Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended - must read
Amelia Beiler lost her husband 11 months ago when he was killed in a buggy accident. She is left with two young boys, ages 6 and 8, to raise on her own, and no income other than that earned from her husband's successful pallet shop. In order to survive, she must also take over the running of the shop.

When Amelia begins having problems with tingling and...
Published on September 17, 2011 by Granny1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Read
3.5 Stars

Amelia is a widow of 11 months. She took over running her husbands business so that she could keep food on the table and a roof over the heads for her and her boys. We find out early in the book that she is struggling with some unsettling symptoms. Her left arm keeps going numb. Amelia has two best friends, Carrie and Emma. Carrie is married to...
Published on November 10, 2011 by weatherlover1


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended - must read, September 17, 2011
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
Amelia Beiler lost her husband 11 months ago when he was killed in a buggy accident. She is left with two young boys, ages 6 and 8, to raise on her own, and no income other than that earned from her husband's successful pallet shop. In order to survive, she must also take over the running of the shop.

When Amelia begins having problems with tingling and numbness in her hands, and particularly in her lower left arm, she consults with three different doctors, and all three concur in a diagnosis of multiple sclerosis. Devastated by this diagnosis, Amelia struggles with the only two treatment options available to her, both of which are prohibitively expensive, and neither of which can promise anything more than some relief from the debilitating symptoms of this deadly disease.

Overwhelmed by her illness and the loss of her husband, Amelia is faced with three major, life-changing decisions: first, how can she possibly pay for the medical treatment she needs; second, should she sell the business in order to pay for it; and third, how will she and her boys survive without the income from the business?

Amelia has a prospective suitor, Eli Fischer, who wants to court her but she discourages him because of her disease. After much soul-searching and many discussions with her family and Bishop Daniel Lapp, Amelia comes up with a third alternative that just might work. Then a fourth alternative comes from a totally unexpected source, and Amelia's future begins to look a little brighter.

The Wounded Heart is a wonderful story of a young widow's triumph over extreme adversity through prayer and the loving support of her entire Amish community. This book is the first in the "Amish Quilt" series written by Adina Senft, and is a "must read" book. I would rate it as 5 stars plus-perhaps 7 or 8 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When faced with any adversity in life, it's easier to weather those storms with the love and warmth of close friends., September 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
Once again another Amish novel has captivated my heart and left me sighing. A great sign of an excellent book in my personal opinion. For most people they understand the simple story lines of your typical Amish novel, but not in the case of The Wounded Heart by Adina Senft.

We have a story that is slow as it unfolds as we find ourselves immersed in the tragic story of Amelia Beiler, who has recently been left a widow after an unfortunate buggy accident that claimed not only the life of her husband, Enoch but the driver of the car that hit them as well. Now left to deal with managing a farm alone with just two small boys, she struggles to maintain her husband's pallet business as well. Offer after offer appears on her doorstep, first from an English man looking to retire and then subsequently from others within her Amish community as well.

The only thing is, that Amelia isn't sure she wants to sell. How else will she be able to provide for her family without having to move back home with her mom and dad? However when Amelia begins to experience tingling in her left hand, that leaves her numb and at times unable to use her left hand, she begins to wonder if perhaps God isn't sending her a sign after all. The only thing is will she be ready to accept all that God has for her, even if it means going against everything she believes she needs in her life.

I received this beautiful, heart-warming story as an Ebook compliments of Faith Words Publishers, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I applaud the character of Amelia for attempting to hold down the front in spite of some difficult odds that seem to stack up against her. She tries to maintain a level of strength in trying to get on with her life, while still grieving for a husband that she still misses and has a difficult time trying to move forward. She relies a lot on her friends, Emma, who fears that God has abandoned her efforts to find a husband, declaring herself a Senior, even though she isn't that old, and her other friend, Carrie, who is struggling to have children after being married for 10 years and unable to conceive. Meanwhile, Carrie's husband Melvin is struggling to find work since he lacks the farming skills to keep them afloat. She manages to also be the only child struggling to take care of her parents who are desperate need of medical care.

It seems like quilting is the only thing that keeps these three wonderful characters from falling apart. Each a times is able to put their own personal struggle on the back burner so they can assume the care taker in the others life. This is what it means to be true friends in my personal opinion and what makes for a great book. For those that love Amish stories, this one will not disappoint and takes a different road than the one most of us are used to, making it a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. When faced with any adversity in life, it's easier to weather those storms with the love and warmth of close friends. Just like the patches of material that make up a beautiful quilt, it takes friends and family to weave our lives together and make it beautiful and full of love and life.

This is the first novel in the Amish Quilt Trilogy and she has me as a fan for life! Can't wait for the next book in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting new series, September 25, 2011
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
Amelia Beiler and her husband Enoch had been married for ten years when he was killed in a buggy accident, leaving her to care for her two sons Matthew and Elam. In addition to caring for the children she runs her husband's pallet making business which is four miles away. She longs just to stay home and be a mam to her children but the shop is there only means of support. She has been in mourning for eleven months, but still can't imagine ever finding love again. When an Englisher poses the question to her about selling her shop, rumors start that she might sell her business which brings Eli Fischer an Amisher to her shop inquiring about buying the business. About this time, Amelia starts experiencing numbness in her arm, and soon is diagnosed with a debilitating disease of MS. She has plenty of decisions to make, not just about the business but about her future, and Eli as well because he wants to start courting her. Because of her disease she feels as if she can't allow it, but he is determined to help her and her boys. How will things work out? Will Amelia get the medical treatment she needs, and could there be a second chance at love for her? Read this fantastic book and find out!

I read a lot of Amish fiction and I must say this book pulled me right in.The plot started out a bit slowly for me, but I think it was because I needed to get a feel for the characters I was being introduced to. Once the characters and their backgrounds were established the book moved along at a very brisk pace.
While the main story revolves around Amelia and her struggles, we are also introduced to her friends Emma and Carrie. All three women are facing different issues in their lives but their friendships and love of quilting bind them together.I thought the character of Amelia was multi-layered. She is struggling with losing her husband, being a mother, a shop owner, and if that isn't enough she is faced with a debilitating disease. Her emotions seem very real, and I wasn't a bit surprised to see her question her faith,because that seemed like the most realistic thing any of us might do. A story that reminded me that faith, prayer, good friends, and a loving community can help us overcome any adversity that life throws our way!

"The Wounded Heart"is a wonderful beginning for the authors new Amish Quilt Trilogy.A book that I would recommend not only to Amish fans but anyone looking for a nice read, with characters that have real life struggles. Adina Senft has a new fan here, I can't wait to see where she takes us next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL NEW AMISH QUILT TRILOGY! THE WOUNDED HEART BY ADRINA SENFT..., September 24, 2011
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
THE WOUNDED HEART by Adrina Senft is a exciting inspirational Amish romance set in Whinburg,Lancaster County, PA. It is the first in the new "The Amish Quilt Trilogy".This is the story of Amelia Beiler, a young widow with two small boys,who is also trying to run her husband's pallet shop,and Eli Fischer, who would like to court Amelia. Amelia just learns that she has a devastating disease and does want to be a burden on anyone including Eli. She struggles with decisions that could take her from her faith and small communtiy,if not had could cost her her very life. While Amelia tries to discourged Eli due to her illness,Eli is determined to court,help her through this devastating time and help her children. This story has triumph,love,romance,faith,the Amish community,family,friend,and adversity. It is a fast paced story that the characters will steal your heart while they struggle with difficult decisions.This story is a heart warming story of struggles,adversity,faith and love. It has its sadness also,but a wonderful Amish story. A must read for any Amish readers,Christian readers(it is not preachy),and anyone who enjoys a great romance as "The Wounded Heart" characters try to move on with their lives and come to grips with the struggles.Also,has a great Amish Quilt square pattern.This book was received for review from the publisher.Details can be found at Faith Words and My Book Addiction and More.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A realistic glimpse into the Amish community, November 1, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
The Wounded Heart is my first Amish book, though not the first book I've read by the talented author who is also Shelly Bates.

Set in Lancaster County, PA, the story is about young widow Amelia Beiler who has two small sons and a pallet business she is forced by circumstance to run. Amelia deeply loved her husband Enoch, who was killed in a buggy accident. While she misses him and finds her house lonely, she's an independent spirit (something of a rarity in the structured Amish community?) and prefers her house to having to move in with her parents. But when another tragedy strikes-this time one of health and her ability to manage her business and even the future care of her sons, Amelia must seek help outside the confines of her community. Even the potential of happiness with a member of her sect must be put on hold as she grapples with a treatment that could have dubious effects and ostracize her from her community. Only the close relationship with her friends and fellow quilters keeps Amelia on an even keel.

Ms. Senft's storytelling ability shines in this heart wrenching story of one woman's agonizing decision and its repercussions on her family and community. Well-crafted, with immediacy and detail, Sent gives the reader an interesting glimpse into the lives of a religious sect, curious for shunning modernity. I was amazed to learn they shun electric washing machines, yet employ workers to convert these same machines to run on battery power. I nearly had heart failure to learn some of their Sunday meetings last five hours and that there might be so many mouths to feed afterward that two separate sittings must be arranged (men fed first, women last). Still, though left a little weak-kneed by the strong patriarchal system, I found the faith aspect simple and beautiful, and intimately described by the author. I could feel Amelia's faith and also her need to be whole for her sons. I also warmed at the love she had for her parents and her two friends.

Pick up a copy of The Wounded Heart. It's a deeply emotional story and a lovely read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well told story, endearing and engaging!, September 30, 2011
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
Before I get to my thoughts about The Wounded Heart, I have to be upfront and begin with a disclaimer. I know Adina Senft. And to be honest, I'd never read an Amish themed book before, but I knew about the popular genre and I knew Senft's ability to tell a solid story. So I thought, why not give her book a try? Why not? Well, to be honest, I was afraid that I wouldn't be captured by a story taking place in the strict Amish world. I wondered what kind of plot there would be in these "plain" people and their community? But I gave it a try and I am glad that I did. Senft has created a world that is easily identified with by any of us. Amish or not, we all have friends, we all experienced sorrow and loss, we have all battled illness or had someone close to us who has, and who hasn't found themselves between the proverbial "rock and hard place" as has the lead character Amelia, a widow with two young boys.

Amelia's two best friends Carrie and Emma serve as a sounding board for Amelia and that's how we hear of Amelia's struggle with the choices in her life. When diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, Amelia wonders if she should seek a new medical treatment in Mexico. But she has no money. She has many offers to buy the business that she and her late husband started, should she take the highest from an "Englisher" or a lower amount from someone within the Amish community? Her parents and the Church elders pull her in one direction, Amelia's heart pulls her in another and mind pulls her in yet another. These characters are fully drawn and interesting people! Senft's plot line is solid and engaging. I often struggled with the restrictions of an Amish woman, raising her children alone, but so did Amelia! I was able to connect with her on various levels and to me, that's the sign of a well written story. I cared.

I think that every author's goal is to tell a story that the reader will care about. I recommend The Wounded Heart, it's about people who care, people who trust, people who hurt and people who triumph! And that's about the best recommendation I can give.

The Wounded Heart is the first in a trilogy and I look forward to the next book in the series.

4 out of 5 stars, it's engaging, well told and kept my interest. Start the trilogy...now.

This e-galley was provided to me by the publisher and in no way affected my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live To Read, September 13, 2011
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
This novel starts out with the main character losing her husband of ten years, Enoch. They had two young boys. Now, Amelia has to attempt to run a business herself while she is only equipped/prepared to run a home. She is still in mourning, wearing the traditional Kapp, when she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. She doesn't know what to do, she even questions her faith-a rarity for her. If she goes through with the necessary treatment, she will be going against the rules set by her community; if she doesn't, her livelihood is threatened.

Eli comes into the story in the knick of time, he may even turn into a potential love interest. Amelia has to make several hard decisions in the story, some that may threaten her place in her community.

This book was fast-paced, intriguing, and offers the reader a view into a different way of life. The main characters were likable and the plot was fun to read about, really draws the reader in. This book is recommended to adults readers.

*complimentary review copy provided, this does not affect my opinion in any way*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!!!, September 28, 2011
By 
C. Wong "Book worm" (Plano, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel (Paperback)
The Wounded Heart' starts a thought provoking new series of three, the Amish Quilt Series. Amish fiction mostly concentrates on relationships, with other people and/or their spiritual dilemmas. I chose this book because I had visited the Amish stores and a restaurant in Northern Indiana. I was impressed by their friendliness, honesty and politeness. They live without many modern conveniences but that does not protect them from having complex problems as seen in this book.

The author, Adina Senft opens with a young widower, Amelia Beiler who is left with two young sons to love and care for. Amelia has two best friends who meet with her to work together on quilts. There is Emma who is single and feels like she was left behind when it came to getting the married and Carrie who has been married for ten years, but she has no children yet.

The quilting meetings were special to the three because it took them away from the routine of their lives and they got to share with each other things that they didn't feel like sharing with others. The meetings serve to tie the story together and bring out the thoughts and feelings of Amelia's friends.

Amelia's grief is fresh but others are urging her to get married but she is not ready. She takes over her husband's pallet store. Then suddenly one day, she starts to have shooting pains and numbness in her left arm. She begins to drop things and sometimes even collapses. She sees different doctors and they all agree that she probably has multiple sclerosis. What kind of treatment should she take? There are several alternatives.

She can do what is approved of by the Bishops at the Council meeting but there are definite drawbacks to that. Will she instead choose to try the controversial treatment in Mexico and risk being banned? If she did the treatment in Mexico, how would she obtain the money? There is also a man who is interested in her romantically. Would it be selfish of her to love him and have him end up taking care of her later? She worries whether she would be going against God's will with her decisions and how her decisions will affect others.

I love the author's emphasis on relationships. You are plunged into Amelia's turmoil in trying to make the right decision. She had to consider what would become of her sons, the advice of her friends and the decision of the Bishops at the Council Meeting, and her own heart. Her decision was not predictable and I was surprised by the ending. While reading this book, you come to love and want to help Amelia. The writing is clear and straight forward and the story held me riveted to the book until the end.

Amish sayings and Pennsylvania Dutch is sprinkled throughout the book. There is a glossary for the Pennsylvania Dutch words used in the back, along with instructions for the quilt referred to in the book and also a Reader's Group Guide.

I highly recommend this book for all readers interested in the Amish and also relationships of the community and friends.

Even though I received this book for review from Booking with Bingo it in no way influenced my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book., April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book so much. I could not stop reading until I finished it. I even purchased the other two books on Emma and Carrie. I love this author. I can hardly wait for more of her books....I would highly recommend this author..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read so far this year, April 3, 2013
By 
R. Brown (Stockton, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was captivated by the characters and the story line. I liked this book so much that I bought the other two books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel
The Wounded Heart: An Amish Quilt Novel by Adina Senft (Paperback - September 27, 2011)
$12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.