Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars58
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 6, 2005
This is an excellent book for a beginner in vermicomposting as well as someone with an established bin. It contains everything you could possibly need to know--information on different worm species, kinds of bins, problem shooting, starting a worm business, as well as the strange and bizzare such as worm poetry, recipes, and using worms in art! I have a small collection of worm books as well as an established bin, and I still find myself referring to the book frequently. My worms are doing so well I've started providing bins for friends and family...along with a copy of this book!
0Comment69 of 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 22, 2005
As a self reliant or self sufficiency person who tries to grow more and more of their own food every year this book is valuable for a variety of reasons. First off there are more than one type of garden worm for composting and garden purposes, which this book discusses in detail. As an example she writes of Red Wigglers (Eisenia fetida) that the common names are Tiger worm, Garlic worm, Manure worm, Brandling worm. That they are rust coloured with a membrane between each segment, and are about three inches in length. They live a few inches below the soil and are considered a shallow dweller. They prefer very rich compost, manure piles and decaying plant and animal material. And temperatures between 59 and 77 degrees and have a cocoon hatching period of between 35 and 70 days depending on conditions. The author also notes it is an excellent vermicomposting worm because it can process large amounts of organic matter.

Whereas the Redworm likes to live in 6 to 12 inches of soil. While the Blue worm does not like cold weather. These are important facts to know when ordering worms, because worms are not inexpensive, and worms like the Blue worm actually will try and escape from the bin.

The book also has an extensive, easy to read section on the do's and don't as well as why certain problems arise i.e. worms die, the compost smells, the compost is attracting ants, slugs etc.
0Comment64 of 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2007
Really now... What is there to say about a worm book? Can it actually be INTERESTING? Well, this book held my attention well, taught me many things I did not know, did not burden me with super technical bunk that I do not need or want to know, and was a detailed, well rounded book on the topic.

That said, I think the book was excellent.

Of course, a more recent publication would be better (for instance: no mention of european nightcrawlers -- something rather recent on the American worm market)... but this book gave me ALL the information that I needed to begin raising worms and understanding the HOW's and WHY's of worms and vermiculture.
0Comment20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 1998
I read an advance copy of the book and was amazed at the amount of research that went into the book and all of the helpful tips on vermiculture were easy to follow and use. This book is a must for any gardener interested in environmentally friendly and successful gardening. The book is very fun to read and the humor is contagious.
0Comment31 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2004
My husband liked this book enough he wanted to immediately set up a worm bin. It has so much info on worms and how they help our planet. They are vital to our soil. Short read. Excellent book!
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2006
This is a well researched, not to mention well written book. Each page has pertinent information presented in an easy to read format. It isn't padded with a lot of fluff, and you feel like a friend is sharing information with you. I'm planning to use it as an additional textbook while homeschooling my 3 kids, and will certainly keep it handy as a reference book.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2007
great information for the novice, or as a review guide for the more experienced. topics are easily referenced, and written to be understood.

the only reason it did not receive 5 stars is it was published in the late 90's so some of the data given is outdated. as far as the how to it is 5 stars.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2006
I highly recommend this book. It's quite comprehensive and would be helpful to newcomers to worm composting as well as those whose bins are already underway. Not folksy or corny, this book is serious but straight-forward and easy to understand.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2000
An excellent informative book, will be very helpful to organic gardeners who wish to adopt the no-dig method.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2007
This is one of the two books most recommended by the vermiculture sites that I have visited. It is a comprehensive guide. It is a great book for children and adults who want to raise worms. It's easy to understand. It is a "most" before you buy the redworms. The only reason I give it a 4 is because it is so basic that young children can understand it and I am quite a bit older.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse