure, but not as unique and creative as “Shaun of the Dead” and “Hot Fuzz.”

Five old friends Gary (Simon Pegg), Andy (Nick Frost), Steven (Paddy Considine), Peter (Eddie Marsan) and Oliver (Martin Freeman) reunite for the first time in twenty years for unfinished business: a twelve-stop “pub crawl” that was left unfinished when they were eighteen. While enjoying themselves, however, they realize that something is wrong with the townspeople.

The 109-minute comedy is generally amusing, with references to classic invasion-themed sci-fi movies including a parody of the famous “test” sequence, but the film itself suffers from the weak story, its second half in particular. Why don’t they just run away, instead of keeping drinking? And why pub crawl in the first place? I know this is a comedy, but that does not mean the story doesn’t have to be convincing.

But perhaps I was disappointed with “The World’s End” because I couldn’t care less about whether or not those annoying characters survive the night. With the pointless ending and two supports Rosamund Pike and Pierce Brosnan sadly wasted, “The World’s End” is the least effective entry in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The World's End
The World's End by Edgar Wright
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.