Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First novel is great. Second novel is less so.
This book is a compilation of Hogan's third and fourth novels in The Giant's series.

As other reviewers have said, the third book is quite good. New concepts, new characters and adventures, which culminate in victory for the good guys.

The fourth book looks like Hogan was fine for the first half of the book, then took some funny grass for the rest...
Published on August 24, 2011 by Adrian

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Giant's Star's Nuclear Fuel is Spent
These are the third and fourth novels in Hogan's Giant's series. The first in the series was his debut novel and one of my all time favorite SF novels. It gets 5 stars. The second novel was pretty good, but not as good as the first, so it gets 4 stars. The third novel was OK, but only because we love the characters from the first two novels so much we'll overlook a...
Published on January 31, 2008 by John


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Giant's Star's Nuclear Fuel is Spent, January 31, 2008
By 
John (ISSAQUAH, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Two Worlds (Giants) (Mass Market Paperback)
These are the third and fourth novels in Hogan's Giant's series. The first in the series was his debut novel and one of my all time favorite SF novels. It gets 5 stars. The second novel was pretty good, but not as good as the first, so it gets 4 stars. The third novel was OK, but only because we love the characters from the first two novels so much we'll overlook a lot. Let's give that one 3 stars. The fourth and final novel is a real disappointment. It gets 1 star from me.

Hogan has played this one for all it's worth. If you've read "Inherit the Stars" and "The Gentle Giants of Ganymede", you can stop right there and remember Hogan as one of your favorite SF authors. If you keep going and read "Giant's Star", you'll remember him as a great author who's light got a bit dimmer. However, if you read "Entroverse", you'll probably wish you hadn't and wonder what the heck happened to Hogan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First novel is great. Second novel is less so., August 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Two Worlds (Giants) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a compilation of Hogan's third and fourth novels in The Giant's series.

As other reviewers have said, the third book is quite good. New concepts, new characters and adventures, which culminate in victory for the good guys.

The fourth book looks like Hogan was fine for the first half of the book, then took some funny grass for the rest of the book and the scientific explanations go off on a truly irregular tangent.

I have read reviews which say the fifth book is back on track, so I'll be back to continue the adventures of Hunt and co. But if you haven't read books 3 and 4 yet and want to save time, read the third book, skip the fourth and head straight for Minerva, the fifth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An old favorite, wish it was edited better., May 8, 2014
By 
Matt Pollicove (morganville, nj United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always loved James P. Hogan. The Giants Novels are old favorites and I was happy to get them as an eBook.

However, I found the editing to be inconsistent with the paper book version. I did not like the fact that the editors chose to leave the Minervan / Thurien AI names in lower case (jevex, visar, zorac) They are characters in the books and deserved at least first letter capitalization. If there was a reason for this (JPH's original intention for example) it should have been mentioned in the preface of the book.

Otherwise, still the same great stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great!!, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a wonderful what if series. Great story. great twists. What would we do if we found a man on the moon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It starts to drag in the fourth book, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Two Worlds (Giants) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoy the second book (Gentle Giants) in this series so I bought this book which has the third and fourth books of the series. The third books was interesting but I am having trouble staying engaged in the fourth book and about ready to give it up. The characters do not get much more development, especially the scientists. The events and characters on the planet on Jevlen are not as interesting as the previous stories. I already bought the fifth and sixth books....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James P Hogan is one of the greatest sci-fi authors of all time., July 30, 2013
By 
Bob T. (Alexandria, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Any book by Hogan which is part of the "Giants Star" series is tremendous reading. His writing shows great insight into the future of intelligent machines in an advanced alien society. In my opinion, his books are technological updates to Isaac Asimov's "Foundation" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction Entertainment By A Master Storyteller, June 23, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Van Nuys, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Two Worlds is composed of the third volume in Hogan’s Giants Trilogy, namely “Giant’s Star”, and its sequel, which takes place primarily on the troubled planet Jevlen, “Entoverse”. In my opinion, both of these are masterworks by a master of Science Fiction. I’m not sure why they are published in a single volume, but hey, for a new reader it would be two for the price of one.

In “Giant’s Star”, which has become, along with “Inherit The Stars” and “The Genesis Machine”, my three favorite Hogan novels, the good guys (e.g. Doctors Hunt and Danchekker) defeat the militant upstarts on Jevlen but leave us with a time-travel mystery to rival the thought-provoking time manipulations of Asimov’s “The End of Eternity”. In “Entoverse”, which follows the events in “Giant’s Star”, a new “Tron-like” environment is introduced (the “Entoverse”) where beings with mysterious powers can travel forth and back into Jevlen, and the most powerful of them has galactic domination in mind. But this feat of entering the hidden Entoverse domain is ultimately also accomplished by our good guys, too.

Hunt and Danchekker are initially summoned to Jevlen to help the Ganymeans bring order to that planet, but find themselves pushed to the limit in their quest. Thanks to the welcome assistance of the super-computers known as Visar and Zorac, our heroes ultimately get the upper hand, but not before they, along with their fellow Terrans, as well as the Thuriens and Ganymeans, fight for their very lives in environments that only a master storyteller of Hogan’s remarkable abilities can portray.

Spoiler alert: The two books can be bought for the price of one, but just one scene that takes place in the Entoverse makes it worth the price. This is where the author describes the flamboyant entrance into this mysterious universe, of a fully working merry-go-round with every bell and whistle imaginable, which has the Entoverse inhabitants totally flabbergasted…and out of it steps Danchekker in a Roman toga!

Yep, five stars for this fabulous duo of super sci-fi entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hogan ties it all together, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had read the original "Minerva Chronicles" (a trilogy back then) about 15 years ago. I loved it and have re-read it a few times and always felt that there were a few unanswered questions about the Jevlenese and their paranoia. With "Mission to Minerva" James Hogan answered those questions in a resounding fashion. There seemed to be a lot of lecturing going on, especially about quantum physics, but i suppose it was necessary. There are times when the fourth sequel is just for the money. Not the case here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alternate universes and fast action makes for gripping adventure, December 2, 2007
This review is from: The Two Worlds (Giants) (Mass Market Paperback)
James P. Hogan's THE TWO WORLDS furthers the `Giants' series with two complete novels, GIANT'S STAR and ENTOVERSE. Aliens bring answers lurks change human history - and humans find themselves in the center of a power struggle between competing alien groups rather than completely understanding their roots. In ENTOVERSE a computer manages a rational society - until it begins to unravel. Alternate universes and fast action makes for gripping adventure in two linked novels under one cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Two Worlds (Giants)
The Two Worlds (Giants) by James P. Hogan (Mass Market Paperback - August 28, 2007)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.